Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Trace Windows 7 boot/shutdown/hibernate/standby/resume issues

slow Boot bootvis performance

  • Please log in to reply
1198 replies to this topic

#26
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,941 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Hi, your Windows needs 11s to shutdown. You have notepad.exe open which takes 4s to close and I can see that the WindowsUpdate service is unresponsive.
Posted Image


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
dypsis

dypsis
  • Member
  • 6 posts

Hi, your Windows needs 11s to shutdown. You have notepad.exe open which takes 4s to close and I can see that the WindowsUpdate service is unresponsive.

I don't usually have notepad.exe open.
I probably had the command copied to it, but it is not usually open at shutdown.

Why would WindowsUpdate service be unresponsive?

#28
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,250 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I did notice one thing by zooming in close on the processes running from about 2 seconds into the trace to the EndShell notification for session 1 (this is where the bulk of the time is - from end shell to the end of the trace is only about 3 seconds). What I noticed is that only 4 processes sustain throughout, with one of them being one I expected to shut down much quicker - the 4 processes are LogonUI.exe, dwm.exe, explorer.exe, and taskhost.exe. It's not abnormal for these to be running, but for them to stick around for so long with no other obvious disk or memory I/O, no other process, driver, or even generic events, leads me to believe one of these 4 might be a problem. I noticed that the nvidia driver unloaded at around 4.5 seconds, and the nvsvc.exe process stopped at ~6 seconds, so I doubt it's dwm. LogonUI will exist until you are completely logged out, so that's likely out as well. explorer.exe still being around for the bulk of it is also pretty normal, so something is keeping the shell open for what appears to be all but 3 seconds of the entire trace of what I'm guessing is a problem to close down your logon session. I doubt it's notepad, and the Windows Update service being unresponsive isn't exactly abnormal anyway (it's supposed to be handled by services.exe, not during shell shutdown - it hasn't even been asked to stop yet, likely).

I actually think it's possible that you might be hitting a variant of this. I've never seen it on an English-language install before, but that doesn't mean it can't happen :) - I see that taskhost.exe is indeed still running MsCtfMonitor::ThreadProc while the ShutdownTasksThreadProc is running, so.... it's possible that this is it.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#29
dypsis

dypsis
  • Member
  • 6 posts
So which was the process that you expected to shut down much quicker?
Is it taskhost.exe?

What is the cause of this?

Edited by dypsis, 10 June 2010 - 07:42 PM.


#30
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,250 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Dunno specifically - seems to be an msctfime issue. The hotfix is supposed to fix it.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#31
WMassey

WMassey
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

The SSD is a OCZSSD2-1VTXLE100G. It sure seems compatible with the motherboard since absolutely all disk-related aspects of the system are operating perfectly. It is running in IDE mode so that I can still boot to and use the XP SATA HDD while I get the Win7 bugs ironed out.


I had a second identical SSD installed in another computer here. In this other computer (with an ABIT motherboard) this second SSD did not exhibit this problem. I tried moving the second SSD to the problem system and it behaved just like the first SSD; it too would hang when the system restarted from standby. That would seem to say that the problem is probably not a defective SSD.

The Gigabyte motherboard in the problem system, in addition to the six SATA ports hanging off the Intel ICH10R south bridge, also has two SATA ports hanging off a “Gigabyte SATA 2 chip” and I finally got around to trying the SSD off one of those two ports and I’m happy to report that it does not experience this problem when run in this manner. I have a solution that I can live with.

#32
Kullenen_Ask

Kullenen_Ask

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 326 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Can somebody give a look to my etl files and tell whats going on. Startmenu shutdown buttun doesn't work :)

http://hotfile.com/d...8/Test.rar.html

http://rapidshare.co...495929/Test.rar mirror

Edited by Kullenen_Ask, 07 July 2010 - 06:40 AM.


#33
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,941 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

The files are not complete. Those 2 etl files will normally be merged to a shutdown_BASE+CSWITCH+DRIVERS+POWER_1.etl. Which hardware/software do you use?
Posted Image

#34
Kullenen_Ask

Kullenen_Ask

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 326 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

The files are not complete. Those 2 etl files will normally be merged to a shutdown_BASE+CSWITCH+DRIVERS+POWER_1.etl. Which hardware/software do you use?


i am trying to solve reboot-shutdown issues in winpe3 environment. start menu butons doesn't work. After i read your topic i thought maybe it can be usefull to solve shutdown issues in winpe with explorer enabled shell too. :blushing: it is not a real system. because of it is live environment there is not a possibility to take the data after reboot. i could only take theese. can it be possible to find missing files only with that data? i have related topic in winpe section.

http://www.msfn.org/...-from-winpe-30/

#35
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,941 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

This only works afaik on regular Windows versions, not PE.
Posted Image

#36
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,250 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Tracing requires a system with full ETL support, and you will not have full ETL support in WinPE as it's just meant for preinstallation of Windows and a recovery environment. There is some (mostly for disk and network tracing), but nothing equaling what is required to do a boot or shutdown (or even perf) tracing.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#37
tuxmask

tuxmask
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Just want to say thanks for the post. My windows 7 on ACER took 5 mins to go from ACER's screen to begin the boot process. The culprit turns out to be USBstor.sys (I think). I disable the USB and reinstall the driver, the problem went away.

#38
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,941 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

ok, great that you were able to find the cause :)
Posted Image

#39
supjack

supjack

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello

I have a fresh install of Window 7 x64 thats a guest on a vmware ESX 4 host. Windows 7 has been patched and has QB 2010 installed. A couple of other smaller supporting apps have also been installed but basically the PC is just to be used for QB. Shut down is problematic and takes for ever. I did some searching via Google and came across this thread.

I've followed the the information for installing the MS tool to create a trace of whats going on in the system and I opened the files to see if I could find the issue without posting linking the file here.

However after looking at the program I realize I'm not savvy enough to look through the displayed information and determine what is the root cause of my issue.

Now my issue is getting the files out there on the internet so someone here can look at it and then assist hopefully me. The problem is that I'm not 100% sure I want this information out in the public as I'm unsure what can be gleamed from what I put out there to put the PC or the network its on in jeopardy. Can someone post up some more details about the contents of files and on making them public?

Also, do not have LiveID or a Rapidshare account. I can open an account on Rapid share but I did not want to do unless I was more comfortable with the this.

#40
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,941 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

zip the etl and use a password. Now upload it and send me the link per Personal Message.
Posted Image

#41
Prodeje79

Prodeje79

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

zip the etl and use a password. Now upload it and send me the link per Personal Message.


Your PM won't accept msgs?

What risk is there if you do not password protect it?

#42
Prodeje79

Prodeje79

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


zip the etl and use a password. Now upload it and send me the link per Personal Message.


Your PM won't accept msgs?

What risk is there if you do not password protect it?


Went ahead and passworded it, but how to I tell you the password?

Thanks!!!!

http://cid-5f415a3ae2fd7692.skydrive.live.com/redir.aspx?resid=5F415A3AE2FD7692!257&Bpub=SDX.Docs&Bsrc=GetSharingLink

Windows 7 Pro 64bit
It takes about 30 minutes to boot up after the windows 7 startupscreen comes and goes to black screen for 30 mins or so

ASUS P5N32-E SLI nvidia 680i chipset using onboard NIC and included sound card
Intel E6750
Corsair 2x1GB XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400C5
SAPPHIRE 100186L Radeon X1950XT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

It seems I started having trouble after trying to update ATI drivers and using ATI traytool and/or rays traytool to try to speed up fan on vid card. I attempted to remove but it doesn't seem to remove nicely perhaps.

Your help greatly appreciated!

#43
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,941 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the log is not complete, from what I see (without extracting it). What is shown in the log?
Posted Image

#44
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,941 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

@supjack

I got your Trace and the shutdown hangs because of Clearing the Hibernation file (ZeroHiberFile). This takes 430 seconds.

  <interval name="WaitForWinstationShutdown" startTime="5855" endTime="6200" duration="345" /> 
  <interval name="PreShutdownNotification" startTime="6733" endTime="9562" duration="2829" /> 
  <interval name="NtShutdownSystem" startTime="14569" endTime="450322" duration="435752" /> 
  <interval name="ZeroHiberFile" startTime="14595" endTime="444415" duration="429820" /> <---------

But I only know the registry entry ClearPageFileAtShutdown to clear the pagefile, but not the hibernation file. Have you used any kind of "Tweaking" tools?

Edited by MagicAndre1981, 26 July 2010 - 12:29 PM.

Posted Image

#45
Prodeje79

Prodeje79

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

the log is not complete, from what I see (without extracting it). What is shown in the log?


how did you get into the file without the password?

#46
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,941 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I opened it with my File Management tool. I showed my the file which are included. But without password I'm unable to extract the files.
Posted Image

#47
supjack

supjack

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

<br />@supjack<br /><br />I got your Trace and the shutdown hangs because of Clearing the Hibernation file (ZeroHiberFile). This takes 430 seconds.<br /><br />

<br />
 &lt;interval name=&quot;WaitForWinstationShutdown&quot; startTime=&quot;5855&quot; endTime=&quot;6200&quot; duration=&quot;345&quot; /&gt; <br />
 &lt;interval name=&quot;PreShutdownNotification&quot; startTime=&quot;6733&quot; endTime=&quot;9562&quot; duration=&quot;2829&quot; /&gt; <br />
 &lt;interval name=&quot;NtShutdownSystem&quot; startTime=&quot;14569&quot; endTime=&quot;450322&quot; duration=&quot;435752&quot; /&gt; <br />
 &lt;interval name=&quot;ZeroHiberFile&quot; startTime=&quot;14595&quot; endTime=&quot;444415&quot; duration=&quot;429820&quot; /&gt; &lt;---------<br />
<br /><br />But I only know the registry entry ClearPageFileAtShutdown to clear the pagefile, but not the hibernation file. Have you used any kind of &quot;Tweaking&quot; tools?<br />

<br /><br /><br />

This PC's only function was to be for a user to work with QuickBooks 2010 so all that was installed was:

Vmware tools (the PC is a guest on top of ESX 4.0 host)

QuickBooks 2010

Windows performance tool kit (installed for this issue)

BillP Winpatrol (installed for this issue)

F-Prot Anti-Virus

And a registry mod from this link found here when selecting the download button. But I got this and ran it after having the issue in question.
http://www.sevenforu...s-combined.html

Thanks for looking at this

#48
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,941 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Do you use the hibernation feature? If not, disable it and try if it shutdown faster.
Posted Image

#49
supjack

supjack

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm creating a ticket with vmware support right now because my gut tells me at this point that the vmware tools install could be the only thing thats been installed so far that could tweak things like this. I've also been looking power and performance setting in Win 7 but I need to review things first, MS has changed the interface so much I'm seeing that I need to re-learn things as well as finding where the gui interfaces to sub components are now located.

#50
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,941 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

use powercfg.exe first to disable hibernation. Does it speed up shutdown?
Posted Image





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: slow, Boot, bootvis, performance

3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN