Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

RT Seven Lite - RC build 1.7.0 and Beta build 2.6.0


  • Please log in to reply
1947 replies to this topic

#101
hclarkjr

hclarkjr

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 299 posts
  • Joined 21-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
i built my image with the version out now and removed UAC completely with it :rolleyes: as well as security center, windows defender and the windows firewall. i run behind a hardware firewall so i do not need extra protection

Cooler master HAF932, Dell 2408WFP, Gigabyte P67A-UD4 B3 REV. 1.1, Intel core I7 2600K@ 4GHZ, XIGMATEK SD-1283 Gaia, Intel X25-M G2 160GB, 16GB DDR3 1600 Gskill Ripjaws ,XFX radeon HD6950, Pioneer BDR-205, Samsung SH-S243N 24X DVD-RW, western digital black 2TB,Antec TPQ-850 850W , windows 8.1 pro X64



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#102
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

UAC which is from Microsoft is a best thing but not all of them like that.

Perhaps your right Ben, some need to use.

will wait on 1.04
Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#103
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,120 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I can change the manifest settings but everytime you have to run the app as administrator.


do this! Inside the setup you can create a task inside the taskscheduler and create a shortcut to run your tool with elevated rights. Read here how to do this:

http://www.msfn.org/...-the-uac-part2/

Currently, your tool can't be run when UAC is on and this is a blocker, where I never, ever test a software.
Posted Image

#104
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,845 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Why don't you have a testbed like most of us? Hell even a VM installation. I understand UAC and what it is for but it is a HUGE pain in the a** especially when testing software.

My opinion? Yes it would be nice to add it running as an admin. (Might get a bigger user base)

HOWEVER, this and other software (vLite, 7customizer, Win7Toolkit (The legit one)) Personally should ALWAYS be run from an admin account with AV turned off. Granted this does expose some risk BUT lots of these apps set off AV's anyways and get slowed down or even blocked by AV's because of their nature and what they are maede to do.

I commonly run these from a test bed that has the internet disabled and never keep sensitive info on it.

Take for instance the new imgburn. Spyware\adware EVERYWHERE in it. Boy was I taken for suprise! But luckily I tested it one my testbed before using on my other pc's.

Edited by Kelsenellenelvian, 19 March 2010 - 12:49 AM.


#105
gusdi12

gusdi12
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 01-February 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

@ gusdi12 : You can change the RT 7 Lite temp directory only not system temp directory.

1.04 will be released on Saturday.


Posted Image

#106
Tomorrow

Tomorrow

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 375 posts
  • Joined 20-December 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Take for instance the new imgburn. Spyware\adware EVERYWHERE in it. Boy was I taken for suprise! But luckily I tested it one my testbed before usaing on my other pc's.

Really? :blink:

I better keep clear then.
2.5.0.0 is good enough for me :thumbup

Too bad tho.I t is a great program.

#107
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,845 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Yeah it has the following (Imgburn)

· Offers to change the homepage for web browsers installed in the system
· Offers to change the default search engine for web browsers installed in the system
· Offers to download or install software or components that the program does not require to fully function: Ask Toolbar
· Offers to create desktop or start menu shortcuts for items unrelated to the program's functionality

BUT you can install it and take the folder that it is installed to and it is fully portable! That way you can customize you OWN installer...

Back on topic:

I have found this to be a VERY promising program and will definately be using RT 7lite in the future! Thanks guys!

Edited by Kelsenellenelvian, 19 March 2010 - 12:40 AM.


#108
mrookie

mrookie

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 28 posts
  • Joined 01-January 10
I can see this program has some potentials

Edited by mrookie, 20 March 2010 - 01:05 AM.


#109
omri09

omri09
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 13-February 10
When 1.04 will be released?

#110
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,067 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag

When 1.04 will be released?

Right About Now.

7Lite 1.04 Beta

Edited by MrJinje, 20 March 2010 - 02:15 PM.


#111
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,120 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

still requires to disable UAC :rolleyes:
Posted Image

#112
Bilar Crais

Bilar Crais

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 264 posts
  • Joined 06-August 04

still requires to disable UAC :rolleyes:



Still requires flash activex as well, just FYI.
Biostar A770E3 | AMD Phenom II X4 945 | 4gb WINTEC AMPX 4GB Dual Channel DDR3 | Antec SLK3700-BQE | Zotac (Fermi) Zone Edition GT 430 | ATI RW | W7sp1x64 | (2) DMax 10 6L200SO SATA 7200rpm Striped

#113
Elmoonfire

Elmoonfire

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 12-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
WOW amazing job fixing those issues in 1.03 so quickly. I can confirm that this program works with even Enterprise version of Windows 7. You just have to leave out your product key as part of unattended as thats a problem with Enterprise.

Ben where would you like feedback on small bugs? I have a small list of settings that don't save between sessions and tweaks that don't apply after installation.

Thanks again for your efforts!

Edited by Elmoonfire, 20 March 2010 - 05:09 PM.


#114
ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned Members

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,310 posts
  • Joined 06-June 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Does not support .cab only .msu files in the Integration/Updates section

#115
hclarkjr

hclarkjr

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 299 posts
  • Joined 21-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
i tried an install today using image i made few days back and got this error message - Windows could not set the offline locale information. Error Code: 0x80000001 anybody have any idea what i did wrong?

Cooler master HAF932, Dell 2408WFP, Gigabyte P67A-UD4 B3 REV. 1.1, Intel core I7 2600K@ 4GHZ, XIGMATEK SD-1283 Gaia, Intel X25-M G2 160GB, 16GB DDR3 1600 Gskill Ripjaws ,XFX radeon HD6950, Pioneer BDR-205, Samsung SH-S243N 24X DVD-RW, western digital black 2TB,Antec TPQ-850 850W , windows 8.1 pro X64


#116
wazer

wazer

    You gotta risk it to get the biscuits

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 237 posts
  • Joined 24-May 05
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I can confirm that the install.wim now is getting reduced. I just tryed for fun to remove some drivers. I removed about 400megabytes on a x64 ultimate. 2680mb untouched winsize to 2234 on install.wim after using rt7lite :). Thats a bright thing now :)..

But things i think needs improvement are the loading while adding the files. I takes like 3-4 minutes before you can work with r7lite. And the processing after you have started, takes like 1 hour before its done. There's a no room for making mistakes or forgetting something. Unless you have all the time in the world.

Edited by wazer, 20 March 2010 - 09:13 PM.

if ( $life( $me ) == $null ) { getLife( $me ) | halt }


Quick Launch Classic 7 Tool

#117
bensam56

bensam56

    RT Seven Lite Developer

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Joined 24-February 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Does not support .cab only .msu files in the Integration/Updates section


I checked lego from wincert made .msu to .cab converter. Its converting msu to cab. But its converting with errors. I tried to convert this "Windows6.1-KB947821-v2-x64" which is 94MB but after conversion its shows only 400KB. So people sometimes may use that app for conversion like I did but it brings error. So currently I didn't gave support for .cab

Edited by bensam56, 20 March 2010 - 09:17 PM.

Posted Image

#118
bensam56

bensam56

    RT Seven Lite Developer

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Joined 24-February 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
List of components can be removed safely

This components passed the test on Beta 1.04

Accessories:

Action Center
Aero Cursors
Calculator
Character Map
Disk CleanUp
InboxGames
Chess
FreeCell
Hearts
Shanghai
Minesweeper
Moregames
MultiPlayer
PurblePlace
Solitaire
SpiderSolitaire
Sticky Notes
Mobility Center
Notepad
On-Screen Magnifier
Windows Contacts
Paint
Welcome Center
Windows sidebar
Windows Fax and scanner

Drivers:

Display - Nvidia, Intel, ATI
Media Managers - High Definition Audio Driver (Default), ATI Technologies, Aver Media Technologies, Conexant, Hauppauge (Choose all except for your device)
Network: All except AIO drivers
Modem (Choose all except for your device)
Scanners (Choose all except for your device)
Printers (Choose all except for your device)
TV Tuner (Choose all except for your device)
Floppy driver

Languages:

(Choose all except your country language)

Note: Do not delete Chinese simplified and traditional

Multimedia:

Autoplay
Windows Aero themes
Mobile PC Presentation (Delete it if you are using desktop)
Sample Music and Videos
Sample Pictures
Screensavers
Sound Recorder
Windows DVD Maker
Windows ISO Burn
Windows Media Center
Windows Media Player
Windows Photo Gallery (shimgvw)
Windows Photo Viewer
Windows Picture Acquisition Wizard
Windows Sounds
Windows wallpapers

Network:

Connect To Network Projector
Internet Information service (IIS)
Telnet Client
Telnet Server
Internet explorer

Services:

Windows defender
Windows card space
Themes
Windows Phone dialer
Windows Fax

System:

Narrator
TabletPC
On-Screen Keyboard
Windows Anytime Upgrade
Windows PowerShell
Zip Folder
Windows Easy Transfer
Windows Anytime Upgrade
Extended copy utility
IMAPI v2 Burning support (If you remove windows ISO burn then you can remove this)
Posted Image

#119
ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned Members

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,310 posts
  • Joined 06-June 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Does not support .cab only .msu files in the Integration/Updates section


I checked lego from wincert made .msu to .cab converter. Its converting msu to cab. But its converting with errors. I tried to convert this "Windows6.1-KB947821-v2-x64" which is 94MB but after conversion its shows only 400KB. So people sometimes may use that app for conversion like I did but it brings error. So currently I didn't gave support for .cab

Its no error, if you properly extract that update you will find these files

12/30/2009  06:06 PM           368,000 CheckSURPackage.EXE
12/30/2009  10:16 PM               329 PkgInstallOrder.txt
12/30/2009  03:16 PM               437 Windows6.1-KB947821-v4-x86-pkgProperties.txt
12/30/2009  03:14 PM            15,755 Windows6.1-KB947821-v4-x86.cab
12/30/2009  03:16 PM               445 Windows6.1-KB947821-v4-x86.xml
12/30/2009  04:46 PM         3,993,480 Windows6.1-RTM-Client-CAB1-X86.EXE
12/30/2009  05:01 PM        10,281,344 Windows6.1-RTM-Client-CAB2-x86.EXE
12/30/2009  05:33 PM         8,027,520 Windows6.1-RTM-Client-CAB3-x86.EXE
12/30/2009  04:41 PM           891,272 Windows6.1-RTM-Client-ENUS-X86.EXE
12/30/2009  04:33 PM         5,216,648 Windows6.1-RTM-Client-NEUTRAL-X86.EXE
12/30/2009  06:00 PM         1,369,472 Windows6.1-Servicing-X86.EXE
12/30/2009  06:04 PM           156,544 Windows6.1-SSCab-X86.EXE
12/30/2009  10:18 PM           161,804 WSUSSCAN.cab

BTW this update cannot be integrated properly, dont care if you use the .msu or "smaller" sized .cab you should get the same results (also would be a good idea if you updated it to V4)

#120
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,067 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag

List of components can be removed safely

Services:

Windows Error Reporting Service

@Ben, If you force 7Lite to auto protect wer.dll in the next version, users will be able to remove "Windows Error Reporting Service" without having to remember to protect wer.dll.

There are a few more in this list (post #1)

SYSTEM files to PROTECT and REASONING

wer.dll (have to protect this file in order to remove the error reporting service)
msdrm.dll (have to protect this file in order to remove digital rights management)
browcli.dll (have to protect this file so net start/stop will work by command prompt)
msoert2.dll (protect this file only if you are going to use and install msn messenger)
winipsec.dll (have to protect this file in order to remove the ipsec policy agent service)
Magnification.dll (protect this file if you are not removing Snipping Tool or it won't work)

Not sure about the rest, I have seen a few different ones posted in various vLite threads. Maybe we should try to collect all this info + reasoning in a single location (instead of losing the information 100 posts deep in vLite forum). I know there are more than 5-6 of these, can anyone remember the ones we are missing.

#121
bensam56

bensam56

    RT Seven Lite Developer

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Joined 24-February 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


List of components can be removed safely

Services:

Windows Error Reporting Service

@Ben, If you force 7Lite to auto protect wer.dll in the next version, users will be able to remove "Windows Error Reporting Service" without having to remember to protect wer.dll.

There are a few more in this list (post #1)

SYSTEM files to PROTECT and REASONING

wer.dll (have to protect this file in order to remove the error reporting service)
msdrm.dll (have to protect this file in order to remove digital rights management)
browcli.dll (have to protect this file so net start/stop will work by command prompt)
msoert2.dll (protect this file only if you are going to use and install msn messenger)
winipsec.dll (have to protect this file in order to remove the ipsec policy agent service)
Magnification.dll (protect this file if you are not removing Snipping Tool or it won't work)

Not sure about the rest, I have seen a few different ones posted in various vLite threads. Maybe we should try to collect all this info + reasoning in a single location (instead of losing the information 100 posts deep in vLite forum). I know there are more than 5-6 of these, can anyone remember the ones we are missing.


Did u got my previous PM?
Posted Image

#122
MrJinje

MrJinje

    Tool™ Developer

  • Developer
  • 1,067 posts
  • Joined 14-October 09
  • OS:Server 2012R2
  • Country: Country Flag

Did u got my previous PM?

Check your inbox, reply was dated March 17th, but I never got reply back. Did you find a solution or is that still on the list for version 1.05 ?

#123
bensam56

bensam56

    RT Seven Lite Developer

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Joined 24-February 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Did u got my previous PM?

Check your inbox, reply was dated March 17th, but I never got reply back. Did you find a solution or is that still on the list for version 1.05 ?


I fixed that in this 1.04 itself. Error is "User profile cannot be loaded". Its a small mistake i made. I didn't got your reply. 1.05 will be final for Beta and adding some more new feature in RC.

Things I need to fix is

* If components is already removed from the windows using RT 7 lite and again loading that same windows, those removed components is still visible in components list.
* I will force some of the important system files not to delete.
Posted Image

#124
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 988 posts
  • Joined 02-April 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@ bensam56
hey can u make the setting saving more comfort ?
its hard to save the setting at once
cos its there a lot of settings and thinking :)
so i want to make setting config and update it from time to time till its it finish :)

thx

Edited by aviv00, 21 March 2010 - 05:13 AM.


#125
bensam56

bensam56

    RT Seven Lite Developer

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Joined 24-February 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

@ bensam56
hey can u make the setting saving more comfort ?
its hard to save the setting at once
cos its there a lot of settings and thinking :)
so i want to make setting config and update it from time to time till its it finish :)

thx


I THINK THAT OPTION IS ALREADY AVAILABLE. IN HOME TAB CHECK THE "SAVE CURRENT SETTINGS" OPTION BEFORE YOU START CUSTOMIZING YOUR WINDOWS. FINALLY IT WILL CREATE A INF FILE IN RT 7 LITE DIRECTORY. YOU CAN RELOAD THE SETTINGS AGAIN BACK..
Posted Image




3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users