Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

KernelEx 4.5.2

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1532 replies to this topic

#151
eidenk

eidenk

    MSFN Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,527 posts

I'd like a list of entries under MPRServices of those of you who have problems with booting.

Nothing apart from KernelEx here.

KernelEx:
DLLName: C:\Windows\KernelEx\KernelEx.dll
EntryPoint: _MprStart@4
Stack size: 0x00001000

Also did RC1 work fine in this respect (system without RP9) ?

I can't recall unfortunately.

Now KernelEx pre-loads all entries before doing initialization. Theoretically it shouldn't affect the system in any way...

Well I hope I am not blaming KernelEx because of another problem I have.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#152
thydreamwalker

thydreamwalker

    teddybearguru7

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 252 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
:whistle: Gdiplus.dll 5.1.3102.5512(from my xpprosp3 version) may help with Firefox3 install, as i installed this after RP9+KEX4.0RC;,but also copied another Firefox3 install from PuppyLinux-Lighthouse4.12rc2 and this version of Firefox3.0.8 has yet to "Crash" :thumbup

#153
RetroOS

RetroOS

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 531 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I've only got the mpr hang once or twice. Here's the two subkeys under MPRServices (no keys under the main MPRServices key):

KernelEx:
DLLName: C:\Windows\KernelEx\KernelEx.dll
EntryPoint: _MprStart@4
Stack size: 0x00001000

RP8:
DLLName: rp8.dll
EntryPoint: InitAsync
StackSize: 0x00002000

RP 9.1.0 and KernelEx 4.0 RC2.

I've only got these two entries too.
It did not happen in RC1 and installing RP9 fixes the problem in RC2...

#154
Rock in stereo

Rock in stereo
  • Members
  • 6 posts

1st GREAT job. I now can run Firefox 3.0.8 on a PII running ME
I am having trouble getting Flash 10.0.22.87 to install. It says unsupported OS and the Flash install log show ME.
I did the reg update and tried the campat tap too.

Are you running KEx4 RC2? Also, do note that only the firefox / netscape version will work. The ActiveX version will not (flashplayer_10_ax.exe or something to that effect).

WHat I find also worked (might be in this case) was changing the OS version in the other reg path too. The one on the second post indicates:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion]

Instead, using regedit, navigate to:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion]

.. and change the key 'VersionNumber' to something like 5.10.2222, making sure to keep note what your version said before changes so as to set it back to the correct one after install.

Many many thanks, I can now listen to on-line streaming of a DAB Plus station which (regrettably) required the newest version of Flash. This worked perfectly. We owe you guys a huge debt! I was unaware Kernel Ex or even this forum existed. :thumbup

Adobe Flash 10 Plug in (for browsers other than IE)
Opera 9.64
Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222A


#155
luluthefirst

luluthefirst

    Junior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 73 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
it's possible add the pause button for process explorer 11.13? On Windows 98 SE, i click right on a process, i haven't the pause button, but on Windows 2000/XP/2003/Vista/2008/7 i have the pause button :unsure:

Adding "SuspendThread" to Kernel32.dll may be good
Declare Function SuspendThread Lib "kernel32.dll" ( _
ByVal hThread As Long) As Long

Edited by luluthefirst, 28 June 2009 - 06:48 AM.


#156
eidenk

eidenk

    MSFN Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,527 posts
You could use Another Task Manager if you want to suspend threads.

ftp://ftp.elf.stuba.sk/pub/pc/utiltask/atm22.zip ;)

#157
halohalo

halohalo

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I installed Firefox Portable 3.0 and updated to 3.5 without problem :thumbup

#158
Philco

Philco

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 273 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I installed Firefox Portable 3.0 and updated to 3.5 without problem :thumbup


Run FF 3.5 with KernelEx properly?

#159
RetroOS

RetroOS

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 531 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

...
Run FF 3.5 with KernelEx properly?

Works for me.

#160
Philco

Philco

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 273 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

...
Run FF 3.5 with KernelEx properly?

Works for me.


Works too! Thx. (I try install FF 3.5 with update). OGG video properly.

#161
eidenk

eidenk

    MSFN Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,527 posts
With regards to boot freeze issues, I can report that I have reduced considerably their occurences by enabling bootlog. I have failed booting just once out of around 20 boots since I have enabled it. Does not make much sense to me but here you got the information anyway.

#162
sparky4

sparky4

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag
Kernelex allows me to use my 1st operating system longer and still keep it ALIVE! :thumbup

GOOD JOB!

Attached Files


Edited by sparky4, 02 July 2009 - 08:09 AM.


#163
rainyd

rainyd

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 407 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I can confirm too, that FF 3.5 works smoothly with one exception: I've problem with Chinese/Japanese characters - they're not displayed properly.
Could anyone help me, how to fix that (if this is possible of course)?

Edited by rainyd, 03 July 2009 - 04:56 AM.


#164
Philco

Philco

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 273 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I can confirm too, that FF 3.5 works smoothly with one exception: I've problem with Chinese/Japanese characters - they're not displayed properly.
Could anyone help me, how to fix that (if this is possible of course)?


Links?
Problem with instaled font?

http://www.microsoft...;displaylang=EN
http://www.microsoft...;displaylang=en
http://www.microsoft...;displaylang=EN

and
http://www.microsoft...;displaylang=en

Edited by Philco, 03 July 2009 - 06:06 AM.


#165
rainyd

rainyd

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 407 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Links?
Problem with instaled font?


No, this has nothing to do with installed fonts.
Under Firefox 2.0.0.22 pre, I haven't such problem.

#166
triger49

triger49

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 143 posts
Can somebody help me out here?

I was sure I read on here somewhere what to do when Kernelex 4.2 obliterated the skin on the systray...??

did I really read about a fix or just dream it?

It not a major issue, just kind of like washing and waxing your car, drive a block and have a bird do a number on the windshield.... :rolleyes:

Thanks
Jake

#167
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,907 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

obliterated the skin on the systray

If you have RP9 less than 9.1.0 or UberSkin, install latest GDI and USER versions:
http://tihiy.ahanix.org/RPUpdates.html

#168
triger49

triger49

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 143 posts

obliterated the skin on the systray

If you have RP9 less than 9.1.0 or UberSkin, install latest GDI and USER versions:


Tihiy ....Thanks ....somehow I thought I did that ....but I had not..... :blushing:

Worked like a swiss watch.... :thumbup

Jake

#169
Philco

Philco

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 273 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Links?
Problem with instaled font?


No, this has nothing to do with installed fonts.
Under Firefox 2.0.0.22 pre, I haven't such problem.



I trying reinstaling with Microsoft Global IME (Input Method Editor) 5.02 for Windows 95, 98, and NT 4.0 scmondo.exe: Simplified Chinese IME + lang pack (4.3 MB - page bottom) and chinese character OK (FF2.0.0.22pre, FF 2.0.0.20, FF3.5, IE 6.1).

#170
Drugwash

Drugwash

    MSFN Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,182 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I hope you know there are different IMEs for users of Office 2000/XP. So if you have any of those products installed, you should uninstall the standard IME and install the dedicated one depending on which Office version you use.

#171
dencorso

dencorso

    Adiuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Super Moderator
  • 5,547 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

GenuineCheck.exe ver. 1.7.36.0 works with Win98. I don't remember if I had KeX installed or not when I last run this program.
I saved the .exe because somehow I knew I will need it later. :D

It's possible to send me this file?

Here is a direct download Microsoft link for v. 1.5.723.1, which is older but should also work OK: GenuineCheck

#172
eidenk

eidenk

    MSFN Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,527 posts
I am pleased to report that KernelEx runs rock stable here. It took me a while to assess that as I was plagued since around the time I installed it by some nasty stability issues which I have now all fixed without removing KernelEx.

Occasional freeze on boot remains despite that but they are rare since I enabled bootlog so this is no big deal at all.

Great job :thumbup

#173
eidenk

eidenk

    MSFN Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,527 posts
Installed Acrobat Professional 6 this morning and it crashes in msi.dll when I enable 2K compatibility mode. If AIOD.dll (Adobe Install On Demand) is not present the crash does not occur and Acrobat launches normally. 2K mode allows Acrobat to run the Preflight plugin. I am in no need for a fix as it's perfectly fine without AOID but I thought that was maybe an interesting error so here is a DrWatson crash log :

http://www.mediafire...php?in2ymmyzrzm

#174
mynameis

mynameis
  • Members
  • 1 posts
Successfully installed KernelEx 4.0 RC 2 on Windows 98 SE (Slovenian).

Problem
At first boot a file 'C:\Program Files\Common Files\Softwin\BitDefender Scan Server\bdss.exe' reported 'wrong operating system'.

Fix
>right clicked the file >clicked 'Properties' >clicked 'Compatibility' tab >clicked ' Disable KernelEx extension for this program' check box to enabled it
>rebooted

Then installed Firefox 3.5 and enjoyed using it.

Many thanks for this highly appreciated solution.

#175
sp193

sp193

    The fallen spartan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 141 posts

I trying reinstaling with Microsoft Global IME (Input Method Editor) 5.02 for Windows 95, 98, and NT 4.0 scmondo.exe: Simplified Chinese IME + lang pack (4.3 MB - page bottom) and chinese character OK (FF2.0.0.22pre, FF 2.0.0.20, FF3.5, IE 6.1).

So you managed to install the Chinese IME? Are all of the dialogs and menus working? Mine is still broken since KernelEx 0.3.6 (Or maybe even before that? I don't have 0.3.2 to test with anymore)... :( (Right-clicking on the Chinese IME icon and clicking the "Input options" menu only produces a "click" sound)

Edited by sp193, 07 July 2009 - 04:17 AM.





4 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Bing (2)


How to remove advertisement from MSFN