Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Seagate 7200.12: any issues?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1
pointertovoid

pointertovoid

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Joined 16-January 09
Hello everybody!

In a quest for a fast (but silent) Hdd for my OS, I concluded that Seagate's ST3500418AS - 500GB on a single platter, 7200.12 series - is faster (as of June 2009) than their counterparts at my beloved Hitachi and Samsung, which have "only" 332GB per platter and perform less well on small files according to Atto.

But then, I have bad feelings about Seagate, whose 7200.11 series was botched.

So has anyone experience (failures, incompatibilities, bad firmware releases, bad batches, other worries...) with that disk or that series?

Thanks!


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
pointertovoid

pointertovoid

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Joined 16-January 09
Meanwhile I've received a pair of these 500GB Seagate 7200.12 aka ST3500418AS. Both run without surprise on my Ich10r, both have been approved by the full test of Seatools. Nice.

The model has 500GB per platter and rotates at 7200rpm (beware many competitors don't), giving a huge throughput of 134MB/s at contiguous read. Sizes that give this maximum throughput are 250GB (1 head), 500GB (1 platter), 750GB (3 heads) and 1TB (2 platters). The 250GB and 500GB are more silent and start more quickly; I suppose their arm is faster as well, though the specs are identical.

Seagate had issued a ST3500410AS and few weeks later the ST3500418AS. They are nearly identical, and some users even tell their disk with a ST3500418AS tag report as ST3500410AS in the Smart. The ST3500410AS is said to be a "low-halogen" product. There seems to be as well a small speed improvement in the ST3500418AS' arm speed: on Hd Tune's benchmark for access time, you see a cloud of points within a band whose thickness is one platter rotation period. The ST3500410AS had - from curves I found on the Net - quite a bit points over this band, corresponding to some seek attempts that took more time than most ones did, needing one platter rotation more. The ST3500418AS shows nearly none of these out-of-band points, neither on the Net nor in my measurements. According to Seagate's datasheet, the ST3500418AS make a bit more noise.

These disks are very silent. Nothing to do with the 8GB 5400rpm with ball bearings I had before from Seagate - the age of a disk design is more important for noise than the brand. Both the spindle and the arm are more silent than the J8080 = Hds721680plat80 and Hds721616plat80 I still use, which are already totally acceptable and better than the Sp0802n I enjoyed before. Well done!

Random access time is 2ms less good than for my J8080 = Hds721680plat80. Atto's performance is better nevertheless, including at small chunks. I didn't find how to set the AAM on this disk. Seatools has no setting for it, HdTune 3.50 shows one and allows the user to play with it, which even lits the Led for disk access, and this setting is memorized and given back by the disk, but it has no effect on speed nor noise. I will try with other means, but did someone ever achieve a difference? If not, I'll consider that the AAM is a functionless feature on the 7200.12.

Here are Atto's results, equally good on my Ich10r and on my Jmb36x, with the JMicron driver and the Infinst but without any Ahci not Stor driver, for 1 and 4 requests in the queue:

Attached File  AttoAvecInfInstQ01.png   12.95KB   29 downloadsAttached File  AttoAvecInfInstQ04.png   12.78KB   16 downloads

In the absence of the Infinst, results are minimally less good, except at 0.5kB where they jump to 13..16MB/s.

Such figures at Atto may be the best among any 7200rpm drive, but didn't give me the short boot time I hoped, probably because of the mobo.

#3
barteklabedzki

barteklabedzki
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 15-August 09
Hi I have new series seagate 7200.12 st3500418as fw:cc33
It hang's on boot. In bios 0GB
from hdd terminal

 
Rst 0x10M
(H) SATA Reset
SSPSaveSettings

SSPRestoreSettings

No Phy: Staggered spin bypass
(H) SATA Reset
SSPSaveSettings

SSPRestoreSettings

Send Status: COMRESET seen
ABORT!
SenseCode = 03310000
ReadyStatusFlags = 0002A1A5

ABORT!
SenseCode = 03310000
ReadyStatusFlags = 0002A1A5

ABORT!
SenseCode = 03310000
ReadyStatusFlags = 0002A1A5

Edited by barteklabedzki, 15 August 2009 - 01:47 AM.


#4
barteklabedzki

barteklabedzki
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 15-August 09
I resolved this problem

Edited by barteklabedzki, 15 August 2009 - 03:15 AM.


#5
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,852 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Nice to read that, but you could help some people out by writing how you solved it ;).

Welcome to the forum by the way.

#6
fisherman10

fisherman10
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 30-May 09
hey guys.....upgraded frm the 7200.11 version after successfully reviving it.
Now i'm on the newer 7200.12 version.
S/N : 5VM0SV16
Model: ST3500418AS
Firmware: CC34

The problem now is, it is able to be detected in BIOS. I'm using this as a secondary drive, so i can boot my OS. The only problem is, when i open My computer, it hangs and i can see that the hdd light is busy. Tried on external casing, same problem. "My Computer" hangs until i pull out the ext casing then only it'll recover.
Tried on Linux. Same problem, still cant open the partition.

I hope i can get some help from here. I have all the tools that is required to solve the problem encountered by 7200.11 series as i have done it before. Just wondering can i use the same way but just with different codes?
I really appreciate your help. I have really important, personal, financial, company and family data. Pleaasssseeeeeee help me. :blushing: :blushing:

Thanks a lot. :hello:

Edited by dencorso, 09 December 2009 - 07:40 PM.


#7
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,677 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
AFAIK, and mind you I could be competely and utterly wrong :ph34r:, the 7200.11 is a "family" of drives. THe 7200.12 is ANOTHER "family" of (newer) drives.

It seems like you managed to load the WRONG firmware on your 7200.11 device.

Latest firmware for 7200.11 should be SD3B:
http://www.msfn.org/...-page-2009.html

jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 08 October 2009 - 01:44 PM.


#8
fisherman10

fisherman10
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 30-May 09
hey there.....
i think u got me wrong......
actually, i USED to have the 7200.11 drives. I had the same BSY problem as the rest of the world and i hav manage to fix it.
now, i bought more seagate drives which are from the 7200.12 family. and that's where all the problem's coming from. I havent do anything to this new 7200.12 drive yet as i do not know whether i can use the same way as 7200.11.

#9
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,677 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I see :)

I read "upgraded" as "upgraded", instead of "threw away the old hard disk I revived and bought a new one, that is giving me problems as well" ;)

It is very possible that the problem can be solved the same way, though I doubt that Seagate didn't correct the faulty testing procedure in factory.

I mean, it is possible that both symptoms and cure are the same, though I doubt that the illness is the same.

There is similar (but different) report here:
http://www.msfn.org/...sy-t137055.html

left undetailed. :(

jaclaz

#10
pointertovoid

pointertovoid

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Joined 16-January 09
Hi! Sorry not to have the answer you hope.
I just want to testify that my ST3500418AS - that is, exactly the same reference - works properly on my Ga-ep45-ud3r (P45 ich10r) with Bios F4 to F11, varied drivers and modes.
Did you already try another port, other cables, another host (from another chipset and computer for instance)?
And more important: what do Seatools tell?
http://www.seagate.c...upport/seatools

#11
Lago Chungará

Lago Chungará
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 14-November 09
Hi everybody.Greetings from Turkey...

First of all i am sorry about my bad english.İ hope i can explain my problem to you.


İ have a very bad problem.

My harddisk has gone like 7200.11 series.

İ cant see it in bios anymore.

i tried Gradius2 tutorial about how-to fix 0 LBA and BSY errors in forums.

But i cant successed.


i plug my harddisk with DKU-5 cable and opened hyperterminal on xp.

but i saw a error like this, below the photo;

http://img233.images...1668/failgb.jpg

i tried from the start of the tutorial about 20-25 times but same error appeared on screen.


can u help me please?

i dont want the hdd.i want photos.my family album in it.

its very important for me.

Por favor...

Help me


Harddisk information;

Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 (ST3500418AS)

500 Gbytes

Firmware CC34

the disk is not affected by seagate but the result is same as the trouble with 7200.11 series.



Thanks for everything, sorry about my english again...

Goodbye

#12
pointertovoid

pointertovoid

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Joined 16-January 09
Well, I just hope we make the same mistakes in English...

I tested my own pair of St3500418as with Seagate's tool
http://www.seagate.c...upport/seatools
choose between floppy and Cd, download, burn, boot the Pc on it, test.
This is the most reliable test for a Seagate disk. Work on other brands as well.

Fingers crossed!

#13
Lago Chungará

Lago Chungará
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 14-November 09
i appreciate your interest.

Avant tout Merci beaucoup for your reply :)

i downloaded seatools, and burn it a cd, started pc with it.

program worked but didnt recognise the hard drive.

it says no hard drive installed.


the solution is one step ahead i think, but whats wrong?

Please help me :(

Edited by Lago Chungará, 16 November 2009 - 09:23 PM.


#14
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I've merged all scattered threads I was able to find about 7200.12 in the present consolidated thread. It seems they also have a problem, much like the 7200.11, but the reports are still very few. Maybe the problem is less common, maybe there's still just a few people using them. However, I feel we should keep alert to it. Did any of you all find other reports about it elsewhere?

#15
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,852 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
For the last 6 months this is all we got on the 7200.12 drives, that not much so to say, so it would be safe to say that the current 7200.12 have no similar problems to the 7200.11.

Just my 0.02 ;).

#16
sologub

sologub
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 28-February 10
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
Dear mates, I am due to report a bug similar to the notorious 0 LBA / BUSY occurred with my new 7200.12 series HDD last week.

I have a Barracuda 7200.12 ST3500418AS, firmware revision CC37, part num 9SL142-301 which abruptly became inaccessible for OS. I do have a dual-boot-System with Ubuntu 9.10 on Barracuda and Win-XP on another HDD. I used the Barracuda as a data storage disk w logic partition formatted as ntfs to get acess from Ubuntu and Win, but sadly, with no essential data backed up.

The problem is: when I run Ubuntu, suddenly my drive has gone, with no reason. At OS booting it was /dev/sda, now there is no /dev/sda anymore, but a /dev/sdc (/dev/sdb is the drive where the operating systems are). When I run Win-XP the disk erratically appears among BIOS registered devices with its full capacity, but in most boot-up attempts not. Win-XP sys logs shows numerous (up to 30-50 repeated records) I/O failures during disk paging operation (error 51) This is obviously a reaction of OS to a malfunctioned part of HDDs firmware responsible for translation of HDD sectors physical addresses to the system LBA.

Though Win-XP device manager indicates ST3500418AS device as working correctly, file explorer shows the logic disk as inaccessible media , does not suggest to format it and hangs up when I attempt to explore the volume.
Numerous HDD scan / data rescue tools I have tried up to test disk / recover information indicated ST350041-8AS as a completely bad disk with no file system on it. Seagate seatools diagnostic program for DOS ver 2.14 recognizes the faulty disk, but short test always proceeds to just 90 percent and is never finished.

So, in a hope the data on disk remains intact I am looking for feedback and problem solution. Does anybody think a replacement of PCB with the same FW revision taken off another 7200.12 ST3500418AS might solve the problem? Will the service info on the track 0 be automatically translated to the new CPU? I think, buying new HDD is at least less expensive than professional data recovery.
Alexander


#17
djmesk

djmesk
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 03-March 10
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
hi
seagate 7200.12 500GB ST3500418AS
I have this problems
1)bios doesnt detect it
2)it have click sound

??????????HELP HELP HELP up to 400gb important datas are flying!!!

#18
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,852 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

2)it have click sound

Look for a company that recovers data, this is not something you can fix on your own. Expect to pay a few hundred to thousands of USD.

#19
cuudulieu

cuudulieu

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 16-June 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 stopped working

Hi guys,
Sorry for my bad English!

I have a Seagate Barracuda HDD with the following specifications:
Family: 7200.12
Model: ST3250318AS
P/N: 9SL131-300
Firmware: CC44

When I looked in the BIOS model, saw that my Seagate HDD was recognized as 0MB and 0LBA!!

I have tried with china PC 3000; with dku5
but failed

someone please help me?

I bought PC300 UDMA ACE subjects , who have contact

I use this command with Dku5 , but without success
What is the command line for CC44 7200.12 ?

seagate wrote:

to 7200.11, but 7200.12 ?

On Terminal press CTRL + Z:

F3 T>

F3 T> / 2

F3 2> Z

............
User format partitions 5% complete, Area 00, Pass 00, LBA 00004339, 00000080 ErrCode, Time elapsed 05 seconds 0 minutes
Users successfully format the partition - 0 minutes 05 seconds time elapsed

F3 T>



someone please help me?



I do not know it, I NEED DATA . Can you help me ?

Y! : khoiphucdulieu

Email: datviet@cuudulieu.com




I do not know it, I NEED DATA . Can you help me ?

Y! : khoiphucdulieu

Email: datviet@cuudulieu.com


Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Edited by cuudulieu, 09 May 2010 - 11:48 PM.
Removed unnecessary formatting.

SPAM REMOVED.

#20
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Did you take a look at the three sticky topics at the top of the page where you posted? http://www.msfn.org/...hangout-f5.html

#21
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,067 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag
+1 vote for boycotting all Seagate products until our "statistical unimportance" affects their bottom line.

Don't know what to tell you about your situation, it definitely sux. Here is a merged thread on the issue

Edited by MrJinje, 29 April 2010 - 12:12 AM.


#22
cuudulieu

cuudulieu

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 16-June 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

+1 vote for boycotting all Seagate products until our "statistical unimportance" affects their bottom line.

Don't know what to tell you about your situation, it definitely sux. Here is a merged thread on the issue



I do not know it, I NEED DATA . Can you help me ?

Y! : khoiphucdulieu

Email: datviet@cuudulieu.com
SPAM REMOVED.

#23
Elish

Elish
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 05-June 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,
I have a CC37 firmware & have bought it just 7 months back. & all of a sudden it gives me a smart error & before i could backup my data it just died off. It does not show up in the bios anymore. i tried the fix mentioned at : http://forums.seagat...OR-SEAGATE-B..., i can do a spin down & spin up with no errors, but when i send the F3 1>N1 command or F3 T>m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22 it starts throwing up the error: Failed to load overlay 00000005 LED:000000CC FAddr:00289581& keeps repeating the same thing. Kindly let me me know if there is a way to fix my HDD. I need the data inside it. PLEASE HELP...

#24
Elish

Elish
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 05-June 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Did you take a look at the three sticky topics on this page http://www.msfn.org/...rdware-hangout/


Hi Sp0iLedBrAt, Ya i did go through them & have downloaded victoria & other tools... my HDD doesn't show up in vicktoria either... :( i downloaed the seagate diagnostic command doc file & goin through it... F3 T>V

Failed to load overlay 00000005
LED:000000CC FAddr:0028958
Rst 0x10M
SIM Error 1002
SIM Error 1002
No HOST FIS-ReadyStatusFlags 2002A1A5
SIM Error 1002
ASCII Diag mode

F3 2>Z

Spin Down Complete
Elapsed Time 6.015 secs
F3 2>U

HighPowerMode
ExecuteSpinRequest

Spin Up Complete
Elapsed Time 3.772 secs
F3 2>

Please can u tell me how i can fix this???

#25
unsoldier

unsoldier
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 22-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

hey guys.....upgraded frm the 7200.11 version after successfully reviving it.
Now i'm on the newer 7200.12 version.
S/N : 5VM0SV16
Model: ST3500418AS
Firmware: CC34

The problem now is, it is able to be detected in BIOS. I'm using this as a secondary drive, so i can boot my OS. The only problem is, when i open My computer, it hangs and i can see that the hdd light is busy. Tried on external casing, same problem. "My Computer" hangs until i pull out the ext casing then only it'll recover.
Tried on Linux. Same problem, still cant open the partition.

I hope i can get some help from here. I have all the tools that is required to solve the problem encountered by 7200.11 series as i have done it before. Just wondering can i use the same way but just with different codes?
I really appreciate your help. I have really important, personal, financial, company and family data. Pleaasssseeeeeee help me. :blushing: :blushing:

Thanks a lot. :hello:

My situation is like you.
Model: ST3500418AS
Firmware: CC44
TTL test:
ASCII Diag mode

F3 T>/2

F3 2>Z

HighPowerMode
Spin Down Complete
Elapsed Time 0.095 msecs
F3 2>

..........
Please somebody help me........




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users