Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

7Slimmer MMX-R2

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
87 replies to this topic

#26
Junior2613

Junior2613

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Joined 21-June 09
Hmm it seems when trying to remove certain packages I get an error saying image no longer serviceable which is strange because it removes the previous package with no errors :S


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
PopSmith

PopSmith
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 25-August 09
Is it possible to do this guide (Guide 3) on a 32-bit OS FOR a 64-bit Windows 7 installation? I currently only have access to a 32-bit OS but would like to vLite a 64-bit version of Windows 7 before I install it.

I guess if it comes down to it I can install a non-vLite 64-bit then vLite the DVD and reinstall but I am trying to avoid that if possible. :whistle:

#28
SausageHack

SausageHack

    I love duct tape

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Joined 10-July 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Is it possible to do this guide (Guide 3) on a 32-bit OS FOR a 64-bit Windows 7 installation? I currently only have access to a 32-bit OS but would like to vLite a 64-bit version of Windows 7 before I install it.

I guess if it comes down to it I can install a non-vLite 64-bit then vLite the DVD and reinstall but I am trying to avoid that if possible. :whistle:


You can only vLite a 64-Bit installation from a 64-Bit host OS. So basically yes you have to be running all this from a x64 OS.
All my people right here, right now, dyou know what I mean?

#29
PopSmith

PopSmith
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 25-August 09
Alrighty. I got Windows 7 64-bit (non-vLite'd) installed and re-did the tutorial but when I load the "SausageHack.ini" in vLite it doesn't do anything. I even re-downloaded and copied it to the vLite presets folder but it still doesn't do anything. I tried restarting vLite as well as rebooting my laptop to no avail. :wacko:

#30
SausageHack

SausageHack

    I love duct tape

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Joined 10-July 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Alrighty. I got Windows 7 64-bit (non-vLite'd) installed and re-did the tutorial but when I load the "SausageHack.ini" in vLite it doesn't do anything. I even re-downloaded and copied it to the vLite presets folder but it still doesn't do anything. I tried restarting vLite as well as rebooting my laptop to no avail. :wacko:



Just select some general components that you want gone. If you open SausageHack.ini you can see the components that were intended to be selected. Good luck
All my people right here, right now, dyou know what I mean?

#31
PopSmith

PopSmith
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 25-August 09

Just select some general components that you want gone. If you open SausageHack.ini you can see the components that were intended to be selected. Good luck


Thanks SausageHack! :) I finally got it to work and am running Windows 7 (x64) as I type this! :thumbup

#32
theKramer

theKramer

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Joined 20-July 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Hi,
I am getting the following error when I run the command: removal64.bat packages

"The specified package is not valid Windows package."

I have extracted everything to the root of my C-drive. See the attached jpeg.

I have also attached the full output from my command prompt as a text file.

Any help appreciated.

#33
SausageHack

SausageHack

    I love duct tape

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Joined 10-July 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi,
I am getting the following error when I run the command: removal64.bat packages

"The specified package is not valid Windows package."

I have extracted everything to the root of my C-drive. See the attached jpeg.

I have also attached the full output from my command prompt as a text file.

Any help appreciated.


Some people were having the same problem on Jeronimo's thread. They solved the problem by using a different version of WAIK (should be Vista SP1)

http://www.microsoft...;displaylang=en
All my people right here, right now, dyou know what I mean?

#34
theKramer

theKramer

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Joined 20-July 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I had seen that thread and downloaded the Vista WAIK, but just realised that whatever vesion I got is not the correct one as its name does not match the name of the one in the link you posted. :rolleyes: Downloading correct one now.

Thx for that. Hopefully that will fix my problems

#35
darklocust

darklocust

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 12-January 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm on the vLite step, when rebuilding, vLite has a ton of pop-ups on dependencies, should I keep or remove these dependent components?

#36
SausageHack

SausageHack

    I love duct tape

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Joined 10-July 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I'm on the vLite step, when rebuilding, vLite has a ton of pop-ups on dependencies, should I keep or remove these dependent components?


Use your own judgement really, but I recommend that you keep the ones that you aren't sure about. If you know that it's something you don't need/use, it may be smarter to just keep it.
All my people right here, right now, dyou know what I mean?

#37
darklocust

darklocust

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 12-January 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Ahh that's great. I decided to NOT keep all of the one's with pop-ups. I'll be installing soon so I'll report what happens. Maybe those dependencies should not be in the vLite preset in the first place.

I'm on the vLite step, when rebuilding, vLite has a ton of pop-ups on dependencies, should I keep or remove these dependent components?


Use your own judgement really, but I recommend that you keep the ones that you aren't sure about. If you know that it's something you don't need/use, it may be smarter to just keep it.



#38
theKramer

theKramer

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Joined 20-July 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Some people were having the same problem on Jeronimo's thread. They solved the problem by using a different version of WAIK (should be Vista SP1)

http://www.microsoft...;displaylang=en


Still got the same problem. Uninstalled the old one and installed the one that I downloaded from that link. This really sucks :angry:

Edited by theKramer, 03 September 2009 - 04:39 PM.


#39
darklocust

darklocust

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 12-January 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm on Win7 64 and I was able to install WAIK SP1 for Vista.

I'm able to build images for 32 and 64 bit versions w/o any problems, following the batches by SausageHack (c/o Jeronimo).

You might want to install Win7 FULL then run these batches. The best way would be to have a dedicated machine for building images so you can test them out.

Some people were having the same problem on Jeronimo's thread. They solved the problem by using a different version of WAIK (should be Vista SP1)

http://www.microsoft...;displaylang=en


Still got the same problem. Uninstalled the old one and installed the one that I downloaded from that link. This really sucks :angry:



#40
tacneplong

tacneplong

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 03-September 09
I got the same problems with theKramer can you help me to fix it
Do u think I need to install windows 7 and then run that batch file?

#41
SausageHack

SausageHack

    I love duct tape

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Joined 10-July 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I got the same problems with theKramer can you help me to fix it
Do u think I need to install windows 7 and then run that batch file?


I don't know for sure, but I think your probrem wasn't completely solved by just uninstalling the old WAIK. For example, vLite copies wimflt and wimgapi files from WAIK on first use. I recommend re-installing Windows and installalling WAIK Vista SP1 and see how that goes. I have run this from XP and Vista without problems, but just to be safe you may want to run it from a 'vanilla' Windows 7 installation :)
All my people right here, right now, dyou know what I mean?

#42
iceangel89

iceangel89

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 453 posts
  • Joined 10-February 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
i need some help modifying removal64.bat for my use. i need to edit it isit?

i installed WAIK 1.1 already, i noticed the batch looks for C:\imagex.exe which is not there.

also how do u get windows 7600? i have 7100.0.090421-1700_x64fre_client_en-us_retail_ultimate-grc1culxfrer_en_dvd btw, so i guess i set

set cb=amd64
set build=7100
set svn=???
set pre=???
set II=4
set edition=U

btw, what components/packages are removed? can i change them? how will i know what am i removing in

%rempackage%Microsoft-Hyper-V-Common-Drivers-Package~%pre%~%cb%~~%version%
%rempackage%Microsoft-Hyper-V-Guest-Integration-Drivers-Package~%pre%~%cb%~~%version%
%rempackage%Microsoft-Windows-Anytime-Upgrade-Results-Package~%pre%~%cb%~~%version%
%rempackage%Microsoft-Windows-Backup-Package~%pre%~%cb%~~%version%
%rempackage%Microsoft-Windows-BLB-Client-Package~%pre%~%cb%~~%version%
%rempackage%Microsoft-Windows-BusinessScanning-Feature-Package~%pre%~%cb%~~%version%
...

UPDATE: i guess i see packages.xls for the above

Edited by iceangel89, 07 September 2009 - 11:17 PM.


#43
theKramer

theKramer

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Joined 20-July 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I don't know for sure, but I think your probrem wasn't completely solved by just uninstalling the old WAIK. For example, vLite copies wimflt and wimgapi files from WAIK on first use. I recommend re-installing Windows and installalling WAIK Vista SP1 and see how that goes. I have run this from XP and Vista without problems, but just to be safe you may want to run it from a 'vanilla' Windows 7 installation :)


Would I also need to reinstall a full version of Win 7, that is, a non-vlited version, and then try again, or would reinstalling a vlited version not matter?
Thx

Hope that makes sense :)

#44
SausageHack

SausageHack

    I love duct tape

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Joined 10-July 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@theKramer
it really shouldn't matter that much which version you install, but I would recommend a normal install just in case
All my people right here, right now, dyou know what I mean?

#45
liquidzgurl

liquidzgurl

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 36 posts
  • Joined 30-August 09

Great job sausagehack its hard work and takes a lot of knowledge careful planning and time to test cause and effect to create successful scripts I couldn't do it myself if I tried right now oh btw this is like the name says I'm liquids b1tch lol but I'm still semi noob anyways again great job and be sure to check out liquids new post and attachments :) let us know what you think I helped him with all the wording see his post @ Liquidspost



#46
dridzz

dridzz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 07-June 08
whre are the new batch files ? ithink u forgot to upload them

Edited by dridzz, 09 September 2009 - 01:21 PM.


#47
liquidzgurl

liquidzgurl

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 36 posts
  • Joined 30-August 09

they should be in the .exe file install it then the batch scripts should be extracted to your hard drive along with everything else just browse for them after you install



#48
SausageHack

SausageHack

    I love duct tape

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Joined 10-July 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Just an update, I'm currently almost done with user-selection interface!!! The only little thing left is figuring out why the errorlevels are being weird... oh well though. Has the new guide and scripts been working ok for everyone? :)
All my people right here, right now, dyou know what I mean?

#49
Jeronimo

Jeronimo

    vLite user

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Joined 26-October 03
Errorlevels are not that problematic, you need to know how they work. It is always a greater than check (if errorlevel 1) or a lower than check (if not errorlevel X).
If you want to check on errorlevel 0:
if not errorlevel 1 ..
If you want to check on errorlevel 1 or higher:
if errorlevel 1 ...
Check the help (help if) for further information.

#50
sirjustin1

sirjustin1
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 09-September 09
I'm having some problems that I can't seem to sort out. Every time I build an image and install it, towards the end of the installation I always get this error message:

"Windows could not configure one or more system components.  To install Windows, restart the computer and then restart the installation."

I've tried many different things here, including only removing one single component using vLite, such as just the sample media and photos. As long as I don't use vLite, I can install the base image fine. But as soon as I select anything in vLite and install the image, I always get this error.

I'm using x64 Home Premium. I've tried an RTM release and an MSDN release (also RTM, just wanted to try a fresh base image). I'm building the images on an x64 Home Premium install using the Vista version of WAIK.

Any ideas?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN