Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

How to speed up boot process under Windows Vista or Windows 7

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
663 replies to this topic

#401
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,133 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

can you make a normal trace with the commands I posted in the other topic?
Posted Image


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#402
eki91

eki91

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 28-February 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
sry..which command do u mean?

#403
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,133 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the boot trace command from here:

http://www.msfn.org/...yresume-issues/

Does this work or does it also fail?
Posted Image

#404
Icerise

Icerise
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 26-January 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi, Andre!

First of all, Thanks for your great Tutorial :)

After having some problems with getting some "prefetch" erros, i managed to run all 6 rounds.

It would be great if you could have a look on my last .etl file and tell me if there are some more optimation options.

http://www.mediafire...6r7uf5zkoremv8x

Thanks, Icerise

Edited by Icerise, 26 January 2012 - 05:35 PM.


#405
eki91

eki91

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 28-February 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
still the same..rhe same error pop out...

Attached Files

  • Attached File  22.JPG   64.2KB   7 downloads

Edited by eki91, 26 January 2012 - 06:17 PM.


#406
Icerise

Icerise
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 26-January 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hey eki91,

i got the same error until i tried using the cmd.exe without explicit Admin rights. (Checked SuperFetch, Registry etc. befor, but didn't work..)
My user account has Admin rights, so i tried it out, and it worked for me.
Perhaps that works for u too.

Ice

Edited by Icerise, 27 January 2012 - 05:21 AM.


#407
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,133 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

.It would be great if you could have a look on my last .etl file and tell me if there are some more optimation options.http://www.mediafire.com/?6r7uf5zkoremv8xThanks, Icerise


GData causes several HDD reads so that the HDD is busy.

Next you run your HDDs in IDE Mode, change to AHCI

Device Description, Device Id, Device Friendly Name
Laufwerk, ,
, IDE\DISKST3160827AS_____________________________3.42____\5&F437AB5&0&0.0.0, ST3160827AS ATA Device
, IDE\DISKWDC_WD6400AAKS-00A7B2___________________01.03B01\5&F437AB5&0&0.1.0, WDC WD6400AAKS-00A7B2 ATA Device


Also remove tools like the Adobe loader from startup.

@eki91

have you installed the hotfixes for Windows 7?
Posted Image

#408
eki91

eki91

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 28-February 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
>Ice
will try it later..

>andre
which hot fixes do u mean..
i dont really do window update..only do it when there's important fixes..
can u specifies it?some links perhaps..

#409
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,133 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

always install all updates!

Look in the first post in this topic. You can find a link to a topic where I posted some Windows 7 hotfixes which fix slow startup issues. Install them all.
Posted Image

#410
eki91

eki91

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 28-February 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
>Ice
still the same for me..not working..

>andre
i end up installing all the updates from window update
and installing the hot fixes too..
but still not working..
i quite strange since i can used it before without problem..
until last months..
maybe got something to do with sp1 update??
:wacko:

#411
Icerise

Icerise
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 26-January 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks Andre,

i will check this out.

Ice

#412
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,133 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

try this:

http://social.msdn.m...d6-e466c07e1a2f
Posted Image

#413
eki91

eki91

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 28-February 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
>Andre
i tried change the registry value but still the same...
btw i do some google and end up on a thread..
http://forum.lowyat....c/1606856/ 1940
there is a post about troubleshoot for this anyway..
i follow it but i just dont get the part for HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\SysMain 0
i donno which one need to be set to 0..
the other modification is just the same as in the link site provided..
here the screenshot for my registry value..

Attached Files

  • Attached File  4444.JPG   86.69KB   4 downloads


#414
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,133 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the value 2 is fine for "Start". Are you sure the service is started and running?

Delete the pf files in the prefetch folder and run
Rundll32.exe advapi32.dll,ProcessIdleTasks
10 times.
Posted Image

#415
eki91

eki91

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 28-February 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
positive..see screenshot..
sorry..did u mean prefetch folder in c?
C:\Windows\Prefetch
and do u mean all the pf files?
since its in windows folder i need confirmation 1st..

Attached Files

  • Attached File  22.JPG   76.11KB   5 downloads

Edited by eki91, 31 January 2012 - 06:37 AM.


#416
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,133 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

yes the prefetch folder in C:\Windows
Posted Image

#417
eki91

eki91

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 28-February 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
tried to delete all the pf n run the command..
but when try to do the boot trace the error still the same..donno why.. :blink:

#418
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,133 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

have you run the rundll32.exe command 10 times?
Posted Image

#419
eki91

eki91

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 28-February 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
yup..but still the same..

#420
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,133 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the topic you linked says nothing about HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\SysMain, it talks about other keys. Are those keys correct?
Posted Image

#421
eki91

eki91

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 28-February 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
i think he quotting it from other source,..
i decided to pm sarf2k4(the one who post it)
this how the reply goes..

Hi,

kindly refer to this blog post of mine about WPT,

http://sarf2k4.blogs...oolkit-wpt.html

My laptop has been very slow at booting lately and running WPT won't do any good as well, this problem mainly lies on windows update I believe, but I didn't say that u should stop windows update, maybe there's something going on with the original win7 home premium bundled with this machine.

I've verified about the changing registry in for the wpt to work, but i've confirmed that it's a fake wpt optimization, usually, after u format the pc or installed a full windows update after the format, u would run the wpt, but as the time goes by, the wpt stopped working, even for me and i dont think there's a solution to make the wpt optimizes ur laptop even with the registry fixes

hope this information helps

he said about try to defrag 1~2 times bfore doing the boot trace in the blog...

Edited by eki91, 01 February 2012 - 09:55 PM.


#422
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,133 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

does it work? Does using defrag.exe solves it?
Posted Image

#423
JimmyBoy

JimmyBoy
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 02-February 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,

Im wondering if anyone would be able to help me out?

Ive been following the guide at:
http://www.msfn.org/...yresume-issues/

I run this code, and let it finish.
xbootmgr -trace standby -traceFlags BASE+CSWITCH+DRIVERS+POWER -resultPath C:\TEMP

I then run this code to create a summary.xml file
xperf /tti -i standby_BASE+CSWITCH+DRIVERS+POWER_1.etl -o summary_sleep.xml -a suspend

which always results in this error message and an empty .xml file

C:\Temp>xperf /tti -i standby_BASE+CSWITCH+DRIVERS+POWER_1.etl -o summary_sleep.
xml -a suspend
xperf: warning: applying restriction of access for trace processing
                33288636 Events were lost in this trace.  Data may be unreliable
.
                This is usually caused by insufficient disk bandwidth for ETW lo
gging.
                Please try increasing the minimum and maximum number of buffers
and/or
                the buffer size.  Doubling these values would be a good first at
tempt.
                Please note, though, that this action increases the amount of me
mory
                reserved for ETW buffers, increasing memory pressure on your sce
nario.
                See "xperf -help start" for the associated command line options.


C:\Temp>

I read somewhere you may need to increase the pagefile size, which I have done, increasing it from 2047 (Windows default) to 8192 - this made no difference. I also read that you need to turn UAC on (I had it off at first), but this also made no difference for me. I also read you may need to increase buffer sizes, but I dont know how to do this? I am running on a Crucial 64GB Real SSD, connected to SATA 6GB connection using AHCI.

A brief history:

I am trying to locate what is possibly causing my PC to be slower at sleep/startup than it should be. After a lot of faffing around and getting nowhere I have done a complete reinstall of windows 7 x86 Enterprise and just have the bare essential drivers installed - LAN, Audio, AHCI, ACPI and nVidia graphics card drivers (all the latest drivers). In this configuration, I timed my sleep/resume times (using a goold old fashioned stopwatch!) and found that my sleep times were averaging 12-15 seconds (Hybrid sleep) and my resume times were 5-7 seconds. This is what I am using as a benchmark for future tests.

Now I install my TV card (Blackgold BGT3595) and as soon as I install the drivers for this card (latest drivers from manufacturers website) I see a delay in my sleep/resume times. Sleep times are now 17-31 seconds and resume times are 12-21 seconds - a big difference in comparison to the times before these drivers where installed.

I would really like to have the summary .xml file for me to identify exactly where the problems lie, and also so I could use as evidence to provide to Blackgold incase it turns out it is deffinately related to thier drivers, then the information in the summary .xml file could be of use to them in determining where the problem lies, and hopefully coming up with a solution.

The .etl file that is generated is 779MB and would be too large (I think) to send to them so the summary.xml file is my best bet I think, but as I say above, I cannot create the summary .xml file for some reason.

I can open .etl file and view the contents, but I have no clue in what I am doing and how to interpret the information displayed to me.

I can provide a quick snapshot here of Driver Delays, does this look normal or wrong ?
Posted Image

Also, on a side note, I noticed in the power settings where you can define what the power buttons do, before I installed the TV Card drivers I had a "Power Button" option, but after installing the drivers I had a "Power Button" and "Sleep Button" options. I found this a little confusing I just thought I would mention in here for consistency.

Thanks in advance for any help!!

#424
eki91

eki91

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 28-February 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

does it work? Does using defrag.exe solves it?


nop..still not working,.

#425
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,133 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Now I install my TV card (Blackgold BGT3595) and as soon as I install the drivers for this card (latest drivers from manufacturers website) I see a delay in my sleep/resume times. Sleep times are now 17-31 seconds and resume times are 12-21 seconds - a big difference in comparison to the times before these drivers where installed.


I think you should ask this the support of your TV card manufacture. The trace whould also only show the driver as cause. And this is what you already know.

You can try to disable the TV card most of the time and use devcon.exe to enable it via script when you need the TV card.

nop..still not working,.


ask cluberti if he has an idea.
Posted Image




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users