Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Windows 7 x64 vLite "extreme removal"

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
220 replies to this topic

#51
Jeronimo

Jeronimo

    vLite user

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
@trickstar: I know these files are used by BITS, but I have not had an update on Windows Update where I can test that it does not break functionality.

I might remove these if I can verify it for now I included it in the removal batch, but not activated yet (see BITS related files). Only things that I might change is the addition of setting ownership (if someone can provide details on which files, during the removal stage) and maybe a set of command to aid users in the guide SausageHack provided here.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#52
Junior2613

Junior2613

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 200 posts
I just wanted to say I'm trying again with your latest removal.bat and it seems that on the command "removal.bat packages" I get a lot of errors saying the image is no longer serviceable which doesn't seem to add up because it is still mounted any tips ?

#53
dcatcher

dcatcher

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
Another hint (or lesson) for extreme removal:

Be careful with IE component, complete removal of IE breaks MMC(Manager Computer, Local services,...)

#54
liquid0624

liquid0624

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 156 posts
copy "%mount%\Program Files\Internet Explorer\ieproxy.dll" "%mount%\Windows\system32"

Hey Jeronimo was looking of your internet explorer removal BTW whole batch file is very nice like it lots any ways in this line why are you copying the 64-bit version of that dll into a 32-bit system Dir?

#55
Jeronimo

Jeronimo

    vLite user

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
@Junior2613: if you already have a mount and get errors on the package-removal, I suggest you test again and let the removal batch do the mount

@liquid0624: system32 is for the 64-bit files, SysWOW64 for the 32-bit files (open up a file in notepad and look for processorArchitecture).

#56
Junior2613

Junior2613

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 200 posts
Nice works now :) I was going to say on the version I got to work I set the "Remove.Net" to V and ONLY vLite worked no other .net programs worked eg. MzVista or any other vista / 7 tweaks apps, Nvtray won't work. I hope that makes sense

EDIT* seems I can't get rid of this error still saying image not serviceable and I made no other images are mounted and i made sure that I let removal.bat do the mounting

Edited by Junior2613, 16 August 2009 - 08:37 AM.


#57
nlitened

nlitened

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
I've been getting the 'not serviceable' errors too, when trying to /get-packages.
I'm manually mounting with dism, not using the removal.bat.

Also can't seem to unmount the wim either..., very strange

Edited by nlitened, 16 August 2009 - 09:03 AM.


#58
Jeronimo

Jeronimo

    vLite user

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
If you are doing to manual mount, then make sure it is the same mount-dir as set in removal.bat. Also make sure the wimfilter is installed (vLite requests this upon first run) and that you are using imagex from the Windows Vista AIK. I have not had good experiences with dism and imagex from Windows 7 AIK.

The only application I might support with the partly .NET removal (vLIte) is install_wim_tweak as this seems broken by .NET removal. Other than that it is not supported: if you want to keep .NET keep it (K), if you want it removed use the options presented (V/C).

#59
dridzz

dridzz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
What would I need to mod in the batch file to keep network sharing and printer support ?

#60
liquid0624

liquid0624

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 156 posts

@Junior2613: if you already have a mount and get errors on the package-removal, I suggest you test again and let the removal batch do the mount

@liquid0624: system32 is for the 64-bit files, SysWOW64 for the 32-bit files (open up a file in notepad and look for processor Architecture).


My bad jeronimo i believe you are right on this not finding processor Architecture in that encrypted mess but looking at the size of browcli.dll in System32 is 57KB and the size of it in SysWOW64 is 40.5KB meaning the 64-bit versions are in System32 b/c the size of a 64-bit dll is always bigger nice work never new this though it was the other way around ;) great work once again my friend :thumbup I still don't know how you are getting you install.wim down to 800 MB though lowest i can get mine removing all packages you do and cleanup all the files you do as well except for the .net stuff i just removed the .net 3 package and i can only get mine to 1.15gb install.wim and a even 1.30gb for my ISO size.

#61
nlitened

nlitened

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
I used the elite64.ini and the remove.bat from this thread, and my ISO is 1.08GB.
I'm using Ultimate N and I haven't manually removed anything from WinSxs\* yet.
Looking to get it below 1.0GB...

#62
Junior2613

Junior2613

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 200 posts
Yeah I also sorted the errors I was using Windows 7 WAIK not Vista :)

#63
dead0

dead0

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 488 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

@Junior2613: if you already have a mount and get errors on the package-removal, I suggest you test again and let the removal batch do the mount

@liquid0624: system32 is for the 64-bit files, SysWOW64 for the 32-bit files (open up a file in notepad and look for processor Architecture).


My bad jeronimo i believe you are right on this not finding processor Architecture in that encrypted mess but looking at the size of browcli.dll in System32 is 57KB and the size of it in SysWOW64 is 40.5KB meaning the 64-bit versions are in System32 b/c the size of a 64-bit dll is always bigger nice work never new this though it was the other way around ;) great work once again my friend :thumbup I still don't know how you are getting you install.wim down to 800 MB though lowest i can get mine removing all packages you do and cleanup all the files you do as well except for the .net stuff i just removed the .net 3 package and i can only get mine to 1.15gb install.wim and a even 1.30gb for my ISO size.

i was able to get my wim down to 780mb but im hoping to hit 750mb?! :P

#64
palT

palT
  • Member
  • 2 posts
Thanks guys'n gals for all the information and sharing your experiences! :thumbup I got install.wim down to 674 MB on x86 system. Everything installs and basically works but i wasn't happy with that small version. It was a little bit too crippled to my liking. 700..800mb install.wim now i'm making seems to be pretty optimal for my needs. Encountered one strange problem though.. I've integrated 9 updates but it shows up on control panel as 29 updates installed!? Something went wrong obviously. Does someone have any idea about?

#65
Jedi-to-be

Jedi-to-be

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
Please, Jeronimo, add the explanation about packages_xls.txt . The meaning of some items is not clear for me. For example, what does it mean if item has bold, or vLite “not ok", or Keep for your Windows 7 edition...

#66
Jeronimo

Jeronimo

    vLite user

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
@Jedi-to-be: ok, bold was just a reminder to myself and notice to important components, not ok means not completely removed by vLite and keep for your Windows 7 edition is self explanatory.

I am under the strong impression, that driver integration does not work with dism. I think for this I will stick with vLite the next time. Right now I have re-installed my C-drive for the 1st time since build 7137 and so far I am loving it. RTM takes up 3.89GB with everything installed. I do have a minimal of applications installed as I am a happy user those portable apps or at least those that do not require installation. Those are on my D-drive, which do not even take up 400MB including My documents.

#67
Junior2613

Junior2613

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 200 posts
@Jernimo. Nice to hear your enjoying the rewards of your hard work :D

I finally managed to get Win7 going my 1st attempt worked but i accidentally removed media player :(

#68
oldghost

oldghost
  • Member
  • 7 posts
Jeronimo, you are doing a great job :thumbup , did your removal batch script work for x86 platform?
i'm follwing SausageHack's guide and it works well for x86 platform, now i will try out x64 version.

Edited by oldghost, 20 August 2009 - 06:41 PM.

Nothing is good or bad, but our thinkings make it so.

#69
Jeronimo

Jeronimo

    vLite user

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
Thanks, for x86 I would recommend following 1 of the other guides from Sausagehack or dead0 as this is untested by me (my should work, but untested).

#70
dridzz

dridzz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
Could someone give me an example or a sample of a batch file for the N version? PLz

Edited by dridzz, 21 August 2009 - 10:49 PM.


#71
SausageHack

SausageHack

    I love duct tape

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Driver integration worked fine with DISM for me. I have a Synaptics Touchpad and nVidia graphics and both were working during the installation phase (i.e. screen resolution was corrected and I could scroll)

Jeronimo I'll update the guide and consolidate everything once the new batch is out! :)
All my people right here, right now, dyou know what I mean?

#72
dridzz

dridzz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
Is another batch file coming out ? What is suppose to happen with the cleanup? Mine is like this.

Attached Files


Edited by dridzz, 23 August 2009 - 01:58 AM.


#73
Jeronimo

Jeronimo

    vLite user

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
@dridzz: maybe you are using an older batch file. I knew there was an action that did not have the mount performed, otherwise I can not explain this.

I updated the batch-file. Along with the mentioned changes I also added the fixreg from SausageHack's Guide. If mine is too complex and you want a more detailed guide, then check out his.

Edited by Jeronimo, 25 August 2009 - 11:10 PM.


#74
PabloW

PabloW

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 28 posts
Jeronimo, is it possible to remove Client-Driver and/or Common-Driver package(s) and still boot to desktop?
If "disable-feature:MediaPlayback" is set what's the result of that?

N-spesific packages:
Microsoft-Windows-Editions-ClientN-Package
Microsoft-Windows-Xps-Foundation-NEdition-Package

these packages do not exist in N-version:
Microsoft-Windows-GPUPipeline-Package
Microsoft-Media-Foundation-Package

Edited by PabloW, 23 August 2009 - 08:15 AM.


#75
Junior2613

Junior2613

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 200 posts
Why Is it that when I remove the gadgets packages from the removals list the error saying image no longer serviceable goes away :S




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN