Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Desktop Application Loading

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
Darkforce1

Darkforce1
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 08-October 09
I NEED HELP PLEASE !

Today, I had to re-install Windows XP PRO 64 Bit (Fresh new install) and all of the usual software (Anti-virus, anti-spyware, etc, etc) and updating everything because my raid array failed (RAID 0 + 1). Two out of the four Western digital hard drives went bad on me within a few hours. They must have been mishandled in shipping or something. Since most or all of my data was gone, I replaced all of my existing drives by 4 new WD RE3 enterprise edition hard drives and started from scratch. Re-installing Windows was a breeze and all of my other applications installed correctly. Here's my issue:

While starting back up again after installing an update, the computer froze in the desktop (I can move the mouse) while loading the applications in the lower right corner and the hourglass is showing all the time. Has anybody ever had this issue before; if so, any help would be greatly appreciated at this point. Thanks a lot !

PS - I have tried to repair Windows and the repair was successful but the same problem occurs as before. When the system is ready to load the desktop, it appears but the applications do not completely load and the hourglass appears where the pointer of my mouse was and it freezes there (I can still move it). Even the system time doesn't update. So I have to reset the computer again & again with no result.

Edited by Darkforce1, 08 December 2009 - 01:21 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
What does booting into safe mode do?
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#3
Darkforce1

Darkforce1
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 08-October 09

What does booting into safe mode do?


Thank You for replying. The system boots fine in safe mode and the desktop runs good but there are limited applications that load (antivirus only) on the right side. I can do malware & anti-virus scans while in safe mode; I can also update the spyware program (Malwarebytes) but cannot update the anti-virus one. I'm using Symantec Endpoint protection (V.11.0 64 Bit Corporate Edition). I will investigate this further. When I let the computer start normally, it will take me 2 or 3 re-boots to get a working desktop but the Intel Raid Manager will be checking and/or repairing the database every single time. I've had a Raid 0 on my son's computer for about 2 years now with no hitches at all; why is it so difficult to manage & maintain this RAID 0+1; Is it because of the 64 Bit OS ?

#4
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
OK, now that we know things work in safe mode (at least as far as windows goes), let's get a crash dump of the system in a regular boot - you'll need to make some changes and reboot before you actually create the crash via the keyboard, and you'll need to have a PS/2 keyboard attached (or be using a laptop) - this will NOT work with a keyboard plugged into the USB port:

Memory dump of the entire system:

1. Create or set the following registry value:
Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\i8042prt\Parameters
Value: CrashOnCtrlScroll
Type: REG_DWORD
Data: 1

2. Right-Click on the "My Computer" icon on the desktop and select "Properties", then click the "Advanced tab. On the "Advanced" tab, click "Settings" under the "Performance" header. Click the "Advanced" tab, then click "Change" under "Virtual Memory". Set the pagefile to be located on the partition where the OS is installed, and set it to be equal to Physical RAM + 50 MB.

3. Also in the "System Properties" window on the "Advanced" tab, click the "Settings" buttun under the "Startup and Recovery" header. Make sure "Complete Memory Dump" is selected (see 3a if this is not in the list). You can change the location of the memory dump file to a different local partition if you do not have enough room on the partition where the OS is installed.

3a. If the "Complete Memory Dump" option in step 3 is not available, you will need to manually set this registry value:

Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\CrashControl
Value: CrashDumpEnabled
Type: REG_DWORD
Value: 1

4. You will need to reboot for these changes to take effect.

5. The next time that the system is exhibiting the problem, hold down the RIGHT CTRL key and press the SCROLL LOCK key twice on your PS/2 keyboard to cause the machine to bugcheck (crash) and create a memory dump. After the box comes back up and you log back in (you may need to boot info safe mode w/ networking), you'll find the resulting memory dump file in %systemroot%\memory.dmp that can be copied off, zipped up, and uploaded somewhere so we can have a look at it.


Basically, these are ripped from the creating memory dumps post in this forum, for reference:
http://www.msfn.org/...ps-t130003.html
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users