Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Windows 7 SP1 revealed

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1
gosh

gosh

    gosh 2.0

  • Patrons
  • 2,347 posts
  • Joined 03-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
First details of SP1 are being released

http://www.microsoft...ktopVirtPR.mspx

Two new features coming in Windows Server 2008 R2 service pack 1. Microsoft Dynamic Memory will allow customers to adjust memory of a guest virtual machine on demand to maximize server hardware use. Microsoft RemoteFX will enable users of virtual desktops and applications to receive a rich 3-D, multimedia experience while accessing information remotely.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,913 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I sure hope we get a servicing option for 7. I'd really hate to rebuild all our images.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#3
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,092 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

no, SP1 will not be slipstreamable. MS already posted this last year in the Technet documentation.
Posted Image

#4
Innocent Devil

Innocent Devil

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Joined 04-February 05

no, SP1 will not be slipstreamable. MS already posted this last year in the Technet documentation.


Grrrrrr.. :no: :realmad: :realmad: Not Again...
"The level of security that Vista is trying to achieve to protect video and audio is more extreme than anything the US government has ever considered necessary for protecting its most sensitive classified data."

Read Full Article @ [A Cost Analysis of Windows Vista Content Protection]

Don't be lame [Linux is NOT Windows]

#5
Win2k3EE

Win2k3EE

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Joined 15-May 05
Why the f*ck is doing microsoft un-slipstream-able service packs? Who's the id*** in the MS team with this dumb idea?
First no classic menu in win7, now un-slipstream-able service packs?
:realmad: :realmad: :realmad:

#6
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,092 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

because Updates work the same like in Vista and Windows 7 is a Vista R2 under a new name ;)
Posted Image

#7
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,579 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
You know how Windows 7 is promoted:
http://www.beingmana...ke-we-listened/

You Spoke. We Listened.


You do understand how with this clever idea, it is NOT MS's fault as usual :unsure:, it's the dumb*** that spoke that should be crucified:
http://www.imdb.com/...t0079470/quotes

Brian: What will they do to me?
Ben the Prisoner: Oh you'll probably get away with crucifixion.
Brian: CRUCIFIXION?
Ben the Prisoner: Yeah, first offense.


:P

jaclaz

#8
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
It's a victim of the image format. If the install was flat, it'd work; if the SP was able to be made as an MSP, it'd work. Unfortunately, the SP is it's own installable package, and as such you have to load an image, install the SP package, then repackage via sysprep (reverse integration). I wish it weren't so, but unfortunately it is. I guess since I keep a base image in MDT/SCCM and use that to build a base WIM to deploy I don't have the pain others do, but I doubt it'll change anytime soon. Until the SP itself can be made into an MSP package (don't hold your breath), it's going to be this way.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#9
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,092 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

this is not the cause why it can't be slipstreamed! You can slipstream the SP n into a version which has n-1 SP level (Sp1 into RTM, Sp2 into Sp1, when you have a fully configured reverse integrated version). The cause is the way the servicing stack handles the updates!
Posted Image

#10
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Right - it's a victim of the initial image. We probably won't have this problem with SP2, but SP1 isn't going to work. I know what you're getting at, but I thought I already covered that :P. We won't get into the D drive issue on new images either - I still haven't figured that one out.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#11
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,913 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Well I'm not really talking about slipstreaming. I had no problem servicing Vista with SP1 without recreating the image.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3-5 | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#12
DigeratiPrime

DigeratiPrime

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,550 posts
  • Joined 18-August 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Dynamic RAM will be very useful if we can increase and decrease the ram. :)

[EDIT] Found more info here
http://hypervoria.co...e-overview.aspx

Dynamic Memory
Overview

Pool of memory is dynamically distributed across VMs
Memory is dynamically allocated/removed based VM usage with no service interruption
Benefits

Enables much higher consolidation ratios per host by addressing the greatest limiting factor to consolidation: Memory
How

VM memory configuration includes:
Initial (what VM will boot with)
Minimum (what VM is guaranteed)
Maximum (what VM can grow to)
Memory is added via Hot-Add MEM functionality
Memory is removed via Balloon driver (supported OSs)


Edited by DigeratiPrime, 27 March 2010 - 06:08 PM.

Recommended Software: KeePass | Microsoft ICE | VisualWget | Vitamin D Video |

#13
nmX.Memnoch

nmX.Memnoch

    MSFN Master

  • Patrons
  • 2,086 posts
  • Joined 15-September 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

We won't get into the D drive issue on new images either - I still haven't figured that one out.

Are you talking about capturing and restoring SCCM images? There's a workaround but I don't have the information readily available right now...

#14
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm aware of the workaround, it's just that it exists in the first place (and wasn't fixed in 7, when it was an issue with Vista and reported). I guess the build labs must do it that way and it can't easily be changed.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users