• Announcements

    • xper

      MSFN Sponsorship and AdBlockers!   07/10/2016

      Dear members, MSFN is made available via subscriptions, donations and advertising revenue. The use of ad-blocking software hurts the site. Please disable ad-blocking software or set an exception for MSFN. Alternatively, become a site sponsor and ads will be disabled automatically and by subscribing you get other sponsor benefits.
maxXPsoft

Ask your Seven xml ? here

616 posts in this topic

Just because MS claims it's deprecated (whatever that means, something like no longer used?) doesn't mean it doesn't work. It does, and it does the job well enough. I am sticking with it, unless there is another way around it (and NO, I do not want to create any temp account just because MS thinks it's THE way to install the system)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You are confusing: SkipMachine and SkipUser !!!! Feel free to use it if you want and you will have trouble and your file will not be fully unattended!!! :ph34r:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The trouble is you have to use both to skip the oobe screen :( I tried....

The way I do it is unattended enough! I don't need to click once.

Edited by TheWalrus
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I see another error:

<CopyProfile>true</CopyProfile>

<RegisteredOwner /> ?

</AutoLogon>

<RegisteredOwner /> ?

Edited by myselfidem
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Heh weird leftovers. And the bloody validate button didn't say anything!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Heh weird leftovers. And the bloody validate button didn't say anything!

Yes, because <RegisteredOwner> : This string type supports empty elements.

<RegisteredOwner></RegisteredOwner>

Edited by myselfidem
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Heh weird leftovers. And the bloody validate button didn't say anything!

sim sometimes will not tell errors just crash on an install :whistle: BSOD 1 time I fought several days time permitting

100 or more full install and no vm both with vista and 7 debugging Se7en_UA to create it. sometimes things that work in vm will not in an actual install

can capture your Panther logs and see error's

myselfidem is well versed with it also :hello:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

sometimes things that work in vm will not in an actual install

Yeah I faced that today at work. The **** setup ended up in BSOD saying something about a .dll file. I couldn't write it down, was in hurry :/ It worked flawlessly in VM!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks maxXPsoft :hello:

@TheWalrus

Inside your file you can remove:<servicing></servicing>

And Add:


<OOBE>
<HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
<OOBE>

Edited by myselfidem
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


<OOBE>
<HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>

Oh yeah IIRC this is the same thing as using skipmachineoobe.... But in the "proper" way - at least in theory according to MS :P

****, weird error during installation:

Windows could not set the offline locale information. Error 0x80000001

I gotta dig into the wim_tweak removal batch file I made, there is something stinking there...

edit2: oh what an id*** I am:

d:\programy\install_wim_tweak.exe /p "e:\mount" /c Microsoft-Windows-LocalPack /r

when one of the packages in that is US.... *smacks head to a wall*

Edited by TheWalrus
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

At this time it's better to not use the new install_wim_tweak.exe... Packages aren't removed properly!!

And I see that I can't remove Packages with:

Dism /image:Mounted_Folder /remove-package /packagename: (access denied: error: 5)

The old one working fine!

http://www.msfn.org/board/topic/137765-windows-7-rtm-3264-bit-updated/page__view__findpost__p__933395

Edited by myselfidem
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hm, from what Lego said it is working as intended . I can't tell cause I don't understand how it works too well, but it does SOMETHING in my case - after removal and rebuilding the image the size IS smaller.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Which settings do I need (in THEORY) if I want to bypass user creation without using skip<whatever>oobe? I found out that if I remove the skipmachineoobe with how my answer file currently looks, I do get prompted for account creation, but after that the local admin properly logs on, and looking in \users folder, there is nothing new (I gave the user "aaa" as the name). So it kind of works, but I need to tweak a few things somewhere.

    <settings pass="oobeSystem">
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="[url="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State"]http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State[/url]" xmlns:xsi="[url="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"]http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance[/url]">
<UserAccounts>
<AdministratorPassword>
<Value>senator</Value>
<PlainText>true</PlainText>
</AdministratorPassword>
</UserAccounts>
<AutoLogon>
<Username>Administrator</Username>
<LogonCount>2</LogonCount>
<Enabled>true</Enabled>
<Password>
<Value>senator</Value>
<PlainText>true</PlainText>
</Password>
</AutoLogon>
<OOBE>
<SkipUserOOBE>true</SkipUserOOBE>
<HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>true</HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>
<ProtectYourPC>1</ProtectYourPC>
<NetworkLocation>Work</NetworkLocation>
<HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
<SkipMachineOOBE>true</SkipMachineOOBE>
</OOBE>
<FirstLogonCommands>
<SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
<Order>1</Order>
<CommandLine>cmd /c start /wait msiexec.exe /i %systemdrive%\install\eavbe_nt64_csy.msi /quiet REBOOT="ReallySuppress" ADMINCFG="%systemdrive%\install\dlt_config.xml"</CommandLine>
<Description>install NOD</Description>
</SynchronousCommand>
<SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
<Order>2</Order>
<CommandLine>cmd /c start /wait msiexec.exe /i %systemdrive%\install\FoxitReader502.0718_enu.msi /quiet INSTALLLOCATION="C:\Program Files" ADDLOCAL="FX_PDFVIEWER,FX_FIREFOXPLUGIN" MAKEDEFAULT=1 VIEW_IN_BROWSER=1 DESKTOP_SHORTCUT=0 STARTMENU_SHORTCUT=1 LAUNCHCHECKDEFAULT=1 SAFEMODE=1</CommandLine>
<Description>install Foxit Reader</Description>
</SynchronousCommand>
<SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
<Order>3</Order>
<CommandLine>cmd /c start /wait %systemdrive%\install\iview430_setup.exe /silent /desktop=0 /thumbs=0 /group=1 /allusers=1 /assoc=1 /ini="%APPDATA%\Irfanview"</CommandLine>
<Description>install IrfanView</Description>
</SynchronousCommand>
<SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
<Order>4</Order>
<CommandLine>cmd /c start /wait %systemdrive%\install\IconViewer3.02-Setup-x64.exe /quiet</CommandLine>
<Description>install IconViewer</Description>
</SynchronousCommand>
<SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
<Order>5</Order>
<CommandLine>cmd /c start /wait msiexec.exe /i "%systemdrive%\install\vpnclient_setup.msi" /quiet</CommandLine>
<Description>install Cisco VPN</Description>
</SynchronousCommand>
</FirstLogonCommands>
</component>
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="[url="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State"]http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State[/url]" xmlns:xsi="[url="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"]http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance[/url]">
<InputLocale>0405:00010405; 0409:00020409</InputLocale>
<SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale>
<UILanguageFallback>en-US</UILanguageFallback>
<UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
<UserLocale>cs-CZ</UserLocale>
</component>
</settings>

I was thinking to maybe add timezone and daylight saving settings to Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup. Couldn't find any other settings that looked like in need of some values.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can add some values:

Example:


<AutoLogon>
<Password>
<Value></Value>
</Password>
<Enabled>true</Enabled>
<LogonCount>3</LogonCount>
<Username>Administrator</Username>
</AutoLogon>
<UserAccounts>
<LocalAccounts>
<LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
<Password>
<Value></Value>
<PlainText>true</PlainText>
</Password>
<DisplayName>Administrator</DisplayName>
<Name>Administrator</Name>
<Group>Administrators</Group>
</LocalAccount>
</LocalAccounts>
</UserAccounts>

http://theitbros.com...start-to-finish

Edited by myselfidem
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wouldn't trying to create account called administrator result in error? I will try jsut for the hell of it anyway.

Still puzzled about the disk configuration. I hate that part. Can't seem to find anything that would hide the bloody screen. I even set willshowui to never with no result.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Inside your Autounattend.xml file try to use OSImage and not DataImage inside <settings pass="windowsPE">

Example, my Autounattend.xml file fully unattended


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
<settings pass="windowsPE">
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<SetupUILanguage>
<UILanguage>fr-FR</UILanguage>
</SetupUILanguage>
<InputLocale>100c:0000100c</InputLocale>
<SystemLocale>fr-CH</SystemLocale>
<UILanguage>fr-FR</UILanguage>
<UserLocale>fr-CH</UserLocale>
</component>
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<Diagnostics>
<OptIn>false</OptIn>
</Diagnostics>
<DiskConfiguration>
<WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
<Disk wcm:action="add">
<DiskID>0</DiskID>
<WillWipeDisk>true</WillWipeDisk>
<CreatePartitions>
<CreatePartition wcm:action="add">
<Order>1</Order>
<Size>200</Size>
<Type>Primary</Type>
</CreatePartition>
<CreatePartition wcm:action="add">
<Order>2</Order>
<Size>100</Size>
<Type>Primary</Type>
</CreatePartition>
<CreatePartition wcm:action="add">
<Order>3</Order>
<Size>450000</Size>
<Type>Primary</Type>
</CreatePartition>
<CreatePartition wcm:action="add">
<Order>4</Order>
<Type>Primary</Type>
<Extend>true</Extend>
</CreatePartition>
</CreatePartitions>
<ModifyPartitions>
<ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">
<Order>1</Order>
<PartitionID>1</PartitionID>
<Format>NTFS</Format>
<Label>Recovery</Label>
<TypeID>0x27</TypeID>
</ModifyPartition>
<ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">
<PartitionID>2</PartitionID>
<Active>true</Active>
<Order>2</Order>
<Label>System</Label>
<Format>NTFS</Format>
</ModifyPartition>
<ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">
<Order>3</Order>
<Format>NTFS</Format>
<PartitionID>3</PartitionID>
<Label>SEVEN</Label>
<Letter>C</Letter>
</ModifyPartition>
<ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">
<Order>4</Order>
<Format>NTFS</Format>
<PartitionID>4</PartitionID>
<Label>DATA</Label>
<Letter>D</Letter>
</ModifyPartition>
</ModifyPartitions>
</Disk>
</DiskConfiguration>
<Display>
<ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
<HorizontalResolution>1280</HorizontalResolution>
<VerticalResolution>1024</VerticalResolution>
<RefreshRate>60</RefreshRate>
</Display>
<DynamicUpdate>
<Enable>false</Enable>
<WillShowUI>Never</WillShowUI>
</DynamicUpdate>
<ImageInstall>
<OSImage>
<InstallFrom>
<MetaData wcm:action="add">
<Key>/IMAGE/NAME</Key>
<Value>Windows 7 ULTIMATE</Value>
</MetaData>
</InstallFrom>
<InstallTo>
<DiskID>0</DiskID>
<PartitionID>3</PartitionID>
</InstallTo>
</OSImage>
</ImageInstall>
<UserData>
<AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>
<FullName>Full Name</FullName>
<Organization>particulier</Organization>
<ProductKey>
<Key>XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX</Key>
<WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
</ProductKey>
</UserData>
<EnableFirewall>true</EnableFirewall>
</component>
</settings>
<settings pass="offlineServicing">
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-LUA-Settings" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<EnableLUA>false</EnableLUA>
</component>
</settings>
<settings pass="generalize">
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-PnpSysprep" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<PersistAllDeviceInstalls>true</PersistAllDeviceInstalls>
</component>
</settings>
<settings pass="specialize">
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-IE-InternetExplorer" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<Home_Page>http://www.bluewin.ch/index.html.fr</Home_Page>
<BlockPopups>yes</BlockPopups>
<FavoritesOnTop>true</FavoritesOnTop>
<FilterLevel>High</FilterLevel>
<Help_Page>http://people.consolidated.net/veeger/</Help_Page>
<DisableFirstRunWizard>true</DisableFirstRunWizard>
<DisableWelcomePage>true</DisableWelcomePage>
<PlaySound>false</PlaySound>
<ShowInformationBar>true</ShowInformationBar>
<LockToolbars>true</LockToolbars>
<ShowLeftAddressToolbar>true</ShowLeftAddressToolbar>
<ShowMenuBar>true</ShowMenuBar>
<SuggestedSitesEnabled>true</SuggestedSitesEnabled>
</component>
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-RemoteAssistance-Exe" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance>
<fAllowFullControl>false</fAllowFullControl>
<fAllowToGetHelp>false</fAllowToGetHelp>
</component>
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-SPP-UX" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<SkipAutoActivation>true</SkipAutoActivation>
</component>
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<ComputerName>Se7en</ComputerName>
<ProductKey>XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX</ProductKey>
<RegisteredOwner>myselfidem</RegisteredOwner>
<Display>
<ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
<HorizontalResolution>1280</HorizontalResolution>
<VerticalResolution>1024</VerticalResolution>
<RefreshRate>60</RefreshRate>
</Display>
</component>
</settings>
<settings pass="oobeSystem">
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<UILanguage>fr-FR</UILanguage>
<UserLocale>fr-CH</UserLocale>
<InputLocale>100c:0000100c</InputLocale>
</component>
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<Display>
<ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
<HorizontalResolution>1280</HorizontalResolution>
<VerticalResolution>1024</VerticalResolution>
<RefreshRate>60</RefreshRate>
</Display>
<RegisteredOwner>myselfidem</RegisteredOwner>
<TimeZone>W. Europe Standard Time</TimeZone>
<AutoLogon>
<Enabled>true</Enabled>
<LogonCount>9999999</LogonCount>
<Username>myselfidem</Username>
<Password>
<Value>xxxxxx</Value>
<PlainText>false</PlainText>
</Password>
</AutoLogon>
<FirstLogonCommands>
<SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
<Order>1</Order>
<Description>Password never expires</Description>
<CommandLine>cmd /C wmic useraccount where "name='myselfidem'" set PasswordExpires=FALSE</CommandLine>
<RequiresUserInput>false</RequiresUserInput>
</SynchronousCommand>
<SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
<Order>9</Order>
<Description>Installation des applications avec WPI</Description>
<CommandLine>cmd /c for %i in (C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z) do if exist %i:\wpi\wpi.exe start %i:\wpi\wpi.exe</CommandLine>
<RequiresUserInput>false</RequiresUserInput>
</SynchronousCommand>
</FirstLogonCommands>
<OEMInformation>
<Logo>%WINDIR%\System32\oemlogo.bmp</Logo>
<Manufacturer>Se7en_Titan</Manufacturer>
<Model>Windows Se7en Titan</Model>
<SupportHours>A tout instant, consultez les Forums</SupportHours>
<SupportPhone>BR549</SupportPhone>
<SupportURL>http://people.consolidated.net/veeger</SupportURL>
</OEMInformation>
<OOBE>
<HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
<NetworkLocation>Home</NetworkLocation>
<ProtectYourPC>1</ProtectYourPC>
<HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>true</HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>
</OOBE>
<UserAccounts>
<LocalAccounts>
<LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
<Password>
<PlainText>false</PlainText>
<Value>xxxxxx</Value>
</Password>
<Group>Administrators</Group>
<DisplayName>myselfidem</DisplayName>
<Name>myselfidem</Name>
</LocalAccount>
</LocalAccounts>
</UserAccounts>
<VisualEffects>
<FontSmoothing>ClearType</FontSmoothing>
</VisualEffects>
<WindowsFeatures>
<ShowInternetExplorer>true</ShowInternetExplorer>
<ShowMediaCenter>true</ShowMediaCenter>
<ShowWindowsMediaPlayer>true</ShowWindowsMediaPlayer>
</WindowsFeatures>
</component>
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Sidebar" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<Gadget1>%PROGRAMFILES%\Windows Sidebar\Gadgets\Clock.Gadget</Gadget1>
<Gadget2>%PROGRAMFILES%\Windows Sidebar\Gadgets\Calendar.Gadget</Gadget2>
<Gadget3>%PROGRAMFILES%\Windows Sidebar\Gadgets\Weather.Gadget</Gadget3>
</component>
</settings>
</unattend>

Edited by myselfidem
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That seems to have done the job!

I ended up with error message about not enough room on the partition, so I assume the window is hidden correctly, but setup fails to wipe the disk. Do I need to use different settings when working with brand new disk or such with existing partitions on it?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Take care with the sizes Disk!

Change also LABEL "Boot" to "System"

<ModifyPartition>

<Order>1</Order>

<PartitionID>1</PartitionID>

<Format>NTFS</Format>

<Label>System</Label>

Check also if you have an UEFI interface:

http://en.wikipedia....mware_Interface

Because the settings aren't the same inside Autounattend.xml for UEFI-based computer!

http://technet.micro...951(WS.10).aspx

http://technet.micro...fyingSystemDisk

http://technet.micro...271(WS.10).aspx

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd799232(WS.10).aspx

UEFI-Based Systems

The following XML output for the DiskConfiguration setting shows partition modifications for a Unified Extensible Firmware Interface (UEFI)-based computer, including an EFI System Partition (ESP), the Microsoft Reserved partition (MSR), a recovery partition, and a Windows partition. The recovery partition is set with the Utility partition type, and does not appear with a drive letter in Windows.

<DiskConfiguration>

<WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>

<Disk>

<DiskID>0</DiskID>

<WillWipeDisk>true</WillWipeDisk>

<CreatePartitions>

<CreatePartition>

<!-- Create the EFI partition -->

<Order>1</Order>

<Type>EFI</Type>

<Size>100</Size>

</CreatePartition>

<!-- Create the Recovery partition -->

<CreatePartition>

<Order>2</Order>

<Type>Primary</Type>

<Size>200</Size>

</CreatePartition>

<!-- Create the MSR partition -->

<Order>3</Order>

<Type>MSR</Type>

<Size>128</Size>

</CreatePartition>

<!-- Create the Windows partition and fill the rest of the hard disk -->

<CreatePartition>

<Order>4</Order>

<Type>Primary</Type>

<Extend>true</Extend>

</CreatePartition>

</CreatePartitions>

<ModifyPartitions>

<!-- Modify the system partition -->

<ModifyPartition>

<Order>1</Order>

<PartitionID>1</PartitionID>

<Active>true</Active>

<Format>FAT32</Format>

<Label>System</Label>

</ModifyPartition>

<!-- Modify the recovery partition -->

<ModifyPartition>

<Order>2</Order>

<PartitionID>2</PartitionID>

<Format>NTFS</Format>

<Label>Recovery</Label>

<TypeID>e3c9e316-0b5c-4db8-817d-f92df00215ae</TypeID>

</ModifyPartition>

<!-- The MSR partition does not need to be modified -->

<!-- Modify the Windows partition -->

<ModifyPartition>

<Order>3</Order>

<PartitionID>4</PartitionID>

<Format>NTFS</Format>

<Label>Windows</Label>

</ModifyPartition>

</ModifyPartitions>

</Disk>

</DiskConfiguration>

Edited by myselfidem
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello everyone,

I am really new to creating an unattended xml file but I have worked through some of the things that have been giving me issues like getting it to format the drive and install to the proper partition. Anyway, no matter what I do I still have to accept the language/timezone/keyboard settings page and click the install now button. What am I missing or do I have the settings in the wrong place?

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

<unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">

<settings pass="windowsPE">

<component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="NonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">

<SetupUILanguage>

<UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>

</SetupUILanguage>

<InputLocale>0409:00000409</InputLocale>

<UserLocale>en-US</UserLocale>

<UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>

<SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale>

</component>

<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="NonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">

<DiskConfiguration>

<Disk wcm:action="add">

<ModifyPartitions>

<ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">

<Active>true</Active>

<Format>NTFS</Format>

<Label>Testing</Label>

<Order>1</Order>

<PartitionID>2</PartitionID>

</ModifyPartition>

</ModifyPartitions>

<DiskID>0</DiskID>

</Disk>

<WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>

</DiskConfiguration>

<ImageInstall>

<OSImage>

<InstallFrom>

<MetaData wcm:action="add">

<Key>/IMAGE/NAME</Key>

<value>Windows 7 PROFESSIONAL</value>

</MetaData>

</InstallFrom>

<InstallTo>

<DiskID>0</DiskID>

<PartitionID>2</PartitionID>

</InstallTo>

<InstallToAvailablePartition>false</InstallToAvailablePartition>

<WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>

</OSImage>

</ImageInstall>

<UserData>

<ProductKey>

<Key>xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx</Key>

<WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>

</ProductKey>

<Organization>Test Inc</Organization>

<FullName>Test Install</FullName>

<AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>

</UserData>

</component>

</settings>

<settings pass="oobeSystem">

<component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">

<SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale>

<UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>

<UserLocale>0409:00000409</UserLocal>

<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="NonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">

<UserAccounts>

<LocalAccounts />

<AdministratorPassword>

<Value />

</AdministratorPassword>

</UserAccounts>

<AutoLogon>

<Password>

<Value />

</Password>

<Enabled>true</Enabled>

<LogonCount>9999</LogonCount>

<Username>Administrator</Username>

</AutoLogon>

<OOBE>

<NetworkLocation>Home</NetworkLocation>

<HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>

<ProtectYourPC>1</ProtectYourPC>

<HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>true</HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>

<SkipMachineOOBE>true</SkipMachineOOBE>

<SkipUserOOBE>true</SkipUserOOBE>

</OOBE>

<DisableAutoDaylightTimeSet>true</DisableAutoDaylightTimeSet>

<TimeZone>Eastern Standard Time</TimeZone>

<Display>

<HorizontalResolution>1280</HorizontalResolution>

<VerticalResolution>720</VerticalResolution>

</Display>

</component>

</settings>

<settings pass="specialize">

<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="NonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">

<ComputerName>Test-PC</ComputerName>

</component>

<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-Licensing-SLC-UX" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="NonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">

<SkipAutoActivation>true</SkipAutoActivation>

</component>

</settings>

</unattend>

any help would be greatly appreciated it. Sorry if this is somewhere in here already, but I have tried searching all the forums and this particular forum but nothing ever comes up pertaining to the issue. I could be using the wrong terminology for my search terms.

Thanks all

*edited for spelling

Edited by Mummra
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can see examples at the first page of this topic [and also see my example above (post #241)]

Change to:


<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-SPP-UX" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<SkipAutoActivation>true</SkipAutoActivation>

Edited by myselfidem
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since I do not have any PC running 32bit Windows, I cannot use SIM to edit my answer file in. If I just grab the one I used for 64bit Windows and replace all "amd64" strings with "x86", will it work, or do I need to edit some other things as well?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since I do not have any PC running 32bit Windows, I cannot use SIM to edit my answer file in. If I just grab the one I used for 64bit Windows and replace all "amd64" strings with "x86", will it work, or do I need to edit some other things as well?

Yes, you can do like this and remove the last line!

Example:

<cpi:offlineImage cpi:source="wim:c:/winpro764bit/install.wim#Windows 7 ENTERPRISE" xmlns:cpi="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:cpi" />

Anyway you can use WSIM to see if errors whithout validate your Autounattend.xml x86 on a 64-bit computer based!

Edited by myselfidem
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, you can do like this and remove the last line!

This "last line" is only for WSIM, since it will end up giving you an error. But if you aren't using WSIM to edit it, it shouldn't matter. All of my answer files (win 7 and 2008) have this:

<cpi:offlineImage cpi:source="catalog:d:/sources/install_windows vista business.clg" xmlns:cpi="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:cpi" />

:whistle:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's what I said: remove the last line! I always do like this and I haven't errors!

Anyway we can check and register the file with WSIM whithout this last line!

The last line is not really needed for install Windows unattended...only to use WSIM (to check) and validate the file!

But thanks for the tip! ;)

Edited by myselfidem
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is it possible to write the answer file so that only one partition is wiped and the system is installed there? I have the disk in my home PC partitioned so that the smaller one is used for system and the other for various programs that don't have to be installed. I wouldn't want to have to back few tens of gigabytes up.

I think willwipedisk applies to whole drive in general, not just a partition. Hmm?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.