Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

KernelEx 4.5.2

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1557 replies to this topic

#651
Xeno86

Xeno86

    KernelEx Creator

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 250 posts
  • Joined 26-March 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Well, this kinda sucks:

The Win98 FreeCell solitaire game doesn't work with KernelEx 4.5 beta 2 or 4.5 RC 1.

  • Function keys do nothing
  • Display is corrupted when moving multiple cards
  • "Select game" menu option locks it up
  • Random lockups while playing
  • No crashes, therefore no drwatson log; sorry

And there's no compatibility tab on the Freecell.exe properties, so I can't just turn KernelEx off!

FreeCell runs fine if I uninstall KernelEx.

I even tried uninstalling and reinstalling with the 'disabled by default' option - still doesn't work.

I also have a minor bug in Reversi (old 16-bit game): the cursor is supposed to change to a cross on squares that are legal moves. It does, but it gets "stuck" - it stays a cross everywhere on the board.

Both work properly if KernelEx is uninstalled.

I have just checked FreeCell and Reversi on two systems. I can't replicate those problems on any of them.
Can you check if the problem is there with last stable release - KernelEx 4.0 Final 2 ?
Could you provide a DrWatson log with FreeCell running?
Can you make a screenshot of that display corruption?

I thought there was meant to be a compatibility tab for all .exe files?

Why not in this case of Freecell.exe I wonder?

Compatibility tab is enabled for all 32-bit executables.
KernelEx can't affect 16-bit apps directly so there is no tab there.
KernelEx: home board download


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#652
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • Joined 13-July 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

However I did find it online here
...
With KernelEx installed, the cursor problem is the only issue. Other than that it runs fine.

I tried the file and was not able to reproduce the cursor bug.
I tried several settings but everything stayed fine. :whistle:

EDIT: Btw, no Compatibility tab for that exe also.

Edited by CharlesF, 03 August 2010 - 12:32 PM.


#653
Mathwiz

Mathwiz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 12-March 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I tried the file and was not able to reproduce the cursor bug.
I tried several settings but everything stayed fine. :whistle:

EDIT: Btw, no Compatibility tab for that exe also.

I'm not surprised. When Freecell worked for you, I figured the bug must be specific to my system. Possibly the display card/driver, but it's odd it only affects these older programs.

Reversi is definitely 16 bit, so no surprise there's no compatibility tab there.

Edited by Mathwiz, 03 August 2010 - 12:52 PM.


#654
Xeno86

Xeno86

    KernelEx Creator

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 250 posts
  • Joined 26-March 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

2°) run last VLC 1.1.2 (zip file, no installer, after I have deleted the %windir%\Application Data\vlc folder from old version):
Not working :no:
- program is launching
- menus are readable
but
- files are not running : I tried mp3, mp4 and wmv
- doesn't accept to change language of GUI
- shut off is broken: program stays in memory (I have to use Ctrl+Alt+Del to kill it), icon is still in the systray and I had a crash at reboot

I'll look into that.

4°) BTW, what is the use of the new "Disable custom heap" in the compatibility tab?

It is an additional compatibility switch, allowing to disable new fast heap from FreeBSD introduced in KernelEx 4.5 Beta 1 while keeping everything else active.

5°) I have the same problem with Maxthon that I had with new VLC 1.1.2:
if I have a few tabs open, it can freeze completely if I try to close all together, or it does not unload from memory when I shut it off, and I have to use Ctrl+Alt+Del to kill it. :(
Never had such problem before, but I can't say if it comes from new KernelEx or from Flash player 10.1.

What is the version of Maxthon that you use.
What system, IE version.
Was this problem introduced in RC 1 or earlier?

So far, no problems with the latest version of KEX. Can't get Flash player plugin 10.1.53.64 to install. The installer doesn't seem to do anything at all. Tried uninstalling the old version, no change. Does the latest flash plugin work with the 1X versions of SeaMonkey?


Try this link:
http://get.adobe.com..._Other_Browsers
Or this direct link:
http://fpdownload.ad...lash_player.exe

Edited by Xeno86, 03 August 2010 - 12:56 PM.

KernelEx: home board download

#655
Xeno86

Xeno86

    KernelEx Creator

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 250 posts
  • Joined 26-March 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I can't get 10.1.53.64 to install due to an invalid page fault in kernel32.dll. But latest NPSWF32.dll works without problem.


DrWatson log would be handy. Also double check if compatibility mode is set to 'Windows XP'.
KernelEx: home board download

#656
Mathwiz

Mathwiz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 12-March 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I have just checked FreeCell and Reversi on two systems. I can't replicate those problems on any of them.
Can you check if the problem is there with last stable release - KernelEx 4.0 Final 2 ?
Could you provide a DrWatson log with FreeCell running?
Can you make a screenshot of that display corruption?

I'll try to get some debugging info tonight when I'm home, but I was up way too late last night so I may not get everything you need until tomorrow night.

#657
WIN98SE

WIN98SE

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 06-April 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

...

Btw, anyone has tried Java 6 Update 21 (it doesn't work with KEx 4.5 Beta 2)?


Hi,

Java 6 Update 21 works with Firefox 3.5.11 and KeX.
Have you checked your plugins in Firefox 3.5.11?
I disabled the Java Next Gen Plugin in the Java-"Preferences?"
But the latest Java6.21 and/or Firefox 3.5.11 ignore this setting.
Even when I deactivated the Java-NextGen-Plugin in Firefox-Plugins Java did not work.


My workaround:
Renaming the "C:\Programs\Java\jre6\bin\new_plugin" directory to maybe "C:\Programs\Java\jre6\bin\damnnew_plugin"
Then Firefox will only find the classic Java Plugin.

#658
rainyd

rainyd

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 407 posts
  • Joined 04-April 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi,

Java 6 Update 21 works with Firefox 3.5.11 and KeX.
Have you checked your plugins in Firefox 3.5.11?
I disabled the Java Next Gen Plugin in the Java-"Preferences?"
But the latest Java6.21 and/or Firefox 3.5.11 ignore this setting.
Even when I deactivated the Java-NextGen-Plugin in Firefox-Plugins Java did not work.


My workaround:
Renaming the "C:\Programs\Java\jre6\bin\new_plugin" directory to maybe "C:\Programs\Java\jre6\bin\damnnew_plugin"
Then Firefox will only find the classic Java Plugin.


Thank you for the tip. :)

Maybe not most elegant solution but if works it doesn't matter.

#659
EvanD

EvanD

    KISS Advocate

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 17-April 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I installed jre-6u21-windows-i586.exe over JRE 6u20, unchecked "enable next generation plugin," and Java (and applets) works fine with IE6, Firefox 3.6.8, and Seamonkey 1.1.19. Flash Player 10.1.53.64 installed over 10.0.x (with registry hack) with no problems. Flash test works for all 3 browsers.

For me, Kex 4.5 RC1 is working with no problems.

Edited by EvanD, 03 August 2010 - 04:10 PM.


#660
rainyd

rainyd

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 407 posts
  • Joined 04-April 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I installed jre-6u21-windows-i586.exe over JRE 6u20, unchecked "enable next generation plugin," and Java (and applets) works fine with IE6, Firefox 3.6.8, and Seamonkey 1.1.19.


Interesting because in my case, works only method mentioned by WIN98SE (of course I have disabled next generation Java-plugin).

In fact, I haven't tried to install new version over previous one.

Btw, it's good to hear, that latest Java works with Firefox 3.6.8 (Mozilla will end soon supporting Firefox 3.5.x).

Edited by rainyd, 03 August 2010 - 04:41 PM.


#661
WIN98SE

WIN98SE

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 06-April 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Interesting because in my case, works only method mentioned by WIN98SE (of course I have disabled next generation Java-plugin).

In fact, I haven't tried to install new version over previous one.

Btw, it's good to hear, that latest Java works with Firefox 3.6.8 (Moziila will end soon supporting Firefox 3.5.x).


It is really a bug of the new Java 6.21. It does not unregister the NextGenPlugin for Mozilla-Browsers correctly.
I tested it with Seamonkey 1.1.19 and Firefox 3.5.11
Maybe EvanD's NextGenPlugin was already "unregistered" before the update to 6.21.
I really do not have a clue how to unregister a Mozilla-plugin.

But I do not believe that Java works with Firefox 3.6.8.
I thought Firefox 3.6.8 only works with the NextGenJavaPlugin.
I tested it with http://pluginchecker.com/

#662
herbalist

herbalist

    paranoid independent

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 740 posts
  • Joined 15-December 06
  • OS:98
  • Country: Country Flag
Xeno
The direct link is the same file. If I disable KernelEX, I get the message about expecting a newer version of Windows. With the settings on the compatibility tab set to anything other than disabling KernelEX, nothing happens when I try to launch the installer, save a momentary cursor change to the hourglass. No error messages, no changes to anything. It's not System Safety Monitor blocking the process. This system has been stripped down, both with 98lite and by manually removing other files. I've probably removed something that it needs.

#663
Mathwiz

Mathwiz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 12-March 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I have just checked FreeCell and Reversi on two systems. I can't replicate those problems on any of them.
Can you check if the problem is there with last stable release - KernelEx 4.0 Final 2 ?


Just checked. Both games run perfectly under KEX 4.0 Final 2. (Of course they run perfectly under KEX 4.5 for everyone but me) :huh:

Of course, now I have to uninstall 4.0, reinstall 4.5, start Dr. Watson, etc. :} Maybe tomorrow night.

#664
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • Joined 13-July 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag


2°) run last VLC 1.1.2: Not working

I'll look into that.

Thanks. :)


5°) I have the same problem with Maxthon that I had with new VLC 1.1.2

What is the version of Maxthon that you use.
What system, IE version.
Was this problem introduced in RC 1 or earlier?

Pentium III 500 MHz - 384 MB RAM
Win 98SE french - SP3.0 beta4 - MDIE6CU 3.4 - RP 9.6.5

Maxthon 1.6.5.18
(All versions are available here: http://dl.maxthon.cn/mx1/
No need to install, you can decompress (I use Universal Extractor) and run straight.)

Never had this problem before. Running just fine with KernelEx 4.5 beta2 (but no need of KernelEx to run with Win 98).

I have tried with an old version (MyIE2 0.9.27),
but it's the same: no glitch without RC1, incomplete shut off if a few tabs are open with RC1.


BTW, Newer version 1.6.6 and 1.6.7 of Maxthon doesn't launch (I mean even before RC1)
for the reason that it is giving an error:
Missing exportation SHELL32.DLL: SHBindToParent.

Is it possible to fix it with KernelEx ;) ?


Later EDIT: I have downgraded (after clean uninstall) to KernelEx 4.5 beta 2
with Flash Player 10.0.45.2 ActX and Plugin.
Maxthon has come back smooth and fine like I always was use to :whistle: .

Edited by CharlesF, 05 August 2010 - 06:12 AM.


#665
EvanD

EvanD

    KISS Advocate

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 17-April 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I can't confirm EvanD that Java 1.6.21 works with Firefox 3.6.8.
It works up to Firefox 3.5.11 (and Opera 10.1), if I rename "new_plugin"
(see Member WIN98SE before).
The plugin checks fails with Version 3.6.8.!
pluginchecker.com / www.java.com/de/download/installed.jsp
Note: I don't allow the internet Connection to install Java.


In my post #680 the java JRE file is a standalone 15.3MB download from filehippo.com (links are in the post). When it installs, I get the "not-supported O/S warning" on a new Oracle (as opposed to Sun) dialog which I ignore and then go ahead and complete the install. The result in "about:plugins" is as shown. The paths and file names shown may be a clue to help.

Over the years, I've added all kinds of unofficial SPs and patches from MGDX.com so I can't tell you why my system works and yours doesn't. The stuff we do to our Win98SE and ME systems makes them all different. As a result, we're all dependent upon the gurus; e.g., Xeno86 and/or Tihiy for solutions to our problems. Regardless of whether they solve our individual problems or not, they've done wonderful work with KEX in keeping 98SE and ME existing as living O/S's. Whatever I'm able to make work from their efforts, I greatly appreciate while recognizing that there are limits to what they want to do or to what they're able to do. Kudos to them for everything they've done!

Attached Files

  • Attached File  java.gif   16.41KB   34 downloads


#666
rainyd

rainyd

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 407 posts
  • Joined 04-April 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Sorry, EvanD, but it's not a proof. I could show you exactly the same picture from my Firefox 3.5.11 (it means only that Java 6 update 21 was installed on your PC).

Have you tested Firefox 3.6.8 and Java on such sites?

http://www.javatester.org/ or http://www.java.com/...help/testvm.xml

Edited by rainyd, 04 August 2010 - 04:32 PM.


#667
FlippX

FlippX

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 60 posts
  • Joined 03-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hey,
the new flash (10.1) actually works, but i cannot change the soundvolume in firefox, SOMETIMES!
and VLC 1.1.2 works (only without RP9), but it just always adds the songs, or the radiostations i click on to the playlist (this is not enabled in the options) instead of starting a new playlist with the recent song on top...
Flash 10.0.45 and VLC 1.0.3 both are fully functional!!

#668
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • Joined 13-July 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

VLC 1.1.2 works (only without RP9)

What do you mean?
Have you uninstall entirely the Revolutons Pack to get it work?


Flash 10.0.45 and VLC 1.0.3 both are fully functional!!

They were already fine with previous release 4.5 beta 2 ;)

#669
Mathwiz

Mathwiz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 12-March 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Well, this kinda sucks:

The Win98 FreeCell solitaire game doesn't work with KernelEx 4.5 beta 2 or 4.5 RC 1.

I have just checked FreeCell and Reversi on two systems. I can't replicate those problems on any of them.
Can you check if the problem is there with last stable release - KernelEx 4.0 Final 2 ?

Both work fine under 4.0 final 2. But just to be thorough, I tried 4.5 beta 1. Freecell and Reversi experience the same problems (except F2 for new game works in Freecell).

Could you provide a DrWatson log with FreeCell running?

Here's what I did:
  • Started DrWatson
  • Started FreeCell
  • Selected Game / Select Game... from the menu (this always locks FreeCell up under KernelEx 4.5)
  • Clicked the DrWatson icon and saved a snapshot (attached)
  • Hit Ctrl-Alt-Del and ended FreeCell then shut DrWatson down
  • Started Firefox to post this
Ugh. Site is telling me "Error You aren't permitted to upload this kind of file". What's the best way to send it to you?

Can you make a screenshot of that display corruption?

Not sure the best way to do that in Win98. In WinXP which I use at work, I'd just hit Alt-PrtSc and it copies the active window to the clipboard.

Can someone recommend a free screenshot grabber for Win98? I'd hate to try a digital camera!

#670
awergh

awergh

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,059 posts
  • Joined 02-October 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Supposably 98 is supports ALT+PRINT SCREEN according to thisĀ 

http://technet.micro...y/cc768168.aspx

however that doesn't appear to be the case the easiest thing to do is just take a screenshot normally with PRINT SCREEN

and then resize the screen shot with irfan view or some other image editor



#671
Queue

Queue

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 164 posts
  • Joined 24-May 08
Alt + Print Screen works on 98SE, I use it all the time. Just have the window you want the image of selected, press the key combination, open something like Paint, and paste. Both Print Screen and Alt + Print Screen can be limited / impaired by some sort of resource limitations under various circumstances.

Queue

#672
FlippX

FlippX

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 60 posts
  • Joined 03-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

What do you mean?
Have you uninstall entirely the Revolutons Pack to get it work?


No I only didn't use RP9-themes. So only the "(classic)" theme works.
But instead of adding songs to the playlist and playing them, VLC adds them and restarts the playlist from the beginning...
...well everything around the graphics (in options and so on) works now...

AM I the only one with flash 10.1 problems, anyways???

Edited by FlippX, 06 August 2010 - 11:08 AM.


#673
rainyd

rainyd

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 407 posts
  • Joined 04-April 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

AM I the only one with flash 10.1 problems, anyways???


No you're not alone - I have some distortion with sound, which I don't have with previous version of Flash (10.0.45.2).

#674
Mathwiz

Mathwiz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 12-March 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Supposably 98 is supports ALT+PRINT SCREEN according to thisĀ 

http://technet.micro...y/cc768168.aspx

however that doesn't appear to be the case the easiest thing to do is just take a screenshot normally with PRINT SCREEN

and then resize the screen shot with irfan view or some other image editor



Alt + Print Screen works on 98SE, I use it all the time. Just have the window you want the image of selected, press the key combination, open something like Paint, and paste. Both Print Screen and Alt + Print Screen can be limited / impaired by some sort of resource limitations under various circumstances.

Queue


Thanks guys. I couldn't get Alt-PrtScrn to work last night, so tonight I'll just try a regular Print Screen. If that works then I'll clip down the image. Hopefully MSFN.com will let me upload that, at least.

#675
rainyd

rainyd

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 407 posts
  • Joined 04-April 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

While I can confirm that it is not currently possible to change sound volume during video playback, I can't confirm any kind of distrotion.
Can it be heard on all videos and animations?


To be precise, it's rather some sort of noise (not very annoying) - mainly songs on YT.

As for now there is no way to run the "new generation" plugin on 9x, while I'm looking into the issue I can't promise to fix it fast as it requires major work (named pipes interprocess communication support).


I think, we don't expect miracle - KEx is an amazing piece of work and we are really grateful for it to you and Tihiy. :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users