Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

How to access Administrator account from Welcome Screen?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
endritius

endritius
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 31-December 05
I have been able to log on to Windows XP administrator account by pressing CAD (Ctrl+Alt+Del) two times at the welcome screen where users are required to enter their password. When I pressed CAD x2 times a log on dialog box would pop up and i would enter the administrator user name and the password.

This option was very convenient because the administrator account was hidden and I could access it any time without having to reboot in safe mode or make it available at the log on screen.

I want to know if this option is also available on Windows 7 or is there is any similar way to do the same on Windows 7?

Thanks


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Well, you asked for my answer, and here it is: Win7 is not my domain, and will not be until there is at least SP1 and broad-range or native coverage for hardware devices. So far, so good.

As to your troubles, I got the answer to the other issue through Google search. Why not try it for yourself? Tip: I read that the Administrator account was disabled in Vista by default. It could be the same thing with Win7.

Enjoy

Edited by Sp0iLedBrAt, 14 March 2010 - 10:53 AM.


#3
endritius

endritius
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 31-December 05
That's true... I found your solution also by myself but I thought that it wasn't what I was looking for... anyway thanks again... I'll give Google another shot ;)



Well, you asked for my answer, and here it is: Win7 is not my domain, and will not be until there is at least SP1 and broad-range or native coverage for hardware devices. So far, so good.

As to your troubles, I got the answer to the other issue through Google search. Why not try it for yourself? Tip: I read that the Administrator account was disabled in Vista by default. It could be the same thing with Win7.

Enjoy



#4
romar31

romar31
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 23-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag

I have been able to log on to Windows XP administrator account by pressing CAD (Ctrl+Alt+Del) two times at the welcome screen where users are required to enter their password. When I pressed CAD x2 times a log on dialog box would pop up and i would enter the administrator user name and the password.

This option was very convenient because the administrator account was hidden and I could access it any time without having to reboot in safe mode or make it available at the log on screen.

I want to know if this option is also available on Windows 7 or is there is any similar way to do the same on Windows 7?

Thanks

run cmd as administrator then type as follows: net user administrator /active:yes then hit enter. that's it. ;)

#5
endritius

endritius
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 31-December 05
Actually that is not what I'm asking for. That would leave the admin account on the welcome screen. I don't want that.
I want it to be hidden and access it by a "hot key" like XP where you hit twice CAD.



I have been able to log on to Windows XP administrator account by pressing CAD (Ctrl+Alt+Del) two times at the welcome screen where users are required to enter their password. When I pressed CAD x2 times a log on dialog box would pop up and i would enter the administrator user name and the password.

This option was very convenient because the administrator account was hidden and I could access it any time without having to reboot in safe mode or make it available at the log on screen.

I want to know if this option is also available on Windows 7 or is there is any similar way to do the same on Windows 7?

Thanks

run cmd as administrator then type as follows: net user administrator /active:yes then hit enter. that's it. ;)



#6
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
You can get a semblance of the old the classic logon screen via secpol or the registry, but it doesn't behave quite as XP did (you'll get username/password boxes after pressing ctrl+alt+del, but not the old NT4-style logon box). You can either configure Vista or Win7 to use this, or the welcome screen, but not both. Pressing ctrl+alt+del twice does nothing in Vista or Win7.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#7
steve17

steve17

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 04-July 08

run cmd as administrator then type as follows: net user administrator /active:yes then hit enter. that's it. ;)

This requires you to enter the password of a healthy admin account. (unless I'm horribly confused ;)). What if your normal admin account gets clobbered? I guess you could put a password on Administrator to use in this case.

I normally run from a non-admin account, and also have an admin account. I create another admin account that is hidden from the login screen to use if my normal admin account gets clobbered. I hide it with the registry entry:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon\SpecialAccounts\UserList]
"account name goes here"=dword:00000000
Such a hidden account is still enabled, and it's password can be used. I can make this account loginable from my non-admin account by running regedit using "run as different user" (hold down shift key), and using it's password. From regedit I can flip the "hide" bit in the registry.


I know I can login to Administrator from safe mode, if all admin accounts are "disabled", but I don't trust Win7 to know if my admin account is "clobbered".

Edited by steve17, 28 March 2010 - 06:27 PM.


#8
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
The admin account itself is enabled in safe mode for obvious reasons, but that's expected.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users