Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

How to speed up boot process under Windows Vista or Windows 7

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
663 replies to this topic

#76
irvs

irvs
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 04-December 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
BTW, I run as Administrator, and on the second boot when I pressed FINISH it did tell me to let the app run elevated when requested. Could that have been part of the problem? Should I run as the HIDDEN ADMINISTRATOR and do this?

Irv S.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#77
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,093 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I'm also using the 2nd admin account which is created during setup ad it works fine. Do you use a firewall/AV software?
Posted Image

#78
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,093 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I couldn't find any personal info in there so I haven't passworded it. If you see anything personal, let me know and I'll take it down once you got it.

Thanks in advance :D
Alexander


sorry, I overlooked your reply.

I can see that your HDD is completely busy. COMODO slows down your PC dramatically. Remove COMODO and run the optimization again.
Posted Image

#79
irvs

irvs
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 04-December 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I'm also using the 2nd admin account which is created during setup ad it works fine. Do you use a firewall/AV software?


Yes, I have Computer Associates ISS 2010.

Wouldn't that have interfered with the first running if it were a problem?

Think it pays to disable it completely?

Irv S.

#80
Kingdutch

Kingdutch
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 22-November 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hmm I tried uninstalling comodo and running the optimisations again, but it still took 10+ mins. and TBH I hated MSE so I got rid of that asap and reïnstalled comodo.
Is there any alternative to MSE that doesn't hog your PC? I've had Norton but I found it a bigger bload than Comodo and it costs money too.

I'm willing to try uninstalling comodo again and running the optimisations so you can take a look at that log. I haven't really had problems with comodo before as I have had that as long as I had this PC. Long before the slow down occured.

Thanks,
Kingdutch

Edited by Kingdutch, 04 December 2010 - 02:42 PM.


#81
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,093 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Yes, I have Computer Associates ISS 2010.

Wouldn't that have interfered with the first running if it were a problem?


this maybe the cause.

@Kingdutch

try Avira AntiVir or Avast!
Posted Image

#82
Kingdutch

Kingdutch
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 22-November 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I'll try the free Avast version since both companies seem to be good at listing what their free versions _can't_ do rather than what they _can_ do.
It's nearing 11 PM here though so the reboots will have to wait for tomorrow.

Thanks for the help so far, I'll report back soon.
Good Night,

Kingdutch

#83
irvs

irvs
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 04-December 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Yes, I have Computer Associates ISS 2010.

Wouldn't that have interfered with the first running if it were a problem?


this maybe the cause.

@Kingdutch

try Avira AntiVir or Avast!


Thanks, but I'd rather not switch security suites at this time. I can disable them from starting if necessary, but otherwise, unless I have to, I'll not switch or disable them.

Irv S.

#84
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,093 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

try it out. If it wasn't the cause you can install it again.
Posted Image

#85
irvs

irvs
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 04-December 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

try it out. If it wasn't the cause you can install it again.


I'd like too, but it isn't that easy. Uninstall takes ALL the settings out. I loose all the white list stuff, the network settings, and it bothers me again for all the stuff it had learned with respect to programs.

I may just disable it from starting, that would be the same I'd think?

What bothers me is that I know before the first boot, it was run as an Administrator. After the first boot, it wasn't? I know because when I pressed FINISH it told me in a dialog box to make sure I allow it to run as Administrator. Was it supposed to do this? Would I need to set the properties to always run that way?

Irv S.

#86
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,093 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I've asked cluberti about the error. lets wait what he tells us.
Posted Image

#87
Kingdutch

Kingdutch
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 22-November 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I have installed my new harddrive and reinstalled windows 7, this got rid of the boot problem (10 min. +) so I'm not really sure what the cause was but comodo hasn't really slowed it down too much imo. I'm posting the boot traces from the start of the optimization and the end of the optimization.

I don't have any traces from before installing CIS, sorry.

Greetings,
Kingdutch

PS. couldn't attach the original .etl's to the forum post =/ sorry.

Attached Files



#88
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,093 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the boot is now fine. Compare the values. Before the optimization the boot takes 35s to the desktop and 52s to boot completely. After running the optimization your Windows needs 16s to boot o the desktop and 21s to boot completely.

This is a huge improvement :)
Posted Image

#89
Attila

Attila
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 15-December 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Andre, I have a few questions, if you can kindly answer...

I noticed that when we execute the xbootmgr several files are created within \windows\prefetcher\ and \windows\prefetcher\readyboot.

Do you know what these files means? If I copy them to another pc with the exactly same specs, it will decrease boot time? Or do I have to run xbootmgr again mandatorily?

Thanks

#90
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,093 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

The files in the 2 folder \windows\prefetcher\ and \windows\prefetcher\readyboot are part of the prefetcher (ReadyBoot). You have to run the xbootmgr on every PC again. The files are only valid for your PC.
Posted Image

#91
Attila

Attila
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 15-December 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

The files in the 2 folder \windows\prefetcher\ and \windows\prefetcher\readyboot are part of the prefetcher (ReadyBoot). You have to run the xbootmgr on every PC again. The files are only valid for your PC.


Ok, but if I got 3 PCs that are exactly the same (installation, specs, even components), is there a way to just replicate the prefetcher (readyboot) on the other PCs?

#92
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,093 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

no, you can't transfer them.
Posted Image

#93
Attila

Attila
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 15-December 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

no, you can't transfer them.


Ok, thanks Andre!

Now, I was looking at the xbootmgr log on the users file. Just for me to understand it better, what exactly does it do? It defragments disk before prefetcher? How does readyboot knows the drivers and applications files that are "prefetched" and is there any way to edit them? I noticed that are .cab, .db files...besides a "layout.ini" file. Can you please explain more details about the process?

Thanks again

#94
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,093 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

in the readyboot folder there are which which are used too prefetch the files which are used in later boot progress. Windows decides which files will be prefetch. You can't change this.
Posted Image

#95
Dick39

Dick39
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 19-May 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
MagicAndrei1981:
As you requested . . .
Dick

#96
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,093 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

ok, your Windows takes 21s to boot to the desktop and 49s to boot completely.

PreSMSS" startTime="0" endTime="4731" duration="4731">

this is fast. detecting each IDEChannel takes 1 second.

SMSSInit" startTime="4731" endTime="12571" duration="7839">

Why don't you use real drivers for your card?

ATI RADEON III (Standard VGA Graphics Adapter)

WinlogonInit" startTime="12571" endTime="19320" duration="6748">

this takes a bit too long. As you can read here, this can be caused by AntiVirus tools. I can see that you use MSE and it causes IO activity. Try version 2.0 of MSE which was released today. It has performance improvements for low spec systems like yours.

interval name="ExplorerInit" startTime="19320" endTime="21305" duration="1984">

this is also ok.

="PostExplorerPeriod" startTime="21305" endTime="59705" duration="38400">

Starting all programs at startup (Acronis, MSE) takes too long (28 seconds)

But the boot is very good for such an old system (INTEL®_PENTIUM®_4_CPU_2.80GHZ, 2GB RAM).
Posted Image

#97
Dick39

Dick39
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 19-May 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Many thanks, Andrei, for your helpful comments. I really appreciate them.
I'll work on your suggestions; and post results afterwards.
Dick

#98
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,093 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

it doesn't make a difference. Boottime is the same.I can see in both that the service NlaSvc (Network Location Awareness service - http://blogs.technet...l-profiles.aspx) takes long to start.

Can you run Process Monitor, enable boot logging and run the xbootmgr command? after booting, start Process Monitor again and save the data into a PML file. Zip the etl und the PML file and upload both.
Posted Image

#99
Dick39

Dick39
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 19-May 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Andrei:
Do you want procmon output plus the 6-boot bootmanager results; or with the boot trace command?
Sorry for such a basic question.
Dick

#100
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,093 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

now the Network Location Awareness service starts fast.

I think you can't optimize the boot more.

Install all Windows programs and at the end run the optimization again.
Posted Image




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users