Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

How to speed up boot process under Windows Vista or Windows 7

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
663 replies to this topic

#151
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,162 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

you can also try an InPlace upgrade:

http://support.micro....com/kb/2255099
http://www.sevenforu...ir-install.html

this keeps the programs and repairs your Windows.
Posted Image


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#152
rovama

rovama
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 18-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Ok MagicAndre1981,

I decided to do a clean install to remove many unwanted things and everything is working so much better now. And course Superfetch is working again :D

Many thaks for your help :thumbup

I will create another boot trace a show it to you later.

#153
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,162 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

ok, install your Windows completely and after installing all programs run the optimization.
Posted Image

#154
rovama

rovama
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 18-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Done man! Check this out:

timing bootDoneViaExplorer="25209" bootDoneViaPostBoot="61909"
25s to desktop and 62s to finish completely :w00t: That's a lot of improvement. :D

Thank you so much for your help :)

:hello:

Edited by rovama, 23 January 2011 - 02:31 PM.


#155
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,162 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

it is 52s, you have to subtract the 10s idle time.

But this is really an improvement to the over 200s at the beginning :)

best regards
André
Posted Image

#156
rovama

rovama
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 18-January 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

it is 52s, you have to subtract the 10s idle time.

But this is really an improvement to the over 200s at the beginning :)

best regards
André


Even better yet :P Thanks again André :thumbup

Best regards!

#157
Faiien

Faiien
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 01-February 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
So to clarify Andre, in the future if I want to defragment my hardrive I should use the default disk defragmenter under system tools?

#158
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,162 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

yes, only use the Windows included tool and uninstall all 3rd party defrag tool.
Posted Image

#159
masteripper

masteripper

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • Joined 22-February 04
Hello,
Has anyone tried this for Windows 2008 r2 ....?
I have this Dreamspark License and convert it to Workstation....and yes i would really like some boot improvement

#160
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,162 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Afaik Server 2008 R2 doesn't have Superfetch/ReadyBoost so you can't speedup. Use Windows 7 instead.
Posted Image

#161
masteripper

masteripper

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • Joined 22-February 04
Thanks for the info...too bad.....maybe sp1 will bring gifts...:)

#162
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,162 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

no, the Sp1 changes nothing.
Posted Image

#163
TheWindowMan

TheWindowMan
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 16-February 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Awesome :thumbup , never knew this was possible.
I followed all the steps and i see some time improvements, but when i run the export xml command i get an error message in the console. I cannot create the .xml result file to determine the time.

Here is what i get in the CMD Shell. (Administrator Rights Enabled)

C:\Windows\system32>xperf -i bootPrep_BASE+CSWITCH_1.etl -o 01_summary_start.xml -a boot
xperf: warning: applying restriction of access for trace processing
xperf: error: 01_summary_start.xml: Failed to open output file [0x80070005].

C:\Windows\system32>xperf -i boot_BASE+CSWITCH_1.etl -o 02_summary_end.xml -a boot
xperf: warning: applying restriction of access for trace processing
xperf: error: 02_summary_end.xml: Failed to open output file [0x80070005].


Thanks.

#164
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,162 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

you don't have the permissions to create the XML in the system32 folder. That's why it failed.
Posted Image

#165
TheWindowMan

TheWindowMan
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 16-February 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

you don't have the permissions to create the XML in the system32 folder. That's why it failed.


I disabled UAC, but still no go.
Is there any other way that i can convert the .etl to .xml ?

#166
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,162 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

install this extension:

Open Command Prompt Shell Extension

http://code.kliu.org/cmdopen/

go to a folder like C:\temp, make a righclick select "Open elevated Command Prompt", run the xbootmgr command. After the reboots, go the temp folder again, select "Open elevated Command Prompt" again und run the XML command again.
Posted Image

#167
TheWindowMan

TheWindowMan
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 16-February 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thank You MagicAndre1981.

Even after using the Open Elevated Command it didn't work, but i copied the bootPrep_BASE+CSWITCH_1 files to another partition on the drive. It worked.

01_summary_start
bootDoneViaPostBoot="129079"

01_summary_end
bootDoneViaPostBoot="90403"

If i am right it reads 129secs and 90secs respectively.
Are these timings good.
It runs on Windows 7 Ultimate x64 with 4GB RAM and a processor clock speed of 3.10GHz

Edited by TheWindowMan, 24 February 2011 - 12:56 PM.


#168
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,162 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

what are your hardware specs? 80s is still a bit too slow.
Posted Image

#169
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
After installing full SP1 dvd mine became worse after running this.
Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#170
TheWindowMan

TheWindowMan
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 16-February 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

what are your hardware specs? 80s is still a bit too slow.


AMD Athlon 64 X2 3.10 GHZ
Asus M3N78-EM motherboard.
2x2GB DDR2
500GB SATA II HDD
Nvidia GeForce 9800gt 1024mb
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 (with all updates)

#171
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,162 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

After installing full SP1 dvd mine became worse after running this.


can you explain this? Have you compared the timings from the XML ?

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3.10 GHZ
Asus M3N78-EM motherboard.
2x2GB DDR2
500GB SATA II HDD
Nvidia GeForce 9800gt 1024mb
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 (with all updates)


it is still too long. Make a full trace:

http://www.msfn.org/...yresume-issues/

zip the boot_BASE+CSWITCH+DRIVERS+POWER_1.etl and share the zip to me.
Posted Image

#172
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Running SP1 I improved this by running command which improves reboot time. goes through same things like 6 or 7 reboots
xbootmgr -trace rebootCycle -prepSystem -verboseReadyBoot

xbootmgr -trace boot never improved my boot time much only reboot time (Before SP1)
Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#173
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
MagicAndre1981
Might want to paste this in first post. I think these are updated versions
Windows SDK 7.1 (contains WPT 4.7)
actually installs Windows Performance Analyzer 4.8.7701
A small file will let you download the Windows Performance Tool Kit and not the whole SDK

For this release, the Windows SDK is available thru a web setup (this page) that enables you to selectively download and install individual SDK components or a via an ISO image file so that you can burn your own DVD.



I ran this and it shows it improved my time. I don't understand how when I reboot with my stopwatch it shows 65 seconds to reboot and boot is about same
It was same time before 65 seconds

bootPrep_BASE+CSWITCH_1.etl I see 180
boot_BASE+CSWITCH_1.etl I see 28

EDIT: This is SP1 full install

Attached File  170to28.jpg   15.96KB   2 downloads

Edited by maxXPsoft, 26 February 2011 - 11:03 AM.

Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#174
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,162 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I know that there is a new version and I use it. I keeped this version here, because there is no alternative download link. The VS2010 Kit is still not updated. Some users have issues with the Web installer and they don't want to or can't download the new SDK ISO.

Both tools use the Windows Kernel functions, so I can't understand why the new version work better.
Posted Image

#175
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Ok didn't know if you had seen the new. Mine showed improvement but like I said 65 seconds regardless with SP1
Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users