Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Trace Windows 7 boot/shutdown/hibernate/standby/resume issues

slow Boot bootvis performance

  • Please log in to reply
1212 replies to this topic

#826
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Windwos still takes over 67s to boot to the desktop. I can see that the DNS client service reads the host file into a cache and this generate a heavy CPU usage (dnsrslvr.dll!LoadHostFileIntoCache and dnsrslvr.dll!Cache_RecordSetAtomic).

Do you use the host file to as ad blocker? How large is the host files?


Also the trace still shows MSE/defender as cause of a high HDD utilization.
Posted Image


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#827
jeked

jeked
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 04-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Regarding the MSE AND DEFENDER issue I'm T a loss as I have uninstalled MSE and didn't have defender running due to MSE so not sure ... I'll take a fresh look in the morning regarding both MSE and the hosts file but I don't use any ad blockers so should only be the default hosts file.

Thanks for help and be in touch soon (4:36am here).

EDIT #1:
Ok so i check my hosts file and i found why its so large. Spybot search and Destroy add hundreds/thousands of entries...should i remove these entries/spybot or would you recommend leaving that there?

Regarding the MSE/Defender issue im not sure as from what i can tell MSE is gone from my system and Defender isnt enabled.

EDIT #2:
On second look i found Defender still auto scanning and ON. Not sure how i missed it but will now re-time and post up ETL files a little later with the following command:
xbootmgr -trace boot -traceFlags BASE+CSWITCH+DRIVERS+POWER -stackwalk profile -resultPath C:\TEMP\6-Fix

Edited by jeked, 11 October 2012 - 04:29 AM.


#828
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

ok, Remove Spybot search and Destroy, disable Defender (go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows Defender set and DisableAntiSpyware to 1) and restore the original host file and make a new trace (with the stackwalk option)
Posted Image

#829
jeked

jeked
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 04-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Ok, done and done...

https://www.dropbox....ix3-boot-etl.7z

#830
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the new trace shows that Windows boots a bit faster:

<timing bootDoneViaExplorer="54218" bootDoneViaPostBoot="162418"postBootDisturbance="98200"


the main issue is still the large time needed to to start all applications at Windows logon. Try to disable all unnecessary programs .
Posted Image

#831
jeked

jeked
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 04-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

the new trace shows that Windows boots a bit faster:


<timing bootDoneViaExplorer="54218" bootDoneViaPostBoot="162418"postBootDisturbance="98200"


the main issue is still the large time needed to to start all applications at Windows logon. Try to disable all unnecessary programs .


This I don't understand as there are only 2 programs listed under msconfig to boot at startup and nothing in the startup folder... How would I go about searching out these other applications?

Thanks again,
Regards

#832
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

?

You run dropbox, teamviewer, Āµtorrent, stardock fences, Synaptics tools, TightVNC,

Also how large is your Windows search index? The service takes 28s to init. Set the starttyp to manual and create a scheduled task which starts the service (net start WSearch), let me say 3min after logon. See if this helps.
Posted Image

#833
Calippo

Calippo
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 15-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,

The start-up on my PC always feels slow, especially inbetween entering the password to log-on and the desktop. Running Windows 7 x64, 4GB RAM with an AMD Phenom II X3 720BE processor and an Asus motherboard.

I've enclosed the xbootmgr log, could you take a look at it and advise me how to improve it?

Thanks!

Dropbox

#834
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

ok, your Windows boots in 57s to the desktop. I can see a long delay in the WinLogonInit phase.

Here it takes nearly 24 to start the Audio service:

serviceTransition name="AudioSrv" group="AudioGroup" transition="start" totalTransitionTimeDelta="23745" 

Attached File  Audio_service.png   84.51KB   11 downloads

So try to update the audio drivers for your Creative SB X-Fi.
Posted Image

#835
Calippo

Calippo
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 15-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

ok, your Windows boots in 57s to the desktop. I can see a long delay in the WinLogonInit phase.

Here it takes nearly 24 to start the Audio service:

So try to update the audio drivers for your Creative SB X-Fi.


Ok, I've fully removed the previous driver and updated with the latest driver I could find (the only alternative was a beta) and re-ran the test.

Here's the updated files:

http://db.tt/7Xu4sSh6

Thanks for your help with this, it's appreciated.

Edited by Calippo, 15 October 2012 - 03:38 PM.


#836
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

you should do it. Otherwise I can't see when Windows is fully booted.
Posted Image

#837
Calippo

Calippo
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 15-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Yeah, realised I should do so the correct files are in my post above.

#838
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

ok. the new boot traces shows that it is faster. Only 42s to the desktop, but it still doesn't show the end:

- <timing bootDoneViaExplorer="42431" bootDoneViaPostBoot="-1" 

The Audio service now starts faster (only 1s).

But your disk is busy all the time. You also use MSE and this causes a high CPU and disk activity. Try a different tool like AVG, Avira or Avast. Also try the cleanup tools from Startup like the AMD CCC which is very slow to start. And do you need all logitech software right at boot? What is SABnzbd.exe? Do you need it?

I can also see that the prefetcher doesn't work perfectly. So follow my optimization guide I've linked in the first post. Install the hotfixes, reboot, run the new command to reboot the PC 6 times.

This should give you a large boost.
Posted Image

#839
Calippo

Calippo
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 15-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm not at home at the moment, so I won't be able to try your suggestions until later on.

ok. the new boot traces shows that it is faster. Only 42s to the desktop, but it still doesn't show the end:

- <timing bootDoneViaExplorer="42431" bootDoneViaPostBoot="-1" 

The Audio service now starts faster (only 1s).


The Creative drivers for Windows 7 have been a complete farce. Is the time to start this significantly worse than expected? I'm tempted to replace the card with another brand, this might be the tipping point.

But your disk is busy all the time. You also use MSE and this causes a high CPU and disk activity. Try a different tool like AVG, Avira or Avast.


I'll remove MSE and try Avira instead.

Also try the cleanup tools from Startup like the AMD CCC which is very slow to start. And do you need all logitech software right at boot? What is SABnzbd.exe? Do you need it?


AMD CCC and Logitech I use for gaming, neither of which are essential at the first point where the PC is booted. Do you think it would be best to use Task Scheduler to set these to open at boot with a delay?

SABnzbd.exe is a downloader program, having it run in the background is only a convenience. Same again with TS?

I can also see that the prefetcher doesn't work perfectly. So follow my optimization guide I've linked in the first post. Install the hotfixes, reboot, run the new command to reboot the PC 6 times.

This should give you a large boost.


Will do. Thanks for your help

#840
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the new times are ok. So the driver update was ok :)

For what do you use the CCC? 1 only use MSI Afterburner to reduce the fan speed. You can start it via task scheduler at 3 minutes after logon.

Have you done the optimization?
Posted Image

#841
Farcough

Farcough
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 30-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello, my PC is taking up to 4-5 mins to be fully ready after a boot. I have had a look through it and there seems to be a lot of stuff loading at the start, I have tried removing some of them but when I tried to run another trace I got the error message "Could not register for callback at the next boot", even after reinstalling the tool. Do you have any idea why it cant register now?

Thanks in advance for any insight.

Dropbox trace file

have pm'd password

Edit: The error message in the log is:

[2012/10/30-10:53:11.547] Performance Analyzer Power Transition Performance Testing Utility (Microsoft® Windows® Performance Analyzer) Version 6.2.9200 - © 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
[2012/10/30-10:53:11.549] Detected Win7RTM physical (ReadyBoot) prefetcher; the SysMain service is auto-started.
[2012/10/30-10:53:11.549] Registering for auto-run with a 120000 msec delay...
[2012/10/30-10:53:11.549] Failed to open auto-run reg key with 0x00000002.
[2012/10/30-10:53:11.549] Could not register for callback at next boot.

Edited by Farcough, 30 October 2012 - 04:54 AM.


#842
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

our disk is busy during boot. I can see that Avast causes it. So remove it and try other tools. My favorite is NOD32.

Also cleanup your tools that launch at start (All the ASUS tools, Pando Networks Media Booster and others).

Next install the hotfixes from here:

http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=152622

and run the optimization from here:

http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=140262
Posted Image

#843
luca72c

luca72c
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 25-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello, i find this topic really VERY interesting and i hope someone among you good guys can help me with a very annoying issue i am experiencing in my system, that is driving me mad and that i could not solve in a month of tries. I own an HTPC based on the following configuration:
AMD Phgenom II X4 945 CPU
MSI 990FXA-GD80 M/B
8Gb Corsair XMS3 DDR (2x4Gb)
Corsair AX-650 PSU
Samsung 256Gb 830 SATA SSD (2 partitions, system + data), AHCI SATA mode
Seagate 3Tb Barracuda SATA HDD with GPT table
ATI HD 5750 video card (2 displays attached)
Terratec Cinergy DVB-S2 card
Hauppauge HVR-2200 DVB-T card
Silverstone LC-16m case with Imon VFD + Imon Pad remote and USB card reader
Internal serial port, 1394 and eSATA ports enabled
Logitech USB Webcam, USB speakers and USB G110 illuminated keyboard
Toshiba laser mouse
Windows 7 x64 sp1, windows Media Center + DVBLink TV source, MST and various other programs.
Hibernation disabled
No overclok
I used this HTPC with much satisfaction from nearly 1 year, never experiencing an issue: i used to keep it in S3 mode 24/7 and it always got out from S3 state to record TV programs without any problem.
I installed the second drive, the 3Tb Seagate Barracuda, the first week of september. Then a day between the firsts of october i installed Mediaportal to give it a try; fearing system modifications by that software, i saved a backup image in my second drive. After a pair of days (or maybe at that time i noticed it for the first time), the issue has started.
The issue consists in a strange system freeze when the HTPC tries to wake up from S3: when the HTPC tries to exit S3 state the case led gets on, the HDD led blinks once or twice and then fans start running loudly and the HTPC freezes BEFORE the display can show any image (it remains black and goes to power saving mode) - power led on and HDD led off. No blue screen (the display is off). No memory dump. Keyboard's leds off. No manual crash dump possible. All i can do is keep power switch pressed until system complete shutdown.
But the really strange thing is that it happens ONLY once or twice a day, in the rest of the times the HTPC gets to wake up from S3 normally without any issue: it usually wakes up from S3 a number of times per day (7/8 minimum), but only 1/2 times the freeze issue happens (more often early in the morning or around twilight, seldom in other time slots)... Also, when on, the HTPC runs flawlessly as ever.
Thinking MP was guilty in some way, i restored the backup image but unfortunately the issue didn't disappear! So MP was no to blame... something different had happened to my PC...
I think you can understand that such an issue is really serious for an HTPC, because it makes it really untrustable for scheduled recording work: often recordings fail because of the HTPC freezing when it tries to resume... my wife is really sad about it...
Trying to solve the issue, i made the following:
running memtest and video card memory test - no error found
change nearly every MST options - no effect
reading carefully W7's event viewer logs after and between freezes - nothing found that could clarify the issue
changing all ACPI and power related BIOS options (C3 support, EUR 2013, CPU phases, DDR phases, shadowing, etc...) - no effect
updating BIOS and all drivers - no effect
disabling cool'n'quiet - no effect
unplugging Segate 3Tb HDD - no effect
unplugging all external and internal USB devices (except mouse) - no effect
uninstalling ATI video card and running with legacy drivers - no effect
disabling embedded Ethernet adapter - no effect
unplugging the second display (an HDTV) - no effect
tried to get a manual crash dump - not possible as when the issue happens the HTPC is freezed
Those tries took very long to be made, because every time i have to wait all day long for the issue to happen: it NEVER takes place if i wake up the HTPC after a few seconds sleep, seems like it needs at least a few hours of S3 state to take place. Unfortunatly this makes tracing the issue really difficult.
I got several tracings using the method described in this thread, the HTPC wakes up normally in that case but i can find nothing that can be blamed for the issue... maybe i don't know well what to look for... what i noticed is that if i try to trace using the DRIVERS flag, a blue screen appears at wake up (that blames hidusb.sys) if i keep my USB keyboard (an illuminated device) or USB speakers (that have media controls) plugged; if i unplug all USB devices the system exits S3 without blue screens and the tracing is succesful. BUT even this way after a day of sleep the issue takes place as well. No blue screen anyway if i avoid using the DRIVERS flag, even with all USB devices plugged. This is my last trace file, taken with USB devices unplugged and DRIVERS flag, so that you can have a look if you like to help me: https://rapidshare.c...RS+POWER_1.etl.
At this time i really don't know what i could do more: i reached my PC skills limit... a software related or W7 issue? An hardware compatibility problem? A power related misfunction? A background Windows update changed system behaviour? Maybe solar magnetic field increasing? I don't know if there is a more efficent way to debug the S3 resume and find out what really my HTPC is doing in the exact time it freezes, if you can suggest me anything it would be REALLY very appreciated! Please help me to find out what the hell happened in that SAD october days!!!
Thanks in advance and forgive my long post: i wanted to describe well my problem to help you analyze the issue...

Edited by luca72c, 06 November 2012 - 05:59 PM.


#844
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

xbootmgr is only useful for detecting perf issues and not freezes.

try a different PSU and look for a BIOS update
Posted Image

#845
luca72c

luca72c
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 25-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

xbootmgr is only useful for detecting perf issues and not freezes.

try a different PSU and look for a BIOS update


I updated my BIOS 2 times last month and now i have the latest version, but no update was useful. My PSU is one of the best you can find on the market, i bought it to avoid this kind of issues... what else could i buy? Seasonic? But my PSU actually IS Seasonic-manufactured!
I understand what you say about xbootmgr, but as long as you know is there some other tool that can debug this kind of issues?
Thank you anyway!

#846
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

to detect freezes you must create a dump of the complete system and analyze it with the Debugger, but this is very hard.
Posted Image

#847
luca72c

luca72c
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 25-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

to detect freezes you must create a dump of the complete system and analyze it with the Debugger, but this is very hard.


Could you help me in doing this? I don't know how to do it... how could i create a dump of the system while resuming from S3 if the PC freezes?

#848
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

http://msdn.microsof...9(v=vs.85).aspx

But I have no experience in analyzing such dump to get the cause of freezes.
Posted Image

#849
luca72c

luca72c
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 25-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/ff545499%28v=vs.85%29.aspx

But I have no experience in analyzing such dump to get the cause of freezes.


I tried the described manual crash dump method, but when the PC tries to resume it hangs before keyboard is activated and at that freeze point the CTRL+BLCSCR keypresses are useless...

#850
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,027 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I have no real idea. Contact the Microsoft support to get support about your issue.
Posted Image





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: slow, Boot, bootvis, performance

2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN