Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

How to get the cause of high CPU usage by DPC / Interrupt

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1419 replies to this topic

#1226
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,105 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

upload the ETL file (compress as 7z) to your skydrive/dropbox and send me a link via PM.
Posted Image


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1227
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,105 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the ETL show no issues. The DPC and ISR values don't reach the 1024µs. Connect the mouse to a different USB port.
Posted Image

#1228
3Seven

3Seven

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 02-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

the ETL show no issues. The DPC and ISR values don't reach the 1024µs. Connect the mouse to a different USB port.


That's weird, i've tried plugging all 3 of my mice to every port with the same erratic mouse behavior, guess my issue is related to something else then.
Like i said, worked fine for a month before problem started. Thanks for the help, i appreciate it.

#1229
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,105 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

do you use a generic mouse driver or a specific driver from the vendor?
Posted Image

#1230
3Seven

3Seven

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 02-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

do you use a generic mouse driver or a specific driver from the vendor?


I've tried it both ways; before i re-installed windows i used the vendors, when the issue appeared the very first thing i did was uninstall them and try the generic MS drivers only.
It's funny that the etl shows no issue while Latencymon tells me otherwise. Would the etl show if the issue stems from a faulty motherboard? I've tested every piece of hardware i have, but have no idea how to go about testing my motherboard itself or it's I/O Ports.

Edit: I had found two threads while researching my problem where one was resolved by disabling all power saving features in BIOS and Windows (didn't work for me) and the other could only get rid of the negative acceleration by buying a new motherboard altogether.

Edited by 3Seven, 20 May 2013 - 12:47 PM.


#1231
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,105 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

do you have a 2nd mouse to test if this also occurs?
Posted Image

#1232
3Seven

3Seven

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 02-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

do you have a 2nd mouse to test if this also occurs?


I've tested with 4 different mice that all have no acceleration whatsoever, same exact thing occurs: CM Spawn, Deathadder, Zowie AM, G400
Mouse Pads: QCK Heavy, Razer Goliathus, Artisan Hein, Desk itself

What I see in game: I get the same amount of negative acceleration with every mouse. The issue will occur even with extremely slow swipes, so i doubt it's that i'm hitting max tracking on my mice.
Moving my mice in a straight line across my pad will make my character in game look slightly to the ground as he pans to the side which lead me to believe it was an interrupt related problem.

I haven't been able to test a mouse over ps/2, but i have tested all my mice on a second PC where they all work flawlessly. There seems to be something wrong with motherboard itself as the issue persists even when re-installing windows and a BIOS update.

What I've tried so far:
1. Deleting / re-installing drivers
2. Re-installing the MarkC Fix
3. Closing all background programs while i game
4. Different video drivers
5. Making sure EPP is off and Windows is at 6/11 with 100% scaling
6. Re-installing my games
7. Unplugging any other device aside from my mouse while testing in game
8. Re-formatting to a completely fresh install
9. Trying different ports / disabling USB 3 and legacy in BIOS
10. BIOS flash
11. Disabling all power saving features / c steps
12. Stress testing my hardware (minus motherboard)
13. Checked hardware for any loose cables
14. Tried my SSD by itself and on every sata port
15. Installed Win 7 to HDD
16. Removing GPU and running on onboard video
17. Used one stick of RAM at a time
18. And lastly checking to see if my issue was DPC related by posting my info here

Everything minus the mouse movement in game works. I tried changing IRQ to see if it was a conflict issue, but Windows doesn't allow me to reassign them unless it says there's an issue.
I have no idea what else to do except to RMA the board, it worked fine for a short time then this issue came up out of nowhere.

Edited by 3Seven, 21 May 2013 - 07:51 PM.


#1233
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,105 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I have no idea what causes this.
Posted Image

#1234
3Seven

3Seven

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 02-October 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I have no idea what causes this.


Thanks for the help anyway.

#1235
kilo85

kilo85
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 14-June 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Andre.

I have spent 3 days trying to figure out the cause of my latency spikes, I hope you can help me. I am getting 200-1900us spikes every 30 seconds and have tried everything to find out the cause

I have sent you the .etl, the only possible problem i see is with svchost, is this where my problem lies? If you can help ill be in your debt, these spikes are killing me!

Edited by kilo85, 14 June 2013 - 04:09 PM.


#1236
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,105 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the trace shows no spikes every 30s. the trace shows 1 small ndis.sys spike:

Total = 2307 for module ndis.sys
Elapsed Time, >      128 usecs AND <=      256 usecs,      0, or   0.00%
Elapsed Time, >      256 usecs AND <=      512 usecs,      0, or   0.00%
Elapsed Time, >      512 usecs AND <=     1024 usecs,      1, or   0.04%
Total,                                                  2307

First install the Sp1! RTM users don't get new updates! Now test if you still have the issues.
Posted Image

#1237
kilo85

kilo85
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 14-June 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

the trace shows no spikes every 30s. the trace shows 1 small ndis.sys spike:

Total = 2307 for module ndis.sys
Elapsed Time, >      128 usecs AND <=      256 usecs,      0, or   0.00%
Elapsed Time, >      256 usecs AND <=      512 usecs,      0, or   0.00%
Elapsed Time, >      512 usecs AND <=     1024 usecs,      1, or   0.04%
Total,                                                  2307

First install the Sp1! RTM users don't get new updates! Now test if you still have the issues.


Hi Andre.

Thanks for the quick reply. its appreaciated!

Seems odd because i am getting spikes in both Latmon and DPClat. I have installed sp1 and run the tests again. I have PM'd you the results. I have included screenshots of DPC and LatMon. I have seen a slight improvment in my results after raising the virtual memory, if you still see no spikes do you think these spikes could be RAM related? I ask because when i remove one of my sticks of ram i get a black screen which seems odd.

Anyway hope you can offer me some advice because i have spent over 30 hours now trying to get to the bottom of this. Thanks :thumbup

#1238
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,105 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I still can't see any DPC issues. The values are fine:

Total = 25890
Elapsed Time, >        0 usecs AND <=        1 usecs,   7141, or  27.58%
Elapsed Time, >        1 usecs AND <=        2 usecs,  12500, or  48.28%
Elapsed Time, >        2 usecs AND <=        4 usecs,   2160, or   8.34%
Elapsed Time, >        4 usecs AND <=        8 usecs,   2607, or  10.07%
Elapsed Time, >        8 usecs AND <=       16 usecs,    742, or   2.87%
Elapsed Time, >       16 usecs AND <=       32 usecs,    602, or   2.33%
Elapsed Time, >       32 usecs AND <=       64 usecs,    100, or   0.39%
Elapsed Time, >       64 usecs AND <=      128 usecs,     38, or   0.15%
Total,                                                 25890


the small svchost.exe spike comes from Superfetch.
Posted Image

#1239
kilo85

kilo85
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 14-June 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I fixed my problem!! To stop the spikes in Latmon i had to factory reset the BIOS, then go back and turn off SpeedStep, C1E Support, and C-STATE. These were all already turned off, but a factory reset on the BIOS and turning them back off again solved my 30 second spike problem in DPClat.

Even then I still had problems with LatMon, but I finally found out that the latency problem and the "Your system seems to have difficulty handling real-time audio and other tasks." error message was being caused by the "power" startup service!! disabling this service in msconfig means I now have no more problems, and im finally rid of that damned error msg!!

Still, Big thanks to MagicAndre for taking a look at my results and helping me route out that this was not a driver problem!

#1240
doveman

doveman

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 391 posts
  • Joined 22-August 05
I seem to have "acquired" a DPC latency issue again. I'm also hearing a lot of random HDD activity for extended periods so maybe that's a clue. At the moment, it seems to be explorer.exe causing it, as that's using 10-15% CPU whilst everything else is idle. Defrag isn't scheduled and nor are there any other scheduled tasks I can see that would cause this disk activity. We previously fixed the DPC problem by plugging my mouse into the motherboard and not a hub but it's still plugged into the motherboard so shouldn't be causing any issues.

Posted Image

Posted Image

https://docs.google....dit?usp=sharing

#1241
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,105 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the high Explorer cpu usage comes from

SearchFolder.dll!CGrepQuery::_CheckRecurseIntoFolder


the DPC issues come from the sptd.sys driver (Demon Tools)

Total = 368 for module sptd.sys
Elapsed Time, >        0 usecs AND <=        1 usecs,      2, or   0.54%
Elapsed Time, >        1 usecs AND <=        2 usecs,      1, or   0.27%
Elapsed Time, >        2 usecs AND <=        4 usecs,      0, or   0.00%
Elapsed Time, >        4 usecs AND <=        8 usecs,    239, or  64.95%
Elapsed Time, >        8 usecs AND <=       16 usecs,     87, or  23.64%
Elapsed Time, >       16 usecs AND <=       32 usecs,      5, or   1.36%
Elapsed Time, >       32 usecs AND <=       64 usecs,      1, or   0.27%
Elapsed Time, >       64 usecs AND <=      128 usecs,      1, or   0.27%
Elapsed Time, >      128 usecs AND <=      256 usecs,     25, or   6.79%
Elapsed Time, >      256 usecs AND <=      512 usecs,      0, or   0.00%
Elapsed Time, >      512 usecs AND <=     1024 usecs,      5, or   1.36%
Elapsed Time, >     1024 usecs AND <=     2048 usecs,      2, or   0.54%
Total,                                                   368


Posted Image

#1242
doveman

doveman

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 391 posts
  • Joined 22-August 05

the high Explorer cpu usage comes from

SearchFolder.dll!CGrepQuery::_CheckRecurseIntoFolder


the DPC issues come from the sptd.sys driver (Demon Tools)


Thanks. I'll uninstall the sptd driver and use Alcohol 52% instead.

I note the driver tab of LatencyMon doesn't show sptd.sys very high up the list, so I guess that's not the useful for identifying the problem.

Regarding the Explorer usage, do you know what was triggering the SearchFolder function as I wasn't actively searching in Explorer at the time?

EDIT: Also, is it normal that latency is high when the HDD is busy, such as when defragging? I'm doing that at the moment and whereas normally it hovers around 19-30us but does spike to 100-200, whilst defragging it's minimum is about 160us going up to about 350us (the highest spike in the 3minutes I've been measuring was 2639us though).

Edited by doveman, 28 June 2013 - 11:08 AM.


#1243
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,105 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I have no idea what was triggering the SearchFolder function.

Yes, doing IO activty causes DPCs. If they are under 1000µs you should have no glitches.
Posted Image

#1244
doveman

doveman

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 391 posts
  • Joined 22-August 05

I have no idea what was triggering the SearchFolder function.

Yes, doing IO activty causes DPCs. If they are under 1000µs you should have no glitches.


OK. As I said though, the highest spike was 2639us. I was defragging at the time and obviously don't care about latency whilst doing that but if HDD activity can cause such spikes, I imagine they could occur whilst a game is loading files from the HDD as well, which would be a problem.

#1245
mpolo

mpolo
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 09-July 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Not sure if this will help anyone but I came here during my diagnosis of similar DPC latency issues.

It was on a HP notebook (8540w)

At first it appeared to the the nvidia display driver but after uninstalling it then appeared to be the ataport.sys driver.

Eventually though, I saw a mention of a faulty power supply causing similar issues, the one hardware item I never suspected! Running on battery improved the situation, and using the same troublesome powersupply on another HP laptop slowed it right down.

With the new powersupply, latencymon is still saying that there _might_ be slowdowns, but from a benchmark perspective it is running normally again.

Something to keep in mind,

Michael

#1246
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,105 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

run the xperf commands and upload the generated .ETL file.
Posted Image

#1247
doveman

doveman

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 391 posts
  • Joined 22-August 05
I've had to restore my gaming PC from a True Image backup and am having problems with latency again. Previously I'd got it down to around 19us, with spikes around 100-200us.

Now it's not going lower than around 82us, spending most of the time around 150-300ms but with very high spikes as shown in these screenshots. The first two were taken before installing the AMD Chipset drivers.

Posted Image

Posted Image

These next two were taken after installing the AMD Chipset drivers. At first, it seemed better and stayed below about 300us but as soon as I opened my browser, with several tabs saved, it spiked to 500us and then LatencyMon stopped (I didn't notice at first). After I restarted it, I saw these very high spikes, which are lower than the spikes in the previous screenshots but still very high.

Posted Image

Posted Image

etl uploaded to https://docs.google....dit?usp=sharing

#1248
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,105 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the .etl file shows 1 spike caused by the NDIS.sys:

Total = 130696 for module ndis.sys
Elapsed Time, >      256 usecs AND <=      512 usecs,     56, or   0.04%
Elapsed Time, >      512 usecs AND <=     1024 usecs,      1, or   0.00%
Total,                                                130696

Also disable all effects in the sound options, becasue the AudioEng.exe causes some CPU usage (CAudioProcessor::ProcessEachAPO)

Edited by MagicAndre1981, 09 July 2013 - 10:46 PM.

Posted Image

#1249
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,105 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

my last post is gone.

The latest trace shows HDD issues ("Depth queue at Init" is over 100) which explains the storport.sys issues you see.
Posted Image

#1250
doveman

doveman

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 391 posts
  • Joined 22-August 05

my last post is gone.

The latest trace shows HDD issues ("Depth queue at Init" is over 100) which explains the storport.sys issues you see.


Hmm, seems to be an epidemic. My post has disappeared too.

Anyway, as I'm not sure which message you're replying to, can you confirm you're referring to DPC_Interrupt_3.zip?

I'm still at a loss to understand why this storport.sys (which apparently is used for SCSI devices) is even being used on my system. In Device Manager, the AMD SATA Controller lists amd_sata.sys and amd_xata.sys, whilst the actual HDDs list disk.sys and partmgr.sys and I don't have any other storage devices connected.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users