Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

7Customizer - a Windows 7 Customization and Deployment tool


  • Please log in to reply
1625 replies to this topic

#976
grabben

grabben

    -Grabben

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 601 posts
  • Joined 20-December 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

@blue4603

Thanks for the reply...I decided not to quote the post again since it is so recent.

Just a couple of other thoughts:

1) if possible could you make 7Customizer include the option to load the boot.wim also; I load it to integrate my boot/system (RAID F6/SATA etc.)drivers-it is an option in DISM-you must specify boot.wim index 1 or 2.
2)I know removing shipping programs is for later, but, DISM has a builtin feature to disable features; ie: the games, Windows Search, indexing service, Windows Media Center...etc. I like to disable the features with DISM because the services will not load in the install. This is not removing programs persay; it is all completely reversible in either DISM or after install in Programs and Features, so, therefore will not cause anyone any permanent/unreversable grief.
Just more food for thought and thanks



To integrate language to boot.wim and the setup? Its not hard :) and he can do it if he wants but but he chosed not to (he told me in some posts back that he wont).


Do you have the command to integrate to boot.wim?




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#977
blue4603

blue4603

    7Customizer Developer

  • Developer
  • 276 posts
  • Joined 10-October 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@ donpham

I think what grabben suggested might help you.

@ RickSteele

1) if possible could you make 7Customizer include the option to load the boot.wim also; I load it to integrate my boot/system (RAID F6/SATA etc.)drivers-it is an option in DISM-you must specify boot.wim index 1 or 2.


Hmmm. I might look into this later.

2)I know removing shipping programs is for later, but, DISM has a builtin feature to disable features; ie: the games, Windows Search, indexing service, Windows Media Center...etc. I like to disable the features with DISM because the services will not load in the install. This is not removing programs persay; it is all completely reversible in either DISM or after install in Programs and Features, so, therefore will not cause anyone any permanent/unreversable grief.
Just more food for thought and thanks


Hmmm. I think this is an extra. So again I will look at it later. Because I want to focus on and test the removing components function

@ grabben

Do you have the command to integrate to boot.wim?


I think it is the same as integrating to the normal install.wim


Regards

#978
grabben

grabben

    -Grabben

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 601 posts
  • Joined 20-December 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Dism /Mount-Wim /WimFile:boot.wim /index:1 /MountDir:mountDism 
/image:mount /add-package /packagepath:winpe_langpack\cpu\mui\lp.cab"
Dism /image:mount /add-package /packagepath:winpe_langpack\cpu\mui\winpe-scripting_mui.cab"
Dism /image:mount /add-package /packagepath:winpe_langpack\cpu\mui\winpe-srt_mui.cab"
Dism /image:mount /add-package /packagepath:winpe_langpack\cpu\mui\winpe-wds-tools_mui.cab"
Dism /image:mount /add-package /packagepath:winpe_langpack\cpu\mui\winpe-wmi_mui.cab"
Dism /image:mount /Gen-LangINI /distribution:mount
Dism /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:mount /commit

Dism /Mount-Wim /WimFile:boot.wim /index:2 /MountDir:mount
Dism /image:mount /add-package /packagepath:waik\tools\PEtools\cpu\WinPE_FPs\winpe-fontsupport-fontmui.cab"
Dism /image:mount /add-package /packagepath:winpe_langpack\cpu\mui\lp.cab"
Dism /image:mount /add-package /packagepath:winpe_langpack\cpu\mui\winpe-setup_mui.cab"
Dism /image:mount /add-package /packagepath:winpe_langpack\cpu\mui\winpe-setup-client_mui.cab"
Dism /image:mount /add-package /packagepath:winpe_langpack\cpu\mui\winpe-scripting_mui.cab"
Dism /image:mount /add-package /packagepath:winpe_langpack\cpu\mui\winpe-srt_mui.cab"
Dism /image:mount /add-package /packagepath:winpe_langpack\cpu\mui\winpe-wds-tools_mui.cab"
Dism /image:mount /add-package /packagepath:winpe_langpack\cpu\mui\winpe-wmi_mui.cab"
Dism /image:mount /Gen-LangINI /distribution:mountDism /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:mount /commit


Replace MUI and Fontmui with your language (sv-se, en-us, nl-nl etc etc)
WinPE_Langpack folder is found on the waik 7 iso/dvd..
Replace cpu with amd64 or x86Hope i didnt miss anything :P

Edit: Edit I f.. hate this editor messing up my po
Replace "mount" with the path to the mountfolder, for example D:\7mount

Edited by grabben, 19 May 2010 - 06:34 AM.


#979
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello Blue :rolleyes:
I see just some little errors in the file "French.lng".
I give you the new one.
My link
Regards

Edited by myselfidem, 02 May 2010 - 12:03 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#980
donpham

donpham

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 29-March 05
Thanks grabben. I will try "oscdimg in Deployment tools commmand promt" when I come back to work on Monday.
Does this option include in 7Customizer?


I tried 7Customizer 0.4.4 today with my Win7 Enterprise. The ISO file was created successfully and burnt to dvd disc. However, when I tried to run setup on my Dell OptiPlex 760, I got the error message saying that my CD/DVD device driver is missing. There is no such error when I run setup from the original dvd.
Can someone point out what I did wrong and/or why I got this kind of error message?

My PC specs:
Dell OptiPlex 760
Windows 7 Enterprise loaded
WAIK for win7
7customizer v0.4.4


Burn it again on slower speed or create the .iso file manually using oscdimg command in "Deployment Tools Command prompt".



#981
grabben

grabben

    -Grabben

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 601 posts
  • Joined 20-December 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks grabben. I will try "oscdimg in Deployment tools commmand promt" when I come back to work on Monday.
Does this option include in 7Customizer?



I tried 7Customizer 0.4.4 today with my Win7 Enterprise. The ISO file was created successfully and burnt to dvd disc. However, when I tried to run setup on my Dell OptiPlex 760, I got the error message saying that my CD/DVD device driver is missing. There is no such error when I run setup from the original dvd.
Can someone point out what I did wrong and/or why I got this kind of error message?

My PC specs:
Dell OptiPlex 760
Windows 7 Enterprise loaded
WAIK for win7
7customizer v0.4.4


Burn it again on slower speed or create the .iso file manually using oscdimg command in "Deployment Tools Command prompt".



Uhm 7C doesnt support dvdburning yet and probably wont :P

Bout oscdimg.
Just go to start > programs > windows aik > deployments.. and paste this
oscdimg.exe -b<path to etfsboot.com> -u2 -h -m -l<ISOLabel> <path to dvd> <path to save .iso>

oscdimg -bE:\dvd\boot\etfsboot.com -u2 -h -m -l7cDVD E:\dvd E:\7Cdvd.iso



#982
Nemo

Nemo
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 27-April 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Feature Request

If not yet on your to do list:
It would be helpful to have
- _all_ selected features in preset files
- an oppotunity to manually modifify tthe autounattended.xml _before_ creating the new wim file

My comment to 7Customizer:
Good replacement for vLite even in the actual state!
Thanks and go on developping!

#983
grabben

grabben

    -Grabben

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 601 posts
  • Joined 20-December 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Feature Request

If not yet on your to do list:
It would be helpful to have
- _all_ selected features in preset files
- an oppotunity to manually modifify tthe autounattended.xml _before_ creating the new wim file

My comment to 7Customizer:
Good replacement for vLite even in the actual state!
Thanks and go on developping!


Bout the unattended file..
You can edit it manuall beacuse its not set to a specific edition but just a file in dvdroot:)

Just open with notepad if you want too.

#984
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello Blue. :rolleyes:
I've made a new "French guide" for 7Customizer
My link
Regards

Edited by myselfidem, 03 May 2010 - 04:52 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#985
blue4603

blue4603

    7Customizer Developer

  • Developer
  • 276 posts
  • Joined 10-October 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@ Nemo

- _all_ selected features in preset files


I did not understand you. Could you clearify.

- an oppotunity to manually modifify tthe autounattended.xml _before_ creating the new wim file

Already implemented. There is a checkbox that pauses the execution before unmounting.

@ myselfidem

Thanks. I hope you updated the thread that contains this guide.

Regards

#986
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

@ myselfidem

Thanks. I hope you updated the thread that contains this guide.

Regards


Hello Blue :rolleyes:
Yes. I've updated the guide
And if you want, I can add "The Table of Content" and "Functions and Features".
Regards

Edited by myselfidem, 03 May 2010 - 05:56 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#987
blue4603

blue4603

    7Customizer Developer

  • Developer
  • 276 posts
  • Joined 10-October 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@ myselfidem

What I meant is
Did you update this thread?

Regards

#988
myselfidem

myselfidem

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Joined 06-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@Blue
Yes Blue, :rolleyes:
Because I see that some notes were missing and I've made images with French language.
Yes, the guide inside the link (thread) is updated
Regards

Edited by myselfidem, 03 May 2010 - 06:09 AM.

For Windows 7 OS: SetProductKey.rar (fr-FR/en-US. Integrate keys).

#989
grabben

grabben

    -Grabben

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 601 posts
  • Joined 20-December 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Heey blue :)


Suggestion: I noticed when im working with translating 7c to swedish, it needs to have the xxxxx.lng file, if i change the filename of that languagefile it wont even start.
Can you make it change to default language if it cant find the xxxx.lng file/language ?


I soon have an update for 7C 0.4.4 :)

Edited by grabben, 03 May 2010 - 06:59 AM.


#990
blue4603

blue4603

    7Customizer Developer

  • Developer
  • 276 posts
  • Joined 10-October 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@ myselfidem

Thanks.

@ grabben

Heey blue :)


Suggestion: I noticed when im working with translating 7c to swedish, it needs to have the xxxxx.lng file, if i change the filename of that languagefile it wont even start.
Can you make it change to default language if it cant find the xxxx.lng file/language ?


I soon have an update for 7C 0.4.4


OK. I will fix this in the next release.

Thanks for the feedback.

Regards

#991
grabben

grabben

    -Grabben

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 601 posts
  • Joined 20-December 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

@ myselfidem

Thanks.

@ grabben

Heey blue :)


Suggestion: I noticed when im working with translating 7c to swedish, it needs to have the xxxxx.lng file, if i change the filename of that languagefile it wont even start.
Can you make it change to default language if it cant find the xxxx.lng file/language ?


I soon have an update for 7C 0.4.4


OK. I will fix this in the next release.

Thanks for the feedback.

Regards


Great :)

Here's the update: http://cid-fdbde48fe.../Swedish044.lng

Translated more and corrected spellingerror but i still havent translated everything like "Resolve broken shortcut".
Ill try get it translate asap :)

Edit:How's it going on component/feature removal?

Edited by grabben, 03 May 2010 - 08:15 AM.


#992
nerd-light

nerd-light
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 03-March 06
thx for the great work and great program
like many others this is the hottest point for me on your todo list:

An option to set the Users folder location, program files locations and other folders.

because i have an ssd for os, so i want to spread heavy write folders on other disks

#993
pedilover

pedilover

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • Joined 31-October 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Blue,
which components do you want to remove first ?
On Twitter you have posted that you have removed one component. Which was ist ? I am very inquisitive, you know ?
Regards

#994
grabben

grabben

    -Grabben

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 601 posts
  • Joined 20-December 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi Blue,
which components do you want to remove first ?
On Twitter you have posted that you have removed one component. Which was ist ? I am very inquisitive, you know ?
Regards


Believe i read here or on twitter that he removed "Natural Languages x86" but im not sure:)

Altho i think removing too much isnt good at all, but having the option to remove some crap that
you'll never ever use is a good thing:)


And moving userfolder etc, doesnt that require partitioning?! which blue said he woudnt add?

#995
RickSteele

RickSteele

    Rick Steele

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Joined 13-October 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Using 7Customizer on a modified Windows 7 Enterprise source for a DELL Inspiron 1720 installed without any issues whatsoever-perfect!

Regards,
Rick

#996
sjoerdhooft

sjoerdhooft
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 04-May 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
hey there,

I just started using 7customizer and it looks really promising, I did however encountered a problem. When I started the ISO in my virtual machine I get this message:

The unattend answer file contains an invalid product key.

But I double checked the key and it is really correct.

Does anyone have a clue what might be happening here?

Thank you all,

kind regards
Sjoerd

#997
bacpp

bacpp
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 06-May 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi.


If I choose Ultimate x86 version, and integrated hotfixes, does it affect other edittion too?

7. Choose the edition you want to customize from the list and then press start.
In this example I chose Ultimate edition
Posted Image



#998
grabben

grabben

    -Grabben

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 601 posts
  • Joined 20-December 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi.


If I choose Ultimate x86 version, and integrated hotfixes, does it affect other edittion too?

7. Choose the edition you want to customize from the list and then press start.
In this example I chose Ultimate edition


Ofcourse not.

If you choose to modify ultimate you modify ultimate and only ultimate.




#999
grabben

grabben

    -Grabben

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 601 posts
  • Joined 20-December 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

hey there,

I just started using 7customizer and it looks really promising, I did however encountered a problem. When I started the ISO in my virtual machine I get this message:

The unattend answer file contains an invalid product key.

But I double checked the key and it is really correct.

Does anyone have a clue what might be happening here?

Thank you all,

kind regards
Sjoerd


Could you post the key part from the unattended file ?




#1000
sjoerdhooft

sjoerdhooft
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 04-May 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


hey there,

I just started using 7customizer and it looks really promising, I did however encountered a problem. When I started the ISO in my virtual machine I get this message:

The unattend answer file contains an invalid product key.

But I double checked the key and it is really correct.

Does anyone have a clue what might be happening here?

Thank you all,

kind regards
Sjoerd


Could you post the key part from the unattended file ?


Here, of course without the key itself, do you need more info?:
<UserData>
<ProductKey>
<Key>xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxx</Key>
<WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
</ProductKey>
<Organization>Org NAME</Organization>
<FullName>User NAME</FullName>
<AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>
</UserData>

Edited by sjoerdhooft, 06 May 2010 - 06:37 AM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users