Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

How to put WinPE on your Hard drive....

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1
likuidkewl

likuidkewl

    [Centos~]$

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 960 posts
  • Joined 16-September 03
//**EDIT**// OK this is turning into more of a pain than I thought it would. Below in the first set of quotes are the NEW instructions for installing WinPE on your hard drive, in the second set od CODE is the OLD way Gosh was talking about.

To create a bootable WinPE disk (32-bit versions of WinPE)
***Please note this is only the instructions on how to install WinPE and WinPE only to the hard drive, you must modify these instructions to get a "Dual boot"***

Boot the destination computer into WinPE using a WinPE CD.
Create a formatted and active partition.
On the active partition, create a directory called C:\Minint. You must name the directory "Minint".
Copy the contents of build_location\i386 to C:\Minint.
For example:

xcopy "C:\Build.x86\i386\*.*" C:\Minint /S
where C:\Build.x86 is build_location.

Copy Ntdetect.com from build_location to the root of the destination hard disk.
For example:

xcopy "C:\Build.x86\ntdetect.com" C:\
where C:\Build.X86 is build_location.

On the destination hard disk, copy C:\Minint\setupldr.bin to C:\ntldr.
For example:

xcopy "C:\Minint\setupldr.bin" C:\ntldr
Restart the destination computer. The computer starts using WinPE.


How to get a dual boot option:

1. Install and Windows Recovery Console
2. Copy C:\Cmdcons\Bootsect.dat to C:\Bootsect.dat
3. Add this line to your boot.ini
C:\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows PE"
4. Copy i386 from CD to C:\Minint, you must name the directory Minint


OLD RTM AND BETA WAY TO DO IT!
Placing a Bootable Version of WinPE on a Hard DiskYou can only place a 32-bit version of the Windows Preinstallation Environment (WinPE) on a hard disk.

Before you begin, you must format the destination hard disk and install the Recovery Console on this hard disk.

To install the Recovery Console

Place the Windows XP Professional CD in the CD-ROM drive, denoted as cd_drive. 
Run cd_drive\i386\winnt32.exe /cmdcons. 
Now you can place a customized bootable copy of WinPE on this hard disk.

To place WinPE on a hard disk

On the destination hard disk, create a directory called C:\Minint. You must name the directory "Minint". 
If you have not already done so, follow the procedure in To create a custom version of WinPE on the topic Creating a Customized Version of WinPE. 
When you have completed this step, the customized WinPE files are in build_location, which does not need to be physically located on the destination hard disk.

Copy all of the contents of build_location\i386 to C:\Minint. 
For Example:

xcopy C:\Build.x86\i386\*.* /S C:\Minint

where C:\Build.x86 is build_location.

Copy Winbom.ini from build_location to the root of the destination hard disk. 
For Example:

copy C:\Build.x86\Winbom.ini C:\

where C:\Build.X86 is build_location.

On the destination hard disk, change the read-only attribute for C:\Cmdcons\txtsetup.sif to read/write. 
For Example:

attrib -r C:\Cmdcons\txtsetup.sif

On the destination hard disk, copy C:\Minint\txtsetup.sif to C:\Cmdcons. 
For Example:

xcopy C:\Minint\txtsetup.sif C:\Cmdcons

Restart the destination computer. On the Boot menu, select to boot to the Command Console. The computer will boot using WinPE.

Edited by likuidkewl, 24 April 2004 - 12:50 PM.

BLOG...


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
gamehead200

gamehead200

    SEARCH!!! SEARCH!!!

  • Super Moderator
  • 7,039 posts
  • Joined 02-September 02
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Now... How would I put 32-bit GUI programs to work on here? :)

#3
likuidkewl

likuidkewl

    [Centos~]$

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 960 posts
  • Joined 16-September 03
Do a search for WinPE and GeoShell.. You will get results from google, the only reason I didn't post the answer is because it is from another forum. :)
BLOG...

#4
bombtrack

bombtrack

    boooom

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Joined 02-January 04
does this work as multi boot with windows XP?
Posted Image

#5
likuidkewl

likuidkewl

    [Centos~]$

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 960 posts
  • Joined 16-September 03
Please read the code snippet in the first post.
BLOG...

#6
jdgordon

jdgordon

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Joined 11-August 03
if ur using pebuilder to make the pe cd then just enable the "barts hard disk installer" plugin which does this all automated
you are not your uptime stats

#7
likuidkewl

likuidkewl

    [Centos~]$

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 960 posts
  • Joined 16-September 03
That works great if you want to use someone elses way to setup your pc. This is if you want to do it yourself and learn through trial and error. :)
BLOG...

#8
bombtrack

bombtrack

    boooom

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Joined 02-January 04
oh ups , must have overlooked that, thx :)
Posted Image

#9
gosh

gosh

    gosh 2.0

  • Patrons
  • 2,347 posts
  • Joined 03-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Where's the part modifying the boot.ini? By default with no boot.ini ntldr will try to load the registry in a folder called windows on the boot partition. I don't see these instructions working.

There's a proper way to do this. You install recovery console, then put winpe in a minint folder. Then you copy txtsetup.sif from winpe to the cmdcons directory.

My source.bat automated installing winpe on the hard drive.

-gosh

#10
likuidkewl

likuidkewl

    [Centos~]$

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 960 posts
  • Joined 16-September 03

Where's the part modifying the boot.ini?  By default with no boot.ini ntldr will try to load the registry in a folder called windows on the boot partition.  I don't see these instructions working.

There's a proper way to do this.  You install recovery console, then put winpe in a minint folder.  Then you copy txtsetup.sif from winpe to the cmdcons directory.

My source.bat automated installing winpe on the hard drive.

-gosh



Please read the first post it has been updated, fyi the way you are talking about is the old RTM and Beta way. The "New" instructions are for SP1/2003 OPK.

-Likuidkewl
BLOG...

#11
likuidkewl

likuidkewl

    [Centos~]$

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 960 posts
  • Joined 16-September 03
This is a BUMP, so people will see the new info in the first post. This clears up the discussion on which is the "right way" to do this. :)
BLOG...

#12
strekship

strekship

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 129 posts
  • Joined 13-March 04

Where's the part modifying the boot.ini?  By default with no boot.ini ntldr will try to load the registry in a folder called windows on the boot partition.  I don't see these instructions working.

There's a proper way to do this.  You install recovery console, then put winpe in a minint folder.  Then you copy txtsetup.sif from winpe to the cmdcons directory.

My source.bat automated installing winpe on the hard drive.

-gosh

Do u think you could post a link to your source.bat? Or just show me it so that i can make my own? I am confused about the whole build_location thing.
Check out my forums @ http:\\cwp.tomchu.com. I need mods and members!

#13
likuidkewl

likuidkewl

    [Centos~]$

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 960 posts
  • Joined 16-September 03
I updated the thread a little and added the instructions on how to dual boot WinPE, with XP,2003, etc.

--Likuidkewl
BLOG...

#14
fatzke

fatzke
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 01-May 04
Is it also possible to create a winpe installation on a other partition (e. g. a self created service partition) and how.

I am also interested in put a winpe installation on a memory stick, so i can boot from this.

any idea?

#15
likuidkewl

likuidkewl

    [Centos~]$

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 960 posts
  • Joined 16-September 03
I don't see why not. Give it a try and then post your results if you would. :)
BLOG...

#16
Primetime

Primetime

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 24-May 04
Hi,
I had to do the following task:

-part c: clean
-part d: winpe
-must boot from d:

I've follow the instructions on page 1 and it's working very well wenn du put winpe on c:, but it has to be on d:

Systems stops with a blinking cursor (no msg.)

Can anybody please help?

TIA,

Chris

#17
likuidkewl

likuidkewl

    [Centos~]$

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 960 posts
  • Joined 16-September 03

Hi,
I had to do the following task:

-part c: clean
-part d: winpe
-must boot from d:

I've follow the instructions on page 1 and it's working very well wenn du put winpe on c:, but it has to be on d:

Systems stops with a blinking cursor (no msg.)

Can anybody please help?

TIA,

Chris

I guess I am missing what you are saying, do you want it on the C: or the D: drive?
BLOG...

#18
Matt297

Matt297
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 12-December 04
I did the new instructions and when I boot the computer I get the error:

No Operating System Detected

What should I do?

Matt

#19
likuidkewl

likuidkewl

    [Centos~]$

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 960 posts
  • Joined 16-September 03
Double check all the files are in the right places(i.e. ROOT) and this sounds like a NTLDR is missing issue.
BLOG...

#20
ribond

ribond

    pope of preinstall. wizard of winpe. bender of things.

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 51 posts
  • Joined 18-October 04
>Where's the part modifying the boot.ini? By default with no boot.ini ntldr
>will try to load the registry in a folder called windows on the boot
>partition. I don't see these instructions working.

NTLDR uses the boot.ini. SETUPLDR does not. Copy setupldr.bin as \NTLDR.

>There's a proper way to do this. You install recovery console, then put
>winpe in a minint folder. Then you copy txtsetup.sif from winpe to the
>cmdcons directory.

This method has been deprecated since WinPE 1.5

#21
Boriscat

Boriscat
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 29-January 05

//**EDIT**// OK this is turning into more of a pain than I thought it would.  Below in the first set of quotes are the NEW instructions for installing WinPE on your hard drive, in the second set od CODE is the OLD way Gosh was talking about.

To create a bootable WinPE disk (32-bit versions of WinPE)
***Please note this is only the instructions on how to install WinPE and WinPE only to the hard drive, you must modify these instructions to get a "Dual boot"***

Boot the destination computer into WinPE using a WinPE CD.
Create a formatted and active partition.
On the active partition, create a directory called C:\Minint. You must name the directory "Minint".
Copy the contents of build_location\i386 to C:\Minint.
For example:

xcopy "C:\Build.x86\i386\*.*" C:\Minint /S
where C:\Build.x86 is build_location.

Copy Ntdetect.com from build_location to the root of the destination hard disk.
For example:

xcopy "C:\Build.x86\ntdetect.com" C:\
where C:\Build.X86 is build_location.

On the destination hard disk, copy C:\Minint\setupldr.bin to C:\ntldr.
For example:

xcopy "C:\Minint\setupldr.bin" C:\ntldr
Restart the destination computer. The computer starts using WinPE.


How to get a dual boot option:

1. Install and Windows Recovery Console
2. Copy C:\Cmdcons\Bootsect.dat to C:\Bootsect.dat
3. Add this line to your boot.ini
C:\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows PE"
4. Copy i386 from CD to C:\Minint, you must name the directory Minint

OLD RTM AND BETA WAY TO DO IT!
Placing a Bootable Version of WinPE on a Hard DiskYou can only place a 32-bit version of the Windows Preinstallation Environment (WinPE) on a hard disk.

Before you begin, you must format the destination hard disk and install the Recovery Console on this hard disk.

To install the Recovery Console

Place the Windows XP Professional CD in the CD-ROM drive, denoted as cd_drive. 
Run cd_drive\i386\winnt32.exe /cmdcons. 
Now you can place a customized bootable copy of WinPE on this hard disk.

To place WinPE on a hard disk

On the destination hard disk, create a directory called C:\Minint. You must name the directory "Minint". 
If you have not already done so, follow the procedure in To create a custom version of WinPE on the topic Creating a Customized Version of WinPE. 
When you have completed this step, the customized WinPE files are in build_location, which does not need to be physically located on the destination hard disk.

Copy all of the contents of build_location\i386 to C:\Minint. 
For Example:

xcopy C:\Build.x86\i386\*.* /S C:\Minint

where C:\Build.x86 is build_location.

Copy Winbom.ini from build_location to the root of the destination hard disk. 
For Example:

copy C:\Build.x86\Winbom.ini C:\

where C:\Build.X86 is build_location.

On the destination hard disk, change the read-only attribute for C:\Cmdcons\txtsetup.sif to read/write. 
For Example:

attrib -r C:\Cmdcons\txtsetup.sif

On the destination hard disk, copy C:\Minint\txtsetup.sif to C:\Cmdcons. 
For Example:

xcopy C:\Minint\txtsetup.sif C:\Cmdcons

Restart the destination computer. On the Boot menu, select to boot to the Command Console. The computer will boot using WinPE.

i want to install winpe and dos onto a harddisk with a multibootscreen, does anyone now how i can do that? (and i don't want to intstal windows xp)

#22
redhelix

redhelix
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 10-November 03
This works great. I would like to do this without the Recovery Console installed. Is there a way?

Thanks,
RH

#23
rhansen676

rhansen676
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 06-July 04
Hi, :hello:

Not sure whats going on here, I've been able to sucsessfully boot Windows PE from the HD as a recovery partition, but for some reason it does not work now. I get "Missing Operating System" message.

I am using WinPE 2005 or 1.5

I have set this partition to NTFS and is 500mb

I have a script that loads PE and it looks like this:

- REM Copy Local PE Recovery Environment to Recover Partition
- xcopy M:\Recovery\Build E:\ /S /E /H

- rename E:\I386 Minint

- Rem Copy Ntdetect.com from build_location\i386 to drive C.
- xcopy E:\Minint\ntdetect.com E:\

- Rem On the destination hard disk, copy C:\Minint\setupldr.bin to C:\ntldr.
- copy E:\Minint\setupldr.bin E:\ntldr

Does anyone have any ideas?

Please help!!!

Rob

#24
spacesurfer

spacesurfer

    Pharmassist

  • Patrons
  • 1,668 posts
  • Joined 31-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
See post here at the 911cd.net forum. I've used grub loader (grldr) to boot BartPE from a partition other than the Windows XP partition. It works very well.

I'm assuming one might be able to install WinPE to HDD and load it in the same manner.

With the release of Windows PE 2.0, it's even easier to boot WinPE from HDD with Grub4Dos. I've created some guides here: Boot Windows PE from HDD

Edited by spacesurfer, 27 May 2007 - 08:04 PM.

_____________________________________________________________________
[Modify Office 2007 / 2010 Ribbon UI] [Javascript Guide] [Methods of Typing in Gujarati] [My Math Pages]
[Boot Windows 7 from VHD] [Multi-boot Vista/XP and other OSes with Grub Menu] [Boot XP and Vista Independently]


Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33 GHz, ASUS Radeon EAH3450 256 MB, 6 GB Corsair RAM, Maxtor 300 GB + Seagate 400 GB HDDs, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
IBM T42 Intel Pentium M 1.7 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, Radeon Mobility 7500, 160 GB HDD, Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit

#25
SmOoThEm

SmOoThEm
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 07-June 07
Hello everyone im new here, and i found this thread by searching google, now on to my problem
My goal is to make part1 winpe that boots norton ghost as the shell and then restores and images to the 2nd part.
i have created the pe that does this now on to the problem.

Well i have done all of this so far and i have been working on this all day without prevail ( im seriously pulling my hair out now)
I have formatted the drive completely
Make 2 partitions with NTFS
made part 1 active and placed all the boot files on there from the live windows xp install
imaged my xp back onto part 2 for testing purposes
Now when i use the ntldr from PE it boots fine, when i use the NTLDR from xp it shows the boot.ini GREAT
When i select win xp it boots (great)
When i select Windows PE it gives me a <windows root>\system32\hal.dll error

How can i make this boot from the boot.ini without switching the NTLDR?
below is a copy of my boot.ini

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Windows XP" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
C:\BOOTSECT.DAT="Recovery"




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users