Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Install Photoshop 7 on Windows 7 64bit


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
galahs

galahs

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 401 posts
  • Joined 01-December 05
I have recently got a new computer with 64bit Windows 7

Surprisingly most of my applications worked without a hitch even older programs like Microsoft Office 2000
But I couldn't get Photoshop 7 to install.

Now I found out that Photoshop 7 itself is a 32bit program, but the installer is 16 bit and therefor not compatible with 64 bit operating systems.

So if I could get it to install then it should run fine.

After searching the internet for a while I came across a utility Microsoft used to include in Windows 2000 Advanced Server that allows you to make new .msi installer packages for your older software. Hmmm, maybe this might work.

Now Microsoft has stopped supporting WinInstall LE but a new company has taken it on: http://www.scalable.com/


For this package;

- you need another computer (or dual boot) with a 32bit operating system like Windows 2000 / XP / Vista or even 32bit Windows 7. As long as it's 32 bit.

- the 32 bit computer CANNOT have the program you wish to install (in my case Photoshop 7) currently installed on it. The system needs to be clean.

- Install WinINSTALL LE (get it for free from http://www.scalable.com/wininstall ) and then run it following its prompts

- Let WinInstall LE scan your system

- Install your program when prompted ( Photoshop 7 )

- Let WinINSTALL do a "POST INSTALLATION" scan. It will now create a new installation package for you.


Congrats, you can take this post installation package and install it on Windows 7 64bit





And just to let you know, the Photoshop 7.01 update installs perfectly and doesn't require you to do anything to it. Just download it from Adobe's website, run it, tell it where you installed Photoshop 7 and it will do the rest.


I hope this helps. This process should also work for Windows XP x64 and Vista x64

Now I am off to see if I can get Red Alert Aftermarth to install on a Windowsw 7 64 bit. Wish me luck! :thumbup

This post has been promoted to an article

Posted Image
Australia, it's time we became a Republic!



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
awergh

awergh

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 981 posts
  • Joined 02-October 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Sounds good I've been wondering what to do about 16bit installers on 64bit,
Red Alert might/should work, I got Command & Conquer to work, just as long as you don't alt-tab out of it.

#3
galahs

galahs

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 401 posts
  • Joined 01-December 05
I got Red Alert 1 running with Red Alert Setup Manager v0.98
http://ra.nv17.com:8...anager_0.98.exe

but I couldn't get it to play online :(

Posted Image
Australia, it's time we became a Republic!


#4
awergh

awergh

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 981 posts
  • Joined 02-October 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm guessing this doesn't work for you then?
http://strike-team.n...p...icle&sid=84

#5
galahs

galahs

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 401 posts
  • Joined 01-December 05
I can get the game working fine, just not online.

Posted Image
Australia, it's time we became a Republic!


#6
nitroshift

nitroshift

    Beware of programmers with screwdrivers!

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,806 posts
  • Joined 29-November 05
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I can get the game working fine, just not online.


That is because this game requires IPX-SPX network protocol which is not supported anymore in Vista and 7.

Please read the rules, folks!


#7
galahs

galahs

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 401 posts
  • Joined 01-December 05
I don't think the IPX-SPX protocol matters for Internet play, only LAN. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Posted Image
Australia, it's time we became a Republic!


#8
romax86

romax86
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 03-February 10

I have recently got a new computer with 64bit Windows 7

Surprisingly most of my applications worked without a hitch even older programs like Microsoft Office 2000
But I couldn't get Photoshop 7 to install.

Now I found out that Photoshop 7 itself is a 32bit program, but the installer is 16 bit and therefor not compatible with 64 bit operating systems.

So if I could get it to install then it should run fine.

After searching the internet for a while I came across a utility Microsoft used to include in Windows 2000 Advanced Server that allows you to make new .msi installer packages for your older software. Hmmm, maybe this might work.

Now Microsoft has stopped supporting WinInstall LE but a new company has taken it on: http://www.scalable.com/


For this package;

- you need another computer (or dual boot) with a 32bit operating system like Windows 2000 / XP / Vista or even 32bit Windows 7. As long as it's 32 bit.

- the 32 bit computer CANNOT have the program you wish to install (in my case Photoshop 7) currently installed on it. The system needs to be clean.

- Install WinINSTALL LE (get it for free from http://www.scalable.com/wininstall ) and then run it following its prompts

- Let WinInstall LE scan your system

- Install your program when prompted ( Photoshop 7 )

- Let WinINSTALL do a "POST INSTALLATION" scan. It will now create a new installation package for you.


Congrats, you can take this post installation package and install it on Windows 7 64bit





And just to let you know, the Photoshop 7.01 update installs perfectly and doesn't require you to do anything to it. Just download it from Adobe's website, run it, tell it where you installed Photoshop 7 and it will do the rest.


I hope this helps. This process should also work for Windows XP x64 and Vista x64

Now I am off to see if I can get Red Alert Aftermarth to install on a Windowsw 7 64 bit. Wish me luck! :thumbup



When you say the system has to be "clean", do you mean that the only thing you need to remove ar the programs you want to be able to install on Windows 7?

I'm desperately trying to install Photoshop 7 on my Win7 computer. Funny - Photoshop 6 installed just fine, but I don't like that version as much.

#9
galahs

galahs

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 401 posts
  • Joined 01-December 05
I mean, you don't want to have Photoshop 7 previously installed on the Win XP computer prior to you installing WinINSTALL LE.

WinINSTALL needs to see every system change that is made when you install Photoshop 7 on Windows XP so it can do the same for you on Windows 7 64 bit

Posted Image
Australia, it's time we became a Republic!


#10
ciw

ciw
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 16-September 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Will the WinINSTALL LE procedure also work for Adobe Photoshop Elements 7?

I have both a WinXP pc and Win7 pc,64 bit. I wanted to buy Adobe Photoshop Elements 7 and load it on both pc's.

Thanks

#11
uid0

uid0

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 353 posts
  • Joined 12-June 06
Sounds like it'll run fine on 64bit windows:
http://forums.adobe.com/thread/460813
You'd only need to mess about if it had a 16bit installer, which is unlikely for newish software. You'd need two licences for two machines though I expect.

#12
ciw

ciw
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 16-September 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks for your help.

#13
Kato

Kato
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 07-August 12
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

- Let WinINSTALL do a "POST INSTALLATION" scan. It will now create a new installation package for you.
Congrats, you can take this post installation package and install it on Windows 7 64bit


Hi Galahs ---- what is the size of this installation package? It is just a new 32-bit install .exe or more complex than that? I was hoping that if it were just an new install .exe that you could post it for download or something like that. That would rock! ... I'm hoping so because all of my Win XP computers have Photoshop 7.0 installed ..... no "clean" computers around here.....




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users