Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

How to get the cause of high CPU usage by DPC / Interrupt

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1419 replies to this topic

#1051
Revolt

Revolt
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 10-September 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

the trace you gave me doesn't show the high CPU usage. Your 80 is idle for 80%.

But I can see that you use ProcessHacker. Inside the tool click on Hacker->Options->advanced and uncheck the option "enable cycle based CPU usage". Now restart ProcessHacker. Do you still have the high CPU usage reported?


I disabled it and now the CPU graph is more diverse ranging from even 15% to 60% so I think it's okay .. Hope it doesn't escalates up to 100% again where I can't even use the mouse. Thanks for your help!


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1052
harekowicz

harekowicz
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 26-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi guys!
I have got similar problem with my DELL XPS 15 l502x - high DPC spikes.
Interesting is that when I have spikes and change my Power Plan spikes disappear for short time - then they come back.
Can you have a look at my etl file and advise me what to do?
Thanks!

Here is url : http://www.speedysha...C-Interrupt.etl

#1053
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the trace is incomplete. Do you run LatencyMon, ProcessExplorer or reMon the same time?
Posted Image

#1054
harekowicz

harekowicz
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 26-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Oh I am so sorry - you are right - I run LatencyMon at same time, here is a link to correct file:
LINK

#1055
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

You have

Total = 144 for module Wdf01000.sys
Elapsed Time, >     1024 usecs AND <=     2048 usecs,      2, or   1.39%

Total = 36937 for module ntoskrnl.exe
Elapsed Time, >     1024 usecs AND <=     2048 usecs,      7, or   0.02%

Total = 296 for module nvlddmkm.sys
Elapsed Time, >     1024 usecs AND <=     2048 usecs,      1, or   0.34%

Total = 1521 for module tcpip.sys
Elapsed Time, >     1024 usecs AND <=     2048 usecs,      1, or   0.07%
Total,                                                  1521

You have some some spikes. The tcpip.sys comes from Chrome, The kernel has some Power management operations. Which powerplan do you use? Also try to disable Core parking. Does this fix it?
Posted Image

#1056
harekowicz

harekowicz
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 26-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I use High Perfomance power plan. I disabled Core parking but it does not fix anything :(
Also I am uploading LatencyMon results. O and on strange thing: every time I open minecraft.exe my computer seems to be working better - peaks are really rare.

Edited by harekowicz, 26 December 2012 - 03:34 PM.


#1057
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

which issues do you have when you have the spikes? Audio and video drops?
Posted Image

#1058
harekowicz

harekowicz
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 26-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Yeah - audio and video drops and distortion, even mouse pointer has issues!

#1059
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

make new traces. Maybe one of them includes more data.
Posted Image

#1060
bryizzle

bryizzle
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 27-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Magic Andre and everyone else -

I've sifted through countless google search pages, Microsoft forum threads, Tomshardware forum threads, any forum that I could possible find and have ended up here...

I'm hoping one of you can help me smooth out my PC problem I can't get away from.

I have constant high spikes in CPU usage; LatencyMon blames it on USBPORT.SYS.

I have constant audio and visual problems (cackling and FPS loss) during these CPU spikes.

Using Windows 7 Ultimate
500w powersupply
MOBO: Biostar A870U3
CPU: AMD 965 BE Deneb
Graphics Card: Sapphire Radeon HD 6870

Here is my .etl file - Use your Magic! :D



If you need any other information that would help you help me, please let me know.

I feel I have every single driver updated, I've reformatted a few times, I've updated every driver manually and also used DriverGenius software to upload all the drivers. My computer may seem to be fine for a little bit but the problem will always come back.

Edited by bryizzle, 30 December 2012 - 06:30 PM.


#1061
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

you have uSB issues:

Total = 1241669 for module USBPORT.SYS
Elapsed Time, >     1024 usecs AND <=     2048 usecs,      2, or   0.00%
Total,                                                1241669

The usb drivers polls for devices every 4s:

Attached File  DPC_usb.png   42.81KB   8 downloads

remove USB devices like your Logitech G35 Headset and look which device causes the issues.
Posted Image

#1062
bryizzle

bryizzle
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 27-December 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

you have uSB issues:

Total = 1241669 for module USBPORT.SYS
Elapsed Time, >     1024 usecs AND <=     2048 usecs,      2, or   0.00%
Total,                                                1241669

The usb drivers polls for devices every 4s:

Attached File  DPC_usb.png   42.81KB   8 downloads

remove USB devices like your Logitech G35 Headset and look which device causes the issues.


I recently installed a Zalman Heatsink/Fan on my CPU and I think I had unnecessarily tied up some of the power (I had things connected to each other that didn't even need to be connected, I know that's vague but I don't know how else to describe it). I cleared up that issue.

My USB devices are my Das Keyboard, my Logitech G35 headset, and my mionix 5000 mouse.

I connected both USB connecters for my Das Keyboard to the back, I've put my Mionix 5000 mouse also connected to the back (by back I mean Mobo) and my Logitech is connected to the Top of my PC (I have a LianLi case that has a slot on the top).

So I made some USB changes and cleared up what I thought may be a power leak or some crap and it all seems to work so far. If the cackling comes back, Ill be back, if not, I want to thank you very much for your time!

#1063
Furyclaw

Furyclaw

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 07-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Right. I'm really considering reverting back to my old system and RMA this MOBO. My friend was experiencing some of the same issues like this, and he sent his kit in, and when the new one arrived he saw none of the errors. When the new stuff gets here I will try again.


ok. Please reply here when you get the new Mobo and tell us if it is fixed or not.



Hello again! It's taken forever, but I finally got myself a brand new mobo. My supplier refused the RMA claming it was my own fault that some pins had been, quote: "Bent out of shape." When I look back onto the CPU socket there is several pins missing, and nowhere to be found, so I take out my jewellers lupe to see if I can spot the break points, and the pins are missing entirely. Called ASUS and got a man to come pick the board up, and he gave me a Z77 Sabertooth in return, as a way of saying "We're sorry."


Happy to relay that the CPU is working flawlessly, just ran Prime95 for 9 hours without a glitch.



So those pins missing were the culprits.

#1064
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

ok, nice to hear that a new mobo fixed it.

btw. Happy new year :)
Posted Image

#1065
Furyclaw

Furyclaw

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 07-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
haha, indeed.

Happy New Year :)

#1066
jd0gg

jd0gg
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 12-January 13
  • OS:Server 2008 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I figured I would save some poor saps still on XP SP3 some time by posting what I just dealt with. Any time I run into some serious issues and find a fix from a web forum I usually register to post my fix and what I did.

I work as a laptop repair tech and through my troubleshooting narrowed down this exact problem to hardware interrupts and DPC's with a donor laptop for a customer.

Long story short, his laptop went the way of the dodo bird and we just so happened to have a nearly identical model in the boneyard. So instead of spending hours troubleshooting his machine (and running up a nice labor bill) I just swapped his drive with his permission. But of course, it was too good to be true and I noticed the lockups. I kind of had an idea it was a hardware issue, I've been doing this since the 98 days so I have a little experience under my belt but I ran his Kapersky and a rootkit tool anyway and found nothing, which is not surprising because it appears to be almost a fresh XP install with only 27-29 processes running in the background.

Unfortunately the poor guy is on an XP machine and NONE of the aformentioned fixes work in XP, unless I missed something. So, here's the rundown, so it turns up in a search engine.

Compaq Presario 2100 2178CL 2178cl
Athlon 2400 mobile, 512 ddr
XP SP3 with updates

I had tried re-installing ALL of the drivers to no avail. I used the ProcessExplorer tool to verify it was a hardware DPC issue of sorts. The old drive that was in this laptop did the exact same thing, and it would freeze every 5 seconds and the interrupt / DPC usage would spike to 18-25%. Through one measure or another, I tried installing the SDK tools mentioned earlier but of course those are for 8, it still wanted me to bump up to .NET framework 4.0, so I did. In the midst of grasping at straws I also did a BIOS flash in Windows from the HP website, rebooted and all seems to be well. So I think it's safe to say one of those things fixed the problem.

Also new friend. I do a bit of case modding and I'll be posting my current project here in a week or so, it's a server case I've cut up and I'm putting in a Xeon dualie.
Intel S5000xvn / 2x 5400 Xeon 2.83/12/1333 - 16gb fb-dimm DDR2 - AMD 5850 1gb - SAS storage for eons - Server 2008 R2 x64

#1067
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the SDK can't be instaleld on XP. Install a 32Bit Win7/8, run SDK there and copy the WPT folder to XP. Run the xperf command and copy the file back to Win7/8 and run the command to generate the TXT file.
Posted Image

#1068
geckados

geckados
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 24-January 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
hello,
sorry for my bad english but here it goes...

e recently had a BSOD episode on my laptop when using internet sharing on my windows phone 8. Since then the CPU on my laptop sits at 100%. System process nt kernel 50%, explorer.exe 50% or sometimes System 50% svchost in all it's processes 50%. I have read the instructions on the first page off this thread, made my etl file, used windows performace analyzer and i narrowed it down to ntkrpamp.exe. But i don't have any clue what to do next, there are some functions i believe that are the culprits but i'm not shure.

I almost forgot, there is another process that has a high count but it's marked with a question mark. I had the SPTD driver, but i uninstalled it and then made my tpl file http://www.sendspace.com/file/pcb2k0

Pls MagicAndre can you take a look at the tpl file?
thank you

#1069
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

you still have a lot of UNKNOWN calls. This is still dynamic code.

It looks like you have enabled driver verifier after you got the BSOD. Disable this.
Posted Image

#1070
geckados

geckados
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 24-January 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
thanks andre for the fast reply
i disabled the driver verifier and made a new tpl file, still got the dynamic code software that's using my cpu
here's the tpl file http://www.sendspace.com/file/yrim7t, do you have any idea what king of software uses dynamic code besides daemon tools, and kasperky?

#1071
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

DPCs are mostly gone, but you still have dynamic code in the SYSTEM process:

Attached File  CPUusage.png   16.74KB   7 downloads

Stop all software until you found the software which causes it.
Posted Image

#1072
geckados

geckados
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 24-January 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
sorry but i dont't exactly understand how to do that..... stop procesess in task manager, or using msconfig?

#1073
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

use msconfig/autoruns:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929135
Posted Image

#1074
Hellkeeper

Hellkeeper
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 01-February 13
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello,

using Windows 8 on a HP z420 with GTX680 GFX. With the help of this Thread I was able to identify which Process filles up one of my CPU Cores with 100% of interrupt handling.
It's the ACPI.sys - but now I don't know how to investigate further and find our why ACPI.sys is eating up one Core of my System ...

Maybe someone here can help me on this? (And what Information do you need for helping me out here?)

Thank you, bye from snowy Austria
Andreas Schnederle-Wagner

#1075
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

upload the ETL file.
Posted Image




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users