Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

How to get the cause of high CPU usage by DPC / Interrupt

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1434 replies to this topic

#576
adlib

adlib

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 13-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
i've done all the updates (atheros seems to be the latest driver already) and now LatencyMon shows some other driver files which causes latency!! :( ntoskrnl.exe, dxgkrnl.sys,...

traces follow in some minutes...


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#577
adlib

adlib

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 13-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
https://rapidshare.c...updates_sp1.ETL

#578
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,148 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

No, it is still NDIS:

Total = 1614 for module ndis.sys
Elapsed Time, > 1024 usecs AND <= 2048 usecs, 4, or 0.25%
Elapsed Time, > 2048 usecs AND <= 4096 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 4096 usecs AND <= 8192 usecs, 5, or 0.31%

And this happens when you use Opera. Does it happen with other browsers, too?
Posted Image

#579
adlib

adlib

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 13-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
ok, thx

when i've uploaded the first traces opera wasnt even installed... i installed opera yesterday but its not difference if i use ie8, ie9, opera or no browser at all... the ndis caus some spikes even when there is no internet usage at all... atheros is updated and there are no more windows updates available. what to do next? :(

#580
adlib

adlib

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 13-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
hi andre

thx for your help so far... any more ideas?

i've tried a lot of different drivers for the atheros this weekend... odler drivers, new drivers... no difference. as soona s the atheros 9285 driver is activate ndis.sys creats latency spikes. the same for the battery... sony drivers and win7 drivers both make acpi.sys create latency. when i deactivate atheros and battery in the device manager the laptop runs perfect... really annoyed with this situation :(

#581
Jenko

Jenko
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 15-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Magic Andre! I've been following this thread for the last few days and I gotta say, your directions on how to find the driver that's hogging my cpu was really helpful. i found out that it was the ACPI.sys as well as a lot of system interrupts but I have -no- idea how to fix it. This is a brand new home build computer with a clean install of Windows Vista x64 and it was working fine. It wasn't until I upgraded to Windows 7 home premium x64 that I started going really really slow (understatement of the year) and I can't figure out why.

Processor: AMD Phenom II x2 555
Motherboard: Biostar N68s3+
Graphic card: Radeon 5570

All drivers and Bios are up to date and I have downloaded SP1 and the other windows 7 updates with so far no success. My .etl file below.

https://rapidshare.c...C_Interrupt.etl

#582
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,148 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

@adlib

looks like you have the same ACPI battery issue like eminememinem. Try to install the battery and let Windows install the drivers again.

About the atheros 9285, atheros makes cheap chips which work, but which are not the best you can get. Is the WLAN module replaceable or fixed on the laptop motherboard? Maybe you can switch to a different module from Intel.

Edited by MagicAndre1981, 16 September 2011 - 01:04 PM.

Posted Image

#583
Jenko

Jenko
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 15-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks for the reply! This is a desktop build so the only battery I could think of removing would be from the motherboard, but I'm a bit wary to do so.

#584
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,148 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

@Jenko

you have an extreme CPU usage caused by the ACPI.sys driver:

ACPI.sys!RestartCtxtPassive

Some users also had this but we never found a solution. Try this KB article I linked on the last page. Also update the BIOS and try a different power plan.
Posted Image

#585
snadge

snadge
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 19-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks for this,

I used Xperf before in past and it was NDIS.SYS driver (windows 7 64x)... it is Atheros AR5005G wireless adapter running on latest versions for win7 it still does the same thing, I get this CPU usage when I copy files out to USB drive too - if I do both that and download files via wifi at 16Mbps then DPC/IR uses as much as 30 - 40% of my 1.8Ghz dual-core chip on laptop

WIFI downloading at full speed = 10-15% DPC
LAN downlaoding at full speed = 5% DPC
Copying files to USB HDD - 10-15% DPC
Both WIFI downloading at full speed and Copying files to USB HDD = 30-40% DPC

EDIT: actually just checking it again (as its been a while) its nowhere near as bad as that now, for downloading on wifi its about 2-5% DPC/IR - but soon as I copy files to or from USB drive it spikes to 15% DPC/IR usage.. I wonder if its the wifi driver as ive been having problems with that too and been changing and trying different ones, the one i settled on was v 8.0.0.305 (Feb 2010) (I was having problems with speed peaks and troughs, latest v9 drivers just didnt work at all for uploading) - this driver seems to work best and ive tried all latest ones back over to this one.

seems ATHEROS wireless drivers just do not like Windows 7 full stop.
- I have seen and heard of this problem on other computers with Intel chipsets and other things causing the same problem. for me it seems to be a bug in windows 7.

Edited by snadge, 19 September 2011 - 08:05 AM.


#586
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,148 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

can you test this on the Windows 8 Developer edition (Run as VHD boot to avoid hassle with the partition) to verifiy that this only happens on Windows 7?

Also what are your PC specs?
Posted Image

#587
snadge

snadge
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 19-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
thanks for speedy reply

its an Acer Aspire 5051
windows 7 64-bit,
2Gb RAM (2x1 667Mhz),
ATi Radeon XPres 1100
120Gb HDD
Atheros AR5005G wifi adapter

what is VHD BOOT? - I was actually gunna UPGRADE to it later on (aswell as test it for this problem) - I would bet money it still same on windows 8. I would prefer to install fresh but I have so much stuff installed.

#588
adlib

adlib

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 13-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

seems ATHEROS wireless drivers just do not like Windows 7 full stop.
- I have seen and heard of this problem on other computers with Intel chipsets and other things causing the same problem. for me it seems to be a bug in windows 7.


thx exactly what i thought after all those tests... it doesnt matter if i use win7 from 2009 or win7 with all latest updates and it doesnt matter if i use atheros driver from 2009 or the latest... it is always the same behaviour in latency-monitor!

btw. is there a way to make a script or bat-file to deactivate and reactivate the wlan-card in the device-manager? it would be an acceptable workaround to have the possibility to switch it on and off directly from desktop ;)
btw2. the hardware on/off switch at the vaio only deactivates the driver... the spikes still happen when i use this switch... i have to manually deactivate the atheros in device manager... thats quite annoying

#589
snadge

snadge
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 19-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
i tried it in XP once and the problem was gone... I had to install once on another partition to use the Netgear Flash Utility to flash my router which was corrupted from many fw upgrades, i thought I would test it and indeed the problem was gone

I was told that DPC/IR process should NEVER used more than 1% CPU - is this true?

I use latency mon which can tell me which driver causes it but its stays in the green most of the time, sometimes spiking in red with DPC/IR - but pagefaults get hit hard almost instantly and it says its latencymon causing it? svchost does too when i run a youtube video... eitherway I seem to get hit hard by pagefaults when using latencymon - I check DPC/IR usage in Resource Monitor which us built into windows (like an advanced task manager) just type resource monitor into startsearch and drag it to taskbar for shortcut - sort the process's list by CPU usage and start downloading files and moving files out to usb drive and watch the DPC/IR process hit the top of the list ... this is how I monitor it and test for it on machines, ive had a couple of windows 7 laptops in past (one of which i remember had atheros wifi driver) and they were the same...

this problem is only noticeable by those 'tech' enough to realise something aint right... for me it was CPU usage in task manager was way higher than what totalled up in the processes window, thats how i found out, like i say i think its a bug in windows 7 and happens on most machines..either the users dont realise/notice or they have super powerfull CPU that can deal with it without affecting anything else (masking the problem).

Edited by snadge, 19 September 2011 - 08:27 AM.


#590
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,148 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the latency should not be over 1000┬Ás. Look if the USB and WiFi doesn't share the same IRQ.
Posted Image

#591
snadge

snadge
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 19-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

the latency should not be over 1000µs. Look if the USB and WiFi doesn't share the same IRQ.


how do i do that?

thanks

edit:
Highest DPC routine execution time (µs): 381
Responsible driver: ndis.sys (NDIS 6.20 driver, Microsoft Corporation)
DPC count (execution time <500 µs): 3264015
DPC count (execution time 500-999 µs): 0
DPC count (execution time 1000-1999 µs): 0
DPC count (execution time 2000-3999 µs): 0
DPC count (execution time >=4000 µs): 0
#

that was after 3 minutes of running...seems OK on there now but in RM the usage was still 5-15%

Edited by snadge, 19 September 2011 - 08:33 AM.


#592
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,148 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

what is VHD BOOT? - I was actually gunna UPGRADE to it later on (aswell as test it for this problem) - I would bet money it still same on windows 8. I would prefer to install fresh but I have so much stuff installed.


http://www.hanselman...alHardDisk.aspx

The values are fine. No latency over 500µs.

btw. is there a way to make a script or bat-file to deactivate and reactivate the wlan-card in the device-manager? it would be an acceptable workaround to have the possibility to switch it on and off directly from desktop ;)


use DevCon.exe ( http://support.microsoft.com/kb/311272 ) to enable disable the device.

Edited by MagicAndre1981, 19 September 2011 - 08:37 AM.

Posted Image

#593
adlib

adlib

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 13-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
great, thx andre i'll try that!

thx for all your help btw... everything (except the poor atheros) runs well now! great support here

#594
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,148 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

You're welcome. remember to create 2 Tasks (1 for enable and 1 for disable the device) to workaround the UAC prompts:

http://www.msfn.org/...-the-uac-part2/
Posted Image

#595
adlib

adlib

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 13-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
alright... i have to find a proper way to do the disable/enable stuff with devCon first. i don't do things like this regularely so it will need some time to get into but after a first look, it seems to be fairly understandable. the main concept is the make a shortcut which starts the task (enalbe/disable) then... right? should i start a new topic for this things... i dont want to spam this important topic with OT stuff ;)

#596
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,148 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

reply to the UAC topic if you have questions about how to create tasks and run them.
Posted Image

#597
snadge

snadge
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 19-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
yeah thanks for the help, really much appreciated for that.


JUST WHEN I THOUGHT IT WAS GETTNG BETTER, ive done some testing and the DPC/IR CPU usage in resource monitor is still high, it seems to be erratic,

I ran Latency Mon during this test copying files FROM usb drive to DESKTOP and downloading at full speed of 1.8MB/s the DPC/IR usage in resource monitor was 30% (avg of 22%), when the file copying finished and downloading was still going on the usage dropped to 10-15% - but - in Latency Monitor it showed no problems with DPC/IR ...so whats going on? how can there be no issues when RM shows as much as 25% of CPU power devoted to DPC/IR

here is screenshot of Resource Monitor during file copying and downloading at 1.8MB/s:
Posted Image

here is screenshot of Resource Monitor after the file copying finished (but still downloading at 1.8MB/s)
Posted Image

here are results from latency mon: (1m50s)

Highest DPC routine execution time (µs): 1380
Responsible driver: ACPI.sys (ACPI

Driver for NT, Microsoft Corporation)
DPC count (execution time <500 µs): 2083392
DPC count (execution time 500-999 µs): 0
DPC count (execution time 1000-1999 µs): 56
DPC count (execution time 2000-3999 µs): 0
DPC count (execution time >=4000 µs): 0

Highest ISR routine execution time (µs): 493
Responsible driver: ataport.SYS (ATAPI

Driver Extension, Microsoft Corporation)
ISR count (execution time <250 µs): 1943269
ISR count (execution time 250-499 µs): 4
ISR count (execution time 500-999 µs): 0
ISR count (execution time 1000-1999 µs): 0
ISR count (execution time >=2000 µs): 0

Highest pagefault resolution time (µs): 22129
Hard pagefault count (total): 1270
Number of processes hit: 2
Pagefault count of hardest hit process: 928
Process with highest pagefault count: LatMon.exe (PID:


Do I have problems or not? the computer is definitely "sticky" when all this is going on

Edited by snadge, 19 September 2011 - 09:17 AM.


#598
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,148 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

please make a xperf trace and upload the trace.
Posted Image

#599
snadge

snadge
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 19-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
CONFIRMED THAT PROBLEM STILL PERSISTS IN WINDOWS 8

this is screenshot of DPC/IR using 13% of my dual-core CPU when downloading a file on Bit-Torrent at 1.6MB/s

Posted Image

installed windows 8 fresh and using Atheros driver or MS 2011 driver is still the same.


what will the trace tell you? ive done all that before and it said that NDIS.SYS was the culprit

Edited by snadge, 05 October 2011 - 04:52 PM.


#600
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,148 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

you can't do anything against it. The only thing you can do is to buy a better Wifi NIC.
Posted Image




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users