Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

install xp-lite.iso with WinSetupFromUSB


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1
dnelaa

dnelaa
  • Member
  • 5 posts
wonder if that possible installing lite winxp iso image file (only 320mg) with WinSetupFromUSB,
when i attuched the (from virtual disk) disk with xp lite to WinSetupFromUSB says "winnt32.exe' missing.."
so i tried other way i maade bootble disk to my usb and added the files that needed.
i add at winsetup.lst some lines like :

title setup Windows XP Lite setup
find --set-root /SP3_Lite.iso
map --mem /SP3_Lite.iso (hd32)
map --hook
root (hd32)
chainloader (hd32)

started fine but! than was that blue screen..
do i miss something ,, is it possible to setup xp lite from usb at all?
it is only 300 mg and could be great to have it in case...
hop you guys have some answers - thank you.

Edited by dnelaa, 15 June 2009 - 02:11 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,705 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

wonder if that possible installing lite winxp iso image file (only 320mg) with WinSetupFromUSB,
when i attuched the (from virtual disk)...


Short answer- no with some little hopes here.
Long answer- http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=8076 and the links within.

Edited by ilko_t, 15 June 2009 - 03:37 PM.

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#3
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,036 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Well, no. (I mean yes ;))

As long as the image is SMALLER than 512 Mb AND you have at least 1 GB of memory, it is possible to use a RAMDISK approach using the known Server 2003 SP1 or R2 files. (and of course you need a license for Server 2003, or for ERD 2005, that includes those files)

OR, regardless of the .iso size, Diskless Angel is a working, Commercial solution, though noone has published anything about actually using it during setup.

jaclaz

#4
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,705 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
To remind you- there were some attempts to use MS RAMDISK.SYS:

http://www.msfn.org/...showtopic=81788
http://www.msfn.org/...o...st&p=776205

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#5
dnelaa

dnelaa
  • Member
  • 5 posts
ok, i see that aint easy ..
well what about just installing xp lite not by rem disk with iso..ext.
i mean just like normal way puting the files in $WIN_NT$.~LS and set it up..
is that possible or not?

wonder if that possible installing lite winxp iso image file (only 320mg) with WinSetupFromUSB,
when i attuched the (from virtual disk) disk with xp lite to WinSetupFromUSB says "winnt32.exe' missing.."
so i tried other way i maade bootble disk to my usb and added the files that needed.
i add at winsetup.lst some lines like :

title setup Windows XP Lite setup
find --set-root /SP3_Lite.iso
map --mem /SP3_Lite.iso (hd32)
map --hook
root (hd32)
chainloader (hd32)

started fine but! than was that blue screen..
do i miss something ,, is it possible to setup xp lite from usb at all?
it is only 300 mg and could be great to have it in case...
hop you guys have some answers - thank you.



#6
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,705 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=116766

Q2/A2, missing winnt32.exe is a good sign the option mentioned above had been applied.
This is frequently asked question indeed ;)

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#7
cdob

cdob

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 962 posts

To remind you- there were some attempts to use MS RAMDISK.SYS:

http://www.msfn.org/...showtopic=81788
http://www.msfn.org/...o...st&p=776205

Thanks for the reminder.
In addition http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=19960

With MS RAMDISK.SYS and WINNT.SIF
[SetupData]
BootDevice = "ramdisk(0)"
BootPath = "\I386\"
OsLoadOptions = "/fastdetect /rdexportascd /rdpath=XP.ISO"

SetupSourceDevice = \Device\Ramdisk{d9b257fc-684e-4dcb-ab79-03cfa2f6b750}
Setup does boot. Target drive can be selected. Setup copy files to target disk.
Machine does reboot.
Next setup does search ASMS directory at CD and fails. Setup holds.

Short vacation, back on monday.

#8
cdob

cdob

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 962 posts
Next step:
2003 SP1 setupldr.bin and ramdisk.sys does RAM load ISO image XP_RAM.ISO.
Remember RAM loading is limited up to a 500 MB image.

Wrapped in another ISO image XP_WRAP.ISO:

\bootsect.bin
\WINNT.SIF
\XP_RAM.ISO
\I386\NTDETECT.COM
\I386\SETUPLDR.BIN


\WINNT.SIF
[SetupData]
BootDevice = "ramdisk(0)"
BootPath = "\I386\"
OsLoadOptions = "/noguiboot /fastdetect /rdexportascd /rdpath=XP_RAM.ISO"
SetupSourceDevice = \Device\Ramdisk{d9b257fc-684e-4dcb-ab79-03cfa2f6b750}

[Data]
MsDosInitiated="0"

[Unattended]

[UserData]
Add custom Unattended, UserData and other sections yourself.

Grub4dos maps the ISO image to CD

title Loading XP RAM install - /Inst/XP_WRAP.ISO
find --set-root /Inst/XP_WRAP.ISO
map /Inst/XP_WRAP.ISO (0xFF)
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
map --hook
chainloader (0xFF)

Assumptions:
hd0 : booted USB device
hd1 : windows target device
Tested at virtual machine. Has to be tested at real hardware:
several hard disks, several USB drives, internal multi card reader

XP installation from CD and remapped drive order:
Files are not deleted from installation media.
Setup creates a valid boot.ini.
No need to fix boot.ini. Boot once from USB.

There is a fake setup.exe used after first reboot.
http://www.msfn.org/...showtopic=12566

This fake setup.exe launch a batch presetup.cmd.

Windows assign letter c: to RAM loaded XP_RAM.ISO image.
C: is not available for new installed windows.

Presetup.cmd deletes %SystemDrive% MountedDevices.
And USB boot settings are added. Next the machine is rebooted.
A PE cabable shutdown is used http://www.paraglide...ins/plugins.htm

At reboot windows assign letters again: c:\windows

Presetup.cmd uses ImDisk to mount the ISO file.
http://www.ltr-data....ode.html#ImDisk

Next the file $winnt$.inf is adjusted.

Windows setup continues and use the mounted ISO file.

txtsetup.sif, [SourceDisksFiles]
;http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=12566
;http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?s=&showtopic=12566&view=findpost&p=159358
setupORG.exe= 1,,,,,,,2,0,0
presetup.cmd= 1,,,,,,,2,0,0

;http://www.paraglidernc.com/plugins/plugins.htm
;Shutdown.exe renamed to PEShutdown.exe
PEShutdown.exe=1,,,,,,,2,0,0

;http://www.ltr-data.se/opencode.html#ImDisk
imdisk.sys = 1,,,,,,,4,0,0
imdisk.exe = 1,,,,,,,2,0,0
imdisk.cpl = 1,,,,,,,2,0,0

;optional BTS files
;BTSsetup.cmd= 1,,,,,,,2,0,0
You may add BTS DriverPacks with method 2 http://driverpacks.net/
rename BTS presetup,cmd to BTSsetup.cmd
Add BTSsetup.cmd to txtsetup.sif and XP_RAM.ISO.
Add \OEM to XP_WRAP.ISO. That way BTS *.7z files are not loaded to RAM, but available at installation.

@jaclaz
Delivery time: only three years after your request ;)
It's nice to close a old question.

Attached Files



#9
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,705 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks cdob, beautiful work :thumbup

Question- why the entries for USB- :set_usb_boot_setting are needed?

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#10
cdob

cdob

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 962 posts

why the entries for USB- :set_usb_boot_setting are needed?

As USB booting is involved, different machines may result different results.

Given a BIOS without USB boot support. And USB booted with PLoP Boot Manager:
XP setup does read files from a CD drive and write to a internal hard disk: no USB drives involved
Setup dosn't add USB drivers. USB drivers are not loaded at first reboot, there is no USB drive available at first hard disk boot.

:set_usb_boot_setting does add USB boot settings at first hard disk boot.
The USB drive is available at hard disk second boot.

Contrary there is UsbBootWatcher.exe prepared too.
This maybe useful at USB boot friendly BIOS, target USB device.
Assumption setup adds USB drivers for first hard disk boot. Not tested, under construction.

#11
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,036 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

@jaclaz
Delivery time: only three years after your request ;)
It's nice to close a old question.


:( You ain't going make any career in this Pizza delivery business, mate. ;)

So now, that you have solved this, you are free to tackle next one :whistle::
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=8468
BTW, also the CD driver is a Miniport one.....

:thumbup

jaclaz

#12
iamtheky

iamtheky

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
This thread (mostly Cdobs posts) would be rather useful.....

but the OPs original question was

-translating-
"I downloaded the 320mb portable xp lite professional from <insert warez site>, and want to run that iso like its a cd from my thumbdrive?"

can a person of power please pin Cdobs reply to a thread that is not going to be removed :)

Edited by iamtheky, 13 August 2009 - 01:49 PM.

iamtheKy

#13
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,036 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

This thread (rather Cdobs posts) would be rather useful.....

but the OPs original question was

-translating-
"I downloaded the 320mb portable xp lite professional from <insert warez site>, and want to run that iso like its a cd from my thumbdrive?"

can a person of power please pin Cdobs reply to a thread that is not going to be removed :)


Well, this is how you read it, but it's not what it is written by the OP, which clearly stated he wants to INSTALL a "lite" XP.
And BTW I've never seen ANY PE (warez or not) starting with WINNT32.EXE.

Malice, like beauty is in the eye of the beholder. :whistle:

It's nice to know we have a mind reader / ESP expert on the site. :)

jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 13 August 2009 - 01:53 PM.


#14
iamtheky

iamtheky

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
he happens to have "lite" xp and 320mb, and that just happens to be advertised as sp3_lite.iso on every rapidshare link. Its probably a coincidence.

context clues and google are far more useful than mind reading.
iamtheKy




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN