Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

How to get the cause of high CPU usage by DPC / Interrupt

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1403 replies to this topic

#976
bruvau12

bruvau12

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

WHICH laptop? I need the model name.


It's a Samsung Chronos 700Z3C-S01 Laptop, 8GB RAM, 1TB, 14"

My link


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#977
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,989 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

ok, press Fn + F11

Posted Image

to toogle the "Silent mode" does this make a difference?
Posted Image

#978
bruvau12

bruvau12

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
the silent mode makes no difference on or off. Will installing a different version of windows help with the problem?

#979
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,989 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I thin think this is a hardware issue with your laptop.

This site also mentions issues with the silent mode (look at the DPC checker tool picture) and CPU throttling:

http://www.notebookc...ok.77437.0.html

Contact the Samsung support in this case.
Posted Image

#980
3Seven

3Seven

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

this is ok. DPCs and interrupts are used by the system all the time so the values are ok.


Are you sure? it wasn't there until recently, but i'll take your word for it. Thanks again for the help, it's appreciated.

#981
bruvau12

bruvau12

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
cheers for your help magicandre, I'll contact Samsung to see what they say.

#982
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,989 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

it wasn't there until recently, but i'll take your word for it. Thanks again for the help, it's appreciated.


make a new trace if you think you have issues.
Posted Image

#983
Migun

Migun
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Andre!
First, I want to thank you for the tutorial, I am "banging my head" because of this problem.

Whenever I use a torrent application (Utorrent, Tixati, etc) my computer freezes for 1 to 3 seconds from time to time.

I have reinstalled Windows, removed the Anti virus, updated the network card (Realtek 8112L) driver among other things, nothing worked.

I think the problem is in "tcpip.sys - function : TcpPeriodicTimeoutHandler"

I uploaded the ETL (7z compressed )file to my dropbox folder and sent the link to you in a PM, if you have some time, I would be very grateful to you.

Again, many thanks!

edit: The Motheboard is a Asus P7P55D-E

Edited by Migun, 10 October 2012 - 09:36 AM.


#984
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,989 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

yes, the TCPip.sys is the cause:

DPC Info

Total = 522780
Elapsed Time, > 0 usecs AND <= 1 usecs, 352275, or 67.38%
Elapsed Time, > 1 usecs AND <= 2 usecs, 40906, or 7.82%
Elapsed Time, > 2 usecs AND <= 4 usecs, 44841, or 8.58%
Elapsed Time, > 4 usecs AND <= 8 usecs, 36890, or 7.06%
Elapsed Time, > 8 usecs AND <= 16 usecs, 28514, or 5.45%
Elapsed Time, > 16 usecs AND <= 32 usecs, 10916, or 2.09%
Elapsed Time, > 32 usecs AND <= 64 usecs, 6676, or 1.28%
Elapsed Time, > 64 usecs AND <= 128 usecs, 1547, or 0.30%
Elapsed Time, > 128 usecs AND <= 256 usecs, 211, or 0.04%
Elapsed Time, > 256 usecs AND <= 512 usecs, 3, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 512 usecs AND <= 1024 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 1024 usecs AND <= 2048 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 2048 usecs AND <= 4096 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 4096 usecs AND <= 8192 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 8192 usecs AND <= 16384 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 16384 usecs AND <= 32768 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 32768 usecs AND <= 65536 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 65536 usecs AND <= 131072 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 131072 usecs AND <= 262144 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 262144 usecs AND <= 524288 usecs, 1, or 0.00%
Total, 522780


Total = 17632 for module tcpip.sys
Elapsed Time, > 0 usecs AND <= 1 usecs, 1, or 0.01%
Elapsed Time, > 1 usecs AND <= 2 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 2 usecs AND <= 4 usecs, 6, or 0.03%
Elapsed Time, > 4 usecs AND <= 8 usecs, 6556, or 37.18%
Elapsed Time, > 8 usecs AND <= 16 usecs, 8882, or 50.37%
Elapsed Time, > 16 usecs AND <= 32 usecs, 1575, or 8.93%
Elapsed Time, > 32 usecs AND <= 64 usecs, 426, or 2.42%
Elapsed Time, > 64 usecs AND <= 128 usecs, 175, or 0.99%
Elapsed Time, > 128 usecs AND <= 256 usecs, 10, or 0.06%
Elapsed Time, > 256 usecs AND <= 512 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 512 usecs AND <= 1024 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 1024 usecs AND <= 2048 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 2048 usecs AND <= 4096 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 4096 usecs AND <= 8192 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 8192 usecs AND <= 16384 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 16384 usecs AND <= 32768 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 32768 usecs AND <= 65536 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 65536 usecs AND <= 131072 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 131072 usecs AND <= 262144 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 262144 usecs AND <= 524288 usecs, 1, or 0.01%
Total, 17632


it generates this huge latency. I can see that the Rt64win7.sys is involved and this is the driver for your Realtek® 8112L Gigabit LAN controller. The driver version is from 2011 (7.046.0610.2011). Try the latest version:

http://www.realtek.c...3&GetDown=false
Posted Image

#985
Migun

Migun
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I have downloaded that version , I now have 7.61.612.2012 from 12-06-2012.

I will restart and give some feedback later :)

Edited by Migun, 10 October 2012 - 10:02 AM.


#986
Migun

Migun
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Happened again :(

Could you see again please (sent the link by PM) ?

Thanks for the help!

Edited by Migun, 10 October 2012 - 10:15 AM.


#987
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,989 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the new driver fixed the large spikes:

--------------------------
DPC Info

--------------------------

Total = 21305 for module ndis.sys
Elapsed Time, > 0 usecs AND <= 1 usecs, 12695, or 59.59%
Elapsed Time, > 1 usecs AND <= 2 usecs, 4188, or 19.66%
Elapsed Time, > 2 usecs AND <= 4 usecs, 678, or 3.18%
Elapsed Time, > 4 usecs AND <= 8 usecs, 759, or 3.56%
Elapsed Time, > 8 usecs AND <= 16 usecs, 674, or 3.16%
Elapsed Time, > 16 usecs AND <= 32 usecs, 876, or 4.11%
Elapsed Time, > 32 usecs AND <= 64 usecs, 850, or 3.99%
Elapsed Time, > 64 usecs AND <= 128 usecs, 499, or 2.34%
Elapsed Time, > 128 usecs AND <= 256 usecs, 78, or 0.37%
Elapsed Time, > 256 usecs AND <= 512 usecs, 1, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 512 usecs AND <= 1024 usecs, 7, or 0.03%
Total, 21305

Total = 3744 for module tcpip.sys
Elapsed Time, > 0 usecs AND <= 1 usecs, 1, or 0.03%
Elapsed Time, > 1 usecs AND <= 2 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 2 usecs AND <= 4 usecs, 1, or 0.03%
Elapsed Time, > 4 usecs AND <= 8 usecs, 739, or 19.74%
Elapsed Time, > 8 usecs AND <= 16 usecs, 2338, or 62.45%
Elapsed Time, > 16 usecs AND <= 32 usecs, 426, or 11.38%
Elapsed Time, > 32 usecs AND <= 64 usecs, 186, or 4.97%
Elapsed Time, > 64 usecs AND <= 128 usecs, 47, or 1.26%
Elapsed Time, > 128 usecs AND <= 256 usecs, 6, or 0.16%
Total, 3744


Does it also happen without "NetLimiter 3"?
Posted Image

#988
Migun

Migun
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I will disable NetLimiter and test again.

Thanks :) !

edit: Some hours have passed, and nothing has happened, thanks for the Netlimiter tip Andre, you are trully magic :thumbup !

I just find it strange, Netlimiter just logs and limits the traffic.

If it comes back (even with Netlimiter disabled) I will ask again for advice.

Again, many thanks Andre :) !

Edited by Migun, 10 October 2012 - 05:16 PM.


#989
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,989 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Some hours have passed, and nothing has happened, thanks for the Netlimiter tip Andre, you are trully magic :thumbup !

Again, many thanks Andre :) !


the tool hooks into the network stack and such tools can cause issues. Nice to hear that it is fixed with the new driver and net limiter removed :)
Posted Image

#990
tuan

tuan
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
hmm i don't have the option for 'summary table'? also, i don't think i have either the graph 'DPC CPU usage' or 'Interrupt CPU usage.' can someone help?

Attached Files

  • Attached File  dpc.png   102.88KB   10 downloads


#991
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,989 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I refer to the old xperfview.exe and not the new WPA.
Posted Image

#992
JooseyJay

JooseyJay
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hmmm...

Highest kernel latency: 1820 µs

Highest dpc routine exec: 4082 µs

Highest reported pagefault resolution time: 74686 µs

I think there might be something wrong. :lol:

#993
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,989 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

yes. Run the xperf command and give me the zipped ETL file.
Posted Image

#994
necw

necw
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello,

As i saw Andre you managed to fix some computers around here. I would also like some assistance from you as I kind of encounter the same problems but cannot fix them.

Laptop : Toshiba F750-118
Problems : Laptop laggs 1-2-3 seconds when I play games(interval of 5-20 minutes), or watch videos on internet.

I am using the ethernet cable most of the times,having the wireless stopped. But the problems are also when i am using the wireless. I cannot do the xperf command as the problems are having periods of 5-20 minutes.

I used latency monitor to determine what is causing this problems and after one hour i had this :

Driver file Description ISR count DPC count Highest execution (ms) Total execution (ms) Image base Image size Company Product Path
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ndis.sys NDIS 6.20 driver 0 625392 63.819362 4600.180487 0xFFFFF880'0160A000 991232 Microsoft Corporation Microsoft® Windows® Operating System C:\windows\system32\drivers\ndis.sys
tcpip.sys TCP/IP Driver 0 125583 31.551611 3551.584738 0xFFFFF880'01800000 2097152 Microsoft Corporation Microsoft® Windows® Operating System C:\windows\system32\drivers\tcpip.sys
ACPI.sys ACPI Driver for NT 1699 4188 10.086903 59.108433 0xFFFFF880'00F6C000 356352 Microsoft Corporation Microsoft® Windows® Operating System C:\windows\system32\drivers\acpi.sys
mfefirek.sys McAfee Core Firewall Engine Driver 0 115 1.749973 53.884332 0xFFFFF880'08200000 479232 McAfee, Inc. SYSCORE C:\windows\system32\drivers\mfefirek.sys

As far as i figured out when the computer is lagging it is affected only by ndis.sys. Even if the ACPI is high that doest makes my computer lag

Posted Image

Edited by necw, 11 November 2012 - 08:55 AM.


#995
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,989 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

you can use xperf.. Use this command:

xperf -on latency -stackwalk profile -buffersize 1024 -MaxFile 256 -FileMode Circular && timeout -1 && xperf -d DPC_Interrupt.etl

this limits the filesize to 256MB and overrides the old useless data. after you had the issue, go back to CMD and press a key to stop logging.
Posted Image

#996
necw

necw
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Here it is :Posted Image

I really dont know which driver should I use as I have tried a couple of them.....

#997
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,989 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

update the WiFi and LAN drivers. If this doesn't fix it, give me the compressed ETL file
Posted Image

#998
necw

necw
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

update the WiFi and LAN drivers. If this doesn't fix it, give me the compressed ETL file


They are upgraded... How can i give you the compressed ETL ?

LE: nvm i done it i will send you PM

Edited by necw, 12 November 2012 - 05:08 PM.


#999
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,989 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

McAfee and the League of Legends Client seam to cause it.

So stop McAfee and test again.
Posted Image

#1000
necw

necw
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

McAfee and the League of Legends Client seam to cause it.

So stop McAfee and test again.


League of legends is a game. It happens to lag when i use my internet , such as playing games or even youtube so I had to try it by playing a game. I uninstalled McAfee , will come back with feedback.


LE : uninstalled McAfee and it seems that I dont have problems anymore. While checking latecymon i still have the ACPI.sys with 10ms but this seems not to interfere with the performance or anything so i guess i can skip this.

Edited by necw, 13 November 2012 - 11:00 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN