Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Slipstreamed XP SP2 and SATA drivers but still BSOD

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1
paulfoel

paulfoel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
Got an XP CD, slipstreamed in XP SP2 and also the SATA drivers I need (for panasonic CF-19K laptop).

Was I supposed to select text mode for all the SATA drivers or PNP mode? There was an oemsetup.info file so does this mean they are text mode?

Anyway, install is still getting halfway and then failing with STOP B7 (Unrecognised boot device) as if it still cant see the SATA HD?

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong here?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
paulfoel

paulfoel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
Actually, do I still need to press F6 or just let it carry on?

#3
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Got an XP CD, slipstreamed in XP SP2 and also the SATA drivers I need (for panasonic CF-19K laptop).

Which "SATA driver" did you integrate and which of the listed Controllers did you enable?

Was I supposed to select text mode for all the SATA drivers or PNP mode? There was an oemsetup.info file so does this mean they are text mode?

All textmode drivers usable for Windows XP contain a file named TXTSETUP.OEM.

Anyway, install is still getting halfway and then failing with STOP B7 (Unrecognised boot device) as if it still cant see the SATA HD?

You obviously have integrated the wrong driver or checked the wrong SATA AHCI/RAID Controller while integrating it.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong here?

You either took the wrong driver or did not check the appropriate Controller.
It is impossible to give you any advice unless you give us some details regarding your mainboard/notebook (vendor, name, chipset and Southbridge chip) and the textmode driver you have integrated (vendor and version).

Actually, do I still need to press F6 or just let it carry on?

No, if you have integrated the driver, you should not press F6 when prompted. Otherwise Windows Setup will not find the path to the needed textmode driver.
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#4
paulfoel

paulfoel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts

Got an XP CD, slipstreamed in XP SP2 and also the SATA drivers I need (for panasonic CF-19K laptop).

Which "SATA driver" did you integrate and which of the listed Controllers did you enable?

Was I supposed to select text mode for all the SATA drivers or PNP mode? There was an oemsetup.info file so does this mean they are text mode?

All textmode drivers usable for Windows XP contain a file named TXTSETUP.OEM.

Anyway, install is still getting halfway and then failing with STOP B7 (Unrecognised boot device) as if it still cant see the SATA HD?

You obviously have integrated the wrong driver or checked the wrong SATA AHCI/RAID Controller while integrating it.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong here?

You either took the wrong driver or did not check the appropriate Controller.
It is impossible to give you any advice unless you give us some details regarding your mainboard/notebook (vendor, name, chipset and Southbridge chip) and the textmode driver you have integrated (vendor and version).

Actually, do I still need to press F6 or just let it carry on?

No, if you have integrated the driver, you should not press F6 when prompted. Otherwise Windows Setup will not find the path to the needed textmode driver.


Its a panasonic toughbook CF-19K. I got the drivers from www.toughbook.com. http://www.toughbook..._EN_210x297.pdf

I extracted them to a directory and then when nlite asked I pointed it at the directory. I then ctrl-clicked all of the drivers in the list (about 10).

Heres the top of the txtsetup.oem:-
; Copyright © 2003-08 Intel Corporation
;#############################################################################
;#
;# Filename: TXTSETUP.OEM
;#
;#############################################################################
[Disks]
disk1 = "Intel Matrix Storage Manager driver", iaStor.sys, \

[Defaults]
scsi = iaStor_ICH8MEICH9ME

;#############################################################################
[scsi]

; iaAHCI.inf
iaAHCI_ESB2 = "Intel® ESB2 SATA AHCI Controller"
iaAHCI_ICH7RDH = "Intel® ICH7R/DH SATA AHCI Controller"
iaAHCI_ICH7MMDH = "Intel® ICH7M/MDH SATA AHCI Controller"
iaAHCI_ICH8RDHDO = "Intel® ICH8R/DH/DO SATA AHCI Controller"
iaAHCI_ICH8MEM = "Intel® ICH8M-E/M SATA AHCI Controller"
iaAHCI_ICH9RDODH = "Intel® ICH9R/DO/DH SATA AHCI Controller"
iaAHCI_ICH9MEM = "Intel® ICH9M-E/M SATA AHCI Controller"
iaAHCI_ICH10DDO = "Intel® ICH10D/DO SATA AHCI Controller"
iaAHCI_ICH10R = "Intel® ICH10R SATA AHCI Controller"

; iaStor.inf
iaStor_ESB2 = "Intel® ESB2 SATA RAID Controller"
iaStor_ICH7RDH = "Intel® ICH7R/DH SATA RAID Controller"
iaStor_ICH7MDH = "Intel® ICH7MDH SATA RAID Controller"
iaStor_ICH8RICH9RICH10RDO = "Intel® ICH8R/ICH9R/ICH10R/DO SATA RAID Controller"
iaStor_ICH8MEICH9ME = "Intel® ICH8M-E/ICH9M-E SATA RAID Controller"

;#############################################################################

I've seen your other thread about these drivers. Maybe I should try one of your driver downloads instead?

#5
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

I've seen your other thread about these drivers. Maybe I should try one of your driver downloads instead?

Yes, since the hdd of your system obviously is connected to an Intel SATA AHCI Controller, you should follow my Intel textmode driver integration guide (= first post of this thread).
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#6
paulfoel

paulfoel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts

I've seen your other thread about these drivers. Maybe I should try one of your driver downloads instead?

Yes, since the hdd of your system obviously is connected to an Intel SATA AHCI Controller, you should follow my Intel textmode driver integration guide (= first post of this thread).


Yep - thats the thread I've been reading.

I've downloaded the drivers mentioned in 2a (32 bit ones). Re-done nlite slipstream and windows is currently booting from CD. Bit slow cos its a USB CD drive.

One thing - I followed your instructions this time and chose SINGLE DRIVER whereas previously I just clicked on driver folder. MAke a difference?

Fingers crossed...

#7
paulfoel

paulfoel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
:-(

Still the same. Goes all the way though the install and then says starting windows and then BSOD STOP 7B.

Any ideas?

#8
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Still the same. Goes all the way though the install and then says starting windows and then BSOD STOP 7B.

So your hdd has been detected by Windows Setup and you could choose the partition where you want to get XP installed? If yes, you obviously have integrated the correct textmode driver and enabled the suitable Intel SATA Controller.
Now to your BSOD: If it happens at last reboot, you should try to reboot this time in safe mode (F8). You will see the detailed error message, if you hit F8 and choose the F8 option "Don't reboot at system failure".
Further questions:
1. Which options of nLite have you used and which drivers did you integrate besides the Intel textmode ones?
2. How much RAM does your system have?
3. Is there another hdd connected? If yes, did you check the "HARD DISK BOOT PRIORITY" BIOS settings?
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#9
paulfoel

paulfoel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
Do I need to slipstream the Intel matrix storage manager driver as well?

#10
paulfoel

paulfoel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts

Still the same. Goes all the way though the install and then says starting windows and then BSOD STOP 7B.

So your hdd has been detected by Windows Setup and you could choose the partition where you want to get XP installed? If yes, you obviously have integrated the correct textmode driver and enabled the suitable Intel SATA Controller.
Now to your BSOD: If it happens at last reboot, you should try to reboot this time in safe mode (F8). You will see the detailed error message, if you hit F8 and choose the F8 option "Don't reboot at system failure".
Further questions:
1. Which options of nLite have you used and which drivers did you integrate besides the Intel textmode ones?
2. How much RAM does your system have?
3. Is there another hdd connected? If yes, did you check the "HARD DISK BOOT PRIORITY" BIOS settings?


No - sorry it hasnt gone all the way through the install. Its the first part of the install where it fails with BSOD so I dont think the HDD is deteched properly.

1. Service Pack, Drivers, and make iso. I've got an old XP disk, so slipstreamed SP2 into it. Only drivers I integrated were your textmode ones.

2. RAM - plenty I should think. Its new out of the box.

3. No other HDD.

#11
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Do I need to slipstream the Intel matrix storage manager driver as well?

Why that? The Intel Matrix Storage Manager drivers are the same as the Intel textmode driver you have already integrated. It's just another name for them.
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#12
paulfoel

paulfoel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
OK. Trying again with a proper SP2 XP CD (rather than original XP and then slipstream in SP2). Also, the drivers from www.toughbook.com.

#13
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Trying again with a proper SP2 XP CD (rather than original XP and then slipstream in SP2).

You hopefully know, that the actual XP version is the one with integrated SP3. Why don't you slipstream SP3 instead of SP2?
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#14
paulfoel

paulfoel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts

Trying again with a proper SP2 XP CD (rather than original XP and then slipstream in SP2).

You hopefully know, that the actual XP version is the one with integrated SP3. Why don't you slipstream SP3 instead of SP2?


Any reason why it wont work with XP SP2 though? I guess I could try my SP2 source and slipstream SP3 into it as well.

My downloaded driver file contains about 10 drivers. At the moment, in nlite I'm just selecting all of them. Should I be doing this? I assumed that the windows xp install would just find the right one.

However, someone on another forum is saying, I think, that I need to pick the right one? (http://forum.noteboo...ad.php?t=419504)

#15
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Trying again with a proper SP2 XP CD (rather than original XP and then slipstream in SP2).

You hopefully know, that the actual XP version is the one with integrated SP3. Why don't you slipstream SP3 instead of SP2?

Any reason why it wont work with XP SP2 though? I guess I could try my SP2 source and slipstream SP3 into it as well.

Ok, I thought that you didn't know the actually available SP version.

My downloaded driver file contains about 10 drivers. At the moment, in nlite I'm just selecting all of them.

There is just 1 driver named IASTOR.SYS, but this driver s supporting a couple of different Intel® SATA Controllers.

I assumed that the windows xp install would just find the right one.

Yes, it will (unless the SATA hdd is not connected to any of the supported SATA Controllers).

However, someone on another forum is saying, I think, that I need to pick the right one?

AFAIK this information is not correct.
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#16
paulfoel

paulfoel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
Hmmm. If I let the machine boot on its own now - its still trying to boot into windows 2000 which is a little strange.

I was initially trying to get Windows 2000 loaded on this using a saved image and Acronis backup and recovery.

Maybe I need to clear out whats there first and fdisk the disk or something. Tried to boot using gpartd boot disk but it cant find the SATA disk....

#17
paulfoel

paulfoel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts

Trying again with a proper SP2 XP CD (rather than original XP and then slipstream in SP2).

You hopefully know, that the actual XP version is the one with integrated SP3. Why don't you slipstream SP3 instead of SP2?

Any reason why it wont work with XP SP2 though? I guess I could try my SP2 source and slipstream SP3 into it as well.

Ok, I thought that you didn't know the actually available SP version.

My downloaded driver file contains about 10 drivers. At the moment, in nlite I'm just selecting all of them.

There is just 1 driver named IASTOR.SYS, but this driver s supporting a couple of different IntelĀ® SATA Controllers.

I assumed that the windows xp install would just find the right one.

Yes, it will (unless the SATA hdd is not connected to any of the supported SATA Controllers).

However, someone on another forum is saying, I think, that I need to pick the right one?

AFAIK this information is not correct.


Strange. I can see no reason why it wont work. Maybe I do need to clear out and fdisk the HD or something first? As far as I can see this should be working ok.

#18
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Hmmm. If I let the machine boot on its own now - its still trying to boot into windows 2000 which is a little strange.

This is not strange at all, if you let the machine boot on its own.
You have to hit any key when prompted, if you want to boot off the XP CD.

Maybe I need to clear out whats there first and fdisk the disk or something.

Usually this s not necessary. Once the hdd is detected by the XP Setup, you can choose the partition, where you want to get XP installed, and format it by using the NTFS file system.
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#19
paulfoel

paulfoel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts

Hmmm. If I let the machine boot on its own now - its still trying to boot into windows 2000 which is a little strange.

This is not strange at all, if you let the machine boot on its own.
You have to hit any key when prompted, if you want to boot off the XP CD.

Maybe I need to clear out whats there first and fdisk the disk or something.

Usually this s not necessary. Once the hdd is detected by the XP Setup, you can choose the partition, where you want to get XP installed, and format it by using the NTFS file system.


Yeh. I know i gotta hit key to boot from cd. I was just surprised that some old stuff is still on the HDD.

Have fdisked it so theres nothing on the HD. Tried one of my slipstreamed SP2 CDs from yesterday but still the same. ie. BSOD because HDD is not detected by setup.

#20
paulfoel

paulfoel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
Just so we're talking the same here - this is EXACTLY what happens.

1. Boots from CD - message SETUP is initializing
2. Windows Setup at top, at bottom SETUP IS LOADING FILEs (takes a while)
3. Then SETUP IS STARTING WINDOWS.
4. BSOD with STOP ERROR 7B.

#21
paulfoel

paulfoel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
Fernando - I'm sure you're getting sick of me but I'm now getting somewhere....
Used Nlite to slipstream SP3 in and the single driver of IntelR ICH9M-E/M SATA AHCI Controller.

If I used Nlite to burn the ISO to CD it still didnt work.

However, if I take the amended XP source directory and use USB_multiboot (http://www.msfn.org/...sb-t111406.html) and then boot from USB drive it goes into SETUP and recognises the disk !!!!!

I did notice however that setup running from USB stick is 100x faster than USB CD drive (took about 10 mins for setup to load windows files).

#22
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Used Nlite to slipstream SP3 in and the single driver of IntelR ICH9M-E/M SATA AHCI Controller.
If I used Nlite to burn the ISO to CD it still didnt work.

What does mean "it didn't work"? Has your hdd not been detected by the Setup or did you just get a BSOD?

However, if I take the amended XP source directory and use USB_multiboot (http://www.msfn.org/...sb-t111406.html) and then boot from USB drive it goes into SETUP and recognises the disk !!!!!

Did the amended XP source content the Intel textmode driver?

I did notice however that setup running from USB stick is 100x faster than USB CD drive (took about 10 mins for setup to load windows files).

It is wellknown, that the USB connection is much faster than the optical drive one. Even much faster is the OS installation off an eSATA drive.
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#23
paulfoel

paulfoel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts

What does mean "it didn't work"? Has your hdd not been detected by the Setup or did you just get a BSOD?


Same as before. Gets to the bit where it says setup is starting windows and then BSOD.

Did the amended XP source content the Intel textmode driver?


Yes. I used Nlite to do this.

It is wellknown, that the USB connection is much faster than the optical drive one. Even much faster is the OS installation off an eSATA drive.


Yeh. Not quite sure why USB worked and CD didnt though.

Although, I'm happy that its working at all. Nlite is a great tool BTW.

#24
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Not quite sure why USB worked and CD didnt though.

I suspect, that it's an issue of your SATA connected optical CD drive, which has boot problems while running in AHCI Mode. You may search for a firmware update to solve the problem.

Although, I'm happy that its working at all.

So you got XP running at least? This would verify, that you took the correct AHCI textmode driver.
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#25
paulfoel

paulfoel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts

Not quite sure why USB worked and CD didnt though.

I suspect, that it's an issue of your SATA connected optical CD drive, which has boot problems while running in AHCI Mode. You may search for a firmware update to solve the problem.

Although, I'm happy that its working at all.

So you got XP running at least? This would verify, that you took the correct AHCI textmode driver.


Yes. I guess I probably had the right drivers all along and it was an issue with the CD drive.




3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN