Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

How to get the cause of high CPU usage by DPC / Interrupt

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1412 replies to this topic

#1401
BeauS

BeauS
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 05-August 14
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hello Andre, as i mentioned in pm. just a quick summary, ive been having some issues with dpc latency causing some audio popping and stutter while gaming. ive searched all over the web for a solution to this. i have run latency mon and the main drivers at the top of the list are usually nvidia drivers, directx, usbport.sys, ataport.sys, tcpip.sys, etc. the issues im having primarily show up when i am playing a game and mostly while playing in nvidia surround mode on 3 Asus monitors. should i do the trace while im gaming or should i do it while my pc is idle or should i get a trace of both for you to review to help me isolate the issue?




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1402
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,026 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

capture 2 traces (one idle and one during gaming) so that I can compare them.


Posted Image

#1403
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,026 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the idle trace shows some DPC issues caused by the nVIDIA GPU driver:


Total = 50848 for module nvlddmkm.sys
Elapsed Time, >        0 usecs AND <=        1 usecs,    903, or   1.78%
Elapsed Time, >        1 usecs AND <=        2 usecs,   8468, or  16.65%
Elapsed Time, >        2 usecs AND <=        4 usecs,  10120, or  19.90%
Elapsed Time, >        4 usecs AND <=        8 usecs,   7422, or  14.60%
Elapsed Time, >        8 usecs AND <=       16 usecs,  17104, or  33.64%
Elapsed Time, >       16 usecs AND <=       32 usecs,   5847, or  11.50%
Elapsed Time, >       32 usecs AND <=       64 usecs,    678, or   1.33%
Elapsed Time, >       64 usecs AND <=      128 usecs,     29, or   0.06%
Elapsed Time, >      128 usecs AND <=      256 usecs,      0, or   0.00%
Elapsed Time, >      256 usecs AND <=      512 usecs,    271, or   0.53%
Elapsed Time, >      512 usecs AND <=     1024 usecs,      6, or   0.01%
Total,                                                 50848

In the gaming the Spikes of the nVIDIA driver are larger.

 

You still use the 337.88 driver, try the 340.52:

 

http://www.nvidia.co...spx/77224/en-us

 

and look if this improves it.


Posted Image

#1404
doveman

doveman

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Joined 22-August 05

I've just done a fresh install of Win 8.1 Update 1 x64 on another system, AMD not Intel this time and have the same issue with ndis.sys causing massive latency spikes when in Balanced mode, which is fixed by running in High Performance mode, so it seems a common issue across all platforms when using power saving features.

 

I guess if playing an online video is enough to keep the CPU in High Power state then it won't cause any problems but if it's fluctuating between states (and certainly a youtube video shouldn't need a 4-core 4670k to run at 3.8Ghz (or 4.4Ghz overclocked), it seems bound to cause audio issues, so probably the only solution is to run in High Performance mode all the time and be more aggressive about putting the PC in standby to offset the increased power usage.



#1405
Decibull

Decibull
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 01-September 14
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I've been having an issue for a while now with that something is constantly using 10-20% of my CPU, and it's only on the first core.  I've diagnosed that it's system interrupts and it seems to be ndis.sys and ataport.sys, but I can't figure out what's causing it.

 

Here's the .etl.

https://mega.co.nz/#...iOLfQW20XjNeK_E



#1406
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,026 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the kernel.etl is useless. I need the DPC_Interrupt.etl


Posted Image

#1407
Decibull

Decibull
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 01-September 14
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Ah, sorry.

 

Here: https://mega.co.nz/#...4FGj8KpJNr-bTNo



#1408
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,026 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the trace is corrupted and misses a lot of data

 

Try this command:

 

xperf -on latency -stackwalk profile -buffersize 2048


Posted Image

#1409
Decibull

Decibull
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 01-September 14
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Alright https://mega.co.nz/#...55cYfgzN_9xN6BY



#1410
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,026 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

ok,got it.

 

The IdePortInterrupt from ataport.sys is very high. This sounds like your HDD running in the old IDE mode instead of AHCI.

 

Try to change to AHCI:

 

http://www.neowin.ne...alling-windows/

http://forums.guru3d...ad.php?t=313676

 

Does this fixes it?


Posted Image

#1411
Decibull

Decibull
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 01-September 14
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

No, it doesn't.



#1412
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,026 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

provide a new xperf trace file after changing to AHCI. Also check the SMART values of your HDD


Posted Image

#1413
ckonstantinos

ckonstantinos
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 08-August 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi MagicAndre,

 

Thank you for your guide! I have the same problem with the process "System" keeping the CPU constantly at 10-20%. Actually I have a vaio with "stamina-speed" switch. When I select "stamina" the CPU is constantly at 10%. When I select "speed" the CPU is at 20%. I followed your instructions and I think the responsible threads are ACPI and HAL. I tried to find a new BIOS but it seems that I have the latest one. I installed all the windows updates but nothing changed (I have windows 8.1). I changed my power saving setting but nothing improved. Please can you have a look at my DPC_Interrupt.etl because I don't know what else to do and this problem is eating my battery!

 

Here is my DPC_Interrupt.etl:

https://dl.dropboxus...C_Interrupt.zip

 

Thank you so much

Konstantinos






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN