Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

KernelEx 4.5.2

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1557 replies to this topic

#901
loblo

loblo

    Oldbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 758 posts
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

Yes I saw that, but wasn't sure if Windows 2000 had that start icon too, so therefore I was unaware what system you were using.

Posted in this thread as proof it runs with KernelEx... and you really couldn't figure out whether it was supposed to be a 98 or 2K screenshot? :whistle:

Saying no more... :angel

Edited by loblo, 15 November 2010 - 10:30 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#902
frogman

frogman

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 554 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag


Yes I saw that, but wasn't sure if Windows 2000 had that start icon too, so therefore I was unaware what system you were using.

Posted in this thread as proof it runs with KernelEx... and you really couldn't figure out whether it was supposed to be a 98 or 2K screenshot? :whistle:

Saying no more... :angel


Didn't realise I was dealing with Mr Perfect!

:rolleyes:
Windows 98 S.E - Opera 12.02 - Firefox 3.6.28 - Kernel-Ex 4.5.2 - Internet Explorer 6

#903
loblo

loblo

    Oldbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 758 posts
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag

Is it the slim or full installer that you used?

If there is anything special I need to do to the install file for shockwave 11 on KernelEx please let me know. I initially used the compatibilty mode XP SP2 for the install file, and I still got that error.

http://www.msfn.org/...post__p__945711

Full installer (didn't try the slim one) and default KernelEx settings on all executables.

#904
rainyd

rainyd

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 407 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

rainyd You asked a similar question about shockwave 10 and 11 at post below.


That's true but look when I've asked that question - that was well before KernelEX 4.5 family.

Btw, I've installed a slim version of Shockwave (KernelEx was set for default mode).

#905
rainyd

rainyd

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 407 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Does Firefox have the same problem, or can that still use the "old" java plugin?


Yes, Firefox have exactly the same problem but with small trick (rename of plugin directory) you can use older, classical plugin (3.5xx family).

#906
loblo

loblo

    Oldbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 758 posts
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag
I am pleased to say that the superb Blender 2.55 Beta, which is, I think, built on Python 3.1, seems to work perfectly fine in 2K mode. It's much nicer and much more user friendly than the previous versions which I could never get the hang of. I haven't tested it extensively but I have spent the last couple of hours with it and I could import and export obj files , work on them, save and load a project and also render the scene with the latest LuxRender which I have been able to integrate in it without problems. :thumbup

:hello:

#907
loblo

loblo

    Oldbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 758 posts
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag
I remember xeno said something about pipes with regards to the new java plugin quite a while ago.

#908
CyberyogiCoWindler

CyberyogiCoWindler

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 77 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Is it the slim or full installer that you used?

I have tried both,and for some reason I receive an error as I mentioned earlier in this thread.

After I close the error window and I try to check the version on-line I usually see a blank box where the player should be, so I have to install version 10 again to display it back properly again. Shockwave version 11 will show in the list of add/remove programs and can be removed in this way, so although it looks like it has been installed on my system it hasn't really.

It's not Win98SE but a 586er CPU that can not run newer Flash versions. My AMD K6-III+ can not handle any Shockwave Flash versions beyond 10.0.45.2 (which is still fortunately sufficient for YouTube). So you may either need a newer CPU or the patcher software.

See this thread: http://www.msfn.org/...t/page__st__100

MAY THE SOFTWARE BE WITH YOU!

*============================================================================*
CYBERYOGI Christian Oliver(=CO=) Windler
(teachmaster of LOGOLOGIE - the first cyberage-religion!)
!
*=============================ABANDON=THE=BRUTALITY==========================*
{http://weltenschule.de/e_index.html }


#909
frogman

frogman

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 554 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag


Is it the slim or full installer that you used?

I have tried both,and for some reason I receive an error as I mentioned earlier in this thread.

After I close the error window and I try to check the version on-line I usually see a blank box where the player should be, so I have to install version 10 again to display it back properly again. Shockwave version 11 will show in the list of add/remove programs and can be removed in this way, so although it looks like it has been installed on my system it hasn't really.


It's not Win98SE but a 586er CPU that can not run newer Flash versions. My AMD K6-III+ can not handle any Shockwave Flash versions beyond 10.0.45.2 (which is still fortunately sufficient for YouTube). So you may either need a newer CPU or the patcher software.

See this thread: http://www.msfn.org/...t/page__st__100


That is interesting, so you are saying it could be down to the processor rather than the operating system, I have an AMD Athlon Processor 1000MHz

Be good if those that can install satisfactory version 11 of shockwave could say what processor they have use.

Is there any other info I can find about my processor like if it's a 586 or something.



Is it the slim or full installer that you used?

If there is anything special I need to do to the install file for shockwave 11 on KernelEx please let me know. I initially used the compatibilty mode XP SP2 for the install file, and I still got that error.

http://www.msfn.org/...post__p__945711

Full installer (didn't try the slim one) and default KernelEx settings on all executables.


When you say default KernelEx settings on all executables did you have to go into more than the exe file or was that enough to work it for you prior to clicking on it and installing 11.

Edited by frogman, 16 November 2010 - 03:35 AM.

Windows 98 S.E - Opera 12.02 - Firefox 3.6.28 - Kernel-Ex 4.5.2 - Internet Explorer 6

#910
loblo

loblo

    Oldbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 758 posts
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag
Frogman, I have an Athlon64 FX-55 CPU clocked at 2.6Ghz which is SSE2 capable.

And by all executable I just meant to say that no particular setting was needed for both installing and then running shockwave 11 in browsers.

#911
frogman

frogman

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 554 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Frogman, I have an Athlon64 FX-55 CPU clocked at 2.6Ghz which is SSE2 capable.

And by all executable I just meant to say that no particular setting was needed for both installing and then running shockwave 11 in browsers.


Perhaps it installs on 64bit systems rather than 32bit, mines is 32bit.

I say this as I don't know any other users that have 64bit apart from yourself.

Edited by frogman, 16 November 2010 - 09:18 AM.

Windows 98 S.E - Opera 12.02 - Firefox 3.6.28 - Kernel-Ex 4.5.2 - Internet Explorer 6

#912
loblo

loblo

    Oldbie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 758 posts
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag
The installer is not the problem. Yes it crashes but apparently when it does it has already installed all the files and written all the registry entries needed so that the software can run properly.

And it is not 64bit vs 32bit CPU either I guess albeit I would think the issue is indeed CPU related. What's probably happening is that your CPU doesn't even support SSE instructions and that the shockwave player 11 makes use of those instructions. If I am not mistaken, CPUs older than Intel Pentium 3 and AMD AthlonXP don't have SSE registers.

Edited by loblo, 16 November 2010 - 10:35 AM.


#913
WIN98SE

WIN98SE

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,

I am using Virtual PC 2007. It can not virtualize a 64Bit Guest and the emulated hardware is just outdated like the S3 Trio graphiccard.
http://en.wikipedia....ted_environment
But the latest Flash and even Shockwave(Slim) runs perfectly with WIN98SE and KernelEx.

It can only be the -in my case virtualized- CPU!
Just download CPU-Z and you can see which Instructions your CPU has.
http://www.cpuid.com...ares/cpu-z.html

#914
frogman

frogman

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 554 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

The installer is not the problem. Yes it crashes but apparently when it does it has already installed all the files and written all the registry entries needed so that the software can run properly.

And it is not 64bit vs 32bit CPU either I guess albeit I would think the issue is indeed CPU related. What's probably happening is that your CPU doesn't even support SSE instructions and that the shockwave player 11 makes use of those instructions. If I am not mistaken, CPUs older than Intel Pentium 3 and AMD AthlonXP don't have SSE registers.


When I bought this computer it came with Windows 98 S.E installed, and I have never changed the CPU which is an Athlon.

What is SSE if you don't mind me asking? second edition of windows 98?
Windows 98 S.E - Opera 12.02 - Firefox 3.6.28 - Kernel-Ex 4.5.2 - Internet Explorer 6

#915
rainyd

rainyd

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 407 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

What is SSE if you don't mind me asking? second edition of windows 98?


No, it's special CPU instruction set, introduced by Intel at the end of the 90's in Pentium III family.

http://en.wikipedia....SIMD_Extensions

Edited by rainyd, 16 November 2010 - 02:42 PM.


#916
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Last Shockwave Player version I was able to install in Windows 98 SE (even with KernelEx) is 10.2.0.23.

That's true but look when I've asked that question - that was well before KernelEX 4.5 family.

So, I was wrong! My try was with an older version of KernelEx.
I have made new tests, with last 4.5 RC5.

As loblo said, install of version 11.5.9.615 is crashing, but the plugin is working.



The program automatically downloaded a few files in %WINDIR%\Application Data\Macromedia\Shockwave Player\xtras\download\MacromediaInc
at the first try with a game I have on my HD, and gave me a 2nd similar crash at the end of download!



Everything seems fine afterward.
No registry trick used. KernelEx 4.5 RC5 with default settings.


Those crashes are related to SCC.dll which is the Symantec Criteria Checker .

Last version not crashing during the install process is 11.5.7.609, but he has the same 2nd crash.
The 'Symantec Criteria Checker' is called there SYMCCHECKER.DLL .
I have checked that the files and folders installed are similar with the 2 versions (despite of the install crash with 11.5.9.615).


BTW (and this is safe, I'm doing that already for years with the version 10):
* In the '%WINDIR%\SYSTEM\Adobe\Shockwave 11' and '%WINDIR%\SYSTEM\Macromed\Shockwave 10' folders, I have renamed
gi.dll, gt.exe & gtapi.dll to gi_dll, gt_exe & gtapi_dll
because they are part of the Google Toolbar and are useless!

* The file '%WINDIR%\SYSTEM\Adobe\Shockwave 11\Shockwave Log' can also be deleted, but it is recreated everytime you use Shockwave!

* In the registry, some keys can also be changed, like for instance
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Adobe\Shockwave 11\AutoUpdate]
@="y"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Adobe\Shockwave 11\collectstats]
@="y"

from @="y" to @="n" to block some annoying behaviors ;)

HTH
Charles.

Edited by CharlesF, 07 December 2010 - 02:51 PM.


#917
frogman

frogman

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 554 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag


Last Shockwave Player version I was able to install in Windows 98 SE (even with KernelEx) is 10.2.0.23.

That's true but look when I've asked that question - that was well before KernelEX 4.5 family.

So, I was wrong! My try was with an older version of KernelEx.
I have made new tests, With last 4.5 RC5.

As loblo said, install of version 11.5.9.615 is crashing, but the plugin is working.



The program automatically downloaded a few files in %WINDIR%\Application Data\Macromedia\Shockwave Player\xtras\download\MacromediaInc
at the first try with a game I have on my HD, and gave me a 2nd similar crash at the end of download!



Everything seems fine afterward.
No registry used. KernelEx 4.5 RC5 with default settings.


Those crashes are related to SCC.dll which is the Symantec Criteria Checker .

Last version not crashing during the install process is 11.5.7.609, but he has the same 2nd crash.
The 'Symantec Criteria Checker' is called there SYMCCHECKER.DLL .
I have checked that the files and folders installed are similar with the 2 versions (despite of the install crash with 11.5.9.615).


BTW (and this is safe, I'm doing that already for years with the version 10):
* In the '%WINDIR%\SYSTEM\Adobe\Shockwave 11' and '%WINDIR%\SYSTEM\Macromed\Shockwave 10' folders, I have renamed
gi.dll, gt.exe & gtapi.dll to gi_dll, gt_exe & gtapi_dll
because they are part of the Google Toolbar and are useless!

* The file '%WINDIR%\SYSTEM\Adobe\Shockwave 11\Shockwave Log' can also be deleted, but it is recreated everytime you use Shockwave!

* In the registry, some keys can also be changed, like for instance
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Adobe\Shockwave 11\AutoUpdate]
@="y"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Adobe\Shockwave 11\collectstats]
@="y"

from @="y" to @="n" to block some annoying behaviors ;)

HTH
Charles.


What happens with me is this, I get the crash as you do, and version 11 of shockwave shows in the add/remove program list, but if I go to check which version I am running nothing shows where the player normally shows to tell me which version I'm running, also if I try to run any shockwave flash pages they don't appear to run. So I am kind of stuck with version 10 of the shockwave.

I have always wondered why I see references to Netscape when I am installing or un-installing, I don't have Netscape on my HD, and wondered why I still get references to it.

For instance I saw 2 browsers while using the un-installer and one said Netscape, and was I happy to remove data from this browser, but like I say I don't have Netscape installed any longer.

Would it be safe to remove this Netscape found in my registry, and also the SCC, would it be safe to remove that, if that as you say is causing the crashes.

Edited by frogman, 17 November 2010 - 05:39 AM.

Windows 98 S.E - Opera 12.02 - Firefox 3.6.28 - Kernel-Ex 4.5.2 - Internet Explorer 6

#918
frogman

frogman

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 554 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Here is the error I get when I tried to install latest shockwave 11 slim version on I.E6, thought this may help find out why I receive these problems, after I did this when I attempted to test it on adobes site I.E then goes into an error loop.

AppName: iexplore.exe AppVer: 6.0.2800.1106 ModName: control.dll
ModVer: 11.5.9.615 Offset: 0001a801
Windows 98 S.E - Opera 12.02 - Firefox 3.6.28 - Kernel-Ex 4.5.2 - Internet Explorer 6

#919
frogman

frogman

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 554 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
What is the correct and preferred compatibility mode for the Mozilla Firefox 3.6.12?

At the moment when I check it I have it as Windows XP SP2, is it ok for to leave it at that?
Windows 98 S.E - Opera 12.02 - Firefox 3.6.28 - Kernel-Ex 4.5.2 - Internet Explorer 6

#920
xrayer

xrayer

    RayeR

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 145 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I tried new KEX RC5 and it still has notes drawing problem in Guitar Pro. But there's small progress that I can reboot windows normally after runing GP5 (before it hanged during shutdown). Other apps that I use works well as with RC4 (Mozilla 2.0.10, VirtualDub)
Win98(SE)CZ unofficial support site.
Running MSDOS 6.22, FreeDOS, Win98SE+KEX-4.5.2+nSP+nUSB, NT4.0-SP6, WinXP-SP3, Debian Linux
Gigabyte GA-P31-DS3L, Core 2 Duo E8500@3,6GHz, 4GB DDR2, GF7900GT/256M, SSD Samsung 840 Pro, WD1000FBYX SATA, SB Audigy 2

#921
monroe

monroe

    Friend of MSFN

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 917 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I have noticed on my Win 98SE setup that I now have two MS Hotfixes that need to be reinstalled. I have KernelEx 4.5 RC 5 installed. When I run Belarc Advisor it shows that UPD272137 and UPD320798 need to be reinstalled. So I did reinstall UPD272137 and had to reboot ... then a box pops up that KernelEx is no longer working and must be reinstalled after the reboot. I checked Belarc Advisor again and UPD272137 is now OK. So I delete KernelEX , reboot and reinstall KernelEx and the UPD272137 is no longer OK and must be reinstalled. I guess those two updates are affected by this newer version of KernelEx. I didn't notice this problem before with earlier versions of KernelEx. I also went back a few pages on the messages to see if anyone has already talked about these two updates, didn't see anything. Any ideas on this ... may just have to live those two updates being messed up. I noticed this also on my other notebook. thanks ...

#922
dencorso

dencorso

    Adiuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 5,863 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

So I did reinstall UPD272137 and had to reboot ... then a box pops up that KernelEx is no longer working and must be reinstalled after the reboot. [...] I also went back a few pages on the messages to see if anyone has already talked about these two updates, didn't see anything. Any ideas on this ... may just have to live those two updates being messed up. I noticed this also on my other notebook. thanks ...

You should always check *what* the updates in question are... :whistle:
Q272137 installs Kernel32.dll v. 04.10.00.2224 for Win 98SE and was superceeded by
Q320798, which installs Kernel32.dll v. 04.10.00.2225 for Win 98SE and was superceeded by
the Unofficial Win9x 2-4 GB Files Errors Fix, COPY2GB, which installs Kernel32.dll v. 04.10.00.2226 for Win 98SE!!!
If you didn't install it in your system up to now, now is a good time for you to do it.
And, while you're at it do add also the Unofficial Win 9x Explorer Lockups With IE 5.xx/6.xx update (SHELL98), which installs Shell32.dll v. 4.72.3812.634, and the Unofficial Win 9x Stack Corruption, 98KRNLUP, which installs Krnl386.exe v. 04.10.00.2000, and, then, reinstall KernelEx, and you're all set, no matter what Belarc says about it.

#923
Xeno86

Xeno86

    KernelEx Creator

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 250 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Here is the error I get when I tried to install latest shockwave 11 slim version on I.E6, thought this may help find out why I receive these problems, after I did this when I attempted to test it on adobes site I.E then goes into an error loop.

AppName: iexplore.exe AppVer: 6.0.2800.1106 ModName: control.dll
ModVer: 11.5.9.615 Offset: 0001a801

I've just checked Shockwave 11 slim on IE6 and couldn't see any problems apart from already known installer crash.
Attached File  shockwave11.png   54.41KB   16 downloads

What is the correct and preferred compatibility mode for the Mozilla Firefox 3.6.12?

At the moment when I check it I have it as Windows XP SP2, is it ok for to leave it at that?

Prefered compatibility mode is "Default mode" for firefox.exe + "Windows 2000 SP4" for xul.dll (these are also the default settings used after KernelEx install, unless you change them). In this configuration Firefox will report to be working under Windows NT 5.0.
KernelEx: home board download

#924
monroe

monroe

    Friend of MSFN

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 917 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

dencorso ... thanks for the information on those updates. I uninstalled KernelEx and put the updates on in the order that you said, reinstalled KernelEx and all is OK. I never would have figured all that out. ... thanks

#925
frogman

frogman

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 554 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag


Here is the error I get when I tried to install latest shockwave 11 slim version on I.E6, thought this may help find out why I receive these problems, after I did this when I attempted to test it on adobes site I.E then goes into an error loop.

AppName: iexplore.exe AppVer: 6.0.2800.1106 ModName: control.dll
ModVer: 11.5.9.615 Offset: 0001a801

I've just checked Shockwave 11 slim on IE6 and couldn't see any problems apart from already known installer crash.
Attached File  shockwave11.png   54.41KB   16 downloads


I get the crash as you mention, but when I check for the player 11 to be working it just doesn't although it shows in the add/remove program list.

So I am back with shockwave 10 as I don't see the point having it in the list but not actually working or be recognised when tested, in other words I don't get shockwave 11 to show up as you do on that adobe site.

I looked for the Control.dll file, and noticed that it is showing as default mode for KernelEx, would I need to change that perhaps especially as that came up as an error as I shown earlier.

Edited by frogman, 22 November 2010 - 06:00 AM.

Windows 98 S.E - Opera 12.02 - Firefox 3.6.28 - Kernel-Ex 4.5.2 - Internet Explorer 6




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Baidu (1)


How to remove advertisement from MSFN