Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

How to get the cause of high CPU usage caused by apps?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
197 replies to this topic

#51
laptoptraveler

laptoptraveler
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 25-July 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I honestly don't know if it did completely, but it did help. I'm going to post how the same issue just happened again today.

- Since I've installed the driver, it has calmed down considerably, but I lost so much work time I did not want to test it until I had time.
- I just did a Windows upgrade and it locked my laptop at 100% for about an hour or so after the intsall and reboot. It has finally calmed down.
- I'm also downloading another updated NVIDIA driver and will see if that makes a difference.

If there are still issues, I will post the files here for your review again. In my opinion it is the driver, but full testing will be done to confirm that in a couple days.

- t


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#52
dongs

dongs
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 23-August 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Thank you MagicAndre1981 for your work. I've been able to follow the outlined steps and troubleshooting tips you've given others. My CPU utilization problem originated sometime several months ago and gradually got worse. Upon boot, the system would hang for 2-4 minutes @ 100% CPU load. Once that worsened to ~20 minutes I'd had enough. I was able to stop the lock-up upon boot by eliminating MSFT Security Essentials in favor of AVG, but the CPU is still taxed for quite some time upon boot. If you have a minute, please put eyes on my ETL file, as I can't for the life of me determine which of these threads is the cause. They all seem like system processes native to the OS. Perhaps you'll have better luck.

I appreciate your assistance in advance.

latency.etl: http://puu.sh/4HbV

#53
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,157 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the svchost.exe has the high CPU usage. If you look at the "Stack count" Summary table you can see that the Umpnpmgr.DLL causes it. This is the Plug and Play service. Check the device manager if you can see yellow icons there. if yes, remove them and install the device drivers again.
Posted Image

#54
dongs

dongs
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 23-August 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

the svchost.exe has the high CPU usage. If you look at the "Stack count" Summary table you can see that the Umpnpmgr.DLL causes it. This is the Plug and Play service. Check the device manager if you can see yellow icons there. if yes, remove them and install the device drivers again.


I did notice the umpnpmgr.dll via process explorer, but everything looks to be OK in device manager. It's a laptop with no hardware modifications to the original configuration. Is there a way to isolate Umpnpmgr to determine what's hooked it into that behavior?

#55
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,157 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

try to run Process Monitor at the time ou have the high CPU usage. Maybe this shows you want the Plug & Play service does.
Posted Image

#56
Chrobak77

Chrobak77
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 02-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello there!
Andre i am begging you... could you please look at my trace when i upload it on mediafire? Ive tried my best but NT Kernel & System eats 50 % of my cpu when i start playing World of Tanks... Thank you Chrobak

Edited by Chrobak77, 02 September 2011 - 02:33 PM.


#57
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,157 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

yes, upload the trace and send me the link.
Posted Image

#58
Chrobak77

Chrobak77
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 02-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
http://www.mediafire...6s0wl6g2urf0llq

Here is it! Thank you!!!

#59
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,157 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the L1C62x64.sys driver causes the high CPU usage (37%) in the NT Kernel:

Attached File  L1C62x64.png   69.03KB   21 downloads

From what I see this is your Atheros L1c PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver. You use version 1.0.0.36 so try to update the driver, please.
Posted Image

#60
Chrobak77

Chrobak77
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 02-September 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello again :(. I just updated my driver but it seems it still not working.... i uploaded you a new trace...i looked at it and it looks same as before :(..could you please help me one more time? Thanks Chrobak

http://www.mediafire...zimcxxo35kuixlo

Edited by Chrobak77, 03 September 2011 - 04:57 AM.


#61
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,157 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

correct. Now it is 40% CPU usgae caused by the driver. Check the driver settings and enable Interrupt Moderation and all Offload options. Also try to lower the speed to 100MBit. I doubt that you have a 1GBit Internet connection.
Posted Image

#62
fluffymasterchief

fluffymasterchief
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 25-October 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello Andre.

Nice tutorial. It helped me greatly to find the source of high CPU usage.
But even though I know what is causing the problem, I don't know how to fix the problem: halmacpi.dll

This halmacpi.dll is using 50% or more of my cpu for 2-3 seconds in every 25-30 seconds interval. This causes a noticeable lag or unresponsiveness in my computer whenever I am doing anything that is CPU intensive. halmacpi.dll is also a part of a window system process so I can't exactly remove or shut it off either. And searching around the internet didn't help me much for finding a solution.

I've attached the screenshots of table summary.
A link to the downloadable latency.etl is here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=PNTZL0GU

I appreciate any help or advice you could give me.
Thanks :)

Attached Files

  • Attached File  1.png   125.73KB   26 downloads
  • Attached File  2.png   124.04KB   22 downloads


#63
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,157 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the BLKWGDv8.sys indicates an issue with the Belkin Wireless G Desktop Card driver. Your driver version is 6.1061.1115.2006. So try to get an update because this driver is from 2006.
Posted Image

#64
fluffymasterchief

fluffymasterchief
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 25-October 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

the BLKWGDv8.sys indicates an issue with the Belkin Wireless G Desktop Card driver. Your driver version is 6.1061.1115.2006. So try to get an update because this driver is from 2006.

Thanks Andre! I solved my problem :D

I couldn't find a latest driver for window 7 so I just disabled the device and removed the driver (wasn't using the wireless anyway) and now there is no more problem!

Thanks again man. Much appreciated :)

#65
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,157 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

ok, enjoy your Windows 7now :)
Posted Image

#66
Tosa23

Tosa23
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 16-December 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello Andre! First of all thx for the great tutorial. My explorer.exe causes 50% cpu usage, but now i'm not really sure what is the problem. Maybe this comctl32.dll causes the problem, but how to fix that?

Here are the screen shots and I appreciate any help from you. Thanks.

Posted Image
Posted Image

#67
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,157 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

you must load the debug symbols. Have you configured the symbolpath?
Posted Image

#68
Tosa23

Tosa23
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 16-December 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Update with loaded debug symbols:

Posted Image
Posted Image

#69
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,157 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

can you zip the trace, upload it and send me the link?
Posted Image

#70
Tosa23

Tosa23
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 16-December 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Here is the trace:

http://www.crocko.co...144/latency.zip

#71
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,157 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

The explroer uses a high CPU usgae because of the COMCTL32.DLL!CLVItemStore::CacheItem fuction. In the callstack I see VSDATANT.SYS. From what I see this is ZoneAlarm. Try to update or better remove ZA completely.

Next install the Vista Sp2! Vista Sp1 is out of support since July 2011! And also try to enable AHCI in the BIOS to get the best HDD performance. YOu're running the HDD in IDE/ATAPI mode.
Posted Image

#72
Tosa23

Tosa23
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 16-December 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
ZA is now completely removed, but explorer still uses high CPU usage like before, arhg... Here is the new trace(ZA removed): http://www.crocko.co...477/latency.zip

AHCI is enabled in the BIOS, so im not really sure what is the problem with HDD mode.

#73
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,157 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

please install the Sp2 and test it again.
Posted Image

#74
Tosa23

Tosa23
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 16-December 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
SP2 installed, but still the same problem...

New trace: http://www.crocko.co...5D6/latency.zip

#75
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,157 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Function

COMCTL32.DLL!CLVView::IsCleanRect

causes 36% CPU usage. There is no docu about the function. IsCleanrect maybe GDI related. So update the graphic card driver for your NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT. Your driver is ForceWare 176.44 (7.15.11.7644) which is very old.

Try this satble driver:

http://www.nvidia.co...hql-driver.html

or the latest Beta driver:

http://www.nvidia.co...eta-driver.html

and test if this fixes it.
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users