Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

error after restoring image


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
Made a image from a Win 7 Pro machine with Windows PE starting with usb stick. It is a non sysprepped machine (i need this as a master reference pc). When i want to restore this image an hardware error appears. When i boot with a rescue disk there is a option to recover the startup options. Choosing this option works. Windows 7 then starts.
When i start with the recover disk and look at the error details i see that: Windows device: partition not found.
So there is something wrong with the startup partition. The machine is a Dell Optiplex 760.

What can this be?

Maybe the startup partition in the image is wrong but i cannot see that in Windows 7. In Windows xp i had a look at the boot.ini but now there is bcdboot which is not so easy to look at.

Someone got a idea?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,670 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

The supported redeployment method is to generalize the image before capture, or use /generalize /audit. THen you only capture the OS partition. On redeploy, you create your system partition (I use 500MB) as the first, then use the rest of the disk (or your size choice) as the OS partition. Then deploy your WIM to the OS partition.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3.x | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#3
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts

The supported redeployment method is to generalize the image before capture, or use /generalize /audit. THen you only capture the OS partition. On redeploy, you create your system partition (I use 500MB) as the first, then use the rest of the disk (or your size choice) as the OS partition. Then deploy your WIM to the OS partition.



But when i dispart the disk so it is empty and install win7 then directly make a image, then restore the image must be possible?
When i do this after the restore a message appears from the Window Boot manager, the boot selection failed because a required device is inaccessible?

But what can this be, it is so simple what i do: clean the disk, make 1 partition and install win 7, then make image, restore image......
When the error's appears i boot with a bootcd and then repair the boot, then Windows starts fine...

Do you believe that sysprepping this machine solves the error?

#4
gosh

gosh

    gosh 2.0

  • Patrons
  • 2,347 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It sounds like a drive overlay is on the system. You didnt say if this is an OEM version of windows. if so, you probably have oem code in the boot loader. Best bet would be to wipe the hard drive with 1's and 0's then try this again.

#5
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts

It sounds like a drive overlay is on the system. You didnt say if this is an OEM version of windows. if so, you probably have oem code in the boot loader. Best bet would be to wipe the hard drive with 1's and 0's then try this again.



Yes it is a OEM version from Dell. But i wipe the hard drive with diskpart. When i restore a image i first start diskpart and clean the drive, making a new parttion. This has always worked for Windows Xp as long as the startup partition in the boot.ini was correct.
The cd is delivered by a Dell pc.
I thought that the cd's deliverd by Dell can be imaged and restored...

#6
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,670 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

When you deploy, you should create a system partition like I said. Then create a second partition that takes up the rest of the drive. Put Windows 7 on the second partition. Don't put anything on the system partition. Diskpart script example:

sel disk 0
clean
create part pri size=500
sel part 1
active
format fs=ntfs label="System" quick
create part pri
sel part 2
format fs=ntfs label="LocalDisk" quick
assign letter=c
exit

Then this is the imagex command example:

imagex /apply z:\7PRO32\w7oobe.wim 1 c:
bcdboot.exe c:\windows

MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3.x | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#7
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts

When you deploy, you should create a system partition like I said. Then create a second partition that takes up the rest of the drive. Put Windows 7 on the second partition. Don't put anything on the system partition. Diskpart script example:

sel disk 0
clean
create part pri size=500
sel part 1
active
format fs=ntfs label="System" quick
create part pri
sel part 2
format fs=ntfs label="LocalDisk" quick
assign letter=c
exit

Then this is the imagex command example:

imagex /apply z:\7PRO32\w7oobe.wim 1 c:
bcdboot.exe c:\windows


Thx. I understand the first code but why the second: i believe the 1 is for the number of the type of Windows installation in the .wim file (is this correct?). But why the bcdboot.exe?

#8
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
I jave tried the diskpart steps but it go's wrong with the command: assign letter=c
diskpart says that an erro encouterd: the directory is not empty, see the event log for details.

But i have clean the disk and made the partitions so there could not be any data....

#9
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
Some additional information:

I noticed with list disk that there are 2 disks: disk 0 and 1 one is 75 Gb and the other is 967 mb.

I believe i must delete (but this does not goiing well) disk 1 and create the two partition on disk 0?

Edited by surfertje, 05 January 2010 - 04:33 AM.


#10
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,880 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
the 967mb sounds like a dell recovery part for xp ?
boot with a real 7 disk or the PE and delete all partitions before doing the other stuff
Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#11
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,670 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

the 967mb sounds like a dell recovery part for xp ?
boot with a real 7 disk or the PE and delete all partitions before doing the other stuff


The recovery partition is on disk 0. So if he did a clean of disk 0, that partition would be gone. A 1GB volume (run diskpart list vol or diskpart list disk) sounds more like a USB drive or possibly a card reader. If you do a list vol, you'll also be able to see the optical drive, but you won't see it if you do a list disk.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3.x | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#12
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
Disk's are not the same as partiions with Diskpart i guess?

I have installed Windows 7 several times now, one time i installed over the existing Windows. The next time installed after removing the current partiitions. Then Windows says that he needs a extra partition. After that, making a image and restoring i did the above commands from Diskpart. Maybe the extra idsk / partition (now i don't know what it is anymore a disk or partition although i have only one disk drive....) is because i did it with diskpart.

I want to start all over again to make the image work (that is: to restore it without putting the recovery disk in it...).

What must i do to wipe the disks and start over with Diskpart?
If Windows 7 needs a extra partition so be it but when my image is restored i run a diskpart on it every time i do a restore that cleans the disk, make 1 partition and make it active and then restore the image to that partition. So when WIndows need a extra partition i believe that the diskpart command that runs when i do a restore must boot from the second partition.

I think there is something wrong with the partition where Windows wants to boot from..



It is importent for me that aboves goiing to work because this is becoming my base image without sysprep. THen install all the software and run sysprep i have my rollout image..

#13
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,880 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I don't use diskpart cause some odd reason reports my second drive as disk 0 and its plugged into Sata 2 on Mobo. Thats backup so don't want to lose

967mb too small for vista or 7 recovery, thats why it probably xp. You said it was a OEM version from Dell and best I recall my recovery was about that size on XP. You can boot with disk as I said above and delete all partitions. Then format . You could then boot with your stuff and use the diskpart as above

Or create 1 new partition and it add's a 100 to 200mb System Reserved which is your recovery in case of crash.
Attached File  100mb.png   4.07KB   3 downloads

It actually contains the Recovery Environment "WinRE" which will allow recovery of the system if a problem is detected at startup. "WinRE" is accessed using the line "Repair your computer" in the advanced boot options (activated by pressing F8 at startup). Once this partition is created, better not remove it because it contains system files and boot the Master Boot Record (MBR) that will be damaged or lost.

And most are annoyed by this small Part and want it removed :wacko:
There are methods you can make 1 whole partition minus the 100mb if you don't want the WinRE partition. Do above, delete the large part, extend the 100 or 200mb out to end.

EDIT: All I am saying is I'd delete the 976mb to start fresh with 7. You can add a drive letter to it in Disk manager and see whats on it.

Edited by maxXPsoft, 05 January 2010 - 06:47 PM.

Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#14
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts

I don't use diskpart cause some odd reason reports my second drive as disk 0 and its plugged into Sata 2 on Mobo. Thats backup so don't want to lose

967mb too small for vista or 7 recovery, thats why it probably xp. You said it was a OEM version from Dell and best I recall my recovery was about that size on XP. You can boot with disk as I said above and delete all partitions. Then format . You could then boot with your stuff and use the diskpart as above

Or create 1 new partition and it add's a 100 to 200mb System Reserved which is your recovery in case of crash.
Attached File  100mb.png   4.07KB   3 downloads

It actually contains the Recovery Environment "WinRE" which will allow recovery of the system if a problem is detected at startup. "WinRE" is accessed using the line "Repair your computer" in the advanced boot options (activated by pressing F8 at startup). Once this partition is created, better not remove it because it contains system files and boot the Master Boot Record (MBR) that will be damaged or lost.

And most are annoyed by this small Part and want it removed :wacko:
There are methods you can make 1 whole partition minus the 100mb if you don't want the WinRE partition. Do above, delete the large part, extend the 100 or 200mb out to end.

EDIT: All I am saying is I'd delete the 976mb to start fresh with 7. You can add a drive letter to it in Disk manager and see whats on it.



I have put the Windows 7 cd in de PC. Starting the install but Windows 7 doesn't see the small partition.... So he is now installing. I shall have a look later to see in Windows itself if there are two partitions. Because if the small partition is still there, Windows boots from the second partition if the small one is partition 0. So then i must alter my script which runs diskpart to make 2 partitions and make the second one active.....

I have tried to delete the partitions with diskpart but that doesn't work for me mor with delete disk nor with delete partitiion.

#15
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
Win7 installed. In Diskmgmt he shows 2 partitions. One is 100 mb reserved, active and primairy. The second is the rest of the size where Windows is installed.

So when i have this right Windows boots from partition 2? Then when i make a image of it and restore that image i must make 2 partitions and make the second one active? Can someone tell me how to do this.

#16
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts

Win7 installed. In Diskmgmt he shows 2 partitions. One is 100 mb reserved, active and primairy. The second is the rest of the size where Windows is installed.

So when i have this right Windows boots from partition 2? Then when i make a image of it and restore that image i must make 2 partitions and make the second one active? Can someone tell me how to do this.



I see it, above example is making partition 2 as the Windows partition. Gonna try this now.

#17
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
Now i am finally getting to the point that imaging is goiing to work..? but now the imagex /acapture is failing. That is: it seems that imagex /capture is capturing the drive and says that he is succesfully finished but in reality he has not much done. It is to fast ready. I have read on the internet that he standard captures the first partition so this is proberly the system partition from 100 mb?

How can i get around this problem? I must capture the Windows partition not the small system partition?

#18
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,880 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
The small partition is where Win stores its boot files and is hidden unless you assign a drive letter, better left hidden so viruses can' see either. That partition is important and should not be deleted or you won't boot. Unless you extend out like I said above.
You have to capture both parts.

I don't do it that way so perhaps someone else who uses PE can help you.
Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#19
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts

The small partition is where Win stores its boot files and is hidden unless you assign a drive letter, better left hidden so viruses can' see either. That partition is important and should not be deleted or you won't boot. Unless you extend out like I said above.
You have to capture both parts.

I don't do it that way so perhaps someone else who uses PE can help you.


Then i have to restore both parts also?

The posting where there are two disks was indeed the USB drive because there is where i boot Winpe from with the unsysprepped images.
But I do believe that Win7 is booting from partition 2 because restoring with diskpart running and create one partition doesn't work. So i must indeed make 2 partitions.

When i delete all partitions with diskpart and install Win7 (proberly Win7 won't allow me to do this without the system parttition) on 1 partition and then image and go on with diskpart creating one partition and then restoring Win7, could that work?

#20
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,670 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Ah you guys are getting carried away here! If you want to capture the image off the drive, you only capture the second partition, NOT the System Reserved. Then on the new disk, you create a 100MB system reserved partition but do not assign it a drive letter. Make it the same size of 100MB. Then create a second partition that takes up the rest of the drive, assign it the C letter. Apply your OS image onto the C drive.

The scripts I posted are for deploying the OS partition. Notice it doesn't do anything to the System Reserved partition except for creating it. When you first boot into the OS, Sysprep puts the correct files into the System Reserved partition. So... um make sure you sysprep you image before capturing it! Either /oobe or /audit should be fine.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3.x | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#21
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,247 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
You're going to be missing the bootloader in that scenario. If you allow Windows 7 to create the 100MB partition during initial install, you're going to have to capture it. Hence if this is going to be a machine that's to be used as a master technician pc image, you should manually partition disks and install Win7 onto one singular partition to be safe and to have this work without using sysprep.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#22
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts

Ah you guys are getting carried away here! If you want to capture the image off the drive, you only capture the second partition, NOT the System Reserved. Then on the new disk, you create a 100MB system reserved partition but do not assign it a drive letter. Make it the same size of 100MB. Then create a second partition that takes up the rest of the drive, assign it the C letter. Apply your OS image onto the C drive.

The scripts I posted are for deploying the OS partition. Notice it doesn't do anything to the System Reserved partition except for creating it. When you first boot into the OS, Sysprep puts the correct files into the System Reserved partition. So... um make sure you sysprep you image before capturing it! Either /oobe or /audit should be fine.


I have tried this but assigning a driveletter to the other partition is goiing wrong, this is what i do:
Diskpart
select disk 0
clean
create part pri size=200
sel part 1
active
format fs=ntfs quick
create part pri
sel part 2
format fs=ntfs quick
assign letter=c

After this last command an error occured: not empty, see the even log for details..


But i really would like to use 1 partition, only the Win7 installation partition. There are people who using only 1 partition with Win 7 installed so it must be possible.
What scripts are you reffering about?

#23
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts

You're going to be missing the bootloader in that scenario. If you allow Windows 7 to create the 100MB partition during initial install, you're going to have to capture it. Hence if this is going to be a machine that's to be used as a master technician pc image, you should manually partition disks and install Win7 onto one singular partition to be safe and to have this work without using sysprep.



So it is not really nessecairy to install the system partition? If i boot with the Win 7 dvd and remove all partition making 1 new one he makes 2 partition all by himself... However when i not make a new partition and go on with the installation he seems not to make a system partition. I haven't tested this yet because my Dell crashes, so monday i am gonna test that and try it with only one partition if Win7 lets me...

#24
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,247 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
For a master image, what I would suggest is this:
  • Boot the Win7 installation media on the template PC (or virtual machine)
  • Use the disk management in the installer itself to delete ALL partitions
  • Create a new partition and format it NTFS, again using the disk management tool of the Win7 installer
  • Select that partition to install Windows 7 into; Windows 7 will install to this partition
  • Configure Win7 after installation
  • Once finished configuring, shut down the PC and take an image
This will result in your image having ONE partition, and not the second 100MB partition for EFI and bitlocker. Since you don't actually necessarily need this unless you're going to be booting EFI machines (bitlocker will create it's own partition for conversion when it's first run to bitlocker a drive, so this is only a convenience for speed in that case), you can create an image without it.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#25
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts

For a master image, what I would suggest is this:

  • Boot the Win7 installation media on the template PC (or virtual machine)
  • Use the disk management in the installer itself to delete ALL partitions
  • Create a new partition and format it NTFS, again using the disk management tool of the Win7 installer
  • Select that partition to install Windows 7 into; Windows 7 will install to this partition
  • Configure Win7 after installation
  • Once finished configuring, shut down the PC and take an image
This will result in your image having ONE partition, and not the second 100MB partition for EFI and bitlocker. Since you don't actually necessarily need this unless you're going to be booting EFI machines (bitlocker will create it's own partition for conversion when it's first run to bitlocker a drive, so this is only a convenience for speed in that case), you can create an image without it.



This is not the case, i have tried this. When you make a new partition with the Win7 installer, he says that he will make a extra partition. This partition is becomming 100 mb and there is nothing i can do about it!
So now am gonna try gparted. And then making no partitions with the win7 installer but making them all with Gparted and then install Win7 on the partition that i want it. I must try this..




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN