• Announcements

    • xper

      MSFN Sponsorship and AdBlockers!   07/10/2016

      Dear members, MSFN is made available via subscriptions, donations and advertising revenue. The use of ad-blocking software hurts the site. Please disable ad-blocking software or set an exception for MSFN. Alternatively, become a site sponsor and ads will be disabled automatically and by subscribing you get other sponsor benefits.
maxXPsoft

Ask your Seven xml ? here

616 posts in this topic

I am sad because of oobe pages were not hidden by using xml file:

account name, password, protect windows(update) and time zone.

Edited by forever0donotknowme
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am sad because of oobe pages were not hidden by using xml file:

account name, password, protect windows(update) and time zone.

I didn't add that and it was only a xml to enable Administrator autologon. You have to add all them things yourself

Look at <settings pass="oobeSystem"> in first post. It is updated

I add as much as possible to block them.

Perhaps you need to add language and the OOBE, never done it with minimal stuff.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hope this saves someone some grief, when I intergrated Windows6.1-KB2841134-x86.cab (This is IE 11) http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=299198 installation halted with an error in settings pass="specialize" darned if I could see it so I install the Win 7 AIK, still no errors, so I deleted these lines:

<DisableFirstRunWizard>true</DisableFirstRunWizard><FavoritesDelete>true</FavoritesDelete><FavoritesOnTop>true</FavoritesOnTop> 

works great and there is peace in all the land...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah IE is always gimmicky. New versions can break previously working unnatend settings and add new ones.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yes have to check for version you have

DisableFirstRunWizard

Specifies whether to skip the First Run Wizard when the user opens Internet Explorer for the first time.

Internet Explorer 8 through Internet Explorer 10

Edited by maxXPsoft
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It didn't give me any problems with integrated IE11 here. Apparently it's a bit on the random side.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I’ve made an autounattend.xml file for my Windows 7 OEM Pre activated disk. It works fine. But it makes my widows trial. That means my genuine Windows becomes trial if I use it. What’s the problem? I've tested with Pendrive made by sardu.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

SkipMachineOOBE and SkipUserOOBE are not valid for Windows 7. SkipReArm will only work if the install image was created using that setting.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

SkipMachineOOBE and SkipUserOOBE are not valid for Windows 7. SkipReArm will only work if the install image was created using that setting.

Thanks sir. So can I delete 3 sections (SkipMachineOOBE, SkipUserOOBE and SkipReArm) from my autounattend.xml file?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks sir. So can I delete 3 sections (SkipMachineOOBE, SkipUserOOBE and SkipReArm) from my autounattend.xml file?

Yes. My activation problem is solved by deleting 3 sections (SkipMachineOOBE, SkipUserOOBE and SkipReArm). But before desktop setup shows option to select OEM logo (Brand logo) and Information now.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When installing Windows in UEFI mode, do I need to format the two system partitions in any way? I am reading this, and it only covers the creation (and for some reason they say the first partition should be 200MB, but everywhere I look it's usually only 100).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When installing Windows in UEFI mode, do I need to format the two system partitions in any way? I am reading this, and it only covers the creation (and for some reason they say the first partition should be 200MB, but everywhere I look it's usually only 100).

When manually installing windows creates nessesary partitions itself. With XML this is a part of my UEFI XML for virtual machine (Formats and creates partitions on a single drive). Might be dangerous on a multi-drive system as the wrong disk may be selected for format (thats why i never use automatic partitioning on a real machine in XML). Goes under windowsPE pass under diskconfiguration:

<DiskConfiguration> <Disk wcm:action="add">                <DiskID>0</DiskID>                <WillWipeDisk>true</WillWipeDisk>                <CreatePartitions>                  <CreatePartition wcm:action="add">                    <Order>1</Order>                    <Type>Primary</Type>                    <Size>300</Size>                  </CreatePartition>                  <CreatePartition wcm:action="add">                    <Order>2</Order>                    <Type>EFI</Type>                    <Size>100</Size>                  </CreatePartition>                  <CreatePartition wcm:action="add">                    <Order>3</Order>                    <Type>MSR</Type>                    <Size>128</Size>                  </CreatePartition>                  <CreatePartition wcm:action="add">                    <Order>4</Order>                    <Type>Primary</Type>                    <Extend>true</Extend>                  </CreatePartition>                </CreatePartitions>                <ModifyPartitions>                  <!-- Windows RE Tools partition -->                  <ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">                    <Order>1</Order>                    <PartitionID>1</PartitionID>                    <Label>WINRE</Label>                    <Format>NTFS</Format>                  </ModifyPartition>                  <ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">                    <Order>2</Order>                    <PartitionID>2</PartitionID>                    <Label>ESP</Label>                    <Format>FAT32</Format>                  </ModifyPartition>                    <Order>3</Order>                    <PartitionID>3</PartitionID>                  <ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">                    <Order>3</Order>                    <PartitionID>4</PartitionID>                    <Label>System</Label>                    <Letter>C</Letter>                    <Format>NTFS</Format>                  </ModifyPartition>                </ModifyPartitions>              </Disk>              <WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>            </DiskConfiguration>

Im not saying its correct as mostly you only need 3 partitions: 1. ESP (100MB) > 2. MSR (128MB) > 3. Windows (Expanding).

Also for some reason i've set my ESP to sit on FAT32 not NTFS. God knows why...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah I know how it works, I was just unsure because the Microsoft link only mentioned creating the partitions, but not doing anything with them, which kinda confused me and I thought maybe it was not necessary for UEFI (which wouldn't make any sense though).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah i have always used 100MB ESP partition. Not sure why MS would suggest 200MB.

Btw fixed code:

<DiskConfiguration> <Disk wcm:action="add">                <DiskID>0</DiskID>                <WillWipeDisk>true</WillWipeDisk>                <CreatePartitions>                  <CreatePartition wcm:action="add">                    <Order>1</Order>                    <Type>EFI</Type>                    <Size>100</Size>                  </CreatePartition>                  <CreatePartition wcm:action="add">                    <Order>2</Order>                    <Type>MSR</Type>                    <Size>128</Size>                  </CreatePartition>                  <CreatePartition wcm:action="add">                    <Order>3</Order>                    <Type>Primary</Type>                    <Extend>true</Extend>                  </CreatePartition>                </CreatePartitions>                <ModifyPartitions>                  <ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">                    <Order>1</Order>                    <PartitionID>1</PartitionID>                    <Label>ESP</Label>                    <Format>NTFS</Format>                  </ModifyPartition>                  <ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">                    <Order>2</Order>                    <PartitionID>2</PartitionID>                    <Label>MSR</Label>                    <Format>NTFS</Format>                  </ModifyPartition>                  <ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">                    <Order>3</Order>                    <PartitionID>3</PartitionID>                    <Label>System</Label>                    <Letter>C</Letter>                    <Format>NTFS</Format>                  </ModifyPartition>                </ModifyPartitions>              </Disk>              <WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>            </DiskConfiguration>
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah i have always used 100MB ESP partition. Not sure why MS would suggest 200MB.

They recommend a different size for SSDs, but 260MB not 200.

Each bootable drive must contain an ESP. The computer boots to this partition.

For Advanced Format Generation One (4-KB-per-sector) drives, the minimum size of this partition is 260 MB.

For earlier 512-byte-per-sector drives, the minimum size of this partition is 100MB.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd799232%28v=ws.10%29.aspx

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Even windows installation itself creates a 100MB partition on SSD:

Microsoft DiskPart version 6.1.7601Copyright (C) 1999-2008 Microsoft Corporation.On computer: PHOENIXDISKPART> list disk  Disk ###  Status         Size     Free     Dyn  Gpt  --------  -------------  -------  -------  ---  ---  Disk 0    Online           59 GB      0 B        *  Disk 1    Online          698 GB      0 B        *  Disk 2    Online         2794 GB      0 B        *DISKPART> select disk 0Disk 0 is now the selected disk.DISKPART> list part  Partition ###  Type              Size     Offset  -------------  ----------------  -------  -------  Partition 1    System             100 MB  1024 KB  Partition 2    Reserved           128 MB   101 MB  Partition 3    Primary             29 GB   229 MB  Partition 4    Primary             30 GB    29 GB
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If only they bothered to have all relevant informations in one place.

Anyway... how do I know if my SSD has 4kB sectors? Or, where do I read up on this?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fsutil fsinfo ntfsinfo c: (Where C: is drive letter).

If "Bytes per Sector" = 512 then: 512

If "Bytes per Sector" = 4096 then: 4K

If "Bytes per Physical Sector" = 4096 then: 4K Emulated?

Read up: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2510009

My SSD is 512 wich explains why windows setup created 100MB partition not 260MB.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My SSD is 512 wich explains why windows setup created 100MB partition not 260MB.

I'm not sure if Windows Setup is actually that smart to do that by default. :rolleyes:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmm i see a hotfix coming :P : KB???????? - Windows setup creates ESP partition with incorrect size on advanced format (4K) drives on UEFI capable systems.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The sector size probably doesn't make any difference on SSDs though.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi , could someone help me ? just tell me if my autounattended is right please :)

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?><unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">    <servicing>        <package action="configure">            <assemblyIdentity name="Microsoft-Windows-LocalPack-CA-Package" version="6.1.7601.17514" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="" />            <selection name="LocalPack-CA" state="false" />        </package>    </servicing>    <settings pass="windowsPE">        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">            <SetupUILanguage>                <UILanguage>fr-FR</UILanguage>            </SetupUILanguage>            <InputLocale>fr-FR</InputLocale>            <UILanguage>fr-FR</UILanguage>            <UILanguageFallback>fr-FR</UILanguageFallback>            <UserLocale>fr-FR</UserLocale>            <LayeredDriver>1</LayeredDriver>            <SystemLocale>fr-FR</SystemLocale>        </component>        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">            <ComplianceCheck>                <DisplayReport>OnError</DisplayReport>            </ComplianceCheck>            <DiskConfiguration>                <WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>                <Disk wcm:action="remove">                    <CreatePartitions>                        <CreatePartition wcm:action="add">                            <Type>Primary</Type>                            <Order>1</Order>                            <Extend>true</Extend>                        </CreatePartition>                    </CreatePartitions>                    <ModifyPartitions>                        <ModifyPartition wcm:action="add">                            <Active>true</Active>                            <Format>NTFS</Format>                            <Label>SYSTEM</Label>                            <Order>1</Order>                            <PartitionID>1</PartitionID>                            <Letter>C</Letter>                        </ModifyPartition>                    </ModifyPartitions>                    <DiskID>0</DiskID>                    <WillWipeDisk>true</WillWipeDisk>                </Disk>            </DiskConfiguration>            <DynamicUpdate>                <Enable>true</Enable>            </DynamicUpdate>            <UserData>                <ProductKey>                    <WillShowUI>Never</WillShowUI>                </ProductKey>                <AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>                <FullName>AFPA</FullName>                <Organization>AFPA</Organization>            </UserData>            <ImageInstall>                <OSImage>                    <InstallFrom>                        <MetaData wcm:action="add">                            <Key>/IMAGE/INDEX</Key>                            <Value>1</Value>                        </MetaData>                    </InstallFrom>                    <InstallTo>                        <DiskID>0</DiskID>                        <PartitionID>1</PartitionID>                    </InstallTo>                </OSImage>            </ImageInstall>        </component>    </settings>    <settings pass="specialize">        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">            <Themes>                <DefaultThemesOff>true</DefaultThemesOff>            </Themes>            <WindowsFeatures>                <ShowMediaCenter>false</ShowMediaCenter>            </WindowsFeatures>            <ComputerName>pc-00000-00</ComputerName>            <RegisteredOrganization>AFPA</RegisteredOrganization>            <RegisteredOwner>AFPA</RegisteredOwner>            <ShowWindowsLive>false</ShowWindowsLive>            <TimeZone>Central Europe Standard Time</TimeZone>        </component>        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-IE-InternetExplorer" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">            <CompanyName>AFPA</CompanyName>            <DisableFirstRunWizard>true</DisableFirstRunWizard>            <Home_Page>http://www.afpa.fr</Home_Page>            <PlaySound>false</PlaySound>            <Window_Title_CN>l'AFPA</Window_Title_CN>            <FavoritesDelete>true</FavoritesDelete>        </component>        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Fax-Service" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="NonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">            <Fax>                <ArchiveFaxes>false</ArchiveFaxes>                <IncomingFaxesArePublic>false</IncomingFaxesArePublic>            </Fax>            <FaxUnattend>                <ReceiveFaxes>false</ReceiveFaxes>            </FaxUnattend>        </component>    </settings>    <settings pass="oobeSystem">        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">            <InputLocale>fr-FR</InputLocale>            <SystemLocale>fr-FR</SystemLocale>            <UILanguage>fr-FR</UILanguage>            <UILanguageFallback>fr-FR</UILanguageFallback>            <UserLocale>fr-FR</UserLocale>        </component>        <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">            <AutoLogon>                <Password>                    <Value>UABhAHMAcwB3AG8AcgBkAA==</Value>                    <PlainText>false</PlainText>                </Password>                <Enabled>true</Enabled>                <LogonCount>999999999</LogonCount>                <Username>afpa</Username>            </AutoLogon>            <OOBE>                <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>                <HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>true</HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>                <NetworkLocation>Work</NetworkLocation>                <ProtectYourPC>1</ProtectYourPC>            </OOBE>			<FirstLogonCommands>				<SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">					<CommandLine>mkdir %systemdrive%\FLOGONok</CommandLine>					<Description>Make Directory</Description>					<Order>1</Order>					</SynchronousCommand>				<SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">					<CommandLine>FOR %i IN (C D E F G H I J K L N M O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z) DO IF EXIST %i:\AppsRoot.txt SETX AppsRoot %i: -m</CommandLine>					<Description>Root</Description>					<Order>2</Order>					</SynchronousCommand>				<SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">					<CommandLine>start /wait /i %AppsRoot%\install\install.bat ALLUSERS=1 /qb! /norestart</CommandLine>					<Description>7zip</Description>					<Order>3</Order>					</SynchronousCommand>			</FirstLogonCommands>            <UserAccounts>                <AdministratorPassword>                    <Value>QABmAHAAYQBQAOkAZABhAGcAbwBBAGQAbQBpAG4AaQBzAHQAcgBhAHQAbwByAFAAYQBzAHwBvAHIAZAA=</Value>                    <PlainText>false</PlainText>                </AdministratorPassword>                <LocalAccounts>                    <LocalAccount wcm:action="add">                        <Password>                            <Value>UABhAHMAcwB3AG8AcgBkAA==</Value>                            <PlainText>false</PlainText>                        </Password>                        <Description>Stagiaire AFPA</Description>                        <DisplayName>Stagiaire AFPA</DisplayName>                        <Group>Administrators</Group>                        <Name>afpa</Name>                    </LocalAccount>                </LocalAccounts>            </UserAccounts>            <VisualEffects>                <FontSmoothing>ClearType</FontSmoothing>            </VisualEffects>            <WindowsFeatures>                <ShowMediaCenter>false</ShowMediaCenter>            </WindowsFeatures>            <TimeZone>Central Europe Standard Time</TimeZone>            <RegisteredOrganization>AFPA</RegisteredOrganization>            <RegisteredOwner>AFPA</RegisteredOwner>            <ShowWindowsLive>false</ShowWindowsLive>					</component>    </settings>    <cpi:offlineImage cpi:source="wim:f:/sources/install.wim#Windows 7 PROFESSIONAL" xmlns:cpi="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:cpi" /></unattend>
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We aren't WSIM... :rolleyes:

Is there something not working with your file?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.