Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Revolutions Pack 9.7

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
759 replies to this topic

#701
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Welcome Moonlights, :)

if you don't see this option during setup, I'm afraid you won't be able to change language. :}
It seems that RP doesn't give choice but default OS language.

Maybe (but I don't have tried this, so beware!),
you could tweak the 'RPConfig.lng' file in %Windir%\SYSTEM
by changing the line [1036] in [1033], if your default OS language is english.
If not, it should be easier, by giving to the line [1036], the number of your default OS language and erasing this original line from the file.

FWIW.
Charles.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#702
marxelo

marxelo
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi!

If someone from Spain or Latin América is interested, this is a spanish "start button" for "Windows XP Theme".

Posted Image

To replace the default "Start" english button, follow this steps:

1. If you are using the standard XP Theme with english start button, just change to another theme for some minutes.

2. Rename the default english button, usually located at "C:\WINDOWS\Resources\Themes\Windows XP" from "BLUE_STARTBUTTON_BMP.bmp" to something else, like "BLUE_STARTBUTTON_BMP_ENG.bmp"

3. Download this bitmap file containing the spanish button and place it in the "...Resources\Themes\Windows XP" directory.

Attached File  BLUE_STARTBUTTON_BMP.bmp   29.06KB   16 downloads

4. From RPConfig, go back to "Windows XP Theme".

Now the "Start" button is in spanish: it says "Inicio".

Marcelo.

Edited by marxelo, 17 January 2013 - 01:17 PM.


#703
Briansurvivedwindowsme

Briansurvivedwindowsme

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thx,it works fine just that in the area where the time is the background is white instead of the theme color.any way I can fix this?

#704
Drugwash

Drugwash

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Which OS version you've installed it on (98 Gold/98SE/ME)? Is it a true install or in a virtual machine?

Have you installed the required updates first, as mentioned in post #2 of this thread?

Are there any other system enhancements installed (unofficial SP3/AutoPatcher/98SE2ME/etc)?

Is there any application running that could mess with that taskbar area (TClock, for example)?



#705
Briansurvivedwindowsme

Briansurvivedwindowsme

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hey drugwash,
I have windows me
No enhancements at all,
I've installed the updates before I installed RP9,
I have no programs messing around with the task bar area.I checked.
It's still weird,because isn't windows ME like windows 98 with just a few more programs?
Also,I'm running on a real computer.Its a laptop.Heres the specs:

Intel Celeron Processor
64MB of RAM
360Mhz
Hp Pavilion N5210

#706
dencorso

dencorso

    Adiuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 5,859 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Thx,it works fine just that in the area where the time is the background is white instead of the theme color.any way I can fix this?

 

Post screenshot, please.



#707
Briansurvivedwindowsme

Briansurvivedwindowsme

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

.-.the picture is over 500kb,how do i upload it now?



#708
Tommy

Tommy

    Brooke's Tommy honey <3

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 471 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

.-.the picture is over 500kb,how do i upload it now?

Use TinyPic and use the correct image tags to link your image to here.


Daily running Windows 2000 Pro SP4 and Windows 98

Posted Image
Posted Image

#709
Briansurvivedwindowsme

Briansurvivedwindowsme

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Thx,it works fine just that in the area where the time is the background is white instead of the theme color.any way I can fix this?

 

Post screenshot, please.

 

Ok,here it is:http://i58.tinypic.com/24g1yj4.jpg

apparently using tinypic and putting image here doesn't work with .bmp file extensions -.-



#710
Briansurvivedwindowsme

Briansurvivedwindowsme

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hmm,seems that kernel ex is getting along with revolutions pack.-.happens.


Edited by Briansurvivedwindowsme, 01 March 2014 - 11:30 AM.


#711
Drugwash

Drugwash

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Maybe you're missing the bitmap pertaining to the Systray area, in the skin package - have you tried a different skin? Or open in Notepad the skin.ini corresponding to the current skin and check if the file mentioned by the Bitmap value in the TaskBarTray section exists in the current folder; it may be missing or its name could be wrong in the ini. You may fix the name or borrow the file from another skin (or build it yourself in an image editor - 101x28px, 24bpp bitmap in Royale/Windows XP/ZuneXP themes).

 

As for KernelEx and Revolutions Pack, I've been running both on my main 98SE machine for years, so yeah, they do get along fine.


Edited by Drugwash, 02 March 2014 - 01:00 AM.


#712
Briansurvivedwindowsme

Briansurvivedwindowsme

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hmm, it's weird. The picture is there, and everything is right. I noticed now that when the computer starts, the task at isn't loaded yet and the clock area is fine, just without the clock writing and stuff. But when the taskbar loads, the clock area becomes white, and the text loads. It's as if windows ME unloads it or something. It happens all the time, with other themes as well.



#713
M()zart

M()zart

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 277 posts

As for KernelEx and Revolutions Pack, I've been running both on my main 98SE machine for years, so yeah, they do get along fine.

I also was running them together for years with mostly no problems and no graphical glitches.

 

Briansurvivedwindowsme, have you installed all the updates, required by Revolutions Pack? Could they be overwritten by some other installation? As I recall, some graphical glitches could occur if some required dlls (or exes) were not updated or updated to other versions.



#714
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Briansurvivedwindowsme, what is the name of the skin you are using?

I would be able to try it  :yes:



#715
Briansurvivedwindowsme

Briansurvivedwindowsme

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Briansurvivedwindowsme, what is the name of the skin you are using?

I would be able to try it  :yes:

its Longhorn 4008 theme.Just go to http://rp9.win98.nl/...mePack_XTP_.exe

when you download it,just do the instructions there.there is a readme.txt i think for directions



#716
Briansurvivedwindowsme

Briansurvivedwindowsme

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

As for KernelEx and Revolutions Pack, I've been running both on my main 98SE machine for years, so yeah, they do get along fine.

I also was running them together for years with mostly no problems and no graphical glitches.

 

Briansurvivedwindowsme, have you installed all the updates, required by Revolutions Pack? Could they be overwritten by some other installation? As I recall, some graphical glitches could occur if some required dlls (or exes) were not updated or updated to other versions.

 

yep,i installed all the updates required.no installation messed with the clock area.i checked everything compared to my fresh Win98 computer with RP9,and all the files where there without modifications.



#717
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

its Longhorn 4008 theme.Just go to http://rp9.win98.nl/...mePack_XTP_.exe

 

Sorry Briansurvivedwindowsme, but working fine here:

Attached File  Longhorn4008.png   2.65KB   4 downloads

I have compare my 'Longhorn 4008' folder with the 'XstyleThemePack_XTP_.exe' one, 

and they are strictly identical.

 

Must be some error in your copy. Try to reinstall this folder after unzipping the exe.

 

HTH   :angel



#718
TmEE

TmEE

    Mega Drive Modding Master

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 361 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I experienced same problem in WinME myself, but I did not look what causes it and how to get rid of it. No problem in 98SE.


Posted Image Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)

#719
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

So Briansurvivedwindowsme, you could try to run RPCONFIG.EXE (and maybe the dll embedded in the program) with KernelEx in Windows 98SE compatibility mode?



#720
Briansurvivedwindowsme

Briansurvivedwindowsme

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

its Longhorn 4008 theme.Just go to http://rp9.win98.nl/...mePack_XTP_.exe

 

Sorry Briansurvivedwindowsme, but working fine here:

attachicon.gifLonghorn4008.png

I have compare my 'Longhorn 4008' folder with the 'XstyleThemePack_XTP_.exe' one, 

and they are strictly identical.

 

Must be some error in your copy. Try to reinstall this folder after unzipping the exe.

 

HTH   :angel

 

I reinstalled RP9 and nothing changed at all.



#721
Briansurvivedwindowsme

Briansurvivedwindowsme

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

So Briansurvivedwindowsme, you could try to run RPCONFIG.EXE (and maybe the dll embedded in the program) with KernelEx in Windows 98SE compatibility mode?

hmm,I haven't tried that.I'll try now.



#722
Briansurvivedwindowsme

Briansurvivedwindowsme

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

 

So Briansurvivedwindowsme, you could try to run RPCONFIG.EXE (and maybe the dll embedded in the program) with KernelEx in Windows 98SE compatibility mode?

hmm,I haven't tried that.I'll try now.

 

nope,same results.



#723
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Briansurvivedwindowsme, there is several files running the program: UBERHACK.EXE, uberskin.dll, SHL8.DLL, RP8.dll

You will find them in %WINDIR%\SYSTEM

 

You should try to play with them and KernelEx, and see after reapplying the skin if it solves your glitch.

 

AFAIK, RPConfig.exe is no more than the GUI



#724
TmEE

TmEE

    Mega Drive Modding Master

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 361 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I think I found the fix to the white clock problem - you need to make PChealth.EXE not run prior to installing RP9 and applying skins and stuff. The service will undo the changes in system files done by RP and that causes the problem. It'll likely make the system more responsive too as there's one less thing that is constantly monitoring everything.

It seems on WinME the "superbar" version of a skin will not have two rows of systray icons as on 98SE... but I can live with that, it just looks less good.

EDIT: Seems only the Watercolor Emico is affected, that means I'll only have to adjust the skin's ini file ! I'll provide a "fix" when I achieve that ^^

EDIT2: TaskBarSize=39 will give me 2 rows of icons. I am not able to get 2 rows in other ways so I'll have to adjust the other taskbar related values so all looks uniform and naiss.


Edited by TmEE, 15 March 2014 - 04:00 PM.

Posted Image Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa ;)

#725
CharlesF

CharlesF

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I have a bug with the 'Windows 7' theme

With any of the 2 Taskbar sizes (normal or superbar), the taskbar size doubles after a while,

and the buttons will come under the Quicklaunch bar.

See screenshot: Attached File  Taskbar_Win7.png   10.24KB   7 downloads

 

I have tried several tricks and settings, but I was not able to fix it.

Could someone help me?

 

Thx in advance.

Charles.

Windows 98SE - Revolutions Pack 9.7.2 - KernelEx 4.5.2






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN