Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Windows 95 2.1GHz CPU Limit BROKEN!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
207 replies to this topic

#26
BeatZero

BeatZero

    Creator of Win98LiveCD

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Joined 30-November 09
Thank you for reporting

Ok, these files are now properly extracted, however it is extremely slow.

This was the reason for choosing the 7za.exe, I will try unRAR.exe

"Warning - VMM32.TMP integrity check failed"

This appears on the first reboot, then no more

DUN14-95 was not automatically installed by Setup however.

I'm working on it, I see that should be written in a file cpufix.bat different for each version of win95 (A, B & C)
"there may be conflict with the msbatch, if you are using"

BeatZero

Edited by BeatZero, 01 February 2010 - 07:19 AM.

The Google is my shepherd and I shall not want


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
LoneCrusader

LoneCrusader

    Resistere pro causa resistentiam.

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 824 posts
  • Joined 11-May 09
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Thank you for reporting

No problem. Thank you for spending time helping me with my pet project :thumbup

#28
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,803 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Ok, these files are now properly extracted, however it is extremely slow.

This was the reason for choosing the 7za.exe, I will try unRAR.exe

Why not EXTRACT.EXE? :whistle:

jaclaz

#29
BeatZero

BeatZero

    Creator of Win98LiveCD

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Joined 30-November 09

Why not EXTRACT.EXE? :whistle:

jaclaz


extract.exe takes a long time to extract 4 small files
7za.exe presented error when extracting
The unRAR.exe satisfactorily perform well in both situations :thumbup

Edited by BeatZero, 01 February 2010 - 08:46 AM.

The Google is my shepherd and I shall not want

#30
LoneCrusader

LoneCrusader

    Resistere pro causa resistentiam.

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 824 posts
  • Joined 11-May 09
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

**EDIT 2-10-2010**

In RE: Slipstreaming this Fix
It appears that this issue cannot be fixed by slipstreaming. Slipstreaming does not allow the VMM32.VXD system file to be properly compressed during the first reboot. If the updated files are introduced to the system before the first reboot and the IOS error take place, WININIT will fail to combine various VXD's into VMM32.VXD.

Edited by LoneCrusader, 10 February 2010 - 03:54 PM.


#31
BeatZero

BeatZero

    Creator of Win98LiveCD

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Joined 30-November 09

@ BeatZero

Any new developments with the slipstreamer? :)


hi!

integrated the Winsock2, I am doing testing ... put the results soon ;)

some other important update that we could add? or something that supports a lot of memory (1gb), I tried the same trick windows 98 but not lucky

Edited by BeatZero, 02 February 2010 - 11:32 AM.

The Google is my shepherd and I shall not want

#32
LoneCrusader

LoneCrusader

    Resistere pro causa resistentiam.

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 824 posts
  • Joined 11-May 09
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

**EDIT 2-10-2010**

In RE: Slipstreaming this Fix
It appears that this issue cannot be fixed by slipstreaming. Slipstreaming does not allow the VMM32.VXD system file to be properly compressed during the first reboot. If the updated files are introduced to the system before the first reboot and the IOS error take place, WININIT will fail to combine various VXD's into VMM32.VXD.

Text of this post left for further reference.

some other important update that we could add? or something that supports a lot of memory (1gb), I tried the same trick windows 98 but not lucky

I thought about adding some other things, but I don't really want to go overboard. I prefer to keep things simple. Adding important Microsoft updates I agree with, but I don't want to get into the realm of a "Service Pack," there's already one of those listed on MDGx's website. Also if we did that, I would want to have a method to select which things are installed and which ones aren't, that has always been my complaint with "cumulative" update packages.

I do have some ideas though, and I will look over some of the other Microsoft updates for 95 to see what might be added. :thumbup



On the memory issue - there may be ways of tweaking it to work (per the methods given in dencorso's thread). However, I was never able to get any of those memory tweaks to work on my 98SE system. I purchased RLoew's patch, and I've never had another problem. I know some people out there have a problem with paying for a patch, but personally I only recommend this method. I have no problem whatsoever giving someone fair compensation for good work and the time they put into it.

I should also mention an experience that I had when I was first looking into the 98SE RAM issue. I set up my system with 1.5GB of RAM, and I tested both Gape's Service Pack and RLoew's demo patch in separate 98 installs on the same machine. Gape's Service Pack did not correctly display the amount of RAM installed, I think it showed 1224MB or something like that (it's been a while), and the system seemed to be unstable. RLoew's patch worked flawlessly however, so I decided that I would buy it. Later I also tried installing the demo patch to the same 98 system as Gape's Service Pack, and the two seem to be incompatible, the amount of RAM was still incorrectly reported and the system seemed unstable.

I do not mean to disparage Gape or his Service Pack in any way, Ive got a lot of respect for him because he spent his time making something like that to distribute freely. :thumbup

Edited by LoneCrusader, 10 February 2010 - 03:56 PM.


#33
BeatZero

BeatZero

    Creator of Win98LiveCD

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Joined 30-November 09
the method I adopted was that the Win98LiveCd

Himemx.exe used in place of HIMEM.SYS

system.ini

[vcache]
ChunkSize=1024
MaxFileCache=65535

config.sys

DEVICE=A:\DOS\HIMEMX.EXE /testmem:off

this was how I used in my project, and this works perfectly, however the tab of System Properties, always displays this number: 1152,0MB RAM

I am very interested in this information, because I have plans to create a LiveCD for Win95 :)

thank's
The Google is my shepherd and I shall not want

#34
LoneCrusader

LoneCrusader

    Resistere pro causa resistentiam.

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 824 posts
  • Joined 11-May 09
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I am very interested in this information, because I have plans to create a LiveCD for Win95 :)

Woohoo :w00t: :thumbup
I thought you might have that in mind ;)

#35
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 6,088 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Well, in my experience, Gape's uSP works well with > 1 GiB RAM, but one must first reach the right configuration without it, then save MSDOS.SYS, AUTOEXEC.BAT, CONFIG.SYS, SYSTEM.INI and WIN.INI, then apply Gape's uSP,
reboot, restart in MS-DOS, restore those saved files and reboot again. At this point one should either apply RLoew's RAM Limitation Patch or use the method of HIMEMX.EXE (renamed to HIMEM.EXE), xRayeR patch, Xeno86's vcache and XMSDSK (and in the latter case, Win 9x will not see more than about 1160 MiB of RAM, but the rest can be used in a ramdisk). I personally prefer to use RLoew's RAM Limitation Patch patch, in combination with RLoew's non-XMS Ramdsk, which is much more stable, but not free. The main problem with Gape's uSP with machines having lots of RAM lies, AFAIK, in the way it tweaks SYSTEM.INI, not in the updates it contains (but Gape's tweaks are OK for less than 1GiB, of course).

#36
rloew

rloew

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,120 posts
  • Joined 30-May 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Well, in my experience, Gape's uSP works well with > 1 GiB RAM, but one must first reach the right configuration without it, then save MSDOS.SYS, AUTOEXEC.BAT, CONFIG.SYS, SYSTEM.INI and WIN.INI, then apply Gape's uSP,
reboot, restart in MS-DOS, restore those saved files and reboot again. At this point one should either apply RLoew's RAM Limitation Patch or use the method of HIMEMX.EXE (renamed to HIMEM.EXE), xRayeR patch, Xeno86's vcache and XMSDSK (and in the latter case, Win 9x will not see more than about 1160 MiB of RAM, but the rest can be used in a ramdisk). I personally prefer to use RLoew's RAM Limitation Patch patch, in combination with RLoew's non-XMS Ramdsk, which is much more stable, but not free. The main problem with Gape's uSP with machines having lots of RAM lies, AFAIK, in the way it tweaks SYSTEM.INI, not in the updates it contains (but Gape's tweaks are OK for less than 1GiB, of course).


If you use HIMEMX.EXE and XMSDSK you can create a RAM Disk of any size but you cannot use all of it if it is very large. Windows will manage all memory allocated by any XMS RAMDisk. When the total of the allocated RAMDisk memory and the designated File Cache exceed approximately 700MB problems will occur. If you have 2GB or more of RAM you will not be able to use all of it with this method.
Ye who enter my domain. Beware! Lest you become educated in the mysteries of the universe and suffer forever from the desire to know more.

#37
BeatZero

BeatZero

    Creator of Win98LiveCD

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Joined 30-November 09

If you use HIMEMX.EXE and XMSDSK you can create a RAM Disk of any size but you cannot use all of it if it is very large. Windows will manage all memory allocated by any XMS RAMDisk. When the total of the allocated RAMDisk memory and the designated File Cache exceed approximately 700MB problems will occur. If you have 2GB or more of RAM you will not be able to use all of it with this method.


It is this method that I use here, but a LiveCD is designed to run on several computers, creating a larger ramdisk, I will execute them problems on computers with little RAM (128, 256). :unsure:

In this case, I'll edit the AUTOEXEC.BAT and CONFIG.SYS with boot screen options for computers with 1gb, 2gb or more, then starting the livecd with pre-defined RAmdisk size :thumbup
The Google is my shepherd and I shall not want

#38
LoneCrusader

LoneCrusader

    Resistere pro causa resistentiam.

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 824 posts
  • Joined 11-May 09
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

***UPDATE 2-10-09***

The first post in this thread has been updated with new information/methodology pertaining to Windows 95 Setup.
A new version of FIX95CPU.ZIP is available.

Slipstreaming as discussed by BeatZero and myself above does not appear to be a viable option for applying this fix. I remain open to suggestions for improvement however. :thumbup

Edited by LoneCrusader, 24 February 2010 - 10:25 AM.


#39
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,678 posts
  • Joined 22-November 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Updated package is here:
http://www.mdgx.com/web.htm#FX95

HTH

#40
rloew

rloew

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,120 posts
  • Joined 30-May 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Now if only RLoew's RAM patch worked in 95 :whistle:



Between your prodding and a considerable amount of help in testing on your part, it is done.

As far as slipsteaming the AMDK6CPU fix, only the updated VFBACKUP.VXD cannot be combined into VMM32.VXD.
Removing or commenting out the appropriate line from WININIT.INI will allow slipstreaming.
Ye who enter my domain. Beware! Lest you become educated in the mysteries of the universe and suffer forever from the desire to know more.

#41
LoneCrusader

LoneCrusader

    Resistere pro causa resistentiam.

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 824 posts
  • Joined 11-May 09
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Between your prodding and a considerable amount of help in testing on your part, it is done.

Woohoo! :w00t: :thumbup

For those who may be interested, we successfully tested up to 4GB of RAM with Windows 95 using RLoew's new patch.

Here are a couple of screenshots from the testing.
Posted Image
Posted Image

Edited by LoneCrusader, 06 March 2011 - 11:59 AM.


#42
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 6,088 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Now, that's great news!
You both rock! :thumbup

#43
dawong

dawong
  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 20-February 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks so much for your batch file. In order to get Windows 95B to work in the latest version of Virtual PC 7 in an efficient manner, I modified your batch file so it could be installed on the C drive with minimum typing and no floppy access (VPC7 needs a VB script in order to connect floppies). I know this will be nothing new for most of this community, but I would love it if anyone has any suggestions about this method.

http://www.virtualus...5/Win95VPC7.doc
http://www.virtualus...95/w95vpcbt.exe (self extracting iso file)

Derek

**EDIT 2-10-2010**

I thought about adding some other things, but I don't really want to go overboard. I prefer to keep things simple. Adding important Microsoft updates I agree with, but I don't want to get into the realm of a "Service Pack," there's already one of those listed on MDGx's website. Also if we did that, I would want to have a method to select which things are installed and which ones aren't, that has always been my complaint with "cumulative" update packages.

I do have some ideas though, and I will look over some of the other Microsoft updates for 95 to see what might be added. :thumbup


Edited by dawong, 01 March 2010 - 05:47 AM.


#44
LoneCrusader

LoneCrusader

    Resistere pro causa resistentiam.

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 824 posts
  • Joined 11-May 09
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Thanks so much for your batch file. In order to get Windows 95B to work in the latest version of Virtual PC 7 in an efficient manner, I modified your batch file so it could be installed on the C drive with minimum typing and no floppy access (VPC7 needs a VB script in order to connect floppies). I know this will be nothing new for most of this community, but I would love it if anyone has any suggestions about this method.

http://www.virtualus...5B in VPC 7.doc
http://www.virtualus...es/w95vpcbt.exe (self extracting iso file)

Derek

Wow.. I guess I should not be surprised, considering that it is Microsoft, but I can't believe that they would have removed the ability to use a floppy drive from a virtualization program. That is beyond ridiculous. :huh:

IMO, Just another step in their campaign to erase all memory of DOS or DOS based Windows systems.

Anyhow, welcome to MSFN and I'm glad my fix was of some help to you. :hello:

I am actually working on another update to FIX95CPU.ZIP, using some suggestions and info given to me by rloew during the RAM patch testing discussed above. The new update will further minimize the required typing, and should eliminate one of the restarts for 95B and 95C users.

And based on the information you have given me, I may include a bootable ISO that contains the patch. Thanks for the feedback!

Edited by LoneCrusader, 22 February 2010 - 10:55 AM.


#45
dawong

dawong
  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 20-February 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Wow.. I guess I should not be surprised, considering that it is Microsoft, but I can't believe that they would have removed the ability to use a floppy drive from a virtualization program...


I agree 100%, and I wonder if the corporate office decided to remove it so their Win 7 sales would bump up, but the VPC programmers left in some functionality because they knew how ridiculous it was. The good news is that a very short program should allow restoration of disk functionality with a GUI interface, if I ever get the time to figure out C#/Windows programming and Powershell scripting.

IMO, Just another step in their campaign to erase all memory of DOS or DOS based Windows systems.


Not as long as MDGx and the other forum members are around :-) Thanks so much, and I will be happy to test your bootable ISO in VPC.

Derek

Edited by dawong, 22 February 2010 - 06:46 PM.


#46
LoneCrusader

LoneCrusader

    Resistere pro causa resistentiam.

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 824 posts
  • Joined 11-May 09
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

*** UPDATE 2-23-2010 ***

FIX95CPU.ZIP Versions 1.1 and 1.2 Released!
Less typing required, and a bootable ISO is now included for VM users.

The First post in this thread has been updated and describes the differences in these two versions.

Get the new version here: FIX95CPU.ZIP

Edited by LoneCrusader, 24 February 2010 - 10:26 AM.


#47
dawong

dawong
  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 20-February 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

FIX95CPU.ZIP Versions 1.1 and 1.2 Released!
Less typing required, and a bootable ISO is now included for VM users.


Works great, thanks! If you do update the patch again, I have one tiny request, and that is to at least have the option in the batch file to install the dun14-95 file to a folder in the C drive. This will allow less disk swapping because people can just navigate to the patch and double click it.

Also, I cannot seem to find a download or description of rloew's Win95 (or Win98) memory patch--can someone please direct me? I know you don't want to do a complete service pack, but pairing the CPU fix with the memory patch would be fantastic.

Derek

#48
lightning slinger

lightning slinger

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Joined 18-July 06
  • OS:none specified

Also, I cannot seem to find a download or description of rloew's Win95 (or Win98) memory patch--can someone please direct me?

Derek


The homepage for rloew is http://rloew1.no-ip.com

HTH

#49
LoneCrusader

LoneCrusader

    Resistere pro causa resistentiam.

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 824 posts
  • Joined 11-May 09
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Works great, thanks! If you do update the patch again, I have one tiny request, and that is to at least have the option in the batch file to install the dun14-95 file to a folder in the C drive. This will allow less disk swapping because people can just navigate to the patch and double click it.

Also, I cannot seem to find a download or description of rloew's Win95 (or Win98) memory patch--can someone please direct me? I know you don't want to do a complete service pack, but pairing the CPU fix with the memory patch would be fantastic.

Derek

Thanks for the feedback. Spread the word in the virtualization community that 95 is now working again. :thumbup

DUN14-95.EXE is too large to fit on a floppy disk, so there is no way to have it on the same "Disk" as the batch file. One solution to this might be to use an ISO editing program and add DUN14-95 to the bootable FIX95CPU.ISO so that it would be in the root of the CD image and could be accessed from there once the Windows desktop has loaded. However this would require recapturing the ISO image, as you must release it after the patch is applied to allow Setup to continue. I considered doing this, but I felt things were getting a little redundant, since I had to include two versions in the new package, and both versions contain copies of DUN14-95 in their ZIP's.

While I agree it would be convenient to have the CPU and RAM fixes combined, RLoew's RAM patch is not free, so it cannot be distributed in such a manner. It is the only method of installing more than 512 MB of RAM on a 9X system that I personally recommend however. I have been using it for over a year on my 98SE system with 1.5 GB of RAM. If you decide to purchase a copy, it is worth every penny.

Edited by LoneCrusader, 24 February 2010 - 11:25 AM.


#50
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,403 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
? I am soooo confused...
VPC2K7 doesn't mount floppies without VB(what version)? Maybe I installed all of the VBx's on my XP/2K3's... I installed Win95RTM (no IE at all!!!) from... FLOPPY IMAGES!!! Then mounted the VPC2K4SP1 ISO add-ons and installed, then used Shared Folders, installed the DUN then IE. My CPU is a Sempron on the Host and I limited the RAM in VPC. No problems whatsoever. AFAIKR the MS AMD Patch was specifically for the 350mhz (although heard reports of others).

Not slamming the project as it sounds great and should "cure" any problems with installation on "real" PC's. May try installing Win95RTM/OSRx.y onto a "real" partition just to give it a go (yeah, I have all of them in some form or another).

Just wondering about the statements in the posts above (downloaded the DOC and see nothing about VB-scripts mentioned)...

BTW, installing the DUN (and other items) should be able to "integrate" into actual install using the MSBATCH.INF (remember your other thread?) the same way as UBCD98SE did. If need be, I'll scrounge up the "basics" of the how-to to assist. Not much on projects nowadays except to fix my own up and relative's ignorance. I could at least supply the "raw files" (if not too large for a ZIP) used (the actual process files, not the remainder/proprietary EXE, etc.) to let you late-comers peruse (lots of BAT files too).

Edited by submix8c, 24 February 2010 - 11:43 AM.

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users