Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

xpize 5 Release 6

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
77 replies to this topic

#51
vartaxe

vartaxe

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
does it still have the winrar and emule skins?

edit: more resource are welcomed like the windows 3d logo screensaver and so on :whistle:

Edited by vartaxe, 13 September 2009 - 08:00 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#52
tkrojam

tkrojam

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 42 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

does it still have the winrar and emule skins?

edit: more resource are welcomed like the windows 3d logo screensaver and so on :whistle:


Please refer:
http://www.msfn.org/...p...st&p=882283

#53
Marru_xD

Marru_xD

    [Deleted Account]

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 76 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Some New Requests:



Posted Image


Posted Image


Posted Image


Posted Image

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

And i've patched a TweakUI.exe powertoy. (tested and working)

Add it to the next version of XPize, please.(it's already done)

Here:

Edited by Marru_xD, 26 September 2009 - 03:13 PM.

...

#54
Marru_xD

Marru_xD

    [Deleted Account]

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 76 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
This looks weird!

Look:

Posted Image
...

#55
W3bbo

W3bbo

    xpize / Vize Project Lead

  • Developer
  • 473 posts

This looks weird!

Look:

Posted Image


The logoff confirmation window's icon appears fine on my computer. I suspect it only applies to your Windows' language edition.
Posted Image

#56
Marru_xD

Marru_xD

    [Deleted Account]

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 76 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hey Everybody, I have some requests for a next release:
1)I'm using my pc in Remote Desktop, when I click in "Disconect" i see this ugly icon:
Posted Image

2)In IE8 Config window, when I click in "colors", i see this Vista Icon:
Posted Image

3)Windows Defender Beta2 uses a blue background, but in the final version, it's green (vista style):

Windows Defender BETA2:
Posted Image

Windows Defender Final (XPized):
Posted Image

Is possible to bring this blue background back?

Some old requests:

Posted Image

"Task Manager":
Posted Image

"%Windir%":
Posted Image

"Main.cpl":

Posted Image

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

And i've patched a TweakUI.exe powertoy. (tested and working)

Add it to the next version of XPize, please.(it's already done)

Here: http://www.msfn.org/...t...st&id=27617



Thank you!

Edited by Marru_xD, 16 October 2009 - 01:34 PM.

...

#57
jericho_tm

jericho_tm
  • Member
  • 1 posts

Changelist:

  • Fixed the Luna Element and Darkside Shutdown/Log-off dialogs
  • Resources Improved or Added to:
    • Windows Defender
    • Internet Explorer 8
    • Cards
    • Windows CardSpace
    • System Error Reporting
    • Windows' branding banner images for x64 systems
  • Improved uninstallation so all your settings are now reset
  • Added a Feedback system
  • And to top it all off, the download is over a megabyte smaller than Release 5
Downloaderise it.


Thanks for this new release! anyway this is my first! I've tested the program, works absolutely perfect! And the uninstallation... restores the previews settings like a charm! I've uninstall it because i didn't pay attention on the installation options! Can be posible to put in your future versions a tool that can cange the icons (not the system ones) without installing and reinstalling?
Thanks! And keep up the good work!
Ta, ta! :)

#58
W3bbo

W3bbo

    xpize / Vize Project Lead

  • Developer
  • 473 posts

Can be posible to put in your future versions a tool that can cange the icons (not the system ones) without installing and reinstalling?


Maybe, in the long long long term (think: years), but there really isn't much point since you can just re-install it again.

For all intents and purposes, xpize is "done"; although there are a few things left over and a few minor bugs (some of those corrected by HellRacer's "xpize 5R6b" release) I don't think it's worth my time cranking out another release for now. Maybe next year, or at Christmas if I'm feeling nice.

I must apologise for not uploading the xpize package sources yet. I've been saying that for months.
Posted Image

#59
quatermass

quatermass
  • Member
  • 3 posts
I've got Windows XP sp3 and I noticed with xpize 5 rel 4 that it had a bug with the copy + and the shortcut symbol not showing up any more on the drag icon.

I'd like to tell the developers that the bug is still there with rel 6.

So to sum up.
When I have two explorer windows open (two different hard drives) and I drag and drop a file from one window into the other, the little copy Plus symbol does not show up in the bottom left of the drag icon. Which is the default action normally.

Nor does the shortcut symbol appear if the Ctrl+Shift key are held down.

Can this be fixed?

Edited by quatermass, 25 January 2010 - 01:39 PM.


#60
Hell Racer

Hell Racer

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 68 posts
That's strange, but I use Windows XP SP3 too and never seen such problem with release 6 :(. Do you have 32 bit or 64 bit version?
Posted Image

#61
quatermass

quatermass
  • Member
  • 3 posts
32bit.
The problem first appears right after I rebooted from xpize 5.4. I posted the problem immediately at the time. But no developers replied about the problem on the forum.

But I may have discovered a fix.
I had a brain wave just now and ran Tweak UI. I used the Explorer>Shortcut option and altered this setting to None and then back to Arrow.

I've now got the + symbol and the shortcut icon back on the mouse. :yes:

Edited by quatermass, 26 January 2010 - 01:29 PM.


#62
Rafaru

Rafaru
  • Member
  • 3 posts
Hello , I am new here , so I do not really know if this is the correct place to drop my problem , I installed yesterday Xpize 5 (last version) Windows XP accepted it , but when rebooting it failed , pc keeps rebooting again and again but does not come to start , could anyone help please ????


Thanks in advance

#63
W3bbo

W3bbo

    xpize / Vize Project Lead

  • Developer
  • 473 posts

Hello , I am new here , so I do not really know if this is the correct place to drop my problem , I installed yesterday Xpize 5 (last version) Windows XP accepted it , but when rebooting it failed , pc keeps rebooting again and again but does not come to start , could anyone help please ????


Thanks in advance


Can you boot into safemode by pressing F8 during startup?
Posted Image

#64
jdub

jdub

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
Question about the Steam/team fortress/xfire bug: Is there a workaround/fix for this?

I don't rely on xfire much but i definitely do use it. Are my choices no xpise installed with xfire working vs xpise installed and no xfire?

Likewise with Team Fortress 2.

I'm working on a windows XP image and I'd like to integrate xpise or install it right after the fact, but if there is no work around I'll have to leave it out ='(

#65
W3bbo

W3bbo

    xpize / Vize Project Lead

  • Developer
  • 473 posts

Question about the Steam/team fortress/xfire bug: Is there a workaround/fix for this?

I don't rely on xfire much but i definitely do use it. Are my choices no xpise installed with xfire working vs xpise installed and no xfire?

Likewise with Team Fortress 2.

I'm working on a windows XP image and I'd like to integrate xpise or install it right after the fact, but if there is no work around I'll have to leave it out ='(


I appreciate I'm posting 6 months after you, but I haven't received any reports of any issues with XFire or Steam since the 5.0 Beta, which was 18 months ago. I'm running Steam right now, and I play TF2 a lot without any issues.
Posted Image

#66
W3bbo

W3bbo

    xpize / Vize Project Lead

  • Developer
  • 473 posts
xpize 5 Release 7 omgnuts.

I still need go through the installation feedback results people have been sending in, because there are a few bugs commonly reported (by pretty much 99% of all submitted results). But here are the major resource changes I'll be making:

Seeming as Windows XP SP4 is not expected...ever (it doesn't look like we'll even get an Update Rollup) so I don't need to gamble on any major Windows system files changing.

Here's the list of planned fixes. Some things might not necesarily be able to fix, however:
  • Scheduled Task wizard banner is missing
  • Outlook Express - 'home page' (aka 'tip of the day page') background image is a 1999-style monochrome JPEG that visibly tiles when the window is taller than 800px. There are also a few other 1999-style resources in there too.
  • Internet Explorer 8 - I'll look into tidying up some of the artwork because I'm disappointed at how badly a lot of it came out as. It's hard to make original XP-style artwork without the vector originals, even harder when it's at the awkward 24x24 size.
  • Other files I (and others) have identified:
  • mobsync.exe
  • cleanmgr.exe
  • main.cpl - Mouse button picture (this was fixed in an earlier version of XPize but was reverted, I want to find out why)
  • mstask.dll
  • WordPad toolbar
  • Freecell.exe
And changes to Anolis.Installer (these will also apply to Vize, and Sevenize, and any other package making use of the updated installer):
  • 'Advanced' tree view now pops out in a new resizable window, no more claustrophobia
  • Fix a few astray icons
  • Use the HK flag for Chinese Traditional (and correct the spelling)
Gimmie a few weeks, k?
Posted Image

#67
ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned Members

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,298 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hey W3bbo can you hex edit with anolis?

If so how about adding this 32bit icon patch for regedit.exe and taskmgr.exe

http://www.wincert.n...for-windows-xp/

Edited by ricktendo64, 13 January 2011 - 08:59 PM.


#68
W3bbo

W3bbo

    xpize / Vize Project Lead

  • Developer
  • 473 posts

Hey W3bbo can you hex edit with anolis?

If so how about adding this 32bit icon patch for regedit.exe and taskmgr.exe

http://www.wincert.n...for-windows-xp/


The library already includes methods for patching binary files (it's used by the UxTheme patcher), but I haven't devised a way to express this in the Package XML format. I'll get on that.

Note that because editing the .text section of a PE is inherently unsafe (and runs a massive potential of seriously messing things up) I'll need to restrict it to known tested versions and provide other safeguards. Thank you for the link.
Posted Image

#69
vartaxe

vartaxe

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
after installing there is no way to repair xpize/reset settings? just uninstalling? or do we need to redownload xpize to reapply settings? i'm asking cause i remember with older versions there was always settings to play with in the startmenu... but i'm ok with that it's only that iv'e got through something weird today...

Posted Image

i have been using a custom unattended xp for years now... and this time i formated my hdd and reinstalled it everything ok until i installed latest xpize to revert the theme cause i don't like the theme it comes with at all... it has that black vista thing (orb?)... but it won't change it... installed uninstalled reinstalled rebooted etc it changes everything theme icons logon ui etc but that single thing remains the same... always used to work ok.

any clues?

Edited by vartaxe, 17 January 2011 - 09:16 AM.


#70
W3bbo

W3bbo

    xpize / Vize Project Lead

  • Developer
  • 473 posts

i have been using a custom unattended xp for years now... and this time i formated my hdd and reinstalled it everything ok until i installed latest xpize to revert the theme cause i don't like the theme it comes with at all... it has that black vista thing (orb?)... but it won't change it... installed uninstalled reinstalled rebooted etc it changes everything theme icons logon ui etc but that single thing remains the same... always used to work ok.

any clues?


xpize does not add any Windows Vista-style elements to Windows, and doesn't touch Windows Explorer's activity throbber, so I'm guessing that change was made by another modification tool you ran.
Posted Image

#71
ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned Members

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,298 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
He wants it changed back, he said old xpize did now this one doesnt

#72
vartaxe

vartaxe

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts

He wants it changed back, he said old xpize did now this one doesnt



exactly!

sorry for my bad english

#73
ranjeetmalik4444

ranjeetmalik4444

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
I have XPSP3RTM updated till date I tried to install but the installer says some other installer is pending restart PC to contnue no luck after restart
Then I tried this with fresh XPSP3RTM on VMware it says installer cannot start...what can be the issue ... and How can I extrat the files from installer so that I can repalce them manually with the one I want.....thanks in advance

#74
W3bbo

W3bbo

    xpize / Vize Project Lead

  • Developer
  • 473 posts

I have XPSP3RTM updated till date I tried to install but the installer says some other installer is pending restart PC to contnue no luck after restart
Then I tried this with fresh XPSP3RTM on VMware it says installer cannot start...what can be the issue ... and How can I extrat the files from installer so that I can repalce them manually with the one I want.....thanks in advance


You can't extract files from the installer, by design ;)

Anyway, if you're stuck at the "pending reboot" screen, just run the installer with the /ignoreCondition switch and it'll let you in.
Posted Image

#75
prowler

prowler

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 39 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Will be a new version?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN