Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

How to get the cause of high CPU usage by DPC / Interrupt

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1349 replies to this topic

#1126
MarkcusD

MarkcusD
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

The GTX5XX cards get very hot. Try to add a 3rd party cooler to the GPU.


Probably a good idea. Thanks.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1127
Foehammer96

Foehammer96
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
So, I just registered, I was hoping you could help me fix this problem of mine.

The DPC Latency checker shows something like this
Posted Image

It's a steady pace of 1 big red line per 3 seconds. No matter what I'm doing, or even if I just restarted my machine, the latency checker always looks exactly like this.
Here's my etl file
DPC_Interrupt.zip

#1128
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,758 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the trace doesn't show any spikes except this small nVIDIA spikes:

Total = 2524 for module nvlddmkm.sys
Elapsed Time, >      256 usecs AND <=      512 usecs,    173, or   6.85%
Elapsed Time, >      512 usecs AND <=     1024 usecs,      5, or   0.20%
Total,                                                  2524

You use version 9.18.13.1407 - 314.07). Try the latest Beta driver:

http://www.nvidia.co...eta-driver.html


Also, please don't run this ugly tool. This DPC checker was build for XP! Use LatencyMon instead!

#1129
Foehammer96

Foehammer96
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
The driver didn't seem to help.
Here's what I got from latencymon

Link

#1130
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,758 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

upload a new ETL file.

#1131
Foehammer96

Foehammer96
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Here you go
DPC_Interrupt.zip

#1132
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,758 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Your NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti shares the IRQ16 with a lot of other devices. Your Gigabyte G1.Guerrilla has 3 PCIe x16 slots.

Posted Image

Insert the nVIDIA card into one of the other slots and look if this improves the situation.

#1133
Foehammer96

Foehammer96
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Of course it would be something that simple. :}

Everything seems to be working fine now, thanks for helping me out.

#1134
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,758 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

so the issue is now fixed? In which slot do you the nVIDIA card now?

#1135
Foehammer96

Foehammer96
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Yeah, so far I haven't had any problems. Looking at your picture, the card was originally in the very right slot, and now it's in the center.

Edit: Well, nevermind, apparently it's back to doing it again, this time even worse. It was doing this a while ago too, but I thought I somehow fixed it. Apparently not.
Could you help me out a little more? etl
Also, now it's only happening when I'm playing games and other things. When I'm not doing anything it seems to be fine.

Edited by Foehammer96, 23 March 2013 - 07:28 PM.


#1136
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,758 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the GPU is fine. This time it is the driver Xeno7x64.sys

Total = 41682 for module Xeno7x64.sys
Elapsed Time, >     8192 usecs AND <=    16384 usecs,      0, or   0.00%
Elapsed Time, >    16384 usecs AND <=    32768 usecs,      1, or   0.00%
Total,                                                 41682


Here you have a large spike. This is your BigfootNetworks Killer 2100 network card. The network card share an IRQ with the SATA controller and one USB controller.

Update the network driver and disable this USB controller which share the IRQ 19.

#1137
Bluebomber4evr

Bluebomber4evr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi, Andre. I've registered here because I've tried all sorts of tweaks and changes I've found on the internet and you seem to be the only person around who knows how to actually fix DPC latency problems.

Here's the basics of my system:

Motherboard is ASUS F2 A85-V Pro
OS is Windows 7 SP 1 64-bit

I've run the xperf based on your tutorial in the first post, and the culprit seems to be the hal.dll and related to HPET. Unfortunately, there doesn't seem to be any way to disable the HPET in the bios (the manual certainly isn't any help here). I tried instead to sync up the Windows 7 timer with the HPET but that didn't change anything. Any advice? Should I PM you my trace.etl file?

#1138
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,758 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

yes, please share the .ETL file.

#1139
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,758 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

@ Bluebomber4evr

Total = 132534 for module ataport.SYS
Elapsed Time, > 1024 usecs AND <= 2048 usecs, 1, or 0.00%


Total = 9173 for module ndis.sys
Elapsed Time, > 2048 usecs AND <= 4096 usecs, 1, or 0.01%

Total = 8414 for module tcpip.sys
Elapsed Time, > 4096 usecs AND <= 8192 usecs, 13, or 0.15%
Total, 8414


the largest spikes are caused by the tcpip.sys, others by the ATAport and NDIS.sys. Update the network card drivers.

the hal issue may come from your OC. Don't OC the AMD CPU so much. 4.3GHz seams to be too much.

#1140
Bluebomber4evr

Bluebomber4evr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

@ Bluebomber4evr


Total = 132534 for module ataport.SYS
Elapsed Time, > 1024 usecs AND <= 2048 usecs, 1, or 0.00%


Total = 9173 for module ndis.sys
Elapsed Time, > 2048 usecs AND <= 4096 usecs, 1, or 0.01%

Total = 8414 for module tcpip.sys
Elapsed Time, > 4096 usecs AND <= 8192 usecs, 13, or 0.15%
Total, 8414


the largest spikes are caused by the tcpip.sys, others by the ATAport and NDIS.sys. Update the network card drivers.

the hal issue may come from your OC. Don't OC the AMD CPU so much. 4.3GHz seams to be too much.

Hmm, I am using the latest drivers for my network card, though.

I wasn't aware I was overclocking! O_O I just left the motherboard's default settings on. How do I change that?

#1141
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,758 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

go to the UEFI/BIOS and look for OC settings.

#1142
Bluebomber4evr

Bluebomber4evr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Okay, I see how I had got it overclocked now, I had set the system to "optimal" in the EZ version of the BIOS which apparently automatically overclocks the system (it would have been nice if the manual made it clear that overclocking would occur if that was picked!). I've set it to normal mode and checked in the advanced BIOS and it is now set to the correct frequency of 3.6 ghz.

Should I run another xperf now that overclocking is off?

#1143
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,758 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

yes, run a new trace without OC.

#1144
Bluebomber4evr

Bluebomber4evr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
okay, I've done a second trace and PMed you with my dropbox link

I didn't see anything different from the last report. Any ideas?

#1145
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,758 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

now you only have 4 spikes:

Total = 4536 for module tcpip.sys
Elapsed Time, > 2048 usecs AND <= 4096 usecs, 0, or 0.00%
Elapsed Time, > 4096 usecs AND <= 8192 usecs, 4, or 0.09%
Total, 4536


update the Intel® Gigabit CT Desktop Adapter drivers.

#1146
Bluebomber4evr

Bluebomber4evr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Downloaded and installed the latest drivers for the Intel ethernet card and nothing's changed. I will PM you the new trace.

Should I try to see if there's an update to my BIOS?

#1147
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,758 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

still the same. Try to plug the card into a different PCIe slot and make sure all offloading settings are enabled in the driver options.

#1148
Bluebomber4evr

Bluebomber4evr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
All of the offloading settings were already enabled. The only other PCIe slot on the motherboard is blocked by the video card -- the video card is in the slot designated for vid cards in the motherboard manual, and its fan is large enough to basically take up 2 slots (Geforce 9800 GT). The motherboard has an on-board Realtek LAN, but the DPCs were much worse when it was enabled (which is why I bought the Intel card).

#1149
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,758 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

update the BIOS to 5206 and try to use the GPU in the 2nd PCIe x16 slot (no matter what is written in the manual). if you don't play games, you can also remvoe the 9800 completely and use the HD7540d which is included in the AMD CPU.

#1150
Knifemaster

Knifemaster
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello. Sometimes my PC suffers from high CPU usage by Interrupts

My specs are:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600@2.4GHz
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
2x2GB OCZ DDR2 800Mhz
Asus GTX260
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bits
Three SATA hard disks (WD Caviar Green 2TB, WD VelociRaptor 1500HLFS and a Maxtor HDD)

I followed the steps of the first post a here are the results:

Process Explorer when CPU usage is around 30% by interrutps

Posted Image

DPC Latency Checker running when the high cpu usage occurs

Posted Image

Windows Performance Analyzer showing DPC and Interrupt CPU usage

Posted Image

Summary table

Posted Image

I've tried LatencyMon but when i press the 'Play' button the Interrupt CPU usage goes down.

EDIT: Here is another summary table that confirm the results:

Posted Image

On both cases, the CPU usage went down when cmd.exe created the 'DPC_Interrupt.etl' file

Here is the DPC_Interrupt.rar file.

Thanks for read me

Edited by Knifemaster, 01 April 2013 - 01:02 PM.





9 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 6 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Bing (2), ScoutJet (1)


How to remove advertisement from MSFN