Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Mr Jinje DISM Tool™


  • Please log in to reply
114 replies to this topic

#26
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
:P
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
RickSteele

RickSteele

    Rick Steele

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Joined 13-October 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I was able to modiy the WIM file with no errors, but, none of the hotfixes or drivers installed upon performing a fresh install; the xml answer file is good. Refer to the attachment for the logs. I must be missing a step; any ideas-Windows 7 Ultimate (x64). Thanks.

#28
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,067 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag

I was able to modiy the WIM file with no errors, but, none of the hotfixes or drivers installed upon performing a fresh install; the xml answer file is good. Refer to the attachment for the logs. I must be missing a step; any ideas-Windows 7 Ultimate (x64). Thanks.

According to you 7z, you integrated around 60+ Drivers and 9 Updates into your image.

Can you run a Windows Update Scan and confirm that these 9 updates are still showing up as not installed. They will not show up in your list of installed updates, because they were never installed, they were integrated. Is that the source of the confusion ?

As for the drivers, they should already be integrated, run a search of C:\Windows\inf\ for oem1.inf and tell me if you find the file. That is where it should appear if integrated properly, you should find you other 60 drivers in there too. (oem0.inf - oem61.inf are you drivers) Whether or not the drivers actually work with Windows 7 is a whole nother story.

Edited by MrJinje, 04 November 2009 - 08:48 AM.


#29
RickSteele

RickSteele

    Rick Steele

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Joined 13-October 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I was able to modiy the WIM file with no errors, but, none of the hotfixes or drivers installed upon performing a fresh install; the xml answer file is good. Refer to the attachment for the logs. I must be missing a step; any ideas-Windows 7 Ultimate (x64). Thanks.

According to you 7z, you integrated around 60+ Drivers and 9 Updates into your image.

Can you run a Windows Update Scan and confirm that these 9 updates are still showing up as not installed. They will not show up in your list of installed updates, because they were never installed, they were integrated. Is that the source of the confusion ?

Maybe; my understanding is a fresh install after successfully modifying the wim with DISM should install the compatable drivers and any updates included in the modification-n'est pa'?

As for the drivers, they should already be integrated, run a search of C:\Windows\inf\ for oem1.inf and tell me if you find the file. That is where it should appear if integrated properly, you should find you other 60 drivers in there too. (oem0.inf - oem61.inf are you drivers) Whether or not the drivers actually work with Windows 7 is a whole nother story.


Windows Update shows all of the updates required and not installed; device manager showed no drivers installed-they are all Windows 7 64-bit published for the respective chipsets (ie: x38, Sansung 275T, onboard Yukon LAN controller etc.). However, that said, I think I may have discovered the error on my part; I mounted wim index 1 when Ultra is index 4, boy do I feel stupid :blushing: So, I think I modified the wrong image. I've just completed running your excellent tool, this time specifying wim index 4. I'm going to backup my current install and complete a fresh install using this one and will post back in a few hours. See attached for this DISM log set-you'll notice the "features" set is populated with more than the index 1 uploaded previously.
The wim was committed both times and demounted; all logs are recorded before committing the wim.

Edited by RickSteele, 04 November 2009 - 09:13 AM.


#30
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,067 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag

Windows Update shows all of the updates required and not installed; device manager showed no drivers installed-they are all Windows 7 64-bit published for the respective chipsets (ie: x38, Sansung 275T, onboard Yukon LAN controller etc.). However, that said, I think I may have discovered the error on my part; I mounted wim index 1 when Ultra is index 4, boy do I feel stupid :blushing: So, I think I modified the wrong image. I've just completed running your excellent tool, this time specifying wim index 4. I'm going to backup my current install and complete a fresh install using this one and will post back in a few hours. See attached for this DISM log set-you'll notice the "features" set is populated with more than the index 1 uploaded previously.
The wim was committed both times and demounted; all logs are recorded before committing the wim.

OK, you right, first Features.txt was definitely not Ultimate. Good Catch, future readers take note, be sure to set the correct Image Index #.

That's a Deal-Breaker Ladies

Let me know if it works this time.

Edited by MrJinje, 04 November 2009 - 09:51 AM.


#31
RickSteele

RickSteele

    Rick Steele

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Joined 13-October 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
It didn't work; I did not let the install proceed past copying files because it spent no time at all before proceeding to extracting the copied windows files; from much experience I know this to mean it is using the M$ generic drivers, so, I'm going to have to do some research. I read somewhere that Windows 7 will ignore the 3rd party drivers if it "doesn't like them"; although I can't see why the install would not recognize the Intel as superior-one thing I noticed; I mounted the completed wim just now after the failure and saved the logs again without making any other changes. All updates and feature removals still show "pending", the inf's/drivers are all showing in the inf/driver folders (ie: oem1.inf, ....2 etc./iastor.sys and so on). I copied the extracted wim to another directory before dismounting it so I could have a look under the hood.
...oh, oh...how can it use the drivers if it has not extracted them yet...did I jump the gun here do you think?; if you browse to load drivers during setup it dwells copying files in this scenerio because it has to load and configure before extracting, but, if there integrated, it will not know anything until it extracts the image and has a look-see-is this correct?
Thanks

Edited by RickSteele, 04 November 2009 - 11:38 AM.


#32
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,067 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag

It didn't work; I did not let the install proceed past copying files because it spent no time at all before proceeding to extracting the copied windows files; from much experience I know this to mean it is using the M$ generic drivers,

LOL, you jumped the gun, the file copying happens when the installation is under control fom Boot.wim Image 2 (i.e. the GUI that copies files, extracts, choose partition, etc...). That file extraction has not anything to do with OEM drivers, it is part of windows installation process, and being run from Windows PE - Not your OS.

Just let it fully install and you will be fine. Trust me, it does work, almost 2000 downloads between MSFN and MDL, many happy customers. You OS is not actually running until the second reboot. You OEM drivers (especially Unsigned driver's that prompt for Approval), will not be installed until then. In the case of x64, you will get prompted before first login, (and I think it was before SetupComplete.cmd runs too) to install each unsigned drivers. (pop up message for each driver).

As for the Pending thing, that is non-issue, it is because the image was edited offline, M$ documentation clearly describes that user added packages will be marked pending. This is because they are pending until someone actually installs the OS. To avoid the "Pending" you would need to actually install your Image, Sysprep, reseal, and the Recapture the image into a new WIM. After which they will show as installed. But that is way more trouble than is worth.


EDIT: On a side note, you could integrate you Drivers into your Boot.WIM image 2, that would assist anyone having RAID driver issues. That sort of thing.

Edited by MrJinje, 04 November 2009 - 11:53 AM.


#33
RickSteele

RickSteele

    Rick Steele

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Joined 13-October 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

On a side note, you could integrate you Drivers into your Boot.WIM image 2, that would assist anyone having RAID driver issues. That sort of thing.


Oh, I did not know this....

Check this out, third post down:

http://forum.corsair...ead.php?t=82589

since RTW I cannot install in AHCI, just IDE and switch it all over post install with a reg hack and update drivers to Intel in Device Manager

Well, of to the races...be back in a few......

#34
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,067 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag

On a side note, you could integrate you Drivers into your Boot.WIM image 2, that would assist anyone having RAID driver issues. That sort of thing.

since RTW I cannot install in AHCI, just IDE and switch it all over post install with a reg hack and update drivers to Intel in Device Manager

Ayup, probably Boot.wim is missing the AHCI drivers, never tried that before, but sounds like could work. Report back if it does.

Edit: OK, guess it don't work. :realmad: FIX IT Ballmer

Edited by MrJinje, 08 November 2009 - 08:50 AM.


#35
RickSteele

RickSteele

    Rick Steele

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Joined 13-October 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Ayup, probably Boot.wim is missing the AHCI drivers, never tried that before, but sounds like could work. Report back if it does.


Nope, I loaded the boot intel drivers into the boot.wim; no go, Windows 7 just simply will not recogize either the SSD or the BIOS. I had to configure IDE to install, BUT, when I tried the routine to get AHCI up and running....one BSOD after another.
So, I was smart this time! LOL; made two separate DVD's-one with AHCI in boot.wim, and one without.
Wiped the HDD, fresh install with only the boot Intel drivers out and Bob's your uncle; now my post install AHCI routine went without a hitch with one difference-it loads up an intel inf_install driver with AHCI in the name instead of the msahci generic; M$'$ AHCI support in this OS needs to be reworked. I have never had any trouble before...XP 64-bit, 2000; just Windows 7 RTW.

Trust me, it does work, almost 2000 downloads between MSFN and MDL, many happy customers.


...add me to them, all updates, feature removals, inf drivers installed perfectly; veeeery niiiice!!!!

#36
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,672 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Follwowing the "DISM working on XP", there is now a new way to mount .wim images under XP, using just three files from Windows 7 (that you can extract with 7-zip from the DVD allright) and a new app by psc over at boot-land (Peter Schlang):
http://nativeex.boot...x/WimCaptEx.htm

Here are some batches to use it without winbuilder:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=9765

Please NOTE that it is still widely experimental, so DO NOT trust the batches.

@MrJinje
Cannot say if you can adapt the batch routines to your nice tool, possibly as an option for XP users. :unsure:

jaclaz

#37
pakito121

pakito121
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 30-October 09

thanks for the tool.


PS C:\> DISM.exe /Mount-Wim /wimfile:C:\W7\urces\install.wim /index:1 /MountDir:
C:\mount

Herramienta Administración y mantenimiento de imágenes de implementación
Versión: 6.1.7600.16385


Error: 3

El sistema no puede encontrar la ruta especificada.

El archivo de registro de DISM se encuentra en C:\Windows\Logs\DISM\dism.log
PS C:\>



this error for me.

Edited by pakito121, 21 November 2009 - 08:51 AM.


#38
alekz2

alekz2
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 30-April 08
I tried to use dism on Windows 7. I mounted wim successfully. Folders and files became available in the folder where I mounted it.

Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
Version: 6.1.7600.16385

Mounted images:

Mount Dir : C:\Downloads\WIM
Image File : C:\Downloads\Windows 7\sources\install.wim
Image Index : 1
Mounted Read/Write : Yes
Status : Ok

The operation completed successfully.

But when I tried to perform any of servicing commands, I got similar errors about lack providers that support the command.

dism.exe /image:C:\Downloads\WIM /Get-Packages>1

Error: 87

The get-packages option is unknown.
For more information, refer to the help by running DISM.exe /?.

The DISM log file can be found at C:\WINDOWS\Logs\DISM\dism.log

Extract from dism.log
2009-11-21 18:08:04, Error DISM DISM.EXE: No providers were found that support the command(get-packages). HRESULT=0

What do I do wrong ? Why dism can't find a provider ?

#39
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,067 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag
Error87 is usually related to a space in the Install.WIM path. The fix has been to move the files to a space without path or the root of the drive.

Error3 is usually reported as dropping off the So in sources during the sendkeys command while using a non-english language pack. Sadly the fix is the same, move the WIM file to the Root of your partition and it should work fine. Source code for this error has been posted earlier, we have not heard any solution for why "So" is only being dropped while running non-english language packs. (however in this case unicode does not seem to be the issue)

I would be curious to know if the "So" error goes away after switching locale back to english. and if it returns when going non-english again.

Jaclaz, looks good, since my Sapien IDE 45 day trial is long past, it looks like I will be re-writing the whole thing using a real IDE.

Edited by MrJinje, 21 November 2009 - 08:02 PM.


#40
alekz2

alekz2
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 30-April 08
Thank you for the response.

It was a problem with WIM file. I had tried to service it before using vLite. So, when I refreshed contents from Win7 installation image, get-packages started to work correctly.
But I have another strange result.
get-packages found only 2 packages (see below the output). I tried get-drivers command, and it returned only one driver. I believe, that it should be rather long list of packages and drivers. Any idea ?

Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
Version: 6.1.7600.16385

Image Version: 6.1.7600.16385

Packages listing:

Package Identity : Microsoft-Windows-Client-LanguagePack-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~en-US~6.1.7600.16385
State : Installed
Release Type : Language Pack
Install Time : 14.07.2009 4:46

Package Identity : Microsoft-Windows-Foundation-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~6.1.7600.16385
State : Installed
Release Type : Foundation
Install Time : 14.07.2009 4:46

The operation completed successfully.

I applied install_wim_tweak.exe and resolved problem with packages list. But list of drivers still conatains only one item. Is it ok ?

Edited by alekz2, 22 November 2009 - 07:27 AM.


#41
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,067 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag

I applied install_wim_tweak.exe and resolved problem with packages list. But list of drivers still conatains only one item. Is it ok ?

AFAIK the Install_WIM_Tweak.exe is not compatible with DISM and by association not compatible with DISM Tool™. From what I understand the image won't save properly via Commit-WIM so you should probably be using ImageX from Vista SP1 WAIK and gimagex for this.

See here for more detail.

http://www.msfn.org/...ak-t139371.html

#42
jbharti

jbharti
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 06-May 05
thanks

#43
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,067 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag

thanks

de nada

#44
r0sWell

r0sWell

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Joined 09-June 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks a lot for your tool !


I wanted to test it yesterday to rebuild my Win 7 ISO (for a new HDD).

It worked perfectly, no error during the process (tested on Windows 7 x64 Ultimate) : Drivers & Hotfixes integrated (verified)


Maybe an idea to complete the DISM Tool a little more : What about adding a 'Help' button to describe all the functionalities ?


:thumbup :thumbup

Edited by r0sWell, 25 November 2009 - 03:36 AM.

| i want to believe |

#45
nujackk

nujackk

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Joined 18-March 05

Windows Update shows all of the updates required and not installed; device manager showed no drivers installed-they are all Windows 7 64-bit published for the respective chipsets (ie: x38, Sansung 275T, onboard Yukon LAN controller etc.). However, that said, I think I may have discovered the error on my part; I mounted wim index 1 when Ultra is index 4, boy do I feel stupid :blushing: So, I think I modified the wrong image. I've just completed running your excellent tool, this time specifying wim index 4. I'm going to backup my current install and complete a fresh install using this one and will post back in a few hours. See attached for this DISM log set-you'll notice the "features" set is populated with more than the index 1 uploaded previously.
The wim was committed both times and demounted; all logs are recorded before committing the wim.

OK, you right, first Features.txt was definitely not Ultimate. Good Catch, future readers take note, be sure to set the correct Image Index #.

That's a Deal-Breaker Ladies

Let me know if it works this time.


Ok what did i miss, cause I don't see any mention of which image Index is which, other then here that says 4 is Ultimate .

#46
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,067 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag

Ok what did i miss, cause I don't see any mention of which image Index is which, other then here that says 4 is Ultimate .

Didn't miss anything, I mistakenly assumed everyone was familiar with the WIM image format and never posted the list.

Here you go - These are the default images inside an untouched ISO - obviously vLite users who remove all images can disregard. they only have 1 image in their iso's

x86

1 - Starter
2 - Home Basic
3 - Home Premium
4 - Professional
5 - Ultimate

x64

1 - Home Basic
2 - Home Premium
3 - Professional
4 - Ultimate

Hope that helps.

#47
nujackk

nujackk

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Joined 18-March 05
Ok yeah that does help. guess I did my initial work on the wrong one. Now i can get to work doing it right. Thanks

#48
ninrocket

ninrocket
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 26-April 05
Mr Jinje....

Thanks for your tool :blink: (ouch...more spit)

I didn't read the first farkin instruction. I just clicked buttons. Figured it out in about a minute. Excellent work on the GUI dude.

I added hotfixes, serial number, drivers and SLIC. I'm up and running on the OS and typing this message with it.

No problems. Works great. Beautiful.

One question. When I run update I do get a couple of updates...KB915597, KB890830 and don't know if these can be slipped or not. Anybody?

I also get 3 driver updates.
ATK0110 ACPI Utility Googled...downloaded INF...Manually installed...works...verified with Windows update...will install to .wim.
Nvidia Geforce 8800 GTX building custom .cab for latest 195.62 WHQL drivers...will install to .wim
Realtek RTL8187 Wireless 802.11b/g Found it following Jinjes directions below....will install to .wim.

These devices are working...these are just updates.
Does anybody know how to find these exact drivers after they are installed so I can update them in my .wim?
I can't find the drivers on Windows update.

I've been searching...but I figure somebody can comment on what works best for them.

Thanks!

Edited by ninrocket, 04 December 2009 - 03:06 PM.


#49
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,067 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag

One question. When I run update I do get a couple of updates...KB915597, KB890830 and don't know if these can be slipped or not.

The two updates you mention cannot be slip-streamed per se. But I imagine some industrius type will find a way to install them at the setupcomplete.cmd stage

For other readers the updates are the Windows Defender Definitions and the Malicious Software Tool.

I also get 3 driver updates.
ATK0110 ACPI Utility
Nvidia Geforce 8800 GTX
Realtek RTL8187 Wireless 802.11b/g

Does anybody know how to find these drivers so I can update them to perfect my .wim?
How do you install these on Windows 7?

These are located inside "C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\Download" without any filename extenstion (usually a long guid looking random name). Way I did it was on a clean install, go to update, download only the drivers, and rename all the files in that folder into *.cab format. After renaming, open each .CAB in WinRAR and only keep the 3 files that contain drivers. The fourth file (15KB) should error that it is not a valid archive. this is normal. Keep the 3 drivers and avoid the 1 non-driver file you will find. The .CAB's can then be integrated via the Add-Drivers command.

I didn't read the first **** instruction. I just clicked buttons. Figured it out in about a minute.

LOL, I think you just wrote the new help manual.

#50
ninrocket

ninrocket
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 26-April 05
Thanks for the rapid response.

I did as you said and the files are there! I have the cab for RTL 8187 and nvidia. Only thing is Windows is using the 191.07 driver and Nvidia has the WHQL 195.62 out now. I will try to find the cab or create it since I have the older version for a reference. Thanks dude.

I love your tool :blushing: ..... :thumbup

It works great...saves me from having to lookup all the DISM commands and typing at a command prompt.

It is simple and I didn't have to install anything other than the program since DISM is already inside of Windows 7.

Your solution is the best on MSFN if anyone asks me.

GREAT WORK MAN!!!!!!!!!!!

Edited by ninrocket, 04 December 2009 - 03:04 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users