Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Win Integrator Alpha

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
119 replies to this topic

#1
Intelmaster

Intelmaster

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
Hello guys.
A User from the Winfuture Forum has create a program which the name Win7 Integrator. You could remove packages, integrate driver and LP Packs and includes updates
At the moment the program is in the alpha 3 stage and he wants that some guys would test his program.

To install and run the program you must need Windows 7 and Net Framework 4 beta 1. (After install of net framework a restart is required to install the program succesfully)

Please report the bugs.

http://cid-f03433d3c...lpha3bugfix.rar
thats the link from the actual version.

I would be grateful if someone would test the program..


sry for my bad english ^^

Edited by Intelmaster, 16 July 2009 - 10:07 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,800 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Really??? .net 4?? ffs man that a little EXTREME.

#3
stefanRTR

stefanRTR

    WinIntegrator Developer

  • Member
  • 29 posts

Really??? .net 4?? ffs man that a little EXTREME.


You don't need the full framework just the Microsoft .NET Framework 4 Client Profile Beta 1

#4
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
thx i install it and i wanna test it but where is the package remover ? option ?

#5
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,022 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

you have to load a DVD and select an image. And now you'll see a page where you can delete packages.
Posted Image

#6
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
ok cool working thx

does it work on vhd or the next version will support that ?

btw what about option to enable feather ?

and hide packages :)


edit:

where is the presets are locate :)?

Edited by aviv00, 16 July 2009 - 12:56 PM.


#7
stefanRTR

stefanRTR

    WinIntegrator Developer

  • Member
  • 29 posts

where is the presets are locate :)?



Documents\Wi_Presets

#8
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
thx

Really??? .net 4?? ffs man that a little EXTREME.


i think its better then get waik :)

im at finalizing step

its take time

btw what its doing ?

Edited by aviv00, 16 July 2009 - 01:35 PM.


#9
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,022 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

most time is needed for mounting and unmounting the WIMs with DISM. This is an MS issue.

Or what else takes a lot of time?
Posted Image

#10
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

most time is needed for mounting and unmounting the WIMs with DISM. This is an MS issue.

Or what else takes a lot of time?


im using process explorer i see there open files and closing one for wim image mount

like
C:\tmp\3068md3\Windows\winsxs\Manifests\x86_microsoft-windows-rdc_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7100.0_none_1827e8f3b1482a28.manifest

its gonna make it for all the files there :S

the app looks gr8 really nice and understandable
and the system req is better then other apps

edit:
ok the proccess is finished

first i saw the in remove package there only the langs packs not the pack it self

so its didnt remove the whole pack just the lang pack of it

which mean saved only 100mb should be around 1giga or more cos its 64bit

check the win_tweak we have here its remove the owner subkey from the packages

and make it available to remove and see

i think its really taking too much time the finalizing process
if u could make it better would be wonderful

the remove packages process is ok the same as the dism removal time



before wi

Image Index: 7
-------------------
Name: Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERWEB
Description: Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERWEB
Flags: ServerWeb
Files: 58568
Folders: 13099
Expanded Size: 9546 MB

after wi

Image Index: 1
-------------------
Name: Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERWEB
Description: Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERWEB
Flags: ServerWeb
Files: 56574
Folders: 12759
Expanded Size: 9478 MB



edit:

added a picture from server r2 bulid 7600

Attached Files

  • Attached File  last.xml   4.45KB   68 downloads
  • Attached File  123.jpg   51.51KB   447 downloads

Edited by aviv00, 21 July 2009 - 12:34 PM.


#11
Intelmaster

Intelmaster

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
There's a bug if you remove IIS-WebServer-Addon. Dism Exitcode 21............

i have report the bug StefanRTR.
At the moment i think we do not remove some of the IIS components

#12
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,022 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

@aviv00

the tool parses the manifest files to get all the functions and packages so that you can select them to uninstall. This may take some times.

Edited by MagicAndre1981, 16 July 2009 - 02:05 PM.

Posted Image

#13
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

There's a bug if you remove IIS-WebServer-Addon. Dism Exitcode 21............

i have report the bug StefanRTR.
At the moment i think we do not remove some of the IIS components


oh ok

maybe its could fix by remove it after all the rest of packages that relevant to it

#14
Intelmaster

Intelmaster

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
@aviv

if you remove the languages file from e.g Media Center package and remove also the "real" media center Package you will get an DISM Exitcode..
it is the best to ignore languages files at the moment and only removed the packages under the ultimate-Package,, Then you will get no Error.

StefanRTR works on a version that works after an dism exitcode appears.
I hope Stefan could complete Alpha 4 in the next week

#15
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

@aviv

if you remove the languages file from e.g Media Center package and remove also the "real" media center Package you will get an DISM Exitcode..
it is the best to ignore languages files at the moment and only removed the packages under the ultimate-Package,, Then you will get no Error.

StefanRTR works on a version that works after an dism exitcode appears.
I hope Stefan could complete Alpha 4 in the next week


duno i saw the rest of the packages remove in the bottom of the app ?

i reopen the dvd folder again
the removed packages are not appear there

Edited by aviv00, 16 July 2009 - 02:25 PM.


#16
Intelmaster

Intelmaster

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts

@aviv

if you remove the languages file from e.g Media Center package and remove also the "real" media center Package you will get an DISM Exitcode..
it is the best to ignore languages files at the moment and only removed the packages under the ultimate-Package,, Then you will get no Error.

StefanRTR works on a version that works after an dism exitcode appears.
I hope Stefan could complete Alpha 4 in the next week


duno i saw the rest of the packages remove in the bottom of the app ?

i reopen the dvd folder again
the removed packages are not appear there


hmmm that's mysterious i think

Please ask Stefan RTR on friday. Here in Germany it is 22:40 and some peoples wants to sleep e.g stefanRTR ^^ :D :D :D

#17
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
im doing test now on win7 7600 32bit

more info soon:

edit:
i see that ms windows ultimate edition is appear [ on windows server 2008 r2 this wasnt appear just the lang packages was appear]
not only the lang pack


edit2:

BEFORE
Image Index: 5
-------------------
Name: Windows 7 ULTIMATE
Description: Windows 7 ULTIMATE
Flags: Ultimate
Files: 47447
Folders: 9384
Expanded Size: 8078 MB

AFTER Wi
Image Index: 5
-------------------
Name: Windows 7 ULTIMATE
Description: Windows 7 ULTIMATE
Flags: Ultimate
Files: 40691
Folders: 8785
Expanded Size: 6893 MB

edit3

AFTER VLITE
Image Index: 2
-------------------
Name: Windows 7 ULTIMATE
Description: Windows 7 ULTIMATE
Flags: Ultimate
Files: 33437
Folders: 7494
Expanded Size: 4098 MB

AFTER remove files with whereisit
Image Index: 3
-------------------
Name: Windows 7 ULTIMATE
Description: Windows 7 ULTIMATE
Flags: Ultimate
Files: 27772
Folders: 6502
Expanded Size: 2648 MB

/list

1. folders that have *.inf* in WinSxS folder [700MB]
2. System32\recovery [140MB]
3. users\public [n/a]
4. ati avm drivers System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ [30MB]
5. winsxs\x86_microsoft-windows-
b..core-fonts-jpn-boot...
e..devices....
ehome-font...
music-samples...
o..c-style....
o...clamedia....
o..ediadisc...
o.iadisk...
opticalmediadisc-api...
s...boxgames..
sonic.server
video.sample
winscr....
xpsreachviewer.... [325MB]

Attached Files


Edited by aviv00, 28 July 2009 - 08:04 AM.


#18
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@ stefanRTR

i see that only win7 is support

i check server r2 bulid 7100 just the lang packages was appear
[edit: only on web edition the rest is fine]

and in server 2008 web remove tab is not exist

dism cant work on older then win7 ?

Edited by aviv00, 24 July 2009 - 02:22 AM.


#19
zyjolly

zyjolly
  • Member
  • 4 posts
the "temp" folder is hard to remove, i think it should be cleaned automatically after every operation.

#20
ajua

ajua

    Custom Installer Maker

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,261 posts

Really??? .net 4?? ffs man that a little EXTREME.


You don't need the full framework just the Microsoft .NET Framework 4 Client Profile Beta 1

Unless this application is targeting .NET 4.0 for specific features, there is no need to use a Beta framework because most users won't have it installed already...

Custom Installers for your unattended needs.


#21
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
i got the error DISM Exitcode [ -2146498555 ]
many times not just web iis package randomly

i think its not relevt to the app


its internal bug in .NET
i saw it even i use dism alone with/o the app

i guess the best way to work with that is to bypass that package
save the image and continue removing the packages
which clear the memory and start over till the bug will appear again

btw in 32bit [ windows 7 ]
not error at all!
its must be internal bug

Edited by aviv00, 24 July 2009 - 04:46 AM.


#22
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,022 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

this app uses .net 4.0 for multithreading and parallelism.
Posted Image

#23
liquid0624

liquid0624

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 156 posts

this app uses .net 4.0 for multithreading and parallelism.


Multi threading has been around since .NET 2.0 using the Background Worker object and Task Parallel Library is new to the .NET 4.0 framework but is something that doesn't have to be used but i could be wrong on this one. This program on the other hand is GREAT just having some issues with removing packages but the wim image rebuild and make a bootable ISO features work great. I have attached 2 logs of the exceptions that are being thrown and my preset as well. I am wondering what language this program is written in VB or C#? Hope these logs and preset help :) Will keep testing!!!

Edited by liquid0624, 24 July 2009 - 01:21 PM.


#24
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,022 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the point is parallelism. The author tried the 3.5 version and got errors which were gone when using .net 4.0. Stefan is coding afaik with C#.
Posted Image

#25
liquid0624

liquid0624

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 156 posts
Very interesting Andre :whistle:

Edited by liquid0624, 24 July 2009 - 01:46 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN