Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

error after restoring image


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#26
urie

urie

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 519 posts
  • Joined 30-July 03

For a master image, what I would suggest is this:

  • Boot the Win7 installation media on the template PC (or virtual machine)
  • Use the disk management in the installer itself to delete ALL partitions
  • Create a new partition and format it NTFS, again using the disk management tool of the Win7 installer
  • Select that partition to install Windows 7 into; Windows 7 will install to this partition
  • Configure Win7 after installation
  • Once finished configuring, shut down the PC and take an image
This will result in your image having ONE partition, and not the second 100MB partition for EFI and bitlocker. Since you don't actually necessarily need this unless you're going to be booting EFI machines (bitlocker will create it's own partition for conversion when it's first run to bitlocker a drive, so this is only a convenience for speed in that case), you can create an image without it.



This is not the case, i have tried this. When you make a new partition with the Win7 installer, he says that he will make a extra partition. This partition is becomming 100 mb and there is nothing i can do about it!
So now am gonna try gparted. And then making no partitions with the win7 installer but making them all with Gparted and then install Win7 on the partition that i want it. I must try this..

Not true it is you that is doing it wrong you can delete extra partition and expand other, so you only have one.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Joined 29-April 08

For a master image, what I would suggest is this:

  • Boot the Win7 installation media on the template PC (or virtual machine)
  • Use the disk management in the installer itself to delete ALL partitions
  • Create a new partition and format it NTFS, again using the disk management tool of the Win7 installer
  • Select that partition to install Windows 7 into; Windows 7 will install to this partition
  • Configure Win7 after installation
  • Once finished configuring, shut down the PC and take an image
This will result in your image having ONE partition, and not the second 100MB partition for EFI and bitlocker. Since you don't actually necessarily need this unless you're going to be booting EFI machines (bitlocker will create it's own partition for conversion when it's first run to bitlocker a drive, so this is only a convenience for speed in that case), you can create an image without it.



This is not the case, i have tried this. When you make a new partition with the Win7 installer, he says that he will make a extra partition. This partition is becomming 100 mb and there is nothing i can do about it!
So now am gonna try gparted. And then making no partitions with the win7 installer but making them all with Gparted and then install Win7 on the partition that i want it. I must try this..

Not true it is you that is doing it wrong you can delete extra partition and expand other, so you only have one.



Can you tell me how then?
I have tried what you say above, but when i delete all partitions and make 1 new partition, Windows makes a second partition and i cannot delete that second partition anymore.

#28
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Can you tell me how then?
I have tried what you say above, but when i delete all partitions and make 1 new partition, Windows makes a second partition and i cannot delete that second partition anymore.


When you get to the create partitions screen.
Delete ALL
Create a partition using all the space and allow it to make the small one. Now delete the large partition.
Extend the small out to end
Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#29
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Joined 29-April 08
I keep running into troubles with imaging Windows 7. It is alle the same problem but now i have managed that Win7 is installed on a disk with 1 partition. So there are no 2 partitions anymore.

The problem now is when i make the image and wnat to restore it with imagex then after a reboot he still gives me a Windows startup boot error status: 0xc000000e. According to google this is a bcd boot error. But this was the problem with 2 parttition created i only have one partition so what could Windows 7 have for problems now with booting?
Before restoring i do a diskpart which makes the first (and only) partition activ and so boot to that partition...

#30
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Well, the next question is, are we restoring to the exact same disk that we captured from, on the same machine? If so, that wouldn't make sense. I don't doubt it can happen, but it doesn't make much sense.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#31
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Joined 29-April 08

Well, the next question is, are we restoring to the exact same disk that we captured from, on the same machine? If so, that wouldn't make sense. I don't doubt it can happen, but it doesn't make much sense.


I have been reading and reading. The answer was in this thread: run bcdboot.exe c:\windows
I thought this would only be nessecairy when you had 2 partitions, but i have done this after applying the image and then boot thru winpe, go to the command prompt and give the command:
bcdboot.exe c:\windows

Then restart and the system gives me 2 times WINDOWS 7. I chose the first one and he is starting now. I don't no where the second item comes from maybe it must not be: bcdboot.exe c:\windows but d:\windows?, that would be strange because there is only 1 partition. Hell it is strange that bcdboot is nessecairy because what has changes since i made the backup: nothing!

#32
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Once you get into Windows, run bcdedit /enum /v to see what that second one is all about.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#33
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,970 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Also, as I noted before, it is recommended you sysprep your Windows 7 image before capture. Did you sysprep the image first?
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
tpxmsfn1_zps393339c1.jpg

#34
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Joined 29-April 08

Also, as I noted before, it is recommended you sysprep your Windows 7 image before capture. Did you sysprep the image first?


No i did not sysprepped it, because this is the master pc. First i install and configure everything then image the pc. The second step is to sysprep the machine en then make again the image to deploy. When there are much changes for the image i restore the first made image do the changes and make a new image of it. Then sysprep it again en make again the deploy image.

I do not know how to do the changes in the image, i cannot work with MDT2010 for the applications to configure.

I have read that another problem with Windows 7 is the default user profile. Much things must be configured for a new user.

#35
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Only if the defaults aren't valid.

And, may I ask, why you are unable to use MDT? Maybe we can help, as that's a much better approach than hoping to image and re-image a machine without sysprep with Vista or Win7. It was easier with XP, because it was an OS based on the NT 3.1 setup engine. Vista and Win7 being images themselves, restoring them can be a pain, and that's something MDT tries to alleviate.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#36
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Joined 29-April 08
But what is it with the bcdboot?

I thought: after restoring run bcdboot and then image it again, cleaning the disk and restoring. Then Windows should start. But to my suprise also then Windows is giving the Windows boot manager error at startup. Again bcdboot must rus.... Why is this and how to get around this?

#37
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Joined 29-April 08

Only if the defaults aren't valid.

And, may I ask, why you are unable to use MDT? Maybe we can help, as that's a much better approach than hoping to image and re-image a machine without sysprep with Vista or Win7. It was easier with XP, because it was an OS based on the NT 3.1 setup engine. Vista and Win7 being images themselves, restoring them can be a pain, and that's something MDT tries to alleviate.



Because MDT2010 is new to me and i have not figured it out yet, and becasue i also use unsysprepped images now. Unsysprepped images must be done without MDT2010.

#38
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Joined 29-April 08

When you deploy, you should create a system partition like I said. Then create a second partition that takes up the rest of the drive. Put Windows 7 on the second partition. Don't put anything on the system partition. Diskpart script example:

sel disk 0
clean
create part pri size=500
sel part 1
active
format fs=ntfs label="System" quick
create part pri
sel part 2
format fs=ntfs label="LocalDisk" quick
assign letter=c
exit

Then this is the imagex command example:

imagex /apply z:\7PRO32\w7oobe.wim 1 c:
bcdboot.exe c:\windows


I would have been great if this worked but the imagex /apply command with the: bcdboot at the end (i also tried c:\windows\system32\bcdboot) doesn't work for me. He doesn't recognize this?

#39
surfertje

surfertje

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Joined 29-April 08
It is working now.

When i looked in c:\boot with bcdedit, the c partition was not known. How this can is a riddle to me but thanks to someone i had to to some bcedit commands and now it works.


Now i am imaging this system to see if i can restore it or that i must do the commands again....




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users