Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Mr Jinje DISM Tool™


  • Please log in to reply
114 replies to this topic

#1
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,034 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Mr Jinje DISM Tool™

This is tool I whip up for mounting Install.wim to offline service Windows 7 OEM installation media. It is Free for Non-Commercial Use.

Posted Image

Few Notes:

How to create OEM DVD Recovery Disk for readers with SLIC in BIOS.

1) Click Mount Wim (choose WIM file and empty folder to mount and be sure to set image index # in combo box)
2) Press Integrate Cert, and choose you cert file
3) Copy/Paste you key into text field and push Install Key button
4) Commit WIM changes
5) Dis-Mount WIM

How to Add Drivers to your Image.

1) Put all you drivers into any folder.
2) Click Mount WIM and then Add Drivers

Afterwards, run the More Info button and check Drivers.txt for to see if and how it worked.

Be sure to Commit WIM before hitting the dis-mount button, otherwise you will lose all your changes.

Supported OS - Windows 7 only

Supported WIM Type - Windows 7 Format only
Unsupported WIM Type - Vista or W2K8 Format (some functions may be working but YMMV)

Just thought I would share this here. Maybe some of you will find it useful.

Another note - I decided to use the Commit WIM button without UnMounting the Image - Always hated having to unmount to save using other GUI's. But this means, that you first need to Commit WIM, before you can Dis-Mount the WIM, as the Dis-Mount WIM is set to Discard changes (in case you don't like the changes you made) It is programmed in Powershell, obviously you will need to enable Powershell before it can run. Greater detail on all this can be found in the original thread at MDL

To enable Powershell, open Powershell Command prompt and type

Set-ExecutionPolicy RemoteSigned

Here is a ULZ file that is up to date so one can download all W7 x86/x64, Office 2007, and W2K8 R2 Updates for use with the Add-Packages feature.

Find More Details Here

Posted Image

Attached Files


Edited by MrJinje, 11 January 2010 - 03:29 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
gosh

gosh

    gosh 2.0

  • Patrons
  • 2,347 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Thats a nice tool. It would be nice if it had a debug mode so you could see the commands it runs for learning purposes. Ive also heard a new feature of windows 7 is you can remove a driver from the store - before you could only add, not update any drivers. DISM looks like a cool tool in windows 7.

#3
Noise

Noise

    Windows Guru

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 425 posts
This is fantastic. I'd love to see the source for this...

#4
MAVERICKS CHOICE

MAVERICKS CHOICE

    The Guy from Aus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,760 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Is a great tool, thankyou will come in very handy.
NB: Also good to see Gosh frequent here.

#5
sp00f

sp00f

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 733 posts
commit button doesnt work

#6
BKR III

BKR III

    I'd like to be gr8,but i'd not be gr8 ever(not 4ever)

  • Member
  • 19 posts
Great Job and seems to be awesome

#7
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,034 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@others, thanks, hope everyone likes.

@spoof - answered your question in the first post - See "Another Note" section.

@gosh - It is a sendkeys hack, so save for a few commands, all the buttons should open up a new command window before running any DISM commands. Should be able to see if any errors occur there. I'll have to look into how a Remove Driver function might work (if possible)

@noise - Maybe in the future, but not for now, apart from the DISM sendkeys commands it has a few re-useable functions for dialogs, msg boxes, and about 1000 lines of auto-generated windows forms code.

I built a ULZ for myself (and others) that is up to date (as of 10/13/2009) so one can download all W7 x86/x64 and W2K8 R2 Updates for use with the Add-Packages feature. Here is the link

Edited by Tripredacus, 21 October 2009 - 12:55 PM.
moved topic per op request


#8
MitsuMan

MitsuMan

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
Hello

i have make like this

Work folder where everything is in. under that folder i have one called Win7 and Mount and updates in the root of work folder i have put Disntool.

Then i set the folder option in dismtool and then hit Mount and now it ask for a file i think it need the Install.win and then it ask for a folder i show it to to the Mount folder.

then i get this error.

PS C:\> DISM.exe /Mount-Wim /wimfile:F:\work\win7\urc
untDir:F:\work\empty

Værktøjet Deployment Image Servicing and Management
Version: 6.1.7600.16385


Fejl! 3

The system cannot find the path specified.

DISM-logfilen findes på C:\Windows\Logs\DISM\dism.log
PS C:\>



#9
tacneplong

tacneplong

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
how can I supplies DISM files from Windows 7 installation
Where and what I need to place files from W7 installation to it works on XP

#10
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,034 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

how can I supplies DISM files from Windows 7 installation
Where and what I need to place files from W7 installation to it works on XP

Should just need this file.
C:\Windows\System32\DISM.exe
and the entire DISM folder
C:\Windows\System32\DISM
Probably be easiest to put both in XP System32 folder so the script can find them. This is untested, report back.

#11
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,034 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hello

i have make like this

Work folder where everything is in. under that folder i have one called Win7 and Mount and updates in the root of work folder i have put Disntool.

Then i set the folder option in dismtool and then hit Mount and now it ask for a file i think it need the Install.win and then it ask for a folder i show it to to the Mount folder.

then i get this error.


We have been having issues with Non-English language packs, apparently something is affecting the sendkeys syntax in utero and the until the next release the current fix is to move the WIM to the root of the drive.
Like F:\Install.wim More details here. and here

For some unknown reason it is chopping off the "SO" in source from peoples install.wim paths. But only on builds using a non-english language pack ? Any ideas ?

Here is the source for the Quick Mount button. Basically I read the Variables from the Text Fields, then Prompt the user OK/Cancel, and if they hit OK, if spawns a new command window and runs the DISM command via sendkeys

$WIM = $SOURCE_WIM.text
$MNT = $MOUNT_DIR.text
$INDEX = $IMAGE_INDEX.Text

$PROMPT = [Microsoft.VisualBasic.Interaction]::MsgBox("Quick Mount the WIM", 'OKCancel,Question', "Last Chance to Cancel");switch ($PROMPT) {'OK'	{

Invoke-Item C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\powershell.exe 
Start-Sleep 1
[System.Windows.Forms.SendKeys]::Send("c:{ENTER}CD \{ENTER}CLS{ENTER}DISM.exe /Mount-Wim /wimfile:$WIM /index:$INDEX /MountDir:$MNT{ENTER}") 

 }'Cancel'{  }}

Somehow the $WIM variable is being passed to the Sendkeys command, minus the SO in source. Can anyone re-create this error for me ? I have not been able to from English Ultimate.

Edited by MrJinje, 27 October 2009 - 04:48 AM.


#12
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,077 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

how can I supplies DISM files from Windows 7 installation
Where and what I need to place files from W7 installation to it works on XP


See here:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=9113

I guess that some Registry keys need to be added.

jaclaz

#13
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,034 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

how can I supplies DISM files from Windows 7 installation
Where and what I need to place files from W7 installation to it works on XP


See here:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=9113

I guess that some Registry keys need to be added.

jaclaz

Meh, looks like it requires Winbuilder, wouldn't want have to support that. Would be useful if converted back into a reg file / batch script.

Probably could work for tacneplong if he wants to guinea pig for us.

#14
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,077 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Meh, looks like it requires Winbuilder, wouldn't want have to support that. Would be useful if converted back into a reg file / batch script.

Probably could work for tacneplong if he wants to guinea pig for us.


Yep :), the idea was to get the Winbuilder .script and see what Registry changes it makes.

Winbuilder is after all a batch processor and the Syntax is very similar to "normal" batch.

Here is (at first sight ) the relevant part:
If,Not,EXISTDIR,%WindowsDir%\System32\Dism,DirMake,%WindowsDir%\System32\DismIf,Not,EXISTDIR,%WindowsDir%\System32\Dism\%WimLanguage%,DirMake,%WindowsDir%\System32\Dism\%WimLanguage%FileCopy,%SourceDir%\sources\Dism.exe,%WindowsDir%\System32FileCopy,%SourceDir%\sources\wdscore.dll,%WindowsDir%\System32ShellExecute,Hide,%Tools%\7z,"e -y #$q-o%WindowsDir%\System32#$q -r #$q%SourceDir%\sources\boot.wim#$q #$q%WimIndexBoot%\Windows\System32\wimgapi.dll#$q"ShellExecute,Hide,%Tools%\7z,"e -y #$q-o%WindowsDir%\System32#$q -r #$q%SourceDir%\sources\boot.wim#$q #$q%WimIndexBoot%\Windows\System32\wimserv.exe#$q"ShellExecute,Hide,%Tools%\7z,"e -y #$q-o%WindowsDir%\System32\Drivers#$q -r #$q%SourceDir%\sources\boot.wim#$q #$q%WimIndexBoot%\Windows\System32\drivers\wimmount.sys#$q"ShellExecute,Hide,%Tools%\7z,"e -y #$q-o%WindowsDir%\System32\Dism#$q -r #$q%SourceDir%\sources\boot.wim#$q #$q%WimIndexBoot%\Windows\System32\Dism\*.*#$q"ShellExecute,Hide,%Tools%\7z,"e -y #$q-o%WindowsDir%\System32\Dism\%WimLanguage%#$q -r #$q%SourceDir%\sources\boot.wim#$q #$q%WimIndexBoot%\Windows\System32\Dism\%WimLanguage%\*.*#$q"ShellExecute,Hide,regsvr32,"/s #$q%WindowsDir%\System32\Dism\CbsProvider.dll#$q"ShellExecute,Hide,regsvr32,"/s #$q%WindowsDir%\System32\Dism\CompatProvider.dll#$q"ShellExecute,Hide,regsvr32,"/s #$q%WindowsDir%\System32\Dism\DismCore.dll#$q"ShellExecute,Hide,regsvr32,"/s #$q%WindowsDir%\System32\Dism\DismCorePS.dll#$q"ShellExecute,Hide,regsvr32,"/s #$q%WindowsDir%\System32\Dism\DismProv.dll#$q"ShellExecute,Hide,regsvr32,"/s #$q%WindowsDir%\System32\Dism\IntlProvider.dll#$q"ShellExecute,Hide,regsvr32,"/s #$q%WindowsDir%\System32\Dism\MsiProvider.dll#$q"ShellExecute,Hide,regsvr32,"/s #$q%WindowsDir%\System32\Dism\SmiProvider.dll#$q"ShellExecute,Hide,regsvr32,"/s #$q%WindowsDir%\System32\Dism\UnattendProvider.dll#$q"RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT,NextInstance,1RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000,Service,wimmountRegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000,Legacy,1RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000,ConfigFlags,0RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000,Class,LegacyDriverRegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000,ClassGUID,{8ECC055D-047F-11D1-A537-0000F8753ED1}RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000,DeviceDesc,wimmountRegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000\Control,*NewlyCreated*,0RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000\Control,ActiveService,wimmountRegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,Type,2RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,Start,3RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,ErrorControl,1RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,Tag,5RegWrite,HKLM,0x2,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,ImagePath,system32\DRIVERS\wimmount.sysRegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,DisplayName,wimmountRegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,Group,FSFilter#$sActivity#$sMonitorRegWrite,HKLM,0x7,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,DependOnService,FltMgr,RegWrite,HKLM,0x7,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,DependOnGroup,RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,Description,Wim#$sMounting#$sDriverRegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,DebugFlags,0RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount\Instances,DefaultInstance,Wimmount#$sInstanceRegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount\Instances\Wimmount Instance,Altitude,180700RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount\Instances\Wimmount Instance,Flags,0RegWrite,HKLM,0x3,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount\Security,Security,01,00,14,80,90,00,00,00,9c,00,00,00,14,00,00,00,30,00,00,00,02,00,1c,00,01,00,00,00,02,80,14,00,ff,01,0f,00,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,01,00,00,00,00,02,00,60,00,04,00,00,00,00,00,14,00,fd,01,02,00,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,05,12,00,00,00,00,00,18,00,ff,01,0f,00,01,02,00,00,00,00,00,05,20,00,00,00,20,02,00,00,00,00,14,00,8d,01,02,00,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,05,0b,00,00,00,00,00,18,00,fd,01,02,00,01,02,00,00,00,00,00,05,20,00,00,00,23,02,00,00,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,05,12,00,00,00,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,05,12,00,00,00RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount\Enum,0,Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount\Enum,Count,1RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount\Enum,NextInstance,1Set,%DismProg%,%WindowsDir%\System32\Dism.exe,PERMANENT

jaclaz

#15
Sydnelson

Sydnelson

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
Doens't work for me, I try open program here and before several seconds of black screen the following mensage appears:

DISMTOOL.EXE - Application Error

Application has generated a exception that could not be handled.

Process ID=0x1238 (4664), Thread ID=0x111c (4380).

Click OK to terminate.
Click CANCEL to debug.

If I try debug, debug say that JIT debugger was not specified.


I using a Windows 7 x64 with lastest updates and have fully working version of WAIK installed.

Anyone can help me?

#16
MitsuMan

MitsuMan

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
Hello

it work just fine to move the install.wim to the root.

today i just need to try to make a new one because i make few errors on the image. but now i get this error

first i open DISMtool and the set the folder for WIM and MOUNT folder and then i click Mount and that works fine then i click ADD Packages

then i get this new error

PS C:\> DISM.exe /image:F:\work\mounting /Add-Package /PackagePath:F:\work\updat
es

Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
Version: 6.1.7600.16385


Error: 0x801f0005

An error occurred while attempting to start the servicing process for the image
located at F:\work\mounting.
For more information, review the log file.

The DISM log file can be found at C:\Windows\Logs\DISM\dism.log
PS C:\>



#17
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,250 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
# for hex 0x801f0005 / decimal -2145452027

  ERROR_FLT_INVALID_NAME_REQUEST								 winerror.h

# An invalid name request was made. The name requested cannot

# be retrieved at this time.

# as an HRESULT: Severity: FAILURE (1), FACILITY_USERMODE_FILTER_MANAGER (0x1f),

 Code 0x5

# for hex 0x5 / decimal 5

  ERROR_ACCESS_DENIED											winerror.h

# Access is denied.
So either you don't have access to that directory (or whomever the app is impersonating doesn't have access), or there's something wrong with the request being made. Perhaps procmon.exe running while the app fails would tell you more as to what actually failed.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#18
MitsuMan

MitsuMan

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
Hello...

i have another question.

i have now add packages in the dismtool. and i have too install Danish packages..

but how do i make to it install danish instead of english.

Thank you so much for all the help and for this great tool

#19
urie

urie

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 519 posts

Hello

it work just fine to move the install.wim to the root.

today i just need to try to make a new one because i make few errors on the image. but now i get this error

first i open DISMtool and the set the folder for WIM and MOUNT folder and then i click Mount and that works fine then i click ADD Packages

then i get this new error

PS C:\> DISM.exe /image:F:\work\mounting /Add-Package /PackagePath:F:\work\updat
es

Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
Version: 6.1.7600.16385


Error: 0x801f0005

An error occurred while attempting to start the servicing process for the image
located at F:\work\mounting.
For more information, review the log file.

The DISM log file can be found at C:\Windows\Logs\DISM\dism.log
PS C:\>



did you dismount and cleanup-wim from earlier on

#20
MitsuMan

MitsuMan

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
Hello

i found out why... so now it works again..

#21
tacneplong

tacneplong

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
Can U make it works with xp
I can not use it in XP after put dism file 2 C:\Windows\Sys32
I just do like you show me MrJinje
Should I need to run Winbuilder script
Thanks

#22
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,077 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Can U make it works with xp
I can not use it in XP after put dism file 2 C:\Windows\Sys32
I just do like you show me MrJinje
Should I need to run Winbuilder script
Thanks


Re-read, SLOWLY this time, posts #12,#13 and #14:
http://www.msfn.org/...04-page-11.html

Summed up:
  • Je Jin is NOT going to support this thing under XP.
  • There is (hopefully) a way to run DISM under XP.
  • You DO NOT use Winbuilder for it.
  • You may EXTRACT from the Winbuilder .script the commands needed to register the .dlls and add the Registry entries
  • YOU will need to do the experimenting.

Examples:
This line:

ShellExecute,Hide,regsvr32,"/s #$q%WindowsDir%\System32\Dism\CbsProvider.dll#$q"

"translates" to:
http://winbuilder.ne..._ShellExecuteEx
regsvr32.exe /s %Windir%\System32\Dism\CbsProvider.dll

This line:

RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT,NextInstance,1

means:
http://winbuilder.ne...x.html#RegWrite
Add a new key in the Registry, in Hkey_Local_Machine, under \System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\, call it LEGACY_WIMMOUNT, add to it a new value of type 0x04 (Dword) name it Nextinstance and set it's value to 1.
You may also want to strudy the sintax of the Reg.exe app that comes with XP.

I don't want to seem unfriendly :), but you are asking for something "advanced" and that will take lots of time to do, you are expected to have "advanced" knowledge (or learn a bit) and do yourself the steps needed to achieve the "advanced" result you are looking for.

jaclaz

#23
TripNRaVeR

TripNRaVeR

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
i used this tool to integrate some updates but i have a tiny question :P thoes this tool integrate the updates to all the versions on the image?

#24
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,250 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
It does not, but you can use GImageX to export all of the indexes from all of the .WIM file images you want as sources to combine them into one new .WIM file that you can use, that will work.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#25
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,034 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

i used this tool to integrate some updates but i have a tiny question :P thoes this tool integrate the updates to all the versions on the image?

Actually it can, but you have to mount each version separately and run Add-Packages against it. Since x86 has 5 versions, you will have to repeat the process 5 times.

mmm.. Tastes Like Chicken

Edited by MrJinje, 02 November 2009 - 09:03 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN