Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

How to change windows 7 setup background.


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1
yanghaijun

yanghaijun

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 12-November 03
For example, i can modify Winntbbu.dll to change the setup background in WinXP.
My english is not good, please help me ...


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,810 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
http://www.wpiw.net/...ntbbued_3.1.exe

Edited by Kelsenellenelvian, 22 May 2009 - 07:05 AM.


#3
yanghaijun

yanghaijun

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 12-November 03

http://www.wpiw.net/...ntbbued_3.1.exe

Windows 7?
My english is not good, please help me ...

#4
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,810 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Oops my bad. Sorry.

#5
SoultakerPT

SoultakerPT

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 87 posts
  • Joined 07-June 04
If you're using MDT an easy way to change this would be, modifying the image called background_cli.bmp that is under (in my case):
"D:\DeploymentShare\Operating Systems\Windows 7 RC x86\sources"
[Geeking Around Technological World] http://front-slash.blogspot.com

#6
Adadu

Adadu

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 42 posts
  • Joined 15-February 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

If you're using MDT an easy way to change this would be, modifying the image called background_cli.bmp that is under (in my case):
"D:\DeploymentShare\Operating Systems\Windows 7 RC x86\sources"


I tryed to change a lots of images, but still i cant do it. Can you be more specific please?
Enemy of Bill Gates

#7
SoultakerPT

SoultakerPT

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 87 posts
  • Joined 07-June 04
Adadu, sorry but I didn't understand.

Did o try to change the background_cli.bmp that is under "D:\DeploymentShare\Operating Systems\Windows 7 RC x86\sources" and didn't work out?

Best Regards,
Soultaker
[Geeking Around Technological World] http://front-slash.blogspot.com

#8
Adadu

Adadu

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 42 posts
  • Joined 15-February 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Adadu, sorry but I didn't understand.

Did o try to change the background_cli.bmp that is under "D:\DeploymentShare\Operating Systems\Windows 7 RC x86\sources" and didn't work out?

Best Regards,
Soultaker

Thx for reply, but my first mistake was the fact i tryed to modify the files using GImagex, not Microsoft Deployment Toolkit. Actually i never tryed this one. I will give it a try and come back with the results. Thx again.
L.E. Where I can find a tutorial or something for MDT?

D:\DeploymentShare\Operating Systems\Windows 7 RC x86\sources

For me it's a long way to get there... i really dont know how to use that program... maybe someone can be kind enough to teach me or give me a hint. In that matter I am really a n00b. :D

Edited by Adadu, 13 August 2009 - 12:35 PM.

Enemy of Bill Gates

#9
SoultakerPT

SoultakerPT

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 87 posts
  • Joined 07-June 04
Take a quick look here to know to get it:
http://frontslash.wo...eta-2-released/

On my blog you can find more information about it!
http://frontslash.wordpress.com
[Geeking Around Technological World] http://front-slash.blogspot.com

#10
Adadu

Adadu

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 42 posts
  • Joined 15-February 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Take a quick look here to know to get it:
http://frontslash.wo...eta-2-released/

On my blog you can find more information about it!
http://frontslash.wordpress.com

Thx for the reply, I allready taked MDK but from your links I was unable to find a tutorial or something close to. What I want to ask you (if you are kind enough) is to teach me if you have time and you are in the mood, or guide me to a tutorial, where I can learn to use that MDK (I'm dumb, I know). :D
All I wanna know is the steps I must do to change install screen, from that boring blue with... birds and stuff, to a dear one ( a MacOSX one hihi ).
Kind regards,
Adadu

Edited by Adadu, 13 August 2009 - 01:07 PM.

Enemy of Bill Gates

#11
SoultakerPT

SoultakerPT

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 87 posts
  • Joined 07-June 04
No problem Adadu, I help you has I can...

First of all...take a look at this webcast:
http://blogs.technet...10-webcast.aspx

MDT 2008 webcast are good source for learning to becausar there aren't a lot of changes between them, although MDT 2008 isn't available for Windows 7.

Take a look because the webcasts helped me a lot.
[Geeking Around Technological World] http://front-slash.blogspot.com

#12
morning

morning
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 06-September 08
You need to edit boot.wim\sources\spwizimg.dll Bitmap 517 and 518 with a resource editor.

#13
gabontz

gabontz
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 01-May 09

You need to edit boot.wim\sources\spwizimg.dll Bitmap 517 and 518 with a resource editor.

Hello when i try to replace images with reshacker i get an errorAttached File  Untitled.png   35.22KB   116 downloads

#14
Adadu

Adadu

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 42 posts
  • Joined 15-February 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

You need to edit boot.wim\sources\spwizimg.dll Bitmap 517 and 518 with a resource editor.

OK, I did that but still... there is a problem.. Take a look...

What did I do wrong? What pic I have to replace to change the blue image. THX.

L.E. After first restart, I don't have my image anymore... is the default blue image. Again... what did I do wrong?
Can anybody make a list of the files i should modify?
Enemy of Bill Gates

#15
ITCode

ITCode
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 28-September 09
You must edit:

- DVD sources\spwizimg.dll 517 and 518
- DVD sources\boot.wim\sources\spwizimg.dll 517 and 518

- DVD sources\background_svr.bmp
- DVD sources\boot.wim\sources\background_svr.bmp

#16
sp00f

sp00f

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 733 posts
  • Joined 30-November 06

You must edit:

- DVD sources\background_svr.bmp
- DVD sources\boot.wim\sources\background_svr.bmp

its : background_cli.bmp

#17
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
look at my post here

Edited by maxXPsoft, 11 January 2010 - 06:59 AM.

Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#18
Olive89

Olive89
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 05-November 09
Hello,

i' ve got exactly the same problem, i do all i see in this post but nothings works, someone knows how it' s possible to change this background? i work on seven french version and ultimate, please.

#19
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Toolâ„¢ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,048 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag

You must edit:

- DVD sources\spwizimg.dll 517 and 518
- DVD sources\boot.wim\sources\spwizimg.dll 517 and 518

- DVD sources\background_svr.bmp
- DVD sources\boot.wim\sources\background_svr.bmp

As always, test ISO in VMware before wasting a DVD.

Also might want to look into changing img0.jpg and edit imageres.dll inside Install.wim so that you theme/background was available on first boot. Think it was images # 5031-5043 in imageres.dll (images 5044-5056 were R2 logon screens)

Edited by MrJinje, 11 January 2010 - 03:20 AM.


#20
H4rry

H4rry
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 09-January 10
thanx for all the infos :) will try it later

#21
beatmaster

beatmaster

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Joined 25-May 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
An d i have also the same problem. (sorry for my english)

I have edit:


- DVD sources\spwizimg.dll 517 and 518
- DVD sources\boot.wim\sources\spwizimg.dll 517 and 518

- DVD sources\background_cli.bmp
- DVD sources\boot.wim\sources\background.bmp (here i can find only a backround.bmp not a backround_cli.bmp)


And the same problem like Olive89 and Adadu.


Attached File  Zwischenablage01.jpg   74.57KB   81 downloads


beatmaster

#22
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
they moved it but this will get most of it http://www.msfn.org/...ns-t140340.html
Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#23
beatmaster

beatmaster

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Joined 25-May 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

they moved it but this will get most of it http://www.msfn.org/...ns-t140340.html



Now i edit the "imageres.dll" in the install.wim .

Once I post now my results with screens:

After I created an ISO and started with Virtualbox.

Here the Screen of the First Start:

Posted Image

Now i KLICK on "NEXT" and "INSTALL" and the new background is loaded:
Posted Image


Then by input the EULA my background looks like:

Posted Image

Why is this now the picture is set the input window as a direct background ?

After the first Reboot, all backgrounds are "gone". Now the originals background was set. See this:

Posted Image


Then after second Reboot, the new background was loaded, not only the background for the input window. See this:
Posted Image


can you help me ?

beatmaster

#24
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

can you help me ?
beatmaster

I include in my download a file called Timeline.txt which basically says same thing as what was happening with you.
Them other screens haven't been hacked yet, if you can figure all or some of it out then let us all know
Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#25
beatmaster

beatmaster

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Joined 25-May 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks maxXPsoft.

An other question. Do you know an Freeware Tool for opened dll Files ?

I'm now running the trial version of Restorators 2007.

The Tool ResHacker can not open any data.


Regard




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users