Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Se7en_UA - working with Win 8.1


  • Please log in to reply
900 replies to this topic

#701
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I type that and see more line to do but i don't know how it works

Had to sleep
Ok then it is there and works. That sets permission on files

Add the right click .wim. make sure you choose correct image number 1, 2, ??
Shutdown Se7en_UA
right click on uaDVD\sources\install.wim
Unmount *.* NO SAVE zMountDir
zMountDir Cleanup 1 + Reg
zMountDir Cleanup 2 + Reg
Delete zMountDir

Delete Se7en_UA.ini and restart. Now attach here
I think we have spaces in paths

Edited by maxXPsoft, 03 March 2011 - 06:48 PM.

Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#702
tmtuong

tmtuong

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 25-December 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag


I type that and see more line to do but i don't know how it works

Had to sleep
Ok then it is there and works. That sets permission on files

Add the right click .wim. make sure you choose correct image number 1, 2, ??
Shutdown Se7en_UA
right click on uaDVD\sources\install.wim
Unmount *.* NO SAVE zMountDir
zMountDir Cleanup 1 + Reg
zMountDir Cleanup 2 + Reg
Delete zMountDir

Delete Se7en_UA.ini and restart. Now attach here
I think we have spaces in paths


OK !! Let me check for it !
Thanks

#703
tmtuong

tmtuong

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 25-December 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I do again but it appear again :(

#704
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
yes it is blank at start save 2 seconds starting up. Now attach new one here
Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#705
tmtuong

tmtuong

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 25-December 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

yes it is blank at start save 2 seconds starting up. Now attach new one here

I remove & setup it again but it still appear :(

#706
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

[I remove & setup it again but it still appear :(

It is not blank now, Reply and Choose advanced down below and attach the Se7en_UA.ini here

Edited by maxXPsoft, 05 March 2011 - 04:00 AM.

Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#707
sjcf1

sjcf1
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 23-February 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
Trying to make a DVD using this, getting a runtime error 340 - controll element 3 doesnt exist,

Anyway I can fix this?

#708
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
hadn't seen that one i'll take a look. just recent removed something so probably where I should start.
where exactly are you at. what was you doing?
Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#709
sjcf1

sjcf1
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 23-February 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
When it happened, I was adding applications into the DVD, after injecting SP1

#710
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

When it happened, I was adding applications into the DVD, after injecting SP1

so you was in add applications?
delete the Se7en_UA.ini then start the program it will create new. attach it here

Edited by maxXPsoft, 19 March 2011 - 08:38 PM.

Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#711
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Have been unable to make FirstUXRes.WIM work in SP1. Works like 1 time during setup and then it is replaced somehow. Yes I replace it in oobe also
I have replaced in also new additional folder for sp1.
Mountdir\Windows\winsxs\amd64_microsoft-windows-setup-component_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7601.17514_none_905283bdc3e1d2d8\FirstUXRes.WIM

@maxXPsoft :hello:
Solved!
Yes. I've had the same problem with upgrading Windows 7 SP0 to SP1.
It seems the file FirstUXRes.WIM is replaced during the upgrade, and I've mounted a new time install.wim to add my FirstUXRes.WIM customized inside "%Mount_Folder%\Windows\System32\oobe" and all works fine now!
Regards

Edited by myselfidem, 28 March 2011 - 03:36 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#712
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

[/b][/color]Solved!
Yes. I've had the same problem with upgrading Windows 7 SP0 to SP1.
It seems the file FirstUXRes.WIM is replaced during the upgrade, and I've mounted a new time install.wim to add my FirstUXRes.WIM customized inside "%Mount_Folder%\Windows\System32\oobe" and all works fine now!
Regards

I first went there and done that myself getting the new to mod on all my files regardless cause I have a real sp1 dvd. I am using a different background and it still fails. My FirstUXBackground.bmp background is not all black as main color and wondering if thats it. It worked 1 time and then when things changed it went back. Going to reduce all the new files I modded and try that

this is the new I am working on
Attached File  new.PNG   14.69KB   30 downloads
Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#713
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I've upgraded my Windows 7 Ultimate DVD with SP1 using "sysprep" and I've changed the file FirstUXRes.WIM, because the first one with my FirstUXBackground.bmp image customized inside Windows 7 SP0 was amended by default.
During my silent install the new FirstUXRes.WIM integrated works fine, and I see my image during video performance stage before "Welcome window"!

Image video performance

*Edit: It seems that using an image colored for FisrtUXBackground.bmp doen't works really fine, and maybe it's needed to change also the others images with black background?

Edited by myselfidem, 28 March 2011 - 10:07 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#714
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I've made a new FirstUXBackground.bmp all colored 24 bit integrated inside FirstUXRes.WIM, and tested successfully!

Image inside FirstUXRes.WIM



For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#715
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I've made a new FirstUXBackground.bmp all colored 24 bit integrated inside FirstUXRes.WIM, and tested successfully!

How you get a picture of me??? :lol:

That answers that, I am slowly redoing mine trying to figure it out. I am on 64-bit though. Reshacker gets error. So am using Restorator
Nothing else out there for free and Resource Tuner won't do 64.
Just started messing up with this sp1 full dvd.
Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#716
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi maxXPsoft :lol:
I think also it's better to use Restorator for x64 computer!
For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#717
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,364 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
maxXPsoft, I have been looking at your background procedures and files. My initial interest was to determine if any of the DLLs changed with SP1 and I do't think they have. What I found was your imageres.dll was about the same size as the one in the boot image but about half the size of the one in the install.wim. I attach a file with a summary of my findings. Why is there so much difference in size? I did not worry about the bit map files - assuming it is OK to change a picture. Maybe there is a potential problem using the smaller imageres.dll in the install image. What do you think? Thanks and enjoy, John.

#718
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I done full install yesterday using only 3 modded files. imageres.dll and spwizimg.dll and both worked with my mods. FirstUXRes.WIM did not on a Full SP1 dvd

I have extracted with 7-zip both the boot.wim image 2 and the Image I am installing to a HD. SP1 dvd
Filename : FirstUXRes.WIM
MD5 : 9e72531f4798b69a1634232b94af9aa8

Filename : imageres.dll
MD5 : 5aa945234e9d4cce4f715276b9aa712c

Filename : spwizimg.dll
MD5 : d896e73ec6f4f72d80a29e961c5decb4

You can see these are not the same md5 as yours. I replace these in all locations I find them except with 64 I do 2 locations and 32 is also 2 locations. that are same.

A few compares
Identical binary files: D:\SP1_boot_X64\Windows\System32\imageres.dll and D:\SP1_boot_X64\Windows\winsxs\amd64_microsoft-windows-imageres-embedded_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7601.17514_none_874efc7fb73e8c1f\imageres.dll
Identical binary files: D:\SP1_X64\Windows\System32\imageres.dll and D:\SP1_X64\Windows\winsxs\amd64_microsoft-windows-imageres_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_none_38b294da11970cde\imageres.dll
Different binary files: D:\SP1_X64\Windows\System32\imageres.dll, D:\SP1_X64\Windows\SysWOW64\imageres.dll
Different binary files: D:\SP1_X64\Windows\System32\imageres.dll, D:\SP1_X64\Windows\winsxs\x86_microsoft-windows-imageres_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_none_dc93f95659399ba8\imageres.dll

The files are different for a FULL SP1 dvd from an injected SP1 or either reverse integration as they call it.
Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#719
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,364 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
maxXPsoft, I should have said my hashes are SHA-1 not MD5. My MD5 hashes are the same as yours. My SP1 was installed before I did a sysprep/generalize. As you can see there are two apparently different FirstUXRes.wim files (different size and hash). When I extract these they contain the exact same size and number of files. I suspect they are really the same. There is no source that I can find for one of the files, so I suspect Setup creates this file from some other files. Perhaps the FirstUXBackground.bmp file is being copied into a folder and a new FirstUXRes.wim being created, thus replacing your file. We would need to discovery which file this is and replace it also. You did not answer my question about the size of the imageres.dll. It looks like you have modified the one in the boot image and replaced the one in the install image with it. The one in the install image is about twice as large as the boot one. Does this not present a problem? Thanks and enjoy, John.

EDIT: The larger version of FirstUXRes.wim is in SP1.

EDIT: I just installed an ISO in my VM consisting of the install.wim from the sysprep/capture (with SP1) and running your background batch files against both install and boot wim files. All went fine during the install including the FirstUXRes image. I guess it is the SP1 copies of FirstUXRes.wim that is the problem. With the captured image, these have ben applied and your batch files then overlay them.
I am still concerned by the size difference in imageres.dll. What do you think?

EDIT: I extracted the two (different size) FirstUXRes.wim files and used the FC command to compare them. All file pairs are identical. You should be able to replace the file in SP1 with yours and be good to go.

EDIT: I compared the 32 and 64 bit versions of spwizimg.dll and imageres.dll. Each pair has several differences and I suspect the differences may well not be ignorable.

Edited by johnhc, 03 April 2011 - 02:37 PM.


#720
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I replaced both of these with my modded FirstUXRes.WIM file and they both match it. These are installed in my system now and contain my image yet it don't work.
Thats why I developed the Add right click .wim so I could go to any place and mount an image. I mounted both and my image is in there. On a 64-bit this is only place they are located. 6.1.7601.17514 is full SP1 dvd.
I use ExamDiff Pro (64-bit) for my comparisons
Identical binary files: C:\Windows\System32\oobe\FirstUXRes.WIM and C:\Windows\winsxs\amd64_microsoft-windows-setup-component_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7601.17514_none_905283bdc3e1d2d8\FirstUXRes.WIM

Done a search with Ransack on file contents of image 2 for FirstUXRes and this is what it returned. quite a lot of files to do contents
Attached File  FirstUXRes.PNG   15.47KB   35 downloads

I noticed the size diff on imageres.dll but one I use is from install.wim and not the boot.wim. I don't have any problem there cause it is working.

Edit: guess I will have to extract sp0 and compare them 4 files. Don't think the manifests #5 would have changed much but I'll look and compare

Edited by maxXPsoft, 04 April 2011 - 06:30 AM.

Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#721
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,364 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
maxXPsoft, I assume you are injecting SP1. I suspect that many aspects of SP1 install is being executed during the actual install. You probable need to copy your FirstUXRes.wim into SP1 (replacing their two copies) before you inject it. Enjoy, John.

#722
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I am not injecting, I say again this is a Full sp1 dvd and that is when trouble started with FirstUXRes.
May go back to injected version with my app cause it worked there. Then I could work on problem in a Vm

Edited by maxXPsoft, 04 April 2011 - 05:34 PM.

Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#723
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,364 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
maxXPsoft, how was your DVD made? I made my image that works (including FirstUXRes) using sysprep/capture. Have you searched the DVD, including images, for FirstUXRes? The only thing else I can think of is that a new file is being DLed. Do you have an Internet connection during install? Good luck, John.

#724
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@johnhc
I went back and made a sp0 and slipstreamed sp1 with same results. FirstUXRes.WIM is where it is supposed to be in all locations and I even disconnected Inet while installing
I did do search through the sources look above http://www.msfn.org/...post__p__961606
I have been modding startup files since early xp, back then we used Winntbbu Editor and only 1 file winntbbu.dll

I'm still digging into this. are you running 64-bit?

Edited by maxXPsoft, 07 April 2011 - 09:49 AM.

Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#725
johnhc

johnhc

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,364 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

are you running 64-bit?

maxXPsoft, yes, x64 Ultimate.
Did you change the FirstUXRes.WIM files in SP1 before slipstreaming? There are at least two copies in SP1. I did another install (VM) yesterday and all went fine. My Install.wim came from a sysprep/capture from a DVD installation plus SP1 and IE9 (installed after W7 installation). I did a similar search as yours the other day with about the same results. Enjoy, John




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users