Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Which oldest OS by Microsoft do you use?


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

Poll: Which oldest OS do you use? (64 member(s) have cast votes)

Choose one answer.

  1. Windows 7 (8 votes [12.50%])

    Percentage of vote: 12.50%

  2. Voted Windows Vista (5 votes [7.81%])

    Percentage of vote: 7.81%

  3. Windows 2008 (server) (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  4. Windows XP (21 votes [32.81%])

    Percentage of vote: 32.81%

  5. Windows 2003 (server) (2 votes [3.12%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.12%

  6. Windows 2000 (desktop) (4 votes [6.25%])

    Percentage of vote: 6.25%

  7. Windows 2000 (server) (2 votes [3.12%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.12%

  8. Windows Millenium (2 votes [3.12%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.12%

  9. Windows 98/98SE (9 votes [14.06%])

    Percentage of vote: 14.06%

  10. Windows NT 3.x (1 votes [1.56%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.56%

  11. Windows 95 (1 votes [1.56%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.56%

  12. Windows NT 4 (1 votes [1.56%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.56%

  13. Windows 3.11/3.1 (1 votes [1.56%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.56%

  14. Voted MS-Dos 6.22 (5 votes [7.81%])

    Percentage of vote: 7.81%

  15. Voted Older OS (2 votes [3.12%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.12%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1
Offler

Offler

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 497 posts
  • Joined 29-October 06
Choose OS which is the oldest on functional machine you own, even if you have older filesharing server, or you keep your old 486 alive because of some games.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
G8YMW

G8YMW

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Joined 20-May 08
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I have Win98 SE2ME which since I got a new Mobo 18 months ago is used for maintaining my XP setup. I wont use NTFS because I have no use for it and besides, XP's defragger is PAINFULLY slow

#3
Mijzelf

Mijzelf

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 462 posts
  • Joined 11-April 07
I've an old 486SX running W95, which acts as printserver.

#4
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,820 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

My OS is not listed! I have 2 notebooks running Windows NT Workstation 3.51! They are 486 Compaq Elites.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#5
ripken204

ripken204

    The Hardware Guy

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,311 posts
  • Joined 23-December 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
i use XP only because there are no drivers for the board i need to connect to for coding assembly in vista/7.

Edited by ripken204, 23 October 2009 - 12:10 PM.


Desktop: || lappped Q6700 w/ lapped TRUE || ASUS P5Q Deluxe|| Sapphire 4870 1GB || Mushkin Ascent XP2-8500 (2x2GB) || 2 x WD6400AAKS || Corsair HX620W || Lian-Li PC-60FB || 2 x BenQ G2400WD || Vista Ultimate 64bit || Samsung SH-S223Q || Logitech MX518 || Logitech Ultra-X || SteelSeries SX || Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 || ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe ||
Server: || E5200 w/ XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 || ASUS P5Q-EM || EVGA 8800GTS G92 w/ Accelero S1 R2 || G.SKILL 6400 2x2GB || 1 x WD6400AAKS || 4 x 1TB Samsung F1 || SeaSonic M12II SS-500GM || Antec Three Hundred || Samsung SH-203BL || Ubuntu 8.10 ||


#6
awergh

awergh

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,059 posts
  • Joined 02-October 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
the 486 DX2 66 has MS-Dos 6.22 for one piece of software that cant run on anything else

#7
Offler

Offler

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 497 posts
  • Joined 29-October 06
to Tripredacus: i know there is NT 3.x windows, but the poll answers are limited to 15 :(... Shall I merge it with windows 3.1?

#8
cannie

cannie

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Joined 04-June 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Even when it is wholly operative, at present I use Windows 98 only to clean, clone and rebuild Windows XP, using the dual boot screen of MS, and it's the best support I could ever imagine for it.

#9
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,428 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

to Tripredacus: i know there is NT 3.x windows, but the poll answers are limited to 15 :(... Shall I merge it with windows 3.1?


As long as you won't merge "my" Windows NT 4.0 with Windows 95 :ph34r:, it's allright. ;)
:P

jaclaz

#10
beats

beats

    Free cookies

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 344 posts
  • Joined 08-November 07

to Tripredacus: i know there is NT 3.x windows, but the poll answers are limited to 15 :(... Shall I merge it with windows 3.1?

Just merge the two Win98 options? You don't list all Win95 versions either.
Building switchless installers and addons upon request for registered RyanVM.net and WinCert members.

#11
DigeratiPrime

DigeratiPrime

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,550 posts
  • Joined 18-August 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Probably no reason to include the current OS aka Windows 7 as Server 2008 R2 is not in the poll. But then I couldn't vote as that's all I run :)
Recommended Software: KeePass | Microsoft ICE | VisualWget | Vitamin D Video |

#12
Offler

Offler

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 497 posts
  • Joined 29-October 06
I have a reason of putting Win7 here. Its because some people will buy new computer while selling the old one, only they migrate all data except OS. I want to see if there is a lot of these people. Also main reason of this poll is to see if people are running machines older thatn 2 or more years.

Mostly the OS support for Win 95 and its derivations were supported 11 years, althought first practically usable systems were bit newer. Also the next generation of NT 5.0 which is currently still supported will have much longer lifespan that any other windows before...

Some people which live in world of new things do not ever use anything older than 2 years no matter if it works or not. Really no offense, but i was able to work with my old Pentium III for eight years and only now i am going to make a really major upgrade.

Edited by Offler, 11 November 2009 - 03:58 AM.


#13
woody.cool

woody.cool

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 38 posts
  • Joined 12-July 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
I'm really into retro gaming and keep a couple of old machines (a 386 and a few 486s) with MS-DOS 6.22, audio and network drivers (IPX ODI driver for IPX network multiplayer games)

I've taken these old PCs to retro gaming events for some Doom 'death match' action :thumbup

My OS is not listed! I have 2 notebooks running Windows NT Workstation 3.51! They are 486 Compaq Elites.

I've not seen NT Workstation 3.51 about in a LONG time.
I liked that OS at the time. 'twas great for my uses.
I upgraded to NT Workstation 4.0 not long after it became available though, as it had better Win32 support.

Edited by woody.cool, 04 April 2010 - 12:37 PM.


#14
G8YMW

G8YMW

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Joined 20-May 08
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I forgot, my old Amstrad PC1512 upgraded to 640k and 30 meg hard drive running MSDOS 3.2. OK I've not used it for a couple of years. My wife, Lucy aka M0LUY has still got her old Beeb (Acorn BBC B, twin 5.25 floppys, sideways rom board and shadow ram)

#15
VideoRipper

VideoRipper

    CSI Eastwood City

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Joined 11-February 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I use Win98SE on an old Geode C3 based thin-client for some low level stuff (so I
don't have to use special direct-port access drivers) :rolleyes:

It is also 100% free of moving parts (running off a 2GB Compact Flash) :thumbup
To C the BASIC things in life, use Delphi

#16
woody.cool

woody.cool

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 38 posts
  • Joined 12-July 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

I forgot, my old Amstrad PC1512 upgraded to 640k and 30 meg hard drive running MSDOS 3.2. OK I've not used it for a couple of years. My wife, Lucy aka M0LUY has still got her old Beeb (Acorn BBC B, twin 5.25 floppys, sideways rom board and shadow ram)

I have quite a lot of old non-PC machines.
I too have a Beeb (Acorn BBC B, twin 5.25" drive, MMBEEB ROM & MMC card), several Amstrad CPCs (which run CP/M as the operating system outside of the Amstrad BASIC environment), several Commodore Amigas (running Amiga Workbench and my A1200 which has PC-TASK and MS-DOS 6.22 installed on it) and lots of other random old machines.

#17
Blekthor

Blekthor

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 31 posts
  • Joined 20-June 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I have a Compaq Luggable with ms-dos 3.3 on it - little bitty amber screen, 20mb hard card in a slot and 4 floppy disk drives. Cost me $20.00 and works fine.

#18
Cyker

Cyker

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 21-June 10
  • OS:98SE
Hahaha! There are more Win98 users than Vista or 7!! :lol:

#19
Andromeda43

Andromeda43

    Retired PC Tech.

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,018 posts
  • Joined 14-August 05
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Is that really surprising? Not for this old tech.
After the SE upgrade and Unofficial Service Pack, 98 was one rock solid and very useful OS.
I reluctantly upgraded, years ago now, to XP because it was more compatible with the new software that was coming out.
Besides that, as a service tech, I needed to learn how to tweak and tune XP for top performance, which I've done.

I'm running XP-Pro-SP3 right now and I will be for quite some time to come.

Cheers Mates!

:thumbup
A person with experience is never at the mercy of a person with an argument.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN