Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

HotKeys in Registry?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1
AEN007

AEN007

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 42 posts
  • Joined 29-April 08
22August2009
Greetings.
I would like to assign a keyboard combination to something,
but XP will not accept the combination on one of my XP laptops.
I have already entered this combination on my other two XP laptops.
Apparently XP still has this combination assigned to a .lnk or something
that no longer exists. How/Where in the registry could I find/delete
the entry where XP has stored this combination to free it up?
Any helpful replies/insights appreciated.
Thank you.
Regards,
AEN
Æ
Images in signatures shall NOT exceed a total of 300x100 and 80kb. Flash and animated signatures and avatars are not permitted. You can enter max 4 lines of text in signature or signature image. - Forum Rules - Tarun


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 10,022 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

If you are referring to HotStart, then you may need a BIOS update, or else your notebook may not even support it at all.

Otherwise, try lookup up keyboard re-mappers and see if some give you that option. I had to do such a thing in order to assign a function to the F15 key (Mac keyboard on PC) for a game I had tried. I remember those programs I had tried (many did not have the function i needed) they had a ton of other options. I do not have any left saved so I can't give you any examples. :}
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#3
GrofLuigi

GrofLuigi

    GroupPolicy Tattoo Artist

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,365 posts
  • Joined 21-April 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

How/Where in the registry could I find/delete
the entry where XP has stored this combination to free it up?

You can try looking in :

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\AppKey

Might not apply if the mapping was done through some other app.

GL

#4
AEN007

AEN007

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 42 posts
  • Joined 29-April 08
4September2009

Greetings.

I solved the problem in question with some tomfoolery
but I (and others) am(are) still looking for a way to see
which hotkeys XP has as assigned to which apps/utils/etc ...

Someone has a utility which shows which hotkeys XP has as assigned
but not to which app/util/etc ...

Any helpful replies/insights appreciated.
Thank you.
Regards,
AEN
Æ
Images in signatures shall NOT exceed a total of 300x100 and 80kb. Flash and animated signatures and avatars are not permitted. You can enter max 4 lines of text in signature or signature image. - Forum Rules - Tarun

#5
AEN007

AEN007

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 42 posts
  • Joined 29-April 08
26February2012

Greetings.
It has been a long time since I have had an XP hotkey problem,
but this weekend I have come across another.
I assigned Alt-Shift-1, A-S-2, A-S-3 & A-S-4 as local hotkeys to a freeware file manager.
These hotkeys work fine on 2 of my 3 XP laptops.
AS1, AS2 & AS4 are dead on the 3rd XP laptop.
They do nothing in the freeware file manager.
I cannot set these hotkeys in any app/util that sets hotkeys when the user types them.
XP acts like these hotkeys are active/global hotkeys,
but the hotkeys combos do nothing when executed.

The AHks utility does NOT list these hotkey combos as assigned.
I tried killing off every non-XP process 1 by 1 to no avail.
I did a safe mode boot with no networking, no antivirus & no firewall to no avail.
The hotkeys work fine on this laptop when I do a BartPE/XPE boot.
I was "demo-ing" some freeware file managers - most were install-free/portable but not all.
Under the safe mode boot there were only half a dozen processes running,
so it seems to me the problem must be in the registry somewhere.
I am at the moment a loss for how to re-enable these hotkey combos.
Any helpful replies/insights appreciated.
Thank you.
Regards,
AEN
Æ
Images in signatures shall NOT exceed a total of 300x100 and 80kb. Flash and animated signatures and avatars are not permitted. You can enter max 4 lines of text in signature or signature image. - Forum Rules - Tarun

#6
GrofLuigi

GrofLuigi

    GroupPolicy Tattoo Artist

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,365 posts
  • Joined 21-April 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Maybe some accessibility option?

Or "scancode map" (google for it). A registry key - it's a pretty complex scheme that I don't understand quite well, but maybe there is some program that can work with it... (for example, nLite uses it for "disable Windows keys").

GL

#7
AEN007

AEN007

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 42 posts
  • Joined 29-April 08
21September2012

I still have no idea what is intercepting those hotkey combos globally, but
I have found that "whatever it is" does NOT intercept those hotkey combos when
I put them in 1 of my custom/persistent scripts ... which I also do not understand ...
That is, those hotkey combos do not work at all (on this specific XP laptop) ...
no matter what window/app is "active"; however, some script like»
#IfWinActive, "whatever"
!+1::whateverAction1
!+2::whateverAction2
!+4::whateverAction4
does capture those hotkey combos & execute whatever I have scripted ...
Images in signatures shall NOT exceed a total of 300x100 and 80kb. Flash and animated signatures and avatars are not permitted. You can enter max 4 lines of text in signature or signature image. - Forum Rules - Tarun

#8
Geej

Geej

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 635 posts
  • Joined 01-January 08
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
My thought over here.
(Read Ethervane ActiveHotkeys help file to get some insight)
In short, the author said can't retrieve programmatically what program is using certain hotkey if already taken up.

Cheers

#9
AEN007

AEN007

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 42 posts
  • Joined 29-April 08
23September2012
The following was/is an (indirect) reference to Ethervane»

but I (and others) am(are) still looking for a way to see
which hotkeys XP has as assigned to which apps/utils/etc ...

Someone has a utility which shows which hotkeys XP has as assigned
but not to which app/util/etc ...

As I posted here»

The AHks utility does NOT list these hotkey combos as assigned.

Ethervane does NOT show Alt-Shift-1, Alt-Shift-2 nor Alt-Shift-4 as assigned on the XP laptop in question ...
which makes the situation even more enigmatic ...
Posted Image
I wish MSFN lived up to its tagline ...
it does not in my experience ...
Images in signatures shall NOT exceed a total of 300x100 and 80kb. Flash and animated signatures and avatars are not permitted. You can enter max 4 lines of text in signature or signature image. - Forum Rules - Tarun

#10
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,859 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I wish MSFN lived up to its tagline ...
it does not in my experience ...

Yeah, life is tough.... :wacko: ... but whining :ph34r: does not help in the least, as a matter of fact, makes life even worse....:(

JFYI, a number of laptops have the Fn key and often it is used in combination with numerical keys.
It is possible that the actual hardware is actually interfering with your assigned hot-keys.
If I were you :w00t: , I would try the same hot-keys on an external keyboard connected to the laptop and see if the behaviour is the same (and I would also take it easier :))


jaclaz

#11
AEN007

AEN007

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 42 posts
  • Joined 29-April 08

26August2009
Guess what, Jack ...
Your opinions/reactions don't concern me ...


Images in signatures shall NOT exceed a total of 300x100 and 80kb. Flash and animated signatures and avatars are not permitted. You can enter max 4 lines of text in signature or signature image. - Forum Rules - Tarun

#12
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,859 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


26August2009
Guess what, Jack ...
Your opinions/reactions don't concern me ...

Sure :yes: , I know, but that was three years ago (and on another place/another topic):
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=23239

Since you referenced this other place, it is worth to mention recent developments there :whistle: :
http://www.911cd.net...pic=23183&st=37

jaclaz




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users