Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Vize 2.0 Release 1


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
W3bbo

W3bbo

    xpize / Vize Project Lead

  • Developer
  • 473 posts
So... this is Vize 2.0 Release 1, which is more of a beta than anything else.

It includes all the resources patched by Vize 1.1 Beta, and then some, including the fixes developed by Saarineames ( http://saarineames.deviantart.com ), including:
  • 256x256 Flip3D icon
  • Fixed the back/forward button background hover stretch when in Classic mode (great for WS2008 users!)
  • x64 support (untested, which is what this beta is for)
  • Uses the same installation system as xpize 5
  • And some other stuff
What doesn't work:
  • UxTheme patching system. I need to modify my code (which is based off Deepxw's) first. Vize 1.x didn't patch UxTheme anyway so you're not missing out on anything.
What hasn't been tested:
  • x64 (it should work, in theory)
  • Uninstallation (it probably won't work, it doesn't change file permissions during uninstallation)
What's coming in future releases:
  • Getting seasick of the blue/green combo? I'm working on something to match WS2008's silver wizard art style for Vista, including fixing up ShellStyles
  • UxTheme (God willing)
I'm just working on the binaries right now, I'll post them in a couple of hours.

Update: Download it now from the downloads page: http://www.vizeos.net/download.php

Edited by W3bbo, 02 August 2009 - 08:32 PM.

Posted Image


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
W3bbo

W3bbo

    xpize / Vize Project Lead

  • Developer
  • 473 posts
Uh.... give me about another 10 hours, it's 2am and I was interrupted by family so I couldn't get it posted, and I need my sleep.
Posted Image

#3
Smiley89

Smiley89

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts
That's nice.

I'm looking forward to test it on my Vista Business x64 SP2 laptop.
My DeviantArt page - Windows XP themes: [link]

#4
W3bbo

W3bbo

    xpize / Vize Project Lead

  • Developer
  • 473 posts
Get it from the downloads page

http://www.vizeos.net/download.php
Posted Image

#5
zefyx

zefyx

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
I'm willing to test it on Vista Ultimate x64 with SP2 however, with uninstall not working what would we do come next release? Simply install r2 overtop of this one?

#6
W3bbo

W3bbo

    xpize / Vize Project Lead

  • Developer
  • 473 posts

I'm willing to test it on Vista Ultimate x64 with SP2 however, with uninstall not working what would we do come next release? Simply install r2 overtop of this one?


That should work, yes.
Posted Image

#7
zefyx

zefyx

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
Firstly, I apologize for the late reply. All seems to be well here on x64 SP2.

#8
zefyx

zefyx

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
Also, my only complaint from the last month or more of going from Windows XP x64 to Windows Vista x64 was the classic start menu freezing randomly for 1-2 seconds when hovering over directories. I'm not sure if it's simply related to clearing the icon cache or what, but it seems installing Vize has fixed that for me, so I thank you for that, even if it was unintentional. I scoured the internet for days trying to find resolution & simply gave up.

Edited by zefyx, 29 August 2009 - 02:38 PM.


#9
Marru_xD

Marru_xD

    [Deleted Account]

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 76 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
To see every thing non Vised on Vize 2.1, try looking to this website:

http://www.aerotaskforce.com/

Example:

Posted Image
...

#10
Marru_xD

Marru_xD

    [Deleted Account]

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 76 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Some themes to add in the next release of VIZE:

-Luna Blue (the best in my opinion)
http://satukoro.devi...Vista-121990552

-Luna Olive
http://satukoro.devi...Vista-101757577

-Luna Metallic
http://satukoro.devi...-Vista-99704900

-Royale
http://satukoro.devi...-Vista-96936511

-Royale Noir
http://satukoro.devi...-Port-122120584

-Zune
http://satukoro.devi...-Vista-99647235



And this is for SEVENIZE(i'm realy wainting for it):

http://satukoro.devi...-Aero-136960235

I'm showing it because a lot, i said A LOT, of persons doesn't like the aero style.
The mous part prefers Luna.

If you don't like all this themes, just add the luna blue in vize and sevenize.

Please, add it.
...

#11
cjc215

cjc215
  • Member
  • 2 posts
Vize 2.0 is great, but for some unknown reason my sound stops working after it is installed. This is something the developer should look into for the next release. Maybe its just my hardware configuration, I'm not sure. I performed a System Restore to before I installed it, and my sound was working fine. Than to test to see if Vize was what was causing the problem, I re-installed it. After restarting my computer, my sound mysteriously stops working, so I am certain that Vize is the issue. Unfortuntaley, I will have to undo its changes so that my sound can work again. I have a Dell Inspiron 1525, with Windows Vista Home Premium (32 bit). Here are my tech specs:

Basic Hardware information

Motherboard: Inspiron 1525

Basic I/O System(BIOS): Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 A13

Central Processing Unit(CPU): Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU T5550 @ 1.83GHz

Physical Memory X 2

2GB

2GB

Hard Disk: WDC WD3200BJKT-00F4T0 (298.09GB)

Video Card X 2

Mobile Intel® 965 Express Chipset Family

Mobile Intel® 965 Express Chipset Family

Monitor X 2

Generic PnP Monitor

Default Monitor

Audio Device X 2

Intel® High Definition Audio HDMI

SigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC

Network Adapter

Wireless Network Connection - Intel® Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN (Connected)

Local Area Connection - Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller (Media disconnected)

Modem: Conexant HDA D330 MDC V.92 Modem

Keyboard: Standard PS/2 Keyboard

Mouse: Dell Touchpad

Hardware Score (Base score: 3.4)

Processor (Calculations per second): 4.8

Memory (Memory Operation per second): 4.5

Graphics (Desktop performance for Windows Aero): 3.4

Gaming graphics (3D business and gaming graphics performance): 3.4

Primary hard disk (Disk data transfer rate): 5.9

AUDIO INFORMATION:

Sound Card Intel® High Definition Audio HDMI

Manufacturer: Intel® Corporation

DeviceID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_1095&DEV_1392&SUBSYS_10280242&REV_1000\4&394240AF&0&0101

Status: OK

Sound Card SigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC

Manufacturer: SigmaTel

DeviceID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_8384&DEV_7616&SUBSYS_10280242&REV_1002\4&394240AF&0&0201

Status: OK

#12
ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned Members

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,305 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
cjc215 this has happened to me before, it was because I was adding more files to the vize xml to patch, I added setupapi.dll (AVI's) and my sound stopped working...the conclusion I reached is some files cannot be patched, Vista will throw a fit and break something

I was thinking of the need for a list of files that should not be moddified on Vista, setupapi.dll add that to the list

#13
cjc215

cjc215
  • Member
  • 2 posts
ahah, thank you for the explanation ricktendo64! So im not sure what particular patched dll is causing my particular issue because i installed Vize 2.0 as is, not adding any extra system files to be patched.. I thnk the dll that's causing my issue is the audiodev.dll... just a guess! Im not really in the mood for experimenting right now, becuz if that turns out not to be the problem, then i have to do a system restore back to b4 the installation to get my sound back!

Edited by cjc215, 20 September 2009 - 01:29 AM.


#14
zefyx

zefyx

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
What's the ETA for release 2? Thanks!

#15
Angel Blue01

Angel Blue01

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts
I just reinstalled Vista x86 on my system and I find myself really missing Vize. Has any more work been done recently on this app?

#16
W3bbo

W3bbo

    xpize / Vize Project Lead

  • Developer
  • 473 posts

I just reinstalled Vista x86 on my system and I find myself really missing Vize. Has any more work been done recently on this app?


No, I'm focusing my efforts on Sevenize instead. The idea being that the sort of person who used Vize in the first place would be someone who is always using the latest Microsoft tech, I imagine most of the people who used Vista would now be using 7.

Unless anyone objects?
Posted Image

#17
1Al

1Al
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
No objections, but when comes out this Sevenize, is now a year and a half that W7 was released... :rolleyes:

Edited by 1Al, 29 March 2011 - 12:44 AM.


#18
11ryanc

11ryanc

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 33 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I know this project is now years out of date and discontinued, but has anybody tested it under Vista SP2 and conform it working stable? Just a little concerned since there is no way of uninstalling.


31824.png

10155.gif





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN