Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

[Guide] Win7/Server SP1 - Removal With Vlite and RT Lite

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
210 replies to this topic

#26
nant15

nant15

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 31-July 05

@aviv00

Thanks for your effort for the guide, I have tried your method and get the windows to boot without WinSxS (with 2.66GB size) - but unfortunately I cannot install Live messenger because of C Runtime Error (something related to CRT assembly blah blah blah) am i doing something wrong???

please help - i have attached my vlite.ini file in case you want to take a look. BTW, can you share yours?


np

i just tested it and its working
here my ini test it


Thanks - testing now.

Edit:
Sorry - you .ini did not contain removal of WinSxS - is that correct?

Edited by nant15, 14 February 2010 - 02:01 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 989 posts
  • Joined 02-April 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
yea its ok just add winsxs

i just remove winsxs after applying this ini that why its not appear

Edited by aviv00, 14 February 2010 - 02:12 PM.


#28
nant15

nant15

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 31-July 05

yea its ok just add winsxs

i just remove winsxs after applying this ini that why its not appear


No luck :( does not work for me..

will try with kb947821 again tomorrow

Attached Files

  • Attached File  nope.jpg   90.4KB   133 downloads


#29
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 989 posts
  • Joined 02-April 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
u did install kb947821 ? and then try install msn ?

#30
Junior2613

Junior2613

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Joined 21-June 09
Thanks for this aviv :D does this mean removal of IE8 via vlite is do-able now ?

#31
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 989 posts
  • Joined 02-April 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks for this aviv :D does this mean removal of IE8 via vlite is do-able now ?


try with win integrator

http://www.msfn.org/...win-integrator/

#32
dead0

dead0

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Joined 29-October 06
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
aviv00, if i may, i would like to use your winsxs removal suggestions in my next guide update for x64/r2?

#33
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 989 posts
  • Joined 02-April 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

aviv00, if i may, i would like to use your winsxs removal suggestions in my next guide update for x64/r2?


ofc dead0 np at all

after all that belong to all the ppls that help here too :D

#34
Photek

Photek

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 12-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi! first post here, been using vlite/nlite for many years, but never been able to reduce winsxs to a realistic size.

Tried this with 32-bit Ultimate, nothing extreme. Removed winsxs, languages, tablet, speech, drivers. ISO size 1.5 GB, C:\windows is 2.5 GB.
I have tried installing it twice in VMWare.

Some updates work, not all.

I think I'm doing something wrong with KB947821 (28.9 MB).
It's a folder with 8 .exe files, which I have manually started, and that makes them extract .cab files to separate folders in C:\ , which now looks pretty cluttered...

Am I using the right KB, and am I supposed to just start all 8 .exe files?

Edited by Photek, 12 March 2010 - 10:03 AM.


#35
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 989 posts
  • Joined 02-April 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi! first post here, been using vlite/nlite for many years, but never been able to reduce winsxs to a realistic size.

Tried this with 32-bit Ultimate, nothing extreme. Removed winsxs, languages, tablet, speech, drivers. ISO size 1.5 GB, C:\windows is 2.5 GB.
I have tried installing it twice in VMWare.

Some updates work, not all.

I think I'm doing something wrong with KB947821 (28.9 MB).
It's a folder with 8 .exe files, which I have manually started, and that makes them extract .cab files to separate folders in C:\ , which now looks pretty cluttered...

Am I using the right KB, and am I supposed to just start all 8 .exe files?


try to reinstall them again after u did restart
sometime same update dont install with another updates
but in the end all got installed

Edited by aviv00, 13 March 2010 - 07:07 PM.


#36
morgun

morgun
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 14-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
[/quote]

try to reinstall them again after u did restart
sometime same update dont install with another updates
but in the end all got installed
[/quote]

Windows6.1-KB971033-x86 also needs C:\Windows\winsxs\x86_microsoft-windows-wmi-cmiplugin_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_none_bcd8e30a8d5b6227\wmicmiplugin.dll

#37
Photek

Photek

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 12-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thank you for your help.

I have restarted several times, but there are five of them that I can't install.

Also, can someone confirm that KB947821 is supposed to be installed in seven different folders directly in C:\ , see attachment. It just looks strange.

Attached Files



#38
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 989 posts
  • Joined 02-April 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@Photek
i think its might be cos ur config
maybe u removed something important with vlite [not include winsxs]
test it with my config

Edited by aviv00, 17 March 2010 - 05:39 PM.


#39
Photek

Photek

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 12-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks, I will try it later on.

Here's my .ini

Attached Files


Edited by Photek, 17 March 2010 - 06:44 PM.


#40
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 989 posts
  • Joined 02-April 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks, I will try it later on.

Here's my .ini

looks like mine
its original iso ?

#41
Photek

Photek

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 12-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

looks like mine
its original iso ?

Yep, from my MSDNAA account.

Can it have something to do with what you have under [Protection]?

Edited by Photek, 18 March 2010 - 09:28 AM.


#42
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 989 posts
  • Joined 02-April 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


looks like mine
its original iso ?

Yep, from my MSDNAA account.

Can it have something to do with what you have under [Protection]?


its might yea

#43
Photek

Photek

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 12-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
-Is audit.exe supposed to do anything else (visually) than complaining that something isn't working?

I've used your .ini, but it still doesn't work.

1 - Use vlite with 7_new.ini, apply and shut down.
2 - Use vlite and remove winsxs, create .iso.

3 - Install Windows, installation stops, run msoobe.exe, run audit.exe, restart.
4 - Install KB947821, restart.

5 - Start WU, installs KB977165 and Malicious Software Removal Tool, but KB976098 fails.
6 - Restart, but the last update won't install.
7 - Manually download the missing update, but it still won't install. Not that the last update is crucial,
but without installing the first updates that shows there's no way to get the other fifteen updates that shows up later on after a restart.

#44
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 989 posts
  • Joined 02-April 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
so just KB976098 wont install ?
i think i had that too its ok i guess its time saving update
but if u wanna full updatability ask alex or the guys here
for their ini

about audit yea windows msg appear and its will restart

Edited by aviv00, 18 March 2010 - 07:20 PM.


#45
Photek

Photek

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 12-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Exactly, that update isn't important, but the thing is that every time you update W7 for the first time you get a few updates first, and after a successful install and restart you'll see maybe 15 more updates.
I'm stuck at the very first updates.


Thank you aviv00 for helping me! :thumbup

Edited by Photek, 18 March 2010 - 08:11 PM.


#46
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 989 posts
  • Joined 02-April 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
np :)
anyway if u would like to install them all u could just integrate them with win integrator
and then start vliting it :)

#47
Photek

Photek

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 12-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I got WUpdate working! Tried to get the KB947821 from microsoft catalogue, but that didn't work. Everybody said WU wasn't working so I didn't see a reason to try it.. Almost a catch 22.

Anyway, the winsxs is never empty or gone, and KB947821 adds 5500 folders but but the number of files stays the same.

Not interested in integrating since it only makes it complete until the next update comes, so I prefer a working WU.


aviv00: just one more question, can you see something wrong with this .ini? It can't find a driver when starting install process.

Attached Files



#48
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 989 posts
  • Joined 02-April 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Manual Install (Setup.exe)
i think
did u recover setup.exe from d:\source to iso ?

#49
Photek

Photek

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • Joined 12-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
aviv00: You're right. I thought it was only needed when upgrading.

#50
jackinv

jackinv

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 26-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Am I reading this correctly? I just need to mount the wim, delete Pending.XML, commit and unmount then make a bootable disk in vlite? I did that and my Winsxs came out to be something like 1.75gb the same as it was before I deleted Pending.XML :|




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users