Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Windows 2000 on AMD 790GX/SB750 & 890GX/SB850 motherboards.

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Joined 31-July 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Has anybody installed Windows 2000 on a machine with AMD 790GX/SB750 chipset? Motherboards with this chipset are usually made for the new AM3 Phenom II processors. Are there versions of AHCI driver that support Win2k?

I've posted in this thread but the discussion is inconclusive
http://www.msfn.org/...pid-874015.html


//

Edited by Phenomic, 29 August 2010 - 10:40 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
pointertovoid

pointertovoid

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Joined 16-January 09
I didn't try by myself... But as nobody answers you, here is my little bit of (mis)information.

I had looked at the 890gx, and the file \SB8xx\x86\Ahci86.cat contains
2 : 5 . 0 0 , 2 : 5 . 1 < < < O b s o l e t e > > >
which is a hint that W2k is a target just as Xp is.

My suggestion is that you go to the sites of motherboard manufacturers, download the driver for the chipset, and read the contained Inf files, or the txtsetup.oem: these tell often in clear what Windows is supported.

-----

Ahci is very important for speed. Not for the throughput, but for Ncq, which completely changes the boot time and the system's responsiveness. Seen it by myself on an Ich10r with W2k.

-----

On Intel chipsets, you would have the excellent solution of the Intel driver ported to W2k by BlackWingCat.

#3
blackwingcat

blackwingcat

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 797 posts
  • Joined 31-May 08
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi pointertovoid.

I also released AMD AHCI/RAID Driver for Windows 2000.
Please see following link.

http://blog.livedoor...ves/844979.html

Sincerely.

On Intel chipsets, you would have the excellent solution of the Intel driver ported to W2k by BlackWingCat.


+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
BlackWingCat =^^=
http://blog.livedoor.jp/blackwingcat/
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+

#4
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Joined 31-July 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Thank you. I'd tried slipstreaming Win2k on 790GX (ASUS M4A78T-E) but couldn't boot the windows installer.

Then I installed Win2K on 890GX/SB850 (GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H) by accident! I had a Win2k installation for an NVIDIA Asus M4N68T-M, then used the same disk on an MSI NF750-G55. Then I accidentally booted the same partition with the GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H ... and it booted up in 640x480!

Here's what it looks like:

Posted Image
________

Posted Image

I had to remove a lot of stuff:
VIA HD audio
NVIDIA drivers
ASUS drivers
Creative Audio WDM
and I used blackwingcat's video driver, thank you

I'm unable to install Realtek Audio/ATI HDMI and USB3.0, device manager reports Code 31 and Code 10 respectively.

Win2k Cool 'n' Quiet driver does NOT recognize Phenom II CPUs, I use K10stat instead, which is much better!

Also Win2k only uses 2 cores of my Phenom II X4 B55, the 2 unused cores remain unthrottled using too much energy, so to idle this CPU at 0.975V one must revert to Phenom II X2 555BE

That's it for now. Feel free to contribute. It would be nice to have a detail list of drivers that need to be slipstreamed with nLite for a successful Win2000 installation.

#5
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,161 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

1 question. Why are you doing this? Win2k is EOL. You never get new updates.
Posted Image

#6
Browncoat

Browncoat

    Rebel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Joined 19-January 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Same reasons that the Win98 crowd hang on with theirs and you can still find mobos that still run 2000, like the various industrial market ones or the Jetway Flex form with 230/330 Atom if you need one or two cores, right now I'm too broke for either and this two year old Asus runs [P5GC-MX/1333] runs 2000 or higher, single or multi-core, you just have to shop around like the O.P. did.
[or should have] I'll still use 2000 for HTPC use. It helps if you can read the user manual as a .pdf or .txt. before buying.

Edited by Browncoat, 03 August 2010 - 03:57 AM.


#7
pointertovoid

pointertovoid

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Joined 16-January 09
Why still W2k?
- Because it runs more or less as I expect. The more I try other Windows, the more I consider sticking to W2k.
- Because I don't care too much about having updates.
- Because the applications I have (Office 97, some Ms-Dos scientific computations applications not modernized since then, and so on) run on W2k, and I have no multitask application justifying a multicore processor that would need a more recent OS.
- Because more recent OS need much more resource for the same result. I don't and won't call that a progress.
Comfort comes hence from old software on new hardware.

On my X25E+E8600+P45, W2k boots in 15s. I doubt Seven does that.

I have an other question.
Why do you come to a W2k forum and ask people why they stick to it?
Are you so upset with your Vista and consider switching to W2k?

#8
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,161 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

my 7 boots in 20s (HDD, no SSD) and resumes from Hibernation in 8s. The 2k doesn't support the modern power saving features (Q&C and Core parking from the Intel i series). You stay at a OS which is technology from 1997 (started as NT5.0). This doesn't make up any real sense. But do want you want, but don't wonder when nothings works.
Posted Image

#9
blackwingcat

blackwingcat

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 797 posts
  • Joined 31-May 08
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Phenomic

Did you install KB888111 ?
RealTek HD Audio already have supported Windows 2000,and you can down load it on Realtek web site.

What version did you use ATI HDMI Driver ?
I use 10.7 driver on HD4870.

I also released Cpu core limitter break patch.
You will be able to use 4 cores.
http://blog.livedoor...es/1163868.html

Thank you. I'd tried slipstreaming Win2k on 790GX (ASUS M4A78T-E) but couldn't boot the windows installer.

Then I installed Win2K on 890GX/SB850 (GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H) by accident! I had a Win2k installation for an NVIDIA Asus M4N68T-M, then used the same disk on an MSI NF750-G55. Then I accidentally booted the same partition with the GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H ... and it booted up in 640x480!

Here's what it looks like:

Posted Image
________

Posted Image

I had to remove a lot of stuff:
VIA HD audio
NVIDIA drivers
ASUS drivers
Creative Audio WDM
and I used blackwingcat's video driver, thank you

I'm unable to install Realtek Audio/ATI HDMI and USB3.0, device manager reports Code 31 and Code 10 respectively.

Win2k Cool 'n' Quiet driver does NOT recognize Phenom II CPUs, I use K10stat instead, which is much better!

Also Win2k only uses 2 cores of my Phenom II X4 B55, the 2 unused cores remain unthrottled using too much energy, so to idle this CPU at 0.975V one must revert to Phenom II X2 555BE

That's it for now. Feel free to contribute. It would be nice to have a detail list of drivers that need to be slipstreamed with nLite for a successful Win2000 installation.


+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
BlackWingCat =^^=
http://blog.livedoor.jp/blackwingcat/
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+

#10
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Joined 31-July 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi Phenomic

Did you install KB888111 ?
RealTek HD Audio already have supported Windows 2000,and you can down load it on Realtek web site.

What version did you use ATI HDMI Driver ?
I use 10.7 driver on HD4870.

I also released Cpu core limitter break patch.
You will be able to use 4 cores.
http://blog.livedoor...es/1163868.html


I installed the sound drivers on the Gigabyte CD and one I downloaded from Realtek. I thought that KB888111 is included in that package. I'm away right now, but I will check the version numbers soon, most of the drivers are on that machine. Also, there's NO S3 suspend or hibernation, perhaps unable to power down the audio hardware without a driver?

I tried your CPU registry patch for the quad, but Windows locked me out and wouldn't let me login. I had to open the registry offline and reset the changes.

Also, I was confused as to which of your video drivers to use. Likewise, I couldn't determine which version of your AHCI is appropriate for the 890GX/SB850.

I have access to my notes...

I used your video ati2k1001.zip, it's very stable, but there's a single entry in the Event viewer on every boot:

Event Type: Information
Event Source: Save Dump
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1001
Date: 7/19/2010
Time: 10:29:40 AM
User: N/A
Computer: GIGA
Description:
The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x0000001e (0xc0000005, 0x804f5ba4, 0x00000000, 0x00000033). Microsoft Windows 2000 [v15.2195]. A dump was saved in: C:\WINNT\Minidump\Mini071910-06.dmp.


Also Windows File Protection, Event ID: 64002 for system32\ksclockf.ax and a bunch of k*ax files, not sure if this is related.

#11
blackwingcat

blackwingcat

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 797 posts
  • Joined 31-May 08
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Phenomic

Which type did you install HAL ?
Core Limit registry means nothing without Windows2000-KB979683-v2-x86-ENU.EXE.
What is your Device ID ?
What version did you install USB 3.0 Driver ?


Hi Phenomic

Did you install KB888111 ?
RealTek HD Audio already have supported Windows 2000,and you can down load it on Realtek web site.

What version did you use ATI HDMI Driver ?
I use 10.7 driver on HD4870.

I also released Cpu core limitter break patch.
You will be able to use 4 cores.
http://blog.livedoor...es/1163868.html


I installed the sound drivers on the Gigabyte CD and one I downloaded from Realtek. I thought that KB888111 is included in that package. I'm away right now, but I will check the version numbers soon, most of the drivers are on that machine. Also, there's NO S3 suspend or hibernation, perhaps unable to power down the audio hardware without a driver?

I tried your CPU registry patch for the quad, but Windows locked me out and wouldn't let me login. I had to open the registry offline and reset the changes.

Also, I was confused as to which of your video drivers to use. Likewise, I couldn't determine which version of your AHCI is appropriate for the 890GX/SB850.

I have access to my notes...

I used your video ati2k1001.zip, it's very stable, but there's a single entry in the Event viewer on every boot:

Event Type: Information
Event Source: Save Dump
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1001
Date: 7/19/2010
Time: 10:29:40 AM
User: N/A
Computer: GIGA
Description:
The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x0000001e (0xc0000005, 0x804f5ba4, 0x00000000, 0x00000033). Microsoft Windows 2000 [v15.2195]. A dump was saved in: C:\WINNT\Minidump\Mini071910-06.dmp.


Also Windows File Protection, Event ID: 64002 for system32\ksclockf.ax and a bunch of k*ax files, not sure if this is related.


+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
BlackWingCat =^^=
http://blog.livedoor.jp/blackwingcat/
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+

#12
Syclone0044

Syclone0044

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • Joined 01-July 09

Hi Phenomic

Which type did you install HAL ?
Core Limit registry means nothing without Windows2000-KB979683-v2-x86-ENU.EXE.


Windows2000-KB979683-v2-x86-ENU.EXE is not available right now, can you reupload it?

https://files.me.com...blackcat/hzziiw

It gives error: "Account Error: Inactive"

#13
pointertovoid

pointertovoid

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Joined 16-January 09
Phenomic, it seems you succeeded to install a Usb 3.0 driver for the Nec chip with W2k...

Could you tell us more? Here or there, as you prefer:
http://www.msfn.org/...or-necs-usb-30/

The kind of questions your screenshot raises:
- Where does the driver installer come from?
- Was it the normal installation procedure?
- Do you get Usb 3.0 performance?

------

Blackwingcat, I confirm what Syclone0044 saw:
neither KB979683-v2 nor CoreChg.zip are accessible.

#14
Syclone0044

Syclone0044

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • Joined 01-July 09
BlackWingCat's files are available again - better hurry and download his KB979683-v2 and CoreChg.zip while you can!! I just did!

#15
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Joined 31-July 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
.

Edited by Phenomic, 29 August 2010 - 11:22 AM.


#16
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Joined 31-July 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
blackwingcat, some answers:

my hal.dll version = 5.0.2195.7006

Windows2000-KB979683 is installed but where is V2?

Device ID for ?

USB 3.0 driver = 1.0.18.0 from Gigabyte CD

my ATI HDMI driver =5.10.0.6034 from Gigabyte CD

I've also tried kb835730 with “usepmtimer” or ...

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\HAL]
"14140000FFFFFFFF"=dword:00000010

...but removed it




Hi Phenomic

Which type did you install HAL ?
Core Limit registry means nothing without Windows2000-KB979683-v2-x86-ENU.EXE.
What is your Device ID ?
What version did you install USB 3.0 Driver ?



Hi Phenomic

Did you install KB888111 ?
RealTek HD Audio already have supported Windows 2000,and you can down load it on Realtek web site.

What version did you use ATI HDMI Driver ?
I use 10.7 driver on HD4870.

I also released Cpu core limitter break patch.
You will be able to use 4 cores.
http://blog.livedoor...es/1163868.html


I installed the sound drivers on the Gigabyte CD and one I downloaded from Realtek. I thought that KB888111 is included in that package. I'm away right now, but I will check the version numbers soon, most of the drivers are on that machine. Also, there's NO S3 suspend or hibernation, perhaps unable to power down the audio hardware without a driver?

I tried your CPU registry patch for the quad, but Windows locked me out and wouldn't let me login. I had to open the registry offline and reset the changes.

Also, I was confused as to which of your video drivers to use. Likewise, I couldn't determine which version of your AHCI is appropriate for the 890GX/SB850.

I have access to my notes...

I used your video ati2k1001.zip, it's very stable, but there's a single entry in the Event viewer on every boot:

Event Type: Information
Event Source: Save Dump
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1001
Date: 7/19/2010
Time: 10:29:40 AM
User: N/A
Computer: GIGA
Description:
The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x0000001e (0xc0000005, 0x804f5ba4, 0x00000000, 0x00000033). Microsoft Windows 2000 [v15.2195]. A dump was saved in: C:\WINNT\Minidump\Mini071910-06.dmp.


Also Windows File Protection, Event ID: 64002 for system32\ksclockf.ax and a bunch of k*ax files, not sure if this is related.



#17
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Joined 31-July 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I installed from the Gigabyte CD that comes with the mobo, but USB3.0 root hub is not installing properly (as you can see in my screen shot) so the device is not functional.


Phenomic, it seems you succeeded to install a Usb 3.0 driver for the Nec chip with W2k...

Could you tell us more? Here or there, as you prefer:
http://www.msfn.org/...or-necs-usb-30/

The kind of questions your screenshot raises:
- Where does the driver installer come from?
- Was it the normal installation procedure?
- Do you get Usb 3.0 performance?

------

Blackwingcat, I confirm what Syclone0044 saw:
neither KB979683-v2 nor CoreChg.zip are accessible.



#18
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Joined 31-July 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
An update on Win2000 on 890GX/SB850 (GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H)

The good news:

I fixed S3 Suspend, used “Enable S3 for USB Device” from CD, now it suspends/resumes faster than you can blink, much faster than XP, Vista or Vista Light 7.

Also, I loaded blackwingcat's new video driver (ati1007w2k), it's very stable in Win2000 with Radeon HD 4290... thank you! Next I'm gonna try my Phenom II X4 B55 on Win2K, for under $100 it unlocks to a quad and outperforms intel CPUs selling for over $1,000
http://www.cpubenchm...h_end_cpus.html


The bad news:
I have a “dirty” but working Windows 2000, so I tried to do a new “clean” install and failed. I slipstreamed AMD drivers with nlite but Win2k CD installer just hangs... But this mobo has 3 different types of sata connectors: 1-4 = SATA, then there are 2 (5&6) controlled separately in BIOS, and 2 JMicron (7&8 the white ones) than can run as PATA, so no drivers may be needed in win2k.

Also, there's no sound yet (as per my screen shot above), but the drivers appear to install without error (just like USB 3.0). As I've mentioned above, I've used 3 different mobos with this Win2k installation, so there were drivers in the registry for VIA HD audio, Creative Audio WDM and a different type of Realtek chip... and NVIDIA drivers, so perhaps there's something interfering.

Edited by Phenomic, 29 August 2010 - 12:36 PM.


#19
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Joined 31-July 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
The main lesson I learned is this: If Windows 2000 will not install on the latest AMD mobos, it doesn't mean that Win2000 doesn't run on new hardware, it simply means that the Win2k installer doesn't work.

In this case, win2k booted fine off an existing installation. All it needed was drivers off the Gigabyte CD that comes with the mobo. Even Linux doesn't yet support the SB850 chipset, so it's remarkable that win2k does!

The first stage of Win2k/XP installation copies files and creates a basic windows boot. I think that might be sufficient for installation, but I don't know how to create such a basic bootable image of Windows. Would starting the installation from within windows work?

#20
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Joined 31-July 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Quad CPU works too at 4.0GHz, see validation below

Posted Image

#21
Lenny_Nero

Lenny_Nero

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 05-January 10
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
Well done Phenomic at getting most of it working, and good score on the Phenom II .
Cheers to Blackwing for you help in keeping one of the better M$ OS'es running.

MagicAndre1981,
I have no need to run an over bloated Vista or its service pack w7, its also well known that older software can have less holes in it because of all of the updates and things being sorted over time.

Also Win2000 did not "(started as NT5.0)" it is NT5.0, everything I want and need works, often in half the time and space.

#22
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,161 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

when you don't like NT6 (.0 or .1) use XP. It is supported till 2014. Or is XP also "bloated"?
Posted Image

#23
Lenny_Nero

Lenny_Nero

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 05-January 10
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional

when you don't like NT6 (.0 or .1) use XP. It is supported till 2014. Or is XP also "bloated"?

Well it is much slower and uses 3 times as much memory and space as my 2k installs.

But it also does a lot of things I dont want, like or need, I dont need fisher price 'bling' and eye candy to keep my brain active while I work.

I have yet to see a security hole that I or more often, some other cant patch, I also am 99.9% sure that my networks are so safe that I could run 2K or XP unpatched and still be safe, most security problems come from the bit in the chair.

If you feel the need to sign up people to the Emperor's new clothes please try some place where they care, I for one dont, I have been using computers before 'windows' turned up, and remember when my dad showed one of the first versions to me and said my reply was "whats the point, how can I run or write anything ?".

#24
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Joined 31-July 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Well done Phenomic at getting most of it working, and good score on the Phenom II .
Cheers to Blackwing for you help in keeping one of the better M$ OS'es running.

....


Thanks. Windows 2000 was designed for Pentium II CPU and 32 MB memory, so with a quad Phenom running at 4GHz and 4 gigabytes of memory win2k just flies!!!



I've temporarily disabled USB 3.0 in BIOS because it breaks S3 in Linux.... But I still can't install the Windows sound drivers. The previously installed VIA sound drivers are still there and preventing the Realtek driver (and Control Panel applet) from loading. However, everything else works flawlessly and this is the fastest Win2000 I've ever seen :D

#25
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Joined 31-July 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
The GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H is a new mobo (version 2.0 BTW), so I installed the latest BIOS (FEb) and downloaded the branded audio drivers from Gigabyte... and we have sound!

Uptime is excellent, no problems. I'm beating up on it and can't break it. I wake it up from other machines on my network, use it and remotely put it to sleep. System idles at 52 watts at the wall, XP idles at 47. CPU and GPU are both throttling, so the difference must come from elsewhere. XP's cpu driver optimized for the Phenom offers no peformance advantage, K10stat throttles very well and outperforms C&Q (will post benchmark comparisons soon).

Installation: Win2k detected and re-configured all devices, when it asked for drivers I offered the CD from Gigabyte. It's running standard 2kSP4, with blackwingcat's 'Logical CPU Limit Break' and video ati1008w2k. Device “ATI HDMI Audio” still not loading. What does it do? Win2k Installation failed at the 1st stage – text mode. So if I reinstall, I'll do 1st stage with a vanilla mobo, then plug the disk to the 890GX for the first boot and continue from there.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users