Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

can you install vista from an external hard drive?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1
yamibone

yamibone
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 28-May 09
:thumbup hi guys nice forum.

Long story short = computer owned by virus, needs fresh clean install. I don't have vista disks but have an image of the vista installation saved on an external hard drive. I also burned the image to DVD but my DVD player/reader is highly unreliable and often fails to read disks. My only option is the external HD.

Can you install vista from an external hard drive? If so how? I have backed up all my files on the HD. The virus made my system unstable so its unable to shutdown or install/uninstall most applications. I have a Dell recovery partition but it fails to trigger (Ctrl+F11 doesn't work). So this is my only option I think.. anyone help?


Computer specs :


Vostro 1700
C2D T7500 Processor 2.2GHz,
Windows Vista® Business
17.0" Widescreen WUXGA TFT Display
2.0 megapixel webcam
2048MB 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM
160GB (5400RPM) SATA Hard Drive
256MB nVidia® GeForce® 8600M GT
8X DVD+/-RW Drive
Primary 9-cell Battery


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
ner

ner

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Joined 19-January 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
try...

boot into cd:

bootrec /fixmbr
bootrec /fixboot

Or did you already try that?


as for the image then It all depends on what type of image you have.. Can you provide the details.... :blink:

and see this: http://support.dell....o...toggle=&dl=

Edited by ner, 28 May 2009 - 04:05 AM.


#3
JustinStacey.x

JustinStacey.x

    Welcome to your life, there's no turning back...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Joined 15-May 09
If you could somehow unpack the image to an \i386 folder then you will be able to run winnt.exe from DOS.

How new is that computer? Given the optical drive is knackered and so is the OS it might be time to milk that warranty for what it's worth. It is a Dell afterall.
"XP is just a buggered up version of 2000 with skins added." - Phenomic.

#4
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 2,433 posts
  • Joined 08-January 04
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

He has Vista, not XP.

Download all Windows XP Post SP3 High-Priority Updates with a simple double click @ xdot.tk post-12166-0-42859000-1399044129.png ]
               If someone helps you fix a problem, please report back so they and others can benefit from the solution. Thanks!


#5
ner

ner

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Joined 19-January 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
try this too...

I found the Factory.wim file on the recovery partition and want to upgrade/replace the WIM file with a new (32 bit OS /w applications) image.
I have extracted the image ("imageX.exe /extract d:dell\image\Factory.wim 1 e:\Factory.wim") and I am currently trying to mount the image using "imageX.exe /mount e:\Factory.wim 1 e:\image" but to no avail.

All I get is:
----------------
ImageX Tool for Windows
Copyright © Microsoft Corp. 1981-2005. All rights reserved.
Mounting: [E:\image\newfile.wim, 1] ->
[E:\tmp]
Error mounting image:
The system cannot find the file specified.
----------------

I am running the cmd as Administrator.


SOLVED mounting problem.:

I forgot to install the "wimfltr.inf" found in the same folder as the imageX.exe file.

Now I can see the image.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users