Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

How to get the cause of high CPU usage by DPC / Interrupt

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1419 replies to this topic

#126
aero108

aero108
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 09-June 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello Dear!
I believe that ONLY you can help me...
I read your post about how to get the cause of HIGH CPU usage.
I've tried all. But I still cant find any answer for my problem.
My CPU is Intel Core2 Duo T7700 2400 Mhz.
Os: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit.
When I use 2 Gb RAM all good. CPU usage in idle not more: 10 %.
All works great, very speed. CPU had low temp (about 55-60C)
BUT, when I try to use 4 GB RAM (ram sticks the same). - I have
a lot of problem. Boot is very very slow..... All working very slow.
CPU usage in idle 40-100% (temp 69-80C) !!!.
I've already disable ReadyBoost (cause in ReadyBoost idle usage: 100% always).
And changed drivers for NVIDIA.
But I still have problem with other modules...
If you have time, please download DPC_Interrupt RAR archive:

Link for DPC file


size: 24 mb. And try to understand a problem...


Very-very believe in you...
Many thanks...
Yuri

Edited by aero108, 10 June 2010 - 03:47 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#127
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,058 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Hi, the etl file says you have an issue with the NDIS.sys driver. This is a generic MS driver for the network. Also the tcpip.sys driver is involved. Are you using the latest driver for your Intel® Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN adapter? If yes, are you using the latest version of your installed Kerio VPN Client?
Posted Image

#128
aero108

aero108
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 09-June 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Dear MagicAndre1981,
driver for Wifi - latest.
I removed Kerio.
But problem is still.
All update for windows is up to date.

Hi, the etl file says you have an issue with the NDIS.sys driver. This is a generic MS driver for the network. Also the tcpip.sys driver is involved. Are you using the latest driver for your Intel® Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN adapter? If yes, are you using the latest version of your installed Kerio VPN Client?



#129
davy

davy
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 15-June 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi MagicAndre1981,

Would you mind having a look at my trace?
http://cid-bf643cf5b...uments/perf.etl

I was getting high dpc latencies earlier but I narrowed it down to the smbus controller driver. After disabling the smbus controller device from device manager, dpc latencies are ok. However, upon resuming from sleep, something else seems to be causing delays on the bus. I have looked through the trace but I don't see anything irregular.

win 7 x64
all drivers up to date

#130
NewestGuy

NewestGuy

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 30-March 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
A follow up to my issue:

http://www.msfn.org/...post__p__920682

I think it was being caused by Flash, I was using a version of chrome browser called iron browser, I installed flash block and the interrupt storm has not happened in weeks now. I since have started using Google's version of chrome browser because the developers of Iron browser cannot keep up with vulnerabilities being patched.

I can mark my issue solved for now, crossing fingers.

Thanks for all your help.

.

#131
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,058 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

ok, thanks for posting your solution.
Posted Image

#132
Ikari2k

Ikari2k
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 18-June 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi.
In the first, sorry for my bad english, i'm portuguese.

I have a peculiar problem with my PC, the DPC's in some cases are too high, and make my system break/pause for several seconds, and then my mouse slowdown, my sound is too slow, and break/pause again for several seconds...and this is until I reboot the PC...

This strange case happens for several reasons, but the last one, and more often it's when i tried to pass a file, like a movie, or iso, from my main disk, to my second disk in the pc.

I've uninstall the Wlan drivers, and Nvidia Drivers for teh graphic cards and chipset, and reinstalled, but nothing seems to work.

Here's my etl file, hope you can help.

http://www.2shared.c..._Interrupt.html

thanks in advance

#133
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,058 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Hi,

from what I see, the nvstor64.sys may be the cause. Have you installed the latest nForce driver version?
Posted Image

#134
Ikari2k

Ikari2k
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 18-June 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
yep i have the latest 15.53, at least in the nvidia site

#135
splasm

splasm
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 19-June 10
  • OS:Vista Home x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Andre,

I'm having a problem with an "unknown" driver that really seems to be out of control. I've attached my .etl file, can you give me some advice on how to address this issue? I'm already aware that my ndsys and tcpip files are causing problems, which I've crudely bypassed by disabling my wifi card while running my DAW. But this 'unknown' business seems to really be causing problems. Thanks in advance.

http://www.zshare.ne...41545921e1804c/

#136
shuto

shuto
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 09-July 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi MagicAndre1981,

Would you mind having a look at my trace?


[img]http://http://www.volley24.pl/hal_cpu.gif[/img]

I was getting high dpc latencies earlier.

The trace show me that the problem is with hal.dll but I don't know what is it.

Please help me.

win 7 x64
dell e6500, core duo T9800
all drivers and BIOS up to date

Attached Files



#137
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,058 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Do you use any Power Saving features from the CPU? Try to change the power plan to "High Performance" and try again. Is it better now?
Posted Image

#138
Chilledchaos

Chilledchaos
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 11-July 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hey MagicAndre.

Maybe you could please help me out with my situation as well. I read through the entire post, but the solutions posted for other people just do not seem to work for me.
I brought my computer to a repair shop because of this and I just got my computer back from them and they said it was the Hard Drive that was failing, so they replaced it....needless to say I am still having the issue

Maybe you can decipher whats wrong and help me out... I want to smash this thing already.


I was tracing this while playing a game, and these are the results I got.

Attached Files


Edited by Chilledchaos, 12 July 2010 - 01:09 AM.


#139
Krig

Krig
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 22-July 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
You've helped so many people, patiently, and created a wonderful guide to walk us through it. I made it almost to the very end, but feel like I've stumbled on the last hurdle.

My CPU is pegged at 80-100%, no iPhone/apple products. Home built computer. Started some weeks ago running slow, thought it was a virus at first.

Anyway, I can't seem to get the symbols to load properly, or they are unable to interpret the data correctly.

It seems like this is the culprit:

0xfffff880041d1b10, , 3650421, 0.013408, 0.002767, 10101.914852, 18.18, 13.647265, 42880.785127

obviously, I have no clue what that belongs to.

I attached CPUZ and screenshot data below. Actual data collected is too big to post. Nforce4 boards are no longer supported. I updated my ethernet controller with an nforce5 driver, seems to work fine. Not sure what to try next.

Attached Files


Edited by Krig, 22 July 2010 - 06:28 PM.


#140
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,058 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I also don't know how to read the name of the driver. Only cluberti may have an idea how to do it. But he doesn't reply since his last hint (it's a kernel driver).
Posted Image

#141
Krig

Krig
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 22-July 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I also don't know how to read the name of the driver. Only cluberti may have an idea how to do it. But he doesn't reply since his last hint (it's a kernel driver).


I was poking around my device manager, saw I had a PCI multi in-out controller. I remember people having problems with graphics cards and multi-card slot readers. Thought to myself hmmm... So I disabled it and now no more interrupts. ::crosses fingers::

It was a really old product I was using to work a touch-screen IIRC. Right now it will just be disabled, but I will pull it later.

Awesome thread. MagicAndre you're a great person for helping all these people, even if you couldn't help me specifically. I learned a lot with your tutorial.

Thanks again!

#142
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,058 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

saw I had a PCI multi in-out controller. ... So I disabled it and now no more interrupts. ::crosses fingers::

It was a really old product I was using to work a touch-screen IIRC. Right now it will just be disabled, but I will pull it later.

Awesome thread. MagicAndre you're a great person for helping all these people, even if you couldn't help me specifically. I learned a lot with your tutorial.


ok, thanks for your compliment. Great to hear, that disabling the controller solves your issue :)
Posted Image

#143
Emrets61

Emrets61
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 13-July 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello. I tried your succestions. I see the problem in ACPI.sys. I installed lastest Ethernet, Sound, Chipset and Bios driver. My CPU is Q9400. I now looking to CPU's information. CPU is starting on 2 core and CPU's degree is 80. CPU going to die. Please help me. I'm waiting for your reply.

Note: Sorry for English problem. My English is bad.

Edited by Emrets61, 24 July 2010 - 11:37 AM.


#144
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,058 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

upload the file, please
Posted Image

#145
Emrets61

Emrets61
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 13-July 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Here: http://hotfile.com/d...errupt.etl.html

#146
sneeze

sneeze
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 28-July 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

upload the file, please


hey andre, I think I have the same problem as you with the overload of system resources when my download speed is too much. I followed your instructions and it came out to be the file NDIS.sys thats been screwing me over. However, I have no idea where to find a driver for this..with some research i found that my network controller is a nforce 500 sli but can't find any new drivers for it. Is this the correct thing I'm searching for or is it something else? Thanks for the help so far

#147
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,058 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Do you have a different network card to test? If yes, disable the nForce network device and use the other card. Is the ndis.sys usage gone? If not, it maybe caused by tools which affect networking like Firewalls or AntiVirus tools.
Posted Image

#148
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,058 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Here: http://hotfile.com/d...errupt.etl.html


I have no real idea. It's difficult for me to see which devices you have (I don't understand Turkish). Try to disable some devices in the device manager.
Posted Image

#149
VDev

VDev
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 03-August 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,

I have been searching all over the place to find a layman's solution to stop this annoying system interrupt problem. Your solution seems the right approach and therefore I have (a) downloaded Web installer, selected Win32 Development Tools and installed them; (B) Ran wpt_x86.msi; © however, on running xperf –on latency, I got following error: "xperf: error: NT Kernel Logger: Access is denied. <0x5>". I don't know how to proceed. I admit, I am only a normal PC user without any specific expertise in hardware/ software/ programs and I would appreciate if you would please elaborate how to get over the obstacles.

Thank you for your time and help.

VDev


How to get the cause of high CPU usage by DPC (Deferred Procedure Call) and interrupts?




#150
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,058 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

you have to run the command prompt with admin rights

Edited by MagicAndre1981, 03 August 2010 - 07:29 AM.

Posted Image




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users