Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Compaq Mini 110c RIS install BSOD After Install

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1
Jasonthejoker

Jasonthejoker

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
Hi everybody,
I;ve used RIS in a previous job and we're just starting to use it here for our installations. I prefer it to Ghost, which is our current method. I have a batch of 10 Compaq Mini 110c Netbooks, which will be soon be followed by an additional 150 units! Having spent some time working on this we have the following:

Windows XP Pro SP3 installation from fresh download from Microsoft Licensing site
RIS install with modifications to include NIC and SATA drivers
Install completes and we get BSOD on reboot after windows portion

We've made progress from yesterday, when we couldn't get past initial RIS screens. My question now is what can be causing the BSOD after windows reboot. The message flashes for a fraction of a second and starts "A problem has been detected..." The screen only goers as far as "Technical informa." at which point screen goes blank. I can;t really get anything useful from this to try and work through the problem. I've included NIC, SATA and Display drivers in OemInstallPaths. My instinct is that it's a display related problem.

I get the same issue if I make it full unattended or if I don't. If I do Safe Mode with Command Prompt on subesequent reboots the last driver that loads is ...\System32\Drivers\Mup.sys.

Any thoughts?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,026 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Does the screen go blank or the PC tries rebooting?

Just in case fix the Registry:
http://www.pctools.c...try/detail/229/
http://www.theelderg...ystem_crash.htm
setting autoreboot to 0 and you should be able to read the BSOD code.

jaclaz

#3
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,250 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Agreed - without the BSOD info (at the very least) we won't be able to do much more than you are doing - guessing ;).
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#4
Jasonthejoker

Jasonthejoker

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
The blue screen appears on first reboot after installation, so it never makes it into windows. Has anybody experienced this before? Alternatively has anyone successfully done Compaq netbooks via RIS?

I'm fairly sure the blue screen doesn't show a complete message before the system powers off and back on.

#5
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,250 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Usually a BSOD right after install is complaining about the lack of a bootable device.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#6
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,026 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Use a camera.
Film the booting.
Get a standstill of the BSOD.
Post it.

jaclaz

#7
Jasonthejoker

Jasonthejoker

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
I had already done that. Picture below. I'm 99% certain that there is no more than this, it's not just that it's missed on this frame.

Attached File  bsod.jpg   147.85KB   11 downloads

#8
Jasonthejoker

Jasonthejoker

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
If I do safe mode when rebooting the final entry is as per the picture below. It's Mup.sys. Short delay on this screen then the above BSOD which stays for asecond or two. In order to get to this stage I had to add NIC driver and also add SATA driver.

Thanks in advance for your help guys.

Attached File  prebsod.jpg   91.09KB   3 downloads

Edited by Jasonthejoker, 10 February 2010 - 09:55 AM.


#9
Jasonthejoker

Jasonthejoker

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
UPDATE! I feel a bit silly now. Just done an F8 and chose disable automatic reboot and get a complete BSOD screen. The error code is:

*** STOP: 0x0000007b (...

Will investigate this, but any help you guys can give would be very much appreciated.

Jason

#10
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,026 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I had already done that. Picture below. I'm 99% certain that there is no more than this, it's not just that it's missed on this frame.


Sure :thumbup , most BSOD end with a fading "Technical Inform". :whistle:

Maybe it's the LCD :unsure:

What happens if you connect an external display?

jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 10 February 2010 - 10:08 AM.


#11
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,026 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Sorry, cross posting.

0x0000007b means "inaccessible boot device", which translates nicely into "wrong or wrongly integrated SATA drivers" in your case.

Has the BIOS the option to set the SATA hard disk in IDE compatibility mode?

jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 10 February 2010 - 10:09 AM.


#12
Jasonthejoker

Jasonthejoker

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
No IDE Compatibilty mode in BIOS. I've added the SATA to the RIS image as per instructions on the HP website here. Notice the convenient method of doing GIFs for the text portion, hence no copy paste!

My TXTSetup.SIF as below:

[SourceDisksFiles]
{Some entries}
iastor.sys = 1,,,,,,4_,4,1,,,1,4
iaAHCI.cat = 1,,,,,,,20,0,0 
iaAHCI.inf = 1,,,,,,,20,0,0
iaSTOR.cat = 1,,,,,,,20,0,0
iaSTOR.inf = 1,,,,,,,20,0,0
{More Entries}

[HardwareIdsDatabase]
{Some Entries}
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27C5&CC_0106 = "iaStor"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27C3&CC_0104 = "iaStor"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27C1&CC_0106 = "iaStor"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2652&CC_0104 = "iaStor"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2652&CC_0106 = "iaStor"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2653&CC_0106 = "iaStor"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2653&CC_0104 = "iaStor"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_24DF&CC_0104 = "iaStor"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_25B0&CC_0104 = "iaStor"

[SCSI.Load]
{Some entries}
iaStor = iaStor.sys,4

[SCSI]
{Some entries}
iaStor = "Intel(R) 82801 SATA RAID/AHCI Controller (ICH5,6,7)"

My ristnrd.sif file contains:

[Unattended]
OemPreinstall = Yes
OemPnpDriversPath = \Drivers\SATA
OemPnpDriversPath = \Drivers\LAN
OemPnpDriversPath = \Drivers\Display
OemPnpDriversPath = \Drivers\Display\Graphics
OemPnpDriversPath = \Drivers\WEBCAM\XP
OemPnpDriversPath = \Drivers\CardReader\DriverBin_32bit
OemPnpDriversPath = \Drivers\Chipset\All

driversigningpolicy = ignore

Contents of SATA driver folder as below:
Attached File  sata.jpg   62.95KB   13 downloads

Thanks

#13
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,026 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
No ideas right now. :(

Have the drivers beein copied to BOTH targets (\I386 AND \Drivers\SATA\)?

Can you try with a F6 floppy or CD?

Just to make sure that the problem is only in the RIS setup and not in "wrong" drivers-

jaclaz

#14
Jasonthejoker

Jasonthejoker

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
Could try a manual install, but it's a netbook so I'd need to grab an external drive from somewhere. In the meantime I'm trying a different version of the SATA drivers.

Sopme questions:
  • Should OEM drivers be put in the directories (i386 & $oem$\1$\drivers\*) with standard "*.sys;*.inf" extentions or should I change them to compressed style "*.sy_;*.in_" format?
  • I've prepared an answer file using the windows tool and applied this to do an unattended install of an existing image. Does this new file reference the original SIF in addition to the answer file?
  • Using the unattended install the screen skips the format screen almost immediately when you see it. The standard one delays here slightly. I had assumed this wasn't a problem, but being that it's a HDD error I wonder - Could this be a problem?
  • In addition I've noticed that that the UseWholeDisk line is missing from the unattended SIF file, although it exists in the standard one. Could this be a problem?

Hoping that I'm moving closer to a solution!

#15
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,250 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
At this point, I think it's probably beneficial for you to post your unattend file, just to make sure.

As to your questions, I'm assuming your OemPnpDriversPath points to \Drivers on the boot volume, so you should be placing the uncompressed disk drivers in the $1\Drivers\ folder structure in $OEM$.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#16
Jasonthejoker

Jasonthejoker

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
Thanks. Unattended file below. I've done another machine which is working fine, but not adding to the domain.

Unattended file created using windows tools and applied to existing image (Which uses second answer file)
;SetupMgrTag
[Data]
	AutoPartition=1
	MsDosInitiated="1"
	UnattendedInstall="Yes"
	floppyless="1"
	OriSrc="\\%SERVERNAME%\RemInst\%INSTALLPATH%"
	OriTyp="4"
	LocalSourceOnCD=1

[SetupData]
	OsLoadOptions="/noguiboot /fastdetect"
	SetupSourceDevice="\Device\LanmanRedirector\%SERVERNAME%\RemInst\%INSTALLPATH%"

[Unattended]
	UnattendMode=FullUnattended
	OemSkipEula=Yes
	OemPreinstall=No
	TargetPath=\WINDOWS
	FileSystem=LeaveAlone
	NtUpgrade=No
	OverwriteOemFilesOnUpgrade=No

[GuiUnattended]
	AdminPassword=[Encrypted password]
	EncryptedAdminPassword=Yes
	OEMSkipRegional=1
	TimeZone=85
	OemSkipWelcome=1

[UserData]
	ProductKey=[Product key here]
	FullName="User"
	OrgName="Lea Valley High School"
	ComputerName=%MACHINENAME%

[Display]
	BitsPerPel=32

[RegionalSettings]
	LanguageGroup=1
	Language=00000809

[SetupMgr]
	DistFolder=C:\windist
	DistShare=windist

[Identification]
	JoinDomain=%MACHINEDOMAIN%
	DoOldStyleDomainJoin=Yes

[Networking]
	InstallDefaultComponents=Yes
	ProcessPageSections=Yes

[RemoteInstall]
	Repartition=Yes
	UseWholeDisk = Yes

[OSChooser]
	Description="Windows XP Pro SP3 Automated"
	Help="This will install Windows XP Pro SP3 without user intervention."
	LaunchFile="%INSTALLPATH%\%MACHINETYPE%\templates\startrom.com"
	ImageType=Flat

Original answer file:

[data]
AutoPartition=1
MsDosInitiated="1"
UnattendedInstall="Yes"
floppyless = "1"

OriSrc = "\\%SERVERNAME%\RemInst\%INSTALLPATH%\%MACHINETYPE%"
OriTyp = "4"
LocalSourceOnCD = 1
DisableAdminAccountOnDomainJoin = 1

[SetupData]
OsLoadOptions = "/noguiboot /fastdetect"
SetupSourceDevice = "\Device\LanmanRedirector\%SERVERNAME%\RemInst\%INSTALLPATH%"

[Unattended]
OemPreinstall = Yes
OemPnpDriversPath = \Drivers\SATA
OemPnpDriversPath = \Drivers\LAN
OemPnpDriversPath = \Drivers\Display
OemPnpDriversPath = \Drivers\Display\Graphics
OemPnpDriversPath = \Drivers\WEBCAM\XP
OemPnpDriversPath = \Drivers\CardReader\DriverBin_32bit
OemPnpDriversPath = \Drivers\Chipset\All
OemPnpDriversPath = \Drivers\LANdc7100

driversigningpolicy = ignore

FileSystem = LeaveAlone
ExtendOEMPartition = 0
TargetPath = \WINDOWS

OemSkipEula = yes
UnattendMode=FullUnattended

InstallFilesPath = "\\%SERVERNAME%\RemInst\%INSTALLPATH%\%MACHINETYPE%"
LegacyNIC = 1

[UserData]
ProductKey= [Product key]
FullName = "User"
OrgName = "Lea Valley High School"
ComputerName = %MACHINENAME%

[GuiUnattended]
AdminPassword = [Encrypted password]
EncryptedAdminPassword = Yes
OEMSkipRegional = 1
TimeZone = 85
OemSkipWelcome = 1

[Display]
BitsPerPel = 16
XResolution = 1024
YResolution = 600
VRefresh = 60

[Networking]

[NetServices]
MS_Server=params.MS_PSched

[Identification]
JoinDomain = %MACHINEDOMAIN%
DoOldStyleDomainJoin = Yes

[RemoteInstall]
Repartition = Yes
UseWholeDisk = Yes


[OSChooser]
Description ="Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP3"
Help ="Automatically installs Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP3 without prompting the user for input."
LaunchFile = "%INSTALLPATH%\%MACHINETYPE%\templates\startrom.com"
ImageType =Flat
Version="5.1 (2600)"



#17
Jasonthejoker

Jasonthejoker

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
Think I may have another idea. Just read a post on MS site that says the $oem$ folder should be at the same leel as the i386 folder. Mines in the i386 folder. Could this be the problem? I suspect it is and have moved the folder and restarted the service. Can't try the install now though, it's half term and the server is at work!

#18
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,250 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I always had the $OEM$ folder alongside (not in) the i386 folder on the REMINST share, and it's always worked fine. That may well be it.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#19
Jasonthejoker

Jasonthejoker

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
It was indeed the location of the oem folder. id*** I am! RIS now working excellently for several models. Thanks for your help guys.

Jason

#20
nesperas

nesperas
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello i have a compaq mini 110c and im tryng to instal using ris but i dont know where to add my nic drivers now i cant find sata drivers :( help thanks

Edited by nesperas, 18 March 2010 - 09:18 AM.


#21
nesperas

nesperas
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
PLEASE help me

#22
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
nesperas, I'm afraid you don't give us much info to work with. For example, I found 111 models of Compaq Mini 110c on the HP website. Which model are we exactly talking about? SATA drivers may vary according to model. As for where to put the drivers, why not go through the topic again, as it contains code and ways of integrating drivers.

Report back.

Cheers

#23
sduchnych

sduchnych
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Did u find fix to this problem i have the same thing!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN