Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

KernelEx 4.5.2

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1559 replies to this topic

#776
paoloapaolo

paoloapaolo

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • Joined 23-April 09
Explanations for the previous post

With the latest versions of KenelEx you can start Google Earth, particularly the release 4.3.7204.0836 (beta) to an acceptable standard, while the release
Google Earth 5.1.3506B, sometimes it is unstable and problems with the lack of texts in the menus.

You can use Start \ Google Earth \ CLIENTS \ googleearth.exe directly from the folder where it was previously installed on XP.

So start directx
"\ Google \ Google Earth \ client \ googleearth.exe"-setDX

The version of Google Earth 5.1.3506B, is the first that can afford to go under the sea.

Greetings


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#777
WinME

WinME
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 05-October 10
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag
Tried installing Arora (latest version everything) and it won't install in either default mode or XP mode (of KEx). I like webkit browsers so that's too bad. I got a parameter error during install and a missing .dll link upon startup. (Windows ME)

#778
Xeno86

Xeno86

    KernelEx Creator

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 250 posts
  • Joined 26-March 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Tried installing Arora (latest version everything) and it won't install in either default mode or XP mode (of KEx). I like webkit browsers so that's too bad. I got a parameter error during install and a missing .dll link upon startup. (Windows ME)


You need to install Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Redistributable Package (x86) to make Arora work
http://www.microsoft...&displaylang=en
KernelEx: home board download

#779
siria

siria

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 04-September 09
Just curious, since I know next to nothing about such stuff:
Does the SP-Version matter? I just compared the link from K-Meleon1.6, and to me it seems almost the same but with SP1 in name...
http://www.microsoft...4D-389C36F85647

#780
loblo

loblo

    Oldbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Joined 12-January 10
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag
Both should be OK and theoretically SP1 should be better because of bugfixes and the like but sometimes newest files break stuff in some software that was written when the older ones were current but that's quite rare.

#781
M()zart

M()zart

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Joined 17-June 08
Installed the latest KernelEx version and unfortunately, my USB flash stick problem, that was gone with the RC1, is back :(

#782
siria

siria

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 04-September 09
Thanks for the explanations, loblo! :-)

#783
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,678 posts
  • Joined 22-November 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Visual C++ updates:
http://www.mdgx.com/add.htm#VS6

HTH

#784
M()zart

M()zart

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Joined 17-June 08
I have a couple of questions on KernelEx and some applications.
Does VLC need any specific compatibility mode? When I don't set any compatibility mode it shows me an "This program has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down" error when opening my DVD disk. However I may watch it if I don't close this message but move its window out of the screen. I always had this error with VLC 1 and 1.1 and all tested KernelEx versions.

I have russian Windows 98 SE, and VLC uses russian language. When I enable Win2K or WinXP compatibility for it, all letters become black squares. I don't really care about it, because I don't use a compatibility mode for VLC, however QtWeb browser gives me the same black squares instead of menus and labels in its dialogs, and it is not usable without Win2K compatibility mode. Is there any way to fix it?

#785
FlippX

FlippX

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 60 posts
  • Joined 03-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello everyone,
recently I found a new program and new problems. But they appear not to be so "hardcore"..
The program is called "Pure Data" (Pd), a free modular audio-, video- and everything-environment. ( http://puredata.info/ )
I tried 2 versions: "0.43 test3" (~4Mb) a slim version without "externals". This simply works (at least as far as I tested).
And the official version "0.42.5-externals" (~30Mb). This is the full package..
...But this version uses a "startup script" and this is where the error occurs..
To me it seems that the script just searches for some paths that are not there in win98se or in the reg; but this is just one possibility since I don't know what exactly is going on there.

This is the error-message:
__________________________________________________
"Error in startup script"

no such variable
(read trace on "::env(CommonProgramFiles)")
invoked from within
"set externalsdir "$::env(CommonProgramFiles)/Pd""
invoked from within
"if {$tcl_platform(platform)=="windows"} {
set pd_nt 1
set ctrl_key "Control"
# fonts
set defaultFontFamily {DejaVu Sans Mono}
..."
(file "E:\Pure Data\bin\pd.tk" line 15)
___________________________________________________

It's actually a great program but it's not working for me. Can someone please try this as well?!?
Does anyone know how to handle this, to get it working?!?!?
Greets Flipp

#786
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,944 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

"Pure Data"
Does anyone know how to handle this, to get it working?!?!?

Add line
SET CommonProgramFiles=C:\Program Files\Common Files
as the first one into C:\autoexec.bat file (if you have windows installed on C:)

Edited by Tihiy, 09 October 2010 - 10:04 AM.


#787
Vehudis

Vehudis
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 29-May 06
Hi Xeno86 and Tihiy,

first of all THANK YOU VERY MUCH for your effort and your so great&useful program.
I'd like to ask you, if it would be possible to add/implement following APIs(?):
ADVAPI32.DLL
- CheckTokenMembership
- ConvertSidToStringSidA
- ConvertSidToStringSidW
- ConvertStringSecurityDescriptorToSecurityDescriptorW
- DecryptFileW
- EncryptFileW
- LsaClose
- LsaNtStatusToWinError
- LsaOpenPolicy
- LsaRetrievePrivateData
- LsaStorePrivateData

KERNEL32.DLL
- VerSetConditionMask
- VerifyVersionInfoW

USER32.DLL
- GetLastInputInfo
- SetLayeredWindowAttributes

P.S. Is there a possibility of donating this project?

#788
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,944 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I'd like to ask you, if it would be possible to add/implement following APIs

That alone won't make Word Viewer 2003 run. Nevertheless we're trying.

#789
Xeno86

Xeno86

    KernelEx Creator

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 250 posts
  • Joined 26-March 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

great release but MAME isn't still working...as he said this is a popular Arcade emulator stopped working since RC1....

Does VLC need any specific compatibility mode? When I don't set any compatibility mode it shows me an "This program has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down" error when opening my DVD disk.

MAME and VLC DVD playback are already fixed in the SVN so the fixes will be included in next release.

Edited by Xeno86, 09 October 2010 - 03:16 PM.

KernelEx: home board download

#790
WaltMG

WaltMG
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 09-October 10
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Problem report, Firefox/win98se setup unpacks files and hangs:

Operating system: Windows 98SE
KernelEx: Core v4 5 14 (KernelEx-4.5-RC4.exe was the installer)
Application: Tried Firefox setup 3.6.10.exe; Firefox setup 3.5.13.exe; and Firefox setup 3.0.18.exe.
Problem: Setup begins to extract files, reaches 100%, but the installer never runs.
The system becomes nonresponsive. Using Ctrl-Alt-Del reveals that setup, firefox setup, and the folder the install file is in are not responding. Terminate them and the system turns off active desktop, but with link to restore it. Specific compatibility mode on the installer is the default Windows XP SP2. I have avast antivirus but the problem happens even with on-access protection stopped. Any suggestions as to what I'm missing? I know lots of people are running Firefox 3.x successful on Win98SE with KernelEx, and would really like to try it myself.
--
walt (PS; I hope it was OK to just reply to the main thread.)

#791
FlippX

FlippX

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 60 posts
  • Joined 03-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks Tihiy for the Pure Data hint. I just had to set a path for "appdata" likewise, and it works I think. At least it starts... (Btw. is there anything else to add to the autoexec.bat??)

@WaltMG: I use the default-mode on the installer.. and in short I can't confirm this.. I'd generally advise you to use the MS-program "Process Explorer v11.33". It helped me to handle stuck programs quite often..

Btw. : Is it correct that FF 3.6.x and Java don't go together???
(Like FF 3.6.x & classic Java plugin don't harmonize and nextGen Java & Win98 don't work together either)
At least FF 3.6.x didn't recognize the classic plugin..

Bye
Flipp

#792
xrayer

xrayer

    RayeR

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Joined 15-May 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I just tried KernelEx 4.5 RC4 and it seems that solved VirtualDub plugins loading problem (mentioned before), thnaks :)

I also tried Guitar Pro 5 but have only partial succes. It starts, I can load tabs but there's some drawing problem because notes are missing. See the screenshot: http://rayer.ic.cz/350d/gp5.png It plays tab OK. There's also problem with closing the app. The window disappear but process gp5.exe is still hanged on and cannot be killed (neither standard task manager nor ATM) and when I attempt shutdown/restart Windows it cannot shutdown because this process is running. It display obligatory wait/terminate window but terminate has no effect. So I had to press multiple ctrl+alt+del to force restart... Hope that some future KernelEx version will run it better :)

Edited by xrayer, 09 October 2010 - 07:46 PM.

Win98(SE)CZ unofficial support site.
Running MSDOS 6.22, FreeDOS, Win98SE+KEX-4.5.2+nSP+nUSB, NT4.0-SP6, WinXP-SP3, Debian Linux
Gigabyte GA-P31-DS3L, Core 2 Duo E8500@3,6GHz, 4GB DDR2, GF7900GT/256M, SSD Samsung 840 Pro, WD1000FBYX SATA, SB Audigy 2

#793
Joseph_sw

Joseph_sw

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 217 posts
  • Joined 03-August 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Flash Player ActiveX & Plugin:
version 10.1.82.76 is installing & working fine, even without any registry trick.
Unfortunately, I was NOT able to get version 10.1.85.3 installed, despite of any registry change I have tried (It says it is installing well, but actually doesn't install anything!).

for the ActiveX version, try registering the Flash10K.OCX using RegSvr32.exe
that method works for me since Kex 4.5 RC1, and it remain so on RC4.

Version Information on http://www.adobe.com...re/flash/about/ now said:You have version 10,1,85,3 installed

#794
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 462 posts
  • Joined 13-July 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

for the ActiveX version, try registering the Flash10K.OCX using RegSvr32.exe
that method works for me since Kex 4.5 RC1, and it remain so on RC4.

How did you obtained the Flash10*.OCX?
Universal Extractor doesn't extract any file.
Did you got it from a Flash player already installed on another OS?

#795
Joseph_sw

Joseph_sw

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 217 posts
  • Joined 03-August 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

How did you obtained the Flash10*.OCX?
Universal Extractor doesn't extract any file.
Did you got it from a Flash player already installed on another OS?

thats right, i just copied any "flash*10K*" files from networked winxp into my win98se.

i never liked how adobe installer doing strange checks just to extract & registering an activeX control ..., but i find it amusing how adobe flash installer trying to beat KEX each time win9x user (with KEX help of course) able to install previous version of flash10.

#796
loblo

loblo

    Oldbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Joined 12-January 10
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

i find it amusing how adobe flash installer trying to beat KEX each time win9x user (with KEX help of course) able to install previous version of flash10.

Certainly looks like this is what is hapenning. :yes:

Btw, the non IE versions of Flash 10.1.85.3 and 10.2.161.23 Beta 2 both install and seem to run fine here.

Edited by loblo, 11 October 2010 - 03:50 PM.


#797
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 462 posts
  • Joined 13-July 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

i find it amusing how adobe flash installer trying to beat KEX each time win9x user (with KEX help of course) able to install previous version of flash10.

Certainly looks like this is what is hapenning. :yes:
Btw, the non IE versions of Flash 10.1.85.3 and 10.2.161.23 Beta 2 both install and seem to run fine here.

Not sure: previously when they wanted to beat off the 'Old Os' users, there were a clear message that the OS is not supported and the exe was rejecting to install.
At least for me, Flash Player 10.1.85.3 seems to install correctly but no file is copied.

Btw, I tried both ActiveX (IE) and plugin (Non IE) with various registry changes, and wasn't able to get anyone of them installed in version 10.1.85.3.
(Didn't tried the 11.2 beta's).

#798
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 462 posts
  • Joined 13-July 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Does VLC need any specific compatibility mode? When I don't set any compatibility mode it shows me an "This program has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down"...

... When I enable Win2K or WinXP compatibility for it, all letters become black squares.

Have you got Revolutions Pack installed?
Read in post #734: VLC 1.1 (with KernelEx) works only without RP9.

As I said here, last version of VLC to give me good results (with RP9) is 1.0.3.

#799
ajFranzman

ajFranzman

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 12-October 10
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello, new KernelEx user here. Please forgive me any transgressions. I installed KEX for the specific purpose of running one application that would not otherwise work under Win98SE. It works now, but has a serious UI display issue. Then I remembered another program that I could not get to work at all some months previously, installed it, and now it runs but can not fully access any drives (leaving it still useless).

==========

Details for Harmony Programming Tool:

Download Harmony Programming Tool software and (if needed) FT232R USB>Serial Port Driver:
http://www.atariage....-cart-software/
Homepage:
http://harmony.atariage.com/

Note: You do not need an actual Harmony Cartridge to see the error, which appears regardless of whether the cartridge is connected to the system.

1. Operating system version: Windows 98SE, 4.10.2222 A. I have some Windows ME upgrades installed. OS is set to display fonts at 150% of original size under Display Properties > Settings tab > Advanced button > General tab.
2. KernelEx version: 4.5 RC4 (core 4.5.14). I have also tried 4.0 Final 2 (from KernelEx-4.0-Final2.exe) with the same results.
3a. Vendor: AtariAge/Fred X. Quimby/Stephen Anthony
3b. Program Name: HarmonyCart.exe, Harmony Programming Tool
3c. Program Version: 1.1
4. Problem Description: Tabs and buttons show no text labels. Program otherwise functions properly, and by stepping through the manual instructions and reading the popup tooltips can be used in the "Bios Update" tab mode. Manual lacks details for the "Development" tab mode and tooltips are insufficient to easily decipher what to do.
5. Exact steps required to reproduce the problem: Simply launch the HarmonyCart.exe application.
6a. Did the program work prior to installing KernelEx?: No, program would not run. See screenshot below of two error dialogs that pop up simultaneously.
6b. Does disabling KernelEx in compatibility tab fix the problem?: No, disabling KernelEx compatibilty returns program behaviour to same as before KernelEx was installed.

Screenshot from the .pdf manual showing what the HPT should look like under another OS:
Attached File  HarmonyGood.gif   49.59KB   5 downloads

Screenshot from my system, with KernelEx:
Attached File  HarmonyBad.gif   62.11KB   7 downloads

Screenshot from my system, without Kernelex (I moved the window with the focus down to show both, originally it was directly on top of the larger one):
Attached File  HarmonyErrors_NoKEX.gif   31.49KB   9 downloads

Both of the second and third screenshots above represent what appears regardless of whether the Harmony Cartridge is connected, with the exception that the status bar message in the second screenshot will be similar to the message shown in the manual if the cartridge is present, and the red dot in the lower right corner will be green instead.

I have also tried setting the fonts to display at the normal "Small Fonts" setting instead of 150%, with no change to the behavior.

==========

Details for DriveSort:

Homepage: http://www.anerty.ne...file/DriveSort/
(user instructions are on the page, download link is at bottom of page)

1. Operating system version: Windows 98SE, 4.10.2222 A. I have some Windows ME upgrades installed.
2. KernelEx version: 4.5 RC4 (core 4.5.14). I have also tried 4.0 Final 2 (from KernelEx-4.0-Final2.exe) with the same results.
3a. Vendor: Anerty
3b. Program Name: DriveSort.exe, DriveSort
3c. Program Version: 1.223
4. Problem Description: Program is unable to fully read any drive installed in or attached to the computer.
5. Exact steps required to reproduce the problem: Start the application. Click the far left drive icon in the toolbar, or select Disk then Open from the menu. After the program finishes scanning for drives (which will take a few seconds if the system has a floppy drive), double-click a listed drive; or highlight a drive in the list and click the OK button at bottom of the window.
6a. Did the program work prior to installing KernelEx?: No.
6b. Does disabling KernelEx in compatibility tab fix the problem?: No.

Screenshot of error dialog resulting when selecting a drive:
Attached File  DriveSortBad.gif   25.12KB   6 downloads

==========

Thank you Xeno86 and Tihiy for your work and continuing support on this project!

Edited by ajFranzman, 12 October 2010 - 07:43 PM.


#800
M()zart

M()zart

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Joined 17-June 08
Not sure but you may try Windows 2000 compatibility mode.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users