Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

How to get the cause of high CPU usage by DPC / Interrupt

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1384 replies to this topic

#451
ZodiacFlop

ZodiacFlop

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Alright good news, I think! I managed to get a USB keyboard and mouse and the audio crackle I used to get from my PS/2 keyboard is gone completely!

However, I checked the DPC latency to make sure it was all gone but now it seems that ndis.sys and USBPORT.SYS are spiking, up to about 4.5% CPU usage. Is this something that needs fixing or is everything normal now?

If so, then the only downside is that I have to get used to this new keyboard. Oh well, much better than the alternative. Thank you so much for all your help, you're a godsend.

Edit: I noticed some clicking while I was watching some HD videos on youtube so I checked my DPC latency out while watching. It seems my USBPORT.SYS is spiking up to %10 CPU usage. Is there a way to fix this aswell?

Edited by ZodiacFlop, 12 May 2011 - 07:07 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#452
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,926 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I am also using a keyboard and mouse with a PS/2 plug so I know that the drivers for these are causing the problems.
Going to try an USB/Keyboard mouse asap to see if this changes...


ok, do this.

Alright good news, I think! I managed to get a USB keyboard and mouse and the audio crackle I used to get from my PS/2 keyboard is gone completely!


nice to hear this :thumbup

Edit: I noticed some clicking while I was watching some HD videos on youtube so I checked my DPC latency out while watching. It seems my USBPORT.SYS is spiking up to %10 CPU usage. Is there a way to fix this aswell?


in this case it is caused by the USB mouse/keyboard. Run latencymon and look what the highest spike is. Is it still green? If yes, it is ok and you can ignore it.
Posted Image

#453
ZodiacFlop

ZodiacFlop

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Okay I checked it. Everything is still in the green. Finally this problem is completely solved! Thanks again!

#454
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,926 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Finally this problem is completely solved! Thanks again!


You're welcome. Enjoy your Windows 7 :thumbup
Posted Image

#455
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,247 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
If you look at CPU time while just listening to music or watching video with an audio stream, do you see any cpu usage in any particular process? The spikes are coming from the keyboard filter, but the DPC and interrupts are tracking back to the HD audio driver - what driver is installed on your system for audio?
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#456
Illisvyel

Illisvyel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Bought a keyboard and mouse with USB input and the problem seems to be gone.
Thanks very much!

I have a Reatelk HD audio drivers.
I've considered buying a new sound card but don't know if this would fix the problem

Edited by Illisvyel, 14 May 2011 - 03:06 PM.


#457
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,926 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

@cluberti

can you look at the trace of hottroc?
Posted Image

#458
Illisvyel

Illisvyel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Looks like the problem isn't over, I'm still getting popping sound problems and it's apparently the HDAud.sys drivers that are at fault but I have no idea what to do.

#459
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,926 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

have you updated the sound drivers?

upload the latest trace file, please.
Posted Image

#460
Illisvyel

Illisvyel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I've tried updating the drivers online automatically (since I don't know the manufacturer) but the problem won't go away.

Posted Image
Posted Image

#461
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,926 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

run the xperf commands upload the zipped ETL file
Posted Image

#462
Adam101

Adam101
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
http://www.mediafire...z7d9wgsifb3cmh8

Here is my .etl

My problem is with my Tascam US-122 mkII usb audio interface. When I connect it to my laptop my processor usually goes to around 5% because of system interrupts and when I use it as my sound card to play music through I get spikes that go to around 20% every few seconds. The interface used to work perfectly and I can't remember what I did that might have caused it to start acting like this. Im using an HP pavilion dv6-2116ea. I took the .etl while playing music through it so the spikes should be obvious.

#463
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,926 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I can see that the EHCI_Get32BitFrameNumber function from the USBEHCI.sys causes some CPU usage. Your Version is the Windows 7 RTM Version: "USBEHCI.sys", "6.1.7600.16385 (win7_rtm.090713-1255)" but you use the Windows 7 Sp1.

You run into this issue:

http://support.micro...b/2529073/en-us

Please check Windows Update and install this missing update.

The hugest spikes are only 512 µsecs and they happen only rarely. So you should see no delays or other sound issues.

Edited by MagicAndre1981, 21 May 2011 - 08:00 AM.

Posted Image

#464
Adam101

Adam101
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
The more serious problems come when I am using ableton or other music software and asking the tascam to do a lot more work than just playing back an mp3, in which case the processor normally goes to 100% and sound cuts out or lags.

I read through that link but I am not sure which files I should be downloading. Should I just search MS download center for Usbccgp.sys and Usbhub.sys and install whatever it gives me? It said something about a global hotfix file but I didn't see a link or file name.

#465
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,926 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

download this update:

http://www.microsoft...9a-d1bb903e9823

and install it. If you can repro the 100% CPU usage, make a new trace, please which captures this 100% cpu usage.
Posted Image

#466
hottroc

hottroc

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
I didn't get much response from cluberti I'm afraid. He did reply to my PM, by PM, saying that he would look at my trace in a few days time, but that was ages ago well before you asked him in this topic. I've since sent a reminder PM but got no reply from that, so maybe he's too busy to help. Maybe when he has some free time he will respond. In the meantime, recently it has seemed a little better, going somewhat longer between occurrences of the interrupt problem. I have no idea why or even if it's just my imagination but I'll keep observing and let you know if I find anything else out.

#467
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,926 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

please run those 2 commands:

xperf -start perf!GeneralProfiles.InSequentialFile

wait some times and run

xperf -stop perf!GeneralProfiles.InSequentialFile Perftrace.etl

zip and upload the PerfTrace.etl. This trace includes more data.
Posted Image

#468
Illisvyel

Illisvyel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Here's my etl -- http://www.mediafire...2mo33kkmi07biun

hope this helps.

#469
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,926 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

please uninstall DAEMON Tools Lite. The driver used by this tool is shown an UNKNOWN and hides the real cause. Upload the new etl trace.
Posted Image

#470
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,247 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Sorry for the delay, but I posted a reply that apparently died due to my crappy internet connection last week. I reviewed the data, and it looked like it was either the audio driver on the hdaudio bus, or something attached to the USB bus. Unfortunately, this is one area (without stack traces) where I can only go that far. Does the problem reproduce with no USB devices attached to the system?
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#471
hottroc

hottroc

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

....it looked like it was either the audio driver on the hdaudio bus, or something attached to the USB bus. Unfortunately, this is one area (without stack traces) where I can only go that far. Does the problem reproduce with no USB devices attached to the system?


Hi, thanks for your response.... yes it seems to. What do you mean "without stack traces"? How do I get these? Or do you mean the Memory dump? You will see in an earlier post I offered to upload the memory dump for inspection. Would this help?

MagicAndre1981 - was your post #467 aimed at me?

Edited by hottroc, 24 May 2011 - 02:20 PM.


#472
Illisvyel

Illisvyel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
http://www.mediafire...zw4dzl13c874aze

uploaded the trace after uninstalling daemon tools.

#473
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,926 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

MagicAndre1981 - was your post #467 aimed at me?


yes, maybe this new trace gives us more hints. Run it in a CleanBoot so that all 3rd party tools are closed.

http://www.mediafire.com/?zw4dzl13c874aze

uploaded the trace after uninstalling daemon tools.


I still see some spikes which show UNKNOWN. so a different driver still uses dynamic code. My guess is this here: GEARAapiWDM.sys Which tool uses this driver?
Posted Image

#474
jdub

jdub

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
I am having latency issues when playing back video's and playing games.

Win 7 x64 - sp1 + all updates
Intel Core2 Duo E6750
Asus P5Q Pro Turbo
Evga Nvidia 8800gt - should be latest drivers
4 GB of RAM (checked it with memtest no errors)
5 hard drives

I believe I had daemon tools installed but I've uninstalled it. I do have True Crypt v7 installed

I've uploaded some basics but I don't know how to resolve these issues. If anyone could help me find a fix it would be much appreciated.

EDIT: Oh I should add I tried a selective startup disabling most things but it didnt fix anything.

Attached Files


Edited by jdub, 24 May 2011 - 08:23 PM.


#475
Illisvyel

Illisvyel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I still see some spikes which show UNKNOWN. so a different driver still uses dynamic code. My guess is this here: GEARAapiWDM.sys Which tool uses this driver?



It's a CD DVD filter according to Latencymon.
Edit: Found these drivers associated with my DVD/CD drives.

Edited by Illisvyel, 25 May 2011 - 09:42 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN