Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

How to get the cause of high CPU usage caused by apps?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
197 replies to this topic

#126
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Have you installed the MSI? Is the WPT folder added to the PATH Environment variable?
Posted Image


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#127
tarmo242

tarmo242
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 19-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I got it working but when stopping the trace i get:
xperf: error: -d doesn not expect 0 argument(s).

#128
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

it shows everything you need to know. -d dumps the data into a file, so you must provide a filename. Look at my 1st post.
Posted Image

#129
tarmo242

tarmo242
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 19-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
My bad i tought i did the same thing but I was wrong but now i have another problem my summary table isnt like yours and i cant read anything out from it:
Posted Image

#130
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

you must load the Debug symbols and sort by "Sampled profile"
Posted Image

#131
tarmo242

tarmo242
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 19-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I´´ve been having freezes for few months now, they are caused by a process called system..
Loading the debug symbols and sorting by sampled profiles isn´t helping they look the same..
I tought maybe you can help,so I uploaded my latency.etl file
I realy want to get it fixed,every other min i get a freeze for about 10-15sec
http://www.mediafire...9uit9e6ld77kt98

#132
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Most CPU usage is caused by crossfire.exe. The system process CPU usage is caused by the NetBIOS driver. This drivers tries to scan the lmhost file (netbt.sys!DelayedScanLmHostFile) and this casues the CPU usage. Is the lmhost file damaged or does the system process doesn't have access to it? Do
Posted Image

#133
tarmo242

tarmo242
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 19-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Most CPU usage is caused by crossfire.exe. The system process CPU usage is caused by the NetBIOS driver. This drivers tries to scan the lmhost file (netbt.sys!DelayedScanLmHostFile) and this casues the CPU usage. Is the lmhost file damaged or does the system process doesn't have access to it? Do

crossfire.exe is the game i played while the freeze happened,it happens on desktop,while watching vids from youtube and so on... I checked that the system has acess to it and how can i check if its damaged?Or how i should fix it..?I googeld it but found nothing useful:S

#134
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

uncheck the lmhost file usage in the network options of your NIC.
Posted Image

#135
milletian

milletian
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 06-May 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
well, hi again.

i finally did a trace, and i tried looking through it but i couldnt make much sense out of it.
here it is though, http://www.mediafire...m3r5pm1ewdmw77j

all i know is that iphlpsvc from svchost.exe has something to do w/ it.
i went through process explorer and my performance monitor and when i looked at both, i see iphlpsvc eating half of my cpu.
sometimes i see it spike over 100 (i have no idea how that happened).
right now i just turn the service off, and my cpu drops from 75-100% to 10-50%. my cpu still spikes a lot an i'm not sure if there's another thing responsible for that.

hope you can help. thanks.

#136
tarmo242

tarmo242
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 19-March 12
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

uncheck the lmhost file usage in the network options of your NIC.

What do you mean by uncheck the imhost file usage?
looked everything in control panel under network and internet and didnt find any place where there was a place to check file usage

#137
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator


uncheck the lmhost file usage in the network options of your NIC.

What do you mean by uncheck the imhost file usage?
looked everything in control panel under network and internet and didnt find any place where there was a place to check file usage


uncheck NetBIOS over TCPIP.
Posted Image

#138
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

all i know is that iphlpsvc from svchost.exe has something to do w/ it.


this is the IPv6 Helper service which provides IPv6 over IPv4 networks.

So install the Sp1 for Windows 7 which includes a lot of fixes, maybe your issue is also gone.

If the issue is not gone and if you don't need this service, stop the service.
Posted Image

#139
milletian

milletian
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 06-May 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


all i know is that iphlpsvc from svchost.exe has something to do w/ it.


this is the IPv6 Helper service which provides IPv6 over IPv4 networks.

So install the Sp1 for Windows 7 which includes a lot of fixes, maybe your issue is also gone.

If the issue is not gone and if you don't need this service, stop the service.


ah, well, the problem here is... i cant get the windows 7 sp1 to install in my pc either... it downloads, installs but when it tries to configure, it always gets stuck at 70%, it restarts several times, gets stuck at same percent and i get error 0x80070643.

and i really do want the cpu issue gone without doing such a round about way of turning off iphlpsvc. i already do it, but it means i have to suffer 20mins of agony while i wait for it to turn off every time i start after a shutdown. sorry if i'm bothering you.

#140
sircrester

sircrester
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 28-June 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Unfortunately, I'm still seeing these large spikes every 15 seconds, and am still not getting the latency that others seem to be reporting using the same Roland hardware. The spikes do seem to be connected to this hardware (They go away if I unplug it, and rdwm1117.sys is the Roland driver), but I'm wondering if something in my system is interacting with the driver to cause these spikes, which consume 100% of one core, and 15-20% of total CPU .


Does the following scenario apply to you?:
•You have a computer that is running Windows Vista, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2008 R2 or Windows 7.
•You connect a full-speed USB audio device to a high-speed hub, and then connect this hub to the root hub of a USB 2.0 EHCI host controller on the computer, OR you connect a high speed USB 2.0 audio device directly to the root hub of a USB 2.0 EHCI host controller on the computer.
•You start an audio playback/recording program. This program opens the USB audio device.
In this scenario, you notice that there is high CPU usage approximately every 15 seconds on the computer. Additionally, you may experience skipping in audio playback from the audio device when overall CPU usage reaches 100%.

If so, go to:
http://support.micro...kb/981214/en-us

Cheers

#141
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

ah, well, the problem here is... i cant get the windows 7 sp1 to install in my pc either... it downloads, installs but when it tries to configure, it always gets stuck at 70%, it restarts several times, gets stuck at same percent and i get error 0x80070643.


create a new topic here in the Windows 7 forums and upload the following files:

the complete folder C:\Windows\logs\CBS, C:\Windows\inf\setupapi.dev.log, C:\Windows\WindowsUpdate.log and the C:\Windows\winsxs\poqexec.log
/compress them to 1 zip)

and i really do want the cpu issue gone without doing such a round about way of turning off iphlpsvc. i already do it, but it means i have to suffer 20mins of agony while i wait for it to turn off every time i start after a shutdown. sorry if i'm bothering you.


set the starttype to manual (open the services MMC snapin (services.msc) find the service, doublclick on it and set the startype to manual). Now Windows no longer starts it by default only if a programs/service needs it.

Does the following scenario apply to you?:



the hotfix applies to Win7 RTM he already uses Win7 Sp1 which includes the fix.

Edited by MagicAndre1981, 29 June 2012 - 05:23 AM.

Posted Image

#142
52001314

52001314
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 15-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
i tried lots of times.i am really sorry i can't get it man. here is y latency link
http://www.mediafire...dmuddrjs2264u2x

please check it for me.

thank you
Vick

#143
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

you have ACPI.sys issues. What is the temperature of your Intel® Core™ i5-2410 CPU when you have the issue?
Posted Image

#144
52001314

52001314
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 15-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
thank you so much for the fast reply.:D

it always started to have this issue after i play some good graphic games.then the temperature hit around 85 Celsius.

#145
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

then the CPU tries to throttle and causes the issue. Clean the CPU cooler and also try to set the cooler policy "active" instead of passive.
Posted Image

#146
52001314

52001314
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 15-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
:no: i can't..T.T. because i am using laptop.:(any idea? :(..basically is that everything i play some games, the cpu process will be like 20 to 30 percent even after i quit my game.it is call system interrupt (deferred procedure calls and interrupt service routines). i tried to search on google for months, and tried a lot of method. still it wont help.:(

Edited by 52001314, 16 December 2012 - 03:13 AM.


#147
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

can you open the laptop at the bottom? Here I can clean the cooler. Also try to make a BIOS update.
Posted Image

#148
52001314

52001314
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 15-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
ok.i'll try an BIOS update and i'll get back to you.thank you so much for the information.i tried to hit the store and all they can is just reformat the laptop.:(

#149
Hoffmaestro

Hoffmaestro
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 17-December 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I have a intel i5 2430m CPU, and after I watch a stream for a while or play a game, CPU 0 goes up to 100% usage. It persists at close to 100% at all times until I reboot my system.


I've been loosing myself in your threads for hours upon hours now, trying to get everything to work and this is what I've come up with so far!


When I try to use the "xperf -d latency.etl" command or "xperf -d DPC_Interrupt.etl" I get a message saying that events were lost and that I need to increase buffer.
I really can't make sense of it anymore, I'm jumping back and forth between your threads trying to decide what problem I'm actually having.


However I got the Latency Monitor to work and I compiled screenshots + the log from the test it ran there.


I'm really sorry if I'm posting in the wrong thread/not showing the needed info, I just felt like I needed to get something out here :P

Attached Files


Edited by Hoffmaestro, 18 December 2012 - 08:09 AM.


#150
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,128 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Run this command:

xperf -on latency -stackwalk profile -buffersize 1024 -MaxFile 256 -FileMode Circular && timeout 30 && xperf -d DPC_Interrupt.etl

to capture 30s. If you still get the warning, increase the value after buffersize.

The pictures tell you have ACPI.sys issue . What is the temperature of your Intel® Core™ i5-2430M CPU?
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users